Quick access:
Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)
HUB Residency© HUB Make Lab

HUB Residency

Are you an artist who is interested in creative businesses? Are you a craftsman who wants to experiment on new materials or methods?

If so, you are invited to apply for a one-month residency to work with creative entrepreneurs and like-minded individuals in the bustling metropolis of Manila.

The Residency

The Goethe-Institut Philippinen and HUB | Make Lab invite artists, makers and creatives of all kinds to apply for a month-long residency from October to November 2019 in Manila. The artist-in-residence (AiR) will be hosted and work with creative entrepreneurs (“makers”) of her/his choosing. These makers are part of the HUB, a creative community & alt-retail incubation space for small independent businesses.

The Makers  
Program description
 
One (1) residency slot is available for applicants residing in Germany. The residency offers artists and creatives the chance to apply their works and expertise in a practical setting. The idea is to have the AiR work together with a local maker in developing new ideas or generating new information that would benefit both the maker in their business and the artist in their craft.
 
At the end of the residency, the AiR, with assistance from the maker, is required to present the result or an outcome of the residency in some kind of presentation to the public which could take the form of a small exhibit, a product showcase or a talk.

Disciplines

This call is open to (1) visual artists who would like to or already are dabbling in creative industries (e.g. painters, sculptors, fashion designers, interior designers, photographers, etc.), and (2) creative practitioners engaged in entrepreneurial practice (e.g. woodworkers, draftsmen, weavers, various craftsmen, etc.).

Duration, location, logistics

The actual residency will run for 1 month between October to November 2019. The AiR and selected maker(s) are expected to already be communicating and planning for the residency on-line well before the AiR’s arrival in Manila.
 
The residency’s primary location is Manila. The AiR is free to use a studio and/or office space provided by HUB | Make Lab.

Fees, support

The AiR’s travel expenses (flights, accommodations, etc.) shall be shouldered by the Goethe-Institut and HUB | Make Lab. Additionally, the AiR shall receive a grant of € 1,500 to fund the residency in Manila, including the AiR’s day-to-day living expenses (i.e. local transportation and meals).
 
The selected maker(s) shall likewise receive a project enabling grant of € 500 from the Goethe-Institut in order to execute the project with the AiR and also to offset potential costs and loss of income as a result of working with the AiR.
 
The Goethe-Institut and its partners shall not be liable to grant more funding to either AiR or maker(s) if the project’s financial needs exceed those of the grants. 

Top

Schnelleinstieg:
Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)
HUB Residency© HUB Make Lab

HUB Residenz

Du bist ein*e Künstler*in und interessierst dich für kreative Unternehmen? Oder bist du Kunsthandwerker*in und möchtest mit neuen Materialien und Methoden experimentieren?

Dann bewirb dich bei uns für eine einmonatige Künstlerresidenz in der pulsierenden Metropole von Manila und bekomme die Gelegenheit mit lokalen Unternehmen der Kreativwirtschaft zusammenzuarbeiten und Neues zu kreieren. 

Das Residenzprogramm

Das Goethe-Institut Philippinen und das HUB | Make Lab laden Künstler*innen, Schaffende und Kreative aller Art ein, sich für einen einmonatigen Aufenthalt (Oktober – November 2019) in Manila zu bewerben. Der*die ausgewählte Artist-in-Residence (AiR) wird mit dem Unternehmen („Maker“) seiner*ihrer Wahl zusammenarbeiten und von diesem gehostet... Diese Makers sind alle Teil des HUB: Einer alternativen Einzelhandels-Gründungsplattform für kleine unabhängige & kreative Unternehmen. Klicke hier für die vollständige Liste der Makers:

Die Makers Programmbeschreibung
 
Ein (1) Aufenthaltsplatz wird für Bewerber*innen mit Wohnsitz in Deutschland zur Verfügung gestellt. Die Residenz bietet Künstler*innen und Kulturschaffenden die Möglichkeit, ihre Werke und ihr Fachwissen in einem praktischen Umfeld einzusetzen. Durch den kreativen Austausch sollen neue Ideen entwickelt und neue Informationen generiert werden, von denen sowohl der*die Künstler*in und sein*ihr Handwerk, als auch die lokalen Maker und ihre Geschäfte profitieren.
 
Der Aufenthalt endet mit einer öffentlichen Präsentation des Ergebnisses oder Prozesses, die in Zusammenarbeit mit den Makers ausgearbeitet wird – die Möglichkeiten von einer Ausstellung, über eine Produktpräsentation bis hin zu einem Vortrag stehen offen. 

Disziplinen

Teilnehmen können entweder
(1) bildende Künstler*innen, die sich in der Kreativwirtschaft betätigen möchten oder bereits engagieren (z.B. Maler*innen, Bildhauer*innen, Modedesigner*innen, Innenarchitekt*innen, Fotograf*innen, etc.) oder
 (2) in der unternehmerischen Praxis tätige Kreativschaffende (z.B. Holzarbeiter*innen, Bauzeichner*innen, Weber*innen, verschiedene Handwerker*innen, etc.).

Dauer, Ort, Logistik

Die Residenz wird für einen (1) Monat im Zeitraum von Oktober – November 2019 stattfinden. Laufende Kommunikation zur Planung und Austausch von Ideen beginnen sobald der*die AiR und der vom ihn*ihr ausgewählte Maker in Verbindung gebracht wurden. 
 
Der Hauptstandort der Residenz ist Manila. Dem*der AiR steht es frei, die von HUB | Make Lab zur Verfügung gestellten Studio- und/oder Büroflächen zu nutzen.

Leistungen, Finanzierung

Die Reisekosten des AiRs (Flüge, Unterkünfte etc.) werden vom Goethe-Institut und dem HUB | Make Lab getragen. Darüber hinaus erhält der*die AiR einen Zuschuss von 1.500 € zur Finanzierung des Aufenthaltes und der Lebenshaltungskosten in Manila (Transportkosten, Mahlzeiten etc.)
 
Der ausgewählte Maker erhält vom Goethe-Institut ebenfalls einen Projektzuschuss von 500€, um das Projekt mit dem*der AiR durchzuführen und mögliche Kosten und Einkommensverluste durch die Zusammenarbeit mit dem/der AiR auszugleichen.
 
Das Goethe-Institut und seine Partner sind nicht verpflichtet, weder dem/der AiR noch dem Maker zusätzliche Mittel zur Verfügung zu stellen, wenn der Finanzbedarf des Projekts den der Zuschüsse übersteigt.

Top