Exhibition Fungal Datascapes: A Sporous Commons of Mushrooms and Climate

Fungal Datascapes: A Sporous Commons of Mushrooms and Climate © Rut Karin Zettergren, Finn Arschavir, Jens Evaldsson

Thu, 04.11.2021 -
Tue, 30.11.2021

Goethe-Institut Glasgow

Weather Glass or Crystal Ball?

‘Fungal Datascapes: A Sporous Commons of Mushrooms and Climate’ is an immersive art installation and 360˚ video experience created and realised by artists Rut Karin Zettergren (Sweden), Finn Arschavir (Scotland) and Jens Evaldsson (Sweden). The piece is the final part of the Goethe Institute’s supra-regional project 'Weather Glass or Crystal Ball? Mapping the Weather in Arts and Science'.

The 360˚ video is an aesthetic and speculative investigation into multi-species world-building using data gathered from mycological research into the effects of climate change on fungal populations. The soundtrack was created with electrical biofeedback signal variations from fungi. The installation will be displayed at Goethe-Institut Glasgow for the first time, coinciding with COP26. Additionally, the video piece will be available to visit online on our project website.

'Weather Glass or Crystal Ball? Mapping the Weather in Arts and Science' is a research project funded and designed by Goethe-Institutes Glasgow, Schweden, Norway and Denmark and curated in cooperation with​​​​​​​ LABLAB. The exhibition research was supported by the EU2020 project GENERATION A / Climate Hackathon.

Opening hours

Preview
4 November 2021, 18:00 - 21:00

with sound improvisation by artist and musician Danny Pagarani.

During COP26 
5 - 13 November 2021 

Mon - Sat: 12:00 - 18:00

After COP26
16 - 30 November 2021 

Tue - Fri: 12:00 - 18:00

Please register in advance (full name(s) including contact details)!

'Fungal Datascapes: A Sporous Commons of Mushrooms and Climate'

Biographies

Rut Karin Zettergren
Rut Karin Zettergren‘s work often begins as an investigation into historical events or speculations about the future. In recent years, she has been influenced by theories and histories around data, cyborg and glitch feminism, science fiction and the construction of modernity. Her works take the form of drawings, performances, video, spatial installations, VR or online presentations.

Jens Evaldsson
Based on human behavior and social interaction, Evaldsson activates social spaces through different types of interventions that in turn create new contexts and realities. Evaldsson works idea-based but often formative with the materials and methods that are best suited for what he wants to achieve: an opportunity to have conversations about what it’s like to be human with others. By organising groups, situations and venues for meetings, conversations, negotiations and collaborations, the result is sometimes exhibitions, but as often a new discursive and social space at an existing institution or in a social context. Sometimes in the water! (Text by Maria Lantz)

Finn Arschavir
Finn Arschavir is an artist and designer who uses collaboration as a method of enquiry. Shaped by the fraught experience of precarity of life in the Anthropocene, his work plays with and oscillates between states and stories of humour and grief, paralysis and agency, and is inspired by post-human thought, network technologies, comics, folk traditions and esoterica. His practice is context specific but frequently features drawing and collage, educational tools and resources, sound and moving image. He is a co-founder of A+E Collective and works and volunteers with communities and organisations to address social and environmental issues through design and artistic thinking.
 

Credits

Artists:
Finn Arschavir (Scotland) 
Jens Evaldsson (Sweden) 
Rut Karin Zettergren (Sweden)

Narrator: NC Grey
Data chanting: Jamal Deen, EvaH-Voice, Yuri Hoyoyon, Rob Sharp

Research consultants:
M. Catherine Aime, Purdue University
Daniel Henk, University of Bath
Håvard Kauserud, University of Oslo
Andy Letcher, Schumacher College
Script consultant: Maria Sledmere


We’re continuing to ask all visitors to book a ticket in advance of their visit so that we can carefully manage the number of people in the exhibition space. Therefore, please get in touch via E-Mail.
Please send us your name, contact details and your preferred date/time during the opening hours.

 

Back

Ausstellung Fungal Datascapes: A Sporous Commons of Mushrooms and Climate

Fungal Datascapes: A Sporous Commons of Mushrooms and Climate © Rut Karin Zettergren, Finn Arschavir, Jens Evaldsson

Do, 04.11.2021 -
Di, 30.11.2021

Goethe-Institut Glasgow

Weather Glass or Crystal Ball?

“Fungal Datascapes: A Sporous Commons of Mushrooms and Climate" ist eine immersive Kunstinstallation und ein 360°-Videoerlebnis, das von den Künstler*innen Rut Karin Zettergren (Schweden), Finn Arschavir (Schottland) und Jens Evaldsson (Schweden) geschaffen und realisiert wurde. Die Arbeit ist Teil des Projekts des Goethe-Instituts "Weather Glass or Crystal Ball? Mapping the Weather in Arts and Science".

Das 360°-Video ist eine ästhetische und spekulative Untersuchung des Aufbaus einer artenreichen Welt unter Verwendung von Daten aus der Mykologie über die Auswirkungen des Klimawandels auf Pilzpopulationen. Der Soundtrack wurde mit elektrischen Biofeedback-Signalvariationen von Pilzen erstellt. Die Installation wird zum ersten Mal während der COP26 in Glasgow 2021 im Goethe-Institut zu sehen sein. Außerdem wird die immersive Videoarbeit online auf unserer Projektwebsite erlebbar sein.

"Weather Glass or Crystal Ball? Mapping the Weather in Arts and Science" ist ein Forschungsprojekt, das von den Goethe-Instituten Glasgow, Schweden, Norwegen und Dänemark finanziert und gestaltet sowie in Kooperation mit LABLAB kuratiert wurde. Die Ausstellungsforschung wurde durch das EU2020-Projekt GENERATION A / Climate Hackathon unterstützt.
 

Öffnungszeiten

Eröffnung
4. November 2021, 18:00 - 21:00 Uhr

mit Klangimprovisation des Künstlers und Musikers Danny Pagarani.

Während der COP26 
5. - 13. November 2021 

Mo - Sa: 12:00 - 18:00 ​Uhr
 
Nach der COP26
16. - 30. November 2021 

Di - Fr: 12:00 - 18:00 Uhr

Bitte melden Sie sich im Voraus an (vollständige(r) Name(n) und Kontaktdaten)!

'Fungal Datascapes: A Sporous Commons of Mushrooms and Climate'

Biografien

Rut Karin Zettergren
Rut Karin Zettergrens Arbeit beginnt oft mit einer Befragung historischer Ereignisse oder mit Zukunftsspekulationen. Während der letzten Jahre haben besonders die Theorie und Geschichten um Daten, Cyborg und Glitch Feminism, Science Fiction und die Modernität als Konstrukt ihre Praxis beeinflusst. Ihre Arbeiten nehmen die Form von Zeichnungen, Performances, Video, Rauminstallationen, VR oder Onlinepräsentationen an.

Jens Evaldsson
Verankert in menschlichen Verhaltensweisen und sozialer Interaktion aktiviert Evaldsson soziale Orte durch Interventionen, die wiederum neue Kontexte und Realitäten schaffen. Evaldsson arbeitet ideenorientiert und nutzt wechselnde Materialien und Methoden: eine Gelegenheit, mit anderen gemeinsam zu verhandeln, was es beutetet, Mensch zu sein. Durch die Organisation von Gruppen, Situationen und Orten für Treffen, Diskussionen, Verhandlungen und Kollaborationen resultieren diese Unternehmungen manchmal in Ausstellungen, öfter aber in diskursiven und sozialen Räumen innerhalb existierender Institutionen oder Kontexte. Manchmal sogar unter Wasser! (Text von Maria Lantz)

Finn Arschavir
Finn Arschavir ist Künstler und Designer, der Kollaboration als Forschungsmethode nutzt. Belastet durch die vorherrschende Lebenserfahrung von Instabilität im Anthropozän spielt seine Arbeit mit Zuständen von Humor und Trauer, Lähmung und Aktionismus, und wird vom Konzept des Post-Humanismus, Netzwerktechnologien, Comics, Folklore und Esoterik beeinflusst. Seine Praxis ist kontextspezifisch, aber umfasst häufig Zeichnung und Collage, pädagogische Methoden und Ressourcen, Klang und Film. Er ist Mitgründer des A+E Collective und wirkt ehrenamtlich in Community Organisationen mit, die Probleme der Umwelt- und soziale Gerechtigkeit durch künstlerische Arbeit aufgreifen.

Credits

Künstler*innen:
Finn Arschavir (Schottland)
Jens Evaldsson (Schweden)
Rut Karin Zettergren (Schweden)

Erzähler*in: NC Grey
Datengesang: Jamal Deen, EvaH-Voice, Yuri Hoyoyon, Rob Sharp

Forschungsberater*innen:
M. Catherine Aime, Purdue Universität
Daniel Henk, Universität von Bath
Håvard Kauserud, Universität Oslo
Andy Letcher, Schumacher College
Drehbuchberaterin: Maria Sledmere


Wir bitten weiterhin alle Besucherinnen und Besucher, vor ihrem Besuch eine Eintrittskarte zu reservieren, damit wir die Anzahl der Personen im Ausstellungsraum sorgfältig steuern können. Bitte melden Sie sich daher per E-Mail an.
Bitte teilen Sie uns Ihren Namen, Ihre Kontaktdaten und Ihr bevorzugtes Datum/Zeit während der Öffnungszeiten mit.




 

Zurück