Dynamics of Air

Testing Cloudscapes © Transsolar

Exhibition and Public Program

As air is invisible, we take it for granted most of the time. It’s only when pollution clogs the atmosphere, smog obscures the horizon and people struggle physically during cold snaps and heat waves that we focus on what we can’t see.  The invisible element that is essential for life is the starting point for a major exhibition to be held in September at RMIT Gallery. As the official partner, the Goethe-Institut has co-initiated and organised the exhibition.

How do designers, artists, scientists and researchers work with an intangible atmospheric medium such as air? The international exhibition Dynamics of Air showcases innovative design and creative practice research, capturing the beauty, dynamics, and sensuality of air in our built environment and its critical role in designing for a zero carbon future.  

Through a stunning survey of commissioned and current projects, Dynamics of Air will engage with the interface of air, lived space, and architecture. The exhibition will explore the themes of aesthetics and representation, experiential environments and atmospheres, inflatable structures, architectural surface and micro turbulence.

Bringing together leading local and international practicing designers, artists, architects, researcher and students, Dynamics of Air explores radical innovations for creative sustainability in design and the built environment.

The exhibition is curated by Dr. Malte Wagenfeld from RMIT University, and Jane Burry, Professor at Swinburne University of Technology.

The German contribution consists of Transsolar ClimateEngineering (Stuttgart), Friedrich von Borries (Hamburg) und Edith Kollath (Berlin).

Over a time span of eight weeks, the exhibition will be accompanied by different performances, floor talks, a symposium and other events.

Dynamics of Air

Testing Cloudscapes © Transsolar

Ausstellung und Begleitprogramm

Da Luft unsichtbar ist, scheint sie für uns selbstverständlich zu sein. Erst wenn Luftverschmutzung die Atmosphäre schädigt, Smog den Horizont verschleiert und Menschen bei Kälte- oder Hitzeeinbrüchen anfangen gesundheitliche Probleme zu bekommen, denken wir über das nach, was wir nicht sehen können. Das unsichtbare, lebenswichtige Element ist Ausgangspunkt einer umfangreichen Ausstellung in der RMIT Gallery, welche das Goethe-Institut als Partner mitinitiiert und organisiert hat.

Wie gehen Designer, Architekten und  Wissenschaftler mit einem nicht greifbaren Medium wie Luft um? Die internationale Ausstellung Dynamics of Air beleuchtet innovative Ansätze aus Kunst und Wissenschaft zur Schönheit, Dynamik und Sinnlichkeit von Luft in der bebauten Umwelt und deren entscheidender Rolle für eine kohlenstofffreie Zukunft.

In einer Mischung aus bestehenden Projekten und Auftragsarbeiten setzt sich Dynamics of Air mit dem Element Luft an der Schnittstelle zwischen gelebtem Raum und Architektur auseinander. Untersucht werden Fragen zur Ästhetik und Darstellung, Erlebniswelten und Atmosphären, aufblasbare Strukturen, architektonische Oberflächen und Mikroturbulenzen.

Herausragende Künstler, (Landschafts-) Architekten, Industriedesigner, Ingenieure, Technologie- und Fertigungsspezialisten treffen auf Wissenschaftler und Studenten aus Australien und Europa. Dynamics of Air untersucht radikale Innovationen, die zu Nachhaltigkeit in Design und der bebauten Umwelt beitragen.

Die Ausstellung wird kuratiert von Dr. Malte Wagenfeld, Professor an der RMIT University Melbourne und Prof. Jane Burry von der Swinburne University of Technology.

Der deutsche Beitrag besteht aus Transsolar ClimateEngineering (Stuttgart), Friedrich von Borries (Hamburg) und Edith Kollath (Berlin).

Die Ausstellung wird über acht Wochen von Performances, Vorträgen, einem Symposium und weiteren Veranstaltungen begleitet.