Photo by Wout Vanackerr on Unsplash


The Science Film Festival bestows six awards chosen by an international jury. They are complimented with a cash prize of 1,000 Euro each. The Prize of the Jury is complimented with a cash prize of 3,000 Euro.

Award Winners 2022

Jury 2022

Over 30 international experts in science education and science communication in participating countries are involved in the selection process of the Science Film Festival. An international jury of experts in educational media, science communication and the annual thematic focus, subsequently elect the winners of the six award categories.

Nick Deocampo

Nick Deocampo is a filmmaker, film historian and author.
A member of the faculty at the U.P. Film Institute in the University of the Philippines, he took up his Master of Arts degree in Cinema Studies at New York University as a Fulbright scholar and received his Certificate in Film in Paris, France. As a filmmaker, his documentaries have won recognition both nationally and internationally. As an Asian Public Intellectuals Fellow, he received a grant from The Nippon Foundation to make six documentary films about the environment in five Asian countries namely Japan, Thailand, Malaysia, Indonesia, and the Philippines. He has been a member of international film juries in various film festivals. As a film historian, he has written books and articles on the subject of Philippine and Asian cinemas.  Among the publications he has written include Early Cinema in Asia, Lost Films of Asia, Cine: Spanish Influences on Early Cinema in Asia, Eiga: Cinema in the Philippines during World War II, among others. A four-time recipient of the Philippines’ National Book Award, his publications cover subjects from film history to film literacy. He was formerly the chair of the UNESCO Philippines Memory of the World Committee.

Science Film Festival - International Jury 2022: Nick Deocampo

Filmmaker, Film Historian,Film Literacy Advocate,,
Producer and Author,
The Philippines

Dr. Ruby Roan-Cristobal

Dr. Ruby Roan-Cristobal works for the Science Education Institute of the Department of Science and Technology as Chief Science Research Specialist heading the Division which takes charge of STEM promotion among the Filipino youth, research in S&T human resources development and science education, and the Management Information System or MIS of the Institute. She has been involved in the Science Film Festival (SFF) since 2010 in developing post-screening science activities, and in engaging partner institutions in the screening of the  selected films. She is a seasoned science communication professional, a research practitioner, an IT manager, and a science broadcaster. She hosts a weekly  radio program that promotes science and technology to the general public by featuring science news, Filipino scientists, locally developed technologies, educational modules, students who excel in STEM, and other science content. Her educational background in the natural sciences and communication has provided a good foundation for developing programs that entice the youth to consider STEM as future career. These programs include science film making competition; robotics and other tech-based projects; and mobile, online, and media-based science learning facilities, among others. She is currently a member of the Board of Trustees of Probe Media Foundation Inc. (PMFI), and the Philippine Society of Youth Science Clubs (PSYSC), Inc., and the immediate past Executive Director of the Philippine Science Journalists Association (PSciJourn).

Science Film Festival - International Jury - Dr. Ruby Roan-Cristobal

Chief Science Research Specialist Science Education Institute,
Department of Science and Technology (DOST)
The Philippines

Tina Krüger

Tina Krüger, from Katemin - Germany, is a multidisciplinary artist, photographer, documentary filmmaker, and communication designer with an MA in Visual Anthropology (Leiden University, The Netherlands). Since 2008 she lives and works in Maputo, Mozambique. She has exhibited her work in Mozambique and abroad, highlighting the painting series ‘Unconditioned Bodies’ at Joburg Art Fair 2020, and ‘Motherhood’ a permanent photo exhibition in the Maternity Ward at Maputo Central Hospital. Her documentary films and videoart have won several awards at international film festivals. Currently her work centers around questions of the body, embodied knowledge, and critical social- and self-observation. She works with photography, videoart, poetry, painting, and installation, besides always experimenting with new techniques. She sees her art practice as a way to process her own thoughts and express them in a way that provokes others into reflection & critical thinking. She is the co-founder and creative director of Aguacheiro Design & Multimédia since 2013. For two years (2017-2018) she was a lecturer for creative research and videoart in the BA Film & Multimedia program at the Arts and Culture University in Maputo. She is the co-founder and director of since 2019, an international art space based in Maputo.

Science Film Festival - International Jury - Tina Krüger

Filmmaker, Anthropologist, Photographer and Communication Designer

Yoshida Menon

Yoshida Menon is an independent educator who believes in making science relevant, engaging and accessible to children while making connections to the larger picture of a sustainable planet. She completed her Post Graduation in Physics and worked as a software analyst, developing and implementing supply chain solutions in the US and UK for 10 years. She later joined the school system and took roles teaching Computer Science and collaborating with schools across the world as part of global school partnership programmes. She is passionate about equipping students of today with the skills to enrich their lives and adopt sustainable lifestyles in an increasingly globalised world. She has worked with schools, NGOs and institutions on Education for Sustainability initiatives that bring together subject experts, teachers, students and the local community. She has also worked with an international organisation on a programme for school children that aimed to develop an attitude of respect, the ability to keep an open mind and engage in dialogue as a means of conflict resolution.

Science Film Festival - International Jury - Yoshida Menon

Independent Education Specialist