Exhibition gute aussichten: new german photography 2013/2014

gute aussichten: new german photography 2013/2014 © NADJA BOURNONVILLE http://www.guteaussichten.org/index.php?id=6&kuenstler=87&mode=bilder&bildno=19

Mon, 07.04.2014 -
Wed, 30.04.2014

Goethe-Institut Cyprus in Nicosia

Opening reception and introduction "Photography in Germany Today" with Rebecca Sampson; photographer in Berlin,
on Monday, 7th April 2014, 7 pm Goethe-Institut gallery/hall

Nine award winners and a first look at their works: Nothing is what it seems, but it is real.

"Germany's most renowned competition for young photographers" - Der Spiegel

An espresso machine drowning in its own coffee, people tanned, branded, and scarred by their existence on the margins of society or staged in such absurd poses that the viewer is left startled and puzzled. Now in its tenth year, gute aussichten 2013/2014 presents a range of surprisingly diverse ideas, reflections and photographic strategies, forms and media that not only depicts the current status quo but also inspires.

Yet there is an element that unites all these works: It is the way in which they do not fulfill expectations or promises, the way in which they refuse to abide by conventions, and the way that they subvert all predictions and intuitions. This refusal is the common theme throughout these nine works. Hopes are deceived, physical laws suspended, the limitations of media overcome and viewing habits turned upside down.

Nothing is what it seems. But still it is just the way it is. This generation of young photographers brings up painful subjects, by making them visible and perceptible. They bring ideas like freedom, dignity and truth back into the picture, forcing us to look at them, to ask questions and to think about these values. And - the way we see it - these ideas are essential for us and for the present age.


This year the exhibition features works by Nadja Bournonville, Anna Domnick, Birte Kaufmann, Lioba Keuck, Alwin Lay, Marian Luft, Stephanie Steinkopf, Daniel Stubenvoll, Christina Werner.

Here is a brief overview of the photographers and their work:

Nadja Bournonville: A Conversion Act (2012)
The basis of Nadja Bournonville's work is the cluster of symptoms that used to be known as hysteria, a disorder caused by a wandering (sexually unsatisfied) uterus. Freud saw it as a conversion disorder, a transfer of a mental affliction to the somatic level. In her photographic work, "A Conversion Act", Nadja Bournonville addresses this idea of conversion from the mental to the physical, creating two series of eight images each that complement one another.

Anna Domnick: Calm II (2013)
In her ten-part series "Calm II", Anna Domnick grapples with the visualization of intellectual and physical disintegration. The intense exploration of landscapes, an autobiographical element which she brings into her work, is transformed in "Calm II" into an almost complete abstraction of the actual subject. Anna Domnick visualizes the process in which mental and physical disintegration go hand in hand.

Birte Kaufmann: The Travellers (2012)
"Tinker" or "Gypsy Cob" are alternative names for Irish cob horses, which are still bred by Irish Travellers, a closed community with their own rules and traditions. As recently as 40 years ago, these spotted horses still hauled the Traveller's covered wagons across the country. With persistence, Birte Kaufmann managed to win the trust of some of these families. Her photographs, which oscillate between documentary, narration and staging, offer an authentic peek into a world otherwise inaccessible to us.

Lioba Keuck: Couve e Coragem (2012)
"Cabbage and Courage" - what sounds almost like a socialist slogan, designed to enhance work ethics, describes the reality of the lives of people who are fighting for mere survival at the margins of Portuguese society. For her work Couve e Coragem, Lioba Keuck has done research in the poverty belt of the Portuguese capital, asking the people to tell her their stories which she presents in a mixture of text, portraits, and artistic and documentary photographs.

Alwin Lay: Mod. CLASSIC (2010/2013)
"You can't make something out of nothing." This could be Alwin Lay's motto. Or else: It is rare that what is supposed to happen actually happens, but a lot still happens. "Mod. CLASSIC" is the name of a small Italian portafilter espresso machine from the 1970s that has become Alwin Lay's symbol of his creative work. The presentation of the machine is overwritten by its own activity, the production of coffee. This causes a non-fulfillment of expectations. Lay surprises the viewer in a witty and humorous way - "mod CLASSIC", one might say.

Marian Luft: Back2Politics (2013)
"When there is no revolution, one has to create one", this title of an article about Hans Magnus Enzensberger mentioning his speech on the occasion of the civil unrest in Paris in May 1968 could be applied tongue-in-cheek to Marian Luft's multi-part series Back2Politic: In a time during which there is no revolution in sight, one has to or can, at least as an artist, create one at any given moment. His spatial installation - all of which in terms of content and technique has been made with the help of a computer - samples content analogous to contemporary art and cultural production, and from this generates a completely independent aesthetic product with the help of a computer.

Stephanie Steinkopf: Manhattan - "Street of Youth" (2012)
Manhattan is the name of two large prefabricated buildings in a village in Brandenburg in the middle of the countryside, "Street of Youth" the name of the street. 23 years after the reunification of East and West Germany, nothing is left of the formerly coveted apartments. One of the two buildings on this street is completely empty, while in the other only twelve out of 40 apartments still have tenants. Stephanie Steinkopf's photographs tell the stories of unfulfilled hopes, agony, desolation and welfare. They show the other side of the coin that is the economic power Germany - and this side is not so shiny.

Daniel Stubenvoll: Neat Work - Part I and II (Saubere Arbeit) (2013)
Daniel Stubenvoll is not afraid to ask the most fundamental questions: where does novelty come from, and how does it come about? A possible answer to him is that everything begins with a cornerstone - that is the foundation of every work, an idea which he sets into photography. And Daniel Stubenvoll is certain of this much: the work must be "clean," like a building. In "Clean Works" Stubenvoll curates not only work about this cornerstone from his fellow students from different artistic disciplines, but also his own-cornerstone-photography, which takes its inspiration from the diverse work of his fellows.

Christina Werner: PIPAL (2012/2013)
An herbarium case with leaves of the Pipal tree (native in India, et al.), six so-called "Betonbilder" ("concrete images"), 12 snapshots, and an MDF panel are the components of Christina Werner's installation. They form an ensemble of different spaces on both sides of the river in Ahmedabab, an emerging metropolis in the state of Gujarat in western India, and become a promenade through the city. With a clear mooring in the conceptual, Werner's work is exemplary for how it manages to circumnavigate the cliffs of expected images, offering an entirely new way of seeing.

"gute aussichten" presents a unique and far-ranging synopsis in terms of both the content and style of the works created by young photographers in Germany during the past 12 months. Individual image series are distinguished by their highly diverse aesthetic, formal and conceptual approaches, providing an insight into the multifaceted themes that form the focus of young artists' interests today.

Back

Ausstellung gute aussichten: new german photography 2013/2014

gute aussichten: new german photography 2013/2014 © NADJA BOURNONVILLE http://www.guteaussichten.org/index.php?id=6&kuenstler=87&mode=bilder&bildno=19

Mo, 07.04.2014 -
Mi, 30.04.2014

Goethe-Institut Zypern

Eröffnung mit einer Einführung über "Fotografie in Deutschland heute" durch Rebecca Sampson, Fotografin in Berlin.
am Montag, 7.April 2014 19 Uhr im Goethe-Institut Nikosia

Neun Preisträger/innen und ihre Arbeiten: Nichts ist so, wie es scheint und doch die Wirklichkeit

"Deutschlands renommiertester Wettbewerb für junge Fotografen" - Der Spiegel

Eine Espressomaschine, die in ihrem eigenen Kaffee ertrinkt, Menschen, gegerbt, gebrandmarkt, gezeichnet von ihrem Dasein, als Randgruppe tituliert oder in solch absurden Haltungen ins Motiv inszeniert, dass der Betrachter verwundert und ratlos zurückbleibt. Im zehnten Jahr seines Bestehens präsentiert gute aussichten 2013/2014 ein Spektrum überraschender, vielfältiger Ideen, Überlegungen und fotografischer Strategien, formaler wie medialer Umsetzungen, die nicht nur den aktuellen Status Quo abbilden, sondern auch als Inspirationsquelle dienen dürfen.

Und doch ist es so, dass es in all dieser Vielfalt ein geradezu verblüffend verbindendes Element gibt: Das Nicht-Erfüllen von Erwartungen, das Nicht-Einlösen von Versprechen, das Nicht-Einhalten von Konventionen, das Nicht-Geschehen des Vorhersehbaren. Diese Ablehnung zieht sich durch die neun Arbeiten wie ein roter Faden. Hoffnungen werden enttäuscht, physikalische Gesetzmäßigkeiten außer Kraft gesetzt, mediale Grenzen überschritten und Sehgewohnheiten auf den Kopf gestellt.

Nichts ist so, wie es scheint. Und doch so, wie es ist. Diese Generation junger Fotograf/inn/en legt den Finger in diese Wunden, macht sie sichtbar, lässt sie spürbar werden. Sie zwingt uns hinzusehen, zu fragen, zu denken und sie riskiert, dass Begriffe wie Freiheit, Würde, Wahrheit ins Spiel kommen. Werte, die - wie wir finden - essentiell sind für uns und die Gegenwart.



Dieses Jahr zeigt die Ausstellung Werke von Nadja Bournonville, Anna Domnick, Birte Kaufmann, Lioba Keuck, Alwin Lay, Marian Luft, Stephanie Steinkopf, Daniel Stubenvoll, Christina Werner.

Hier ist eine kurze Übersicht über die Fotografen und ihre Werke:

Nadja Bournonville: A Conversion Act (2012)
Ausgangspunkt von Nadja Bournonville ist das Krankheitsbild der Hysterie, eine Erkrankung, die durch einen wandernden (sexuell unbefriedigten) Uterus ausgelöst wird. Freud sah sie als eine dissoziative Störung, ein Übergang von psychischer Krankheit zu einem physischen Level.  In ihrer fotografischen Arbeit "A Conversion Act" greift Bournonville den Gedanken der Umwandlung von seelischen Vorgängen in das Körperliche auf und entwirft zwei einander ergänzende Serien.

Anna Domnick: Calm II (2013)
In ihrer zehnteiligen Serie "Calm II" setzt sich Anna Domnick mit der Visualisierung einer geistigen wie materiellen Auflösung auseinander. Die intensive Betrachtung von Landschaft, die sie selbst als autobiographisches Moment in ihre künstlerische Arbeit hineinträgt, transformiert sich in "Calm II" zu einer weitestgehenden Abstraktion des konkreten Motivs. In den abwechselnden Bildfolgen von Landschaft und Körper visualisiert Anna Domnick den für sie wechselseitigen Prozess, in dem geistige und physische Auflösung einander bedingen.

Birte Kaufmann: The Travellers (2012)
"Kesselflicker" ist eine im deutschen Sprachraum negativ konnotierte Bezeichnung für Landfahrer. Die Traveller sind eine geschlossene Gesellschaft mit eigenen Regeln und Traditionen. Birte Kaufmann hat sich mit großer Ausdauer Zugang zu einigen, ihrerseits äußerst misstrauischen, Familien erarbeitet und ihre Fotografien, die zwischen Dokumentation, Narration und Inszenierung schwingen, gewähren einen authentischen Einblick in eine uns verborgene Welt.

Lioba Keuck: Couve e Coragem (2012)
"Kohl und Mut" - was beinahe wie eine sozialistische Arbeitsparole klingt, beschreibt die Lebensrealität von Menschen, die am Rande der Portugiesischen Gesellschaft oftmals um ihr schieres Überleben kämpfen. Für ihre Arbeit "Couve e Coragem" hat Lioba Keuck in den Armutsgürteln der Hauptstadt recherchiert, die Menschen nach ihren Geschichten befragt und präsentiert diese in einer Mischung aus Texten, Portraits, künstlerischen und dokumentarisch anmutenden Fotografien.

Alwin Lay: Mod. CLASSIC (2010/2013)
Von nichts kommt nichts, könnte das Motto von Alwin Lay sein, oder auch: Es passiert nicht immer, was geschehen müsste, aber doch jede Menge. "mod. CLASSIC" ist der Name einer kleinen Siebträger Espressomaschine aus den 1970iger Jahren, die zum Sinnbild Alwins Schaffens geworden ist. Die Präsentation der Maschine wird, alleine durch die Produktion des Kaffees, ihrer Funktion enthoben und löscht so auch das Bild, das wir von ihr haben. Lay überrascht den Betrachter auf eine sinnige, humorvolle Art und Weise, eben ganz "mod. CLASSIC" -mäßig.

Marian Luft: Back2Politics (2013)
"Wenn keine Revolution herrscht, muss man sie eben herstellen", ist der Titel eines Artikels über Hans Magnus Enzenbergers legendärer Rede anlässlich der Pariser Aufstände im Juli 1968. Dies könnte - mit einem zwinkernden Auge - auch für Marian Luft und seine mehrteilige Serie "Back2Politics" gelten: In einer Zeit, in der (zumindest in Deutschland) gerade keine Revolution in Sicht ist, muss bzw. kann man, zumindest als Künstler, jederzeit eine anzetteln. Seine Rauminszenierung, die in allen Teilen inhaltlich wie apparativ dem Computer entspringt - sampelt Inhalte analog zu zeitgenössischer Kunst- und Kulturproduktion und generiert daraus ein gänzlich eigenständiges ästhetisches Produkt.

Stephanie Steinkopf: Manhattan - Street of Youth (2012)
"Manhattan" nennen die Dorfbewohner mitten in Brandenburg die so unvermittelt in die idyllische Landschaft hineinragenden mehrstöckigen Häuser. "Straße der Jugend" steht auf dem Schild jener Straße, die direkt an den Wohnblöcken vorbeiführt. 23 Jahre nach der Wende steht ein Gebäude komplett leer, im zweiten Bau sind zwölf von vierzig Wohnungen noch bewohnt. Stephanie Steinkopfs Bilder sprechen von nicht eingelösten Hoffnungen, von Agonie, Trostlosigkeit und Sozialhilfe. Sie zeigen die glanzlose Kehrseite der Wirtschaftsmacht Deutschland.

Daniel Stubenvoll: Neat Work - Part I & II (Saubere Arbeit) (2013)
Daniel Stubenvoll scheut sich nicht nach dem Wesentlichen zu fragen: Woher kommt das Neue und wie entsteht es? Eine vermeintliche Antwort: Alles beginnt mit einem Grundstein - der ist das Fundament einer jeden Arbeit und wird von ihm fotografisch ins Bild gesetzt. Die Arbeit muss, da ist Daniel Stubenvoll sich sicher, "sauber" sein, einem Bauwerk gleichen. In "Clean Works" kuratiert Stubenvoll nicht nur die Werke seiner Kommilitonen über diesen Grundstein, sondern auch seine eigene Grundstein-Fotografie, die von den Arbeiten seiner Kommilitonen inspiriert ist.

Christina Werner: PIPAL (2012/2013)
Eine Herbariumskassette mit Blättern der Pappelfeige (Pipal), sechs so genannte Betonbilder ("concrete images"), 12 snapshots und eine MDF-Platte sind die Komponenten von Christina Werners Installation. Sie bilden ein Raumensemble zu beiden Seiten des Flusses in Ahmedabab, einer aufstrebenden Metropole im Bundesstaat Gujarat im Westen Indiens, und werden zu einer Promenade durch die Stadt. Mit der klaren Verankerung im Konzeptuellen gelingt es Werner exemplarisch, alle Klippen der erwarteten Bilder zu umschiffen und eine völlig neue Sehweise anzubieten.

"gute aussichten" präsentiert eine einzigartige und weitreichende Übersicht über den Stil und den Inhalt der Werke junger deutscher Fotografen in den letzten 12 Monaten. Die individuellen Bildserien unterscheiden sich durch vielfältige Ästhetiken und formale und konzeptuelle Ansätze. Sie präsentieren eine Einsicht in die vielfältigen Themengebiete, mit denen sich junge zeitgenössische Künstler beschäftigen.

Zurück