Quick access:

Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)
Visual Unearthing Visualizes Air Quality Using Open Data© CC-BY-SA 4.0 Mikko Agustin

Visual Unearthing

Initiated by Goethe-Institut Indonesien, the regional project “Visual Unearthing” presents its findings on air quality levels before and during the pandemic using open data in four Southeast Asian metropolitan cities.

The background of the project

The Corona crisis provides us with historic momentum toward a more sustainable society: the air in Southeast Asian metropolitan areas has never been clearer. With economic revitalization comes the risk that this window of opportunity in the crisis will remain unused and will be quickly forgotten. The regional project “Visible Unearthing” seeks to prevent this.

Using open access data, we analyzed the situation in the urban ecosystems of Hanoi, Jakarta, Manila and Bangkok at different data collection points. The goal was to visualize and archive the data for the general public.

The challenges here varied depending on the collection points. In the Philippines the data tended to be less complete; in Thailand an adequate partner could not be found; and in Hanoi there were delays in the process. It was nevertheless encouraging that, for example, the water values in Jakarta were reliable and well documented. While the study identified numerous positives with regard to data comparability, addressing challenges should increase the quality and accessibility of data collection accordingly. We hope that greater effectiveness in the political arena can be generated.

Initiated by Goethe-Institut Indonesien, the regional project “Visual Unearthing” presents its findings on air quality levels before and during the pandemic using open data in four Southeast Asian metropolitan cities.

Air pollution remains a major problem in metropolitan cities across the world and affects the quality of life. Exposure to ambient air pollution alone has causes approximately 4.2 million deaths every year according to WHO data.

Poor air quality is at an alarming level and a continuous challenge in various regions of the world, including Southeast Asia, without any significant improvement. However, the coronavirus pandemic, which crippled the economy and health care systems of some regions, brought a breath of fresh air.

Cleaner skies and increased visibility are conclusive evidence directly felt by people during the lockdown periods in their respective areas. Open environmental data can also reveal the quality of air when movement restrictions were implemented.

Download the publication of the research:

Visual Unearthing is a project commissioned by the Goethe-Institut Indonesien with conceptual support from Nana Karlstetter, researched by a team from Step Up Consulting led by Michael Canares.

Top

Schnelleinstieg:

Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)
Visual Unearthing visualisiert Luftqualität mit offenen Daten© CC-BY-SA 4.0 Mikko Agustin

Visual Unearthing

Das vom Goethe-Institut Indonesien initiierte regionale Projekt „Visual Unearthing" präsentiert die gewonnenen Erkenntnisse über die Luftqualität vor und während der Pandemie anhand offener Daten in vier Metropolen Südostasiens.

Der Hintergrund des Projekts

Die Coronakrise ermöglicht uns ein historisches Momentum zu einer nachhaltigeren Gesellschaft: Die Luft in den südostasiatischen Metropolregionen war nie klarer. Mit der ökonomischen Revitalisierung besteht die Gefahr, dass diese Chance in der Krise ungenutzt bleibt und schnell in Vergessenheit gerät. Das Regionalprojekt „visible unearthing“ will dies verhindern:

Über Open Access Data analysierten wir zu verschiedenen Erhebungszeitpunkten die  Situation in den urbanen Ökosystemen in Hanoi, Jakarta, Manila und Bangkok. Ziel war die Visualisierung und Archivierung dieser Daten für eine zivile Öffentlichkeit.

Die Herausforderungen waren dabei je nach Erhebungsort unterschiedlich. So war in den Philippinen das Datenmaterial tendenziell unvollständiger, in Thailand fand sich kein adäquater Partner, in Hanoi gab es Verzögerungen im Prozess. Erfreulich war beispielsweise, dass die Wasserwerte in Jakarta sehr gut und verlässlich dokumentiert sind. Grundsätzlich wurden aber durch die Studie zahlreiche Desiderate hinsichtlich der Datenvergleichbarkeit identifiziert. Eine Bearbeitung dieser Herausforderungen wird die Qualität und Zugänglichkeit entsprechend steigern; zu hoffen bleibt, dass dadurch auch eine größere Wirksamkeit im politischen Raum erzeugt werden kann.

Das vom Goethe-Institut Indonesien initiierte regionale Projekt „Visual Unearthing" präsentiert die gewonnenen Erkenntnisse über die Luftqualität vor und während der Pandemie anhand offener Daten in vier Metropolen Südostasiens.

Luftverschmutzung ist nach wie vor ein großes Problem in den Großstädten der Welt und beeinträchtigt die Lebensqualität. Nach Angaben der WHO verursacht allein die Belastung durch Luftverschmutzung jedes Jahr ca. 4,2 Millionen Todesfälle. 

Die schlechte Luftqualität hat ein alarmierendes Niveau erreicht und stellt in verschiedenen Regionen der Welt, darunter auch in Südostasien, eine ständige Herausforderung dar, ohne nennenswerte Verbesserungen. Die Coronavirus-Pandemie, die die Wirtschaft und die Gesundheitssysteme einiger Regionen lahmgelegt hat, hat jedoch für frischen Wind gesorgt.

Ein saubererer Himmel und eine bessere Sicht sind schlüssige Beweise, die von den Menschen während der Sperrzeiten in ihren jeweiligen Gebieten direkt wahrgenommen wurden. Offene Umweltdaten können auch Aufschluss über die Luftqualität während des Zeitraums geben, in dem die Bewegungseinschränkungen verhängt wurden.

Die Publikation der Forschung zum Herunterladen:

Visual Unearthing ist ein Projekt im Auftrag des Goethe-Instituts Indonesien mit konzeptioneller Unterstützung von Nana Karlstetter, recherchiert von einem Team von Step Up Consulting unter der Leitung von Michael Canares.

Top