Quick access:

Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

Movements and Moments
En Love (அன்பு)

Identifying Aravani Art Project as a movement, this comic follows the lives of the urban trans women in collective living in Bangalore. Told through the eyes and voice of Chandri, one of the most senior members, the narrative illustrates how, despite constantly feeling betrayed by society, she joined the art project with the help of her best friend, roommate and now colleague, Shanthi. The non-linear approach builds a connection between the multiple lives Chandri has lived and how her definition of trust has evolved through the years by the spaces she has inhabited. This approach also splits the narrative into the lives and experiences of the other members – all threaded together with the bonds to each other that they have grown to cherish.

By Chandri Narayan and Sadhna Prasad

 


Artworks by artists

  • Chandri Narayan and Sadhna Prasad © Chandri Narayan and Sadhna Prasad
  • Chandri Narayan and Sadhna Prasad 2 © Chandri Narayan and Sadhna Prasad
Chandri Narayan © Chandri Narayan

Chandri Narayan

is an artist and trans woman who is extremely hard working and committed to all areas of practice. She is a skilled muralist, storyteller, orator, and teacher. Apart from painting, she has a keen interest in music, dance and is a foodie.

Sadhna Prasad © Sadhna Prasad

Sadhna Prasad

is a graphic artist and illustrator with an MA in Illustration from the Camberwell College of the Arts, London. She is also the cofounder and graphic director of Aravani Art Project in Bangalore, India. Apart from illustration, she specializes in murals, painting, and storytelling.

Top

Schnelleinstieg:

Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

Movements and Moments
Liebe (அன்பு)

Um das Aravani Art Project als eine Bewegung darzustellen, verfolgt der Comic das Leben urbaner trans Frauen in Bangalore, die gemeinsam in einem Kollektiv leben. Erzählt aus der Perspektive und mit der Stimme von Chandri, einem der dienstältesten Mitglieder, veranschaulicht die Erzählung, wie sie, obwohl sie sich ständig von der Gesellschaft im Stich gelassen fühlte, mit Hilfe ihrer besten Freundin, Mitbewohnerin und jetzigen Kollegin Shanthi an diesem Kunstprojekt teilnahm. In einem nicht-linearen Ansatz wird versucht, eine Verbindung herzustellen zwischen den vielfältigen Leben, die Chandri gelebt hat, und der Art und Weise, wie sich ihre Definition von Vertrauen im Laufe der Jahre durch die Räume, die sie bewohnt hat, entwickelt hat. Dieser Ansatz umfasst auch die Leben und Erfahrungen der anderen Mitglieder – alle vereint durch die Bindungen zueinander, die sie zu schätzen gelernt haben.

Von Chandri Narayan und Sadhna Prasad

 


Künstlerische Werke

  • Chandri Narayan und Sadhna Prasad © Chandri Narayan und Sadhna Prasad
  • Chandri Narayan und Sadhna Prasad 2 © Chandri Narayan und Sadhna Prasad
Chandri Narayan © Chandri Narayan

Chandri Narayan

ist eine Künstlerin und trans Frau, die extrem hart arbeitet und sich in allen Bereichen künstlerischer Praxis engagiert. Sie hat große Erfahrung in der Erstellung von Wandmalereien und ist zudem Geschichtenerzählerin, Rednerin und Lehrerin. Neben der Malerei hat sie ein großes Interesse an Musik und Tanz – und sie ist eine Feinschmeckerin.

Sadhna Prasad © Sadhna Prasad

Sadhna Prasad

ist Grafikerin und Illustratorin mit einem MA in Illustration vom Camberwell College of the Arts, London. Sie ist außerdem Mitbegründerin und Grafikdirektorin des Aravani Art Project in Bangalore, Indien. Neben der Illustration hat sie sich auf Wandmalerei, Malerei und Geschichtenerzählen spezialisiert.

Top