Quick access:

Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

Movements and Moments
Raindrop in the Drought: Godavari Dange

A school dropout at 13, bride at 15, and widow at 19, Godavari Dange grew up against a backdrop of mounting debt, wilted crops, and recurring disaster in the epicenter of India’s agrarian crisis, Marathwada. Driven by her personal tragedies and everyday exclusions of other Bahujan women in the region, Godavari has spent over two decades in feminist organizing around building Indigenous, sustainable climate solutions such as the innovative “one-acre model”. Ever since, supported by NGO Swayam Shikshan Prayog, she has backed over 50,000 women in Marathwada and has addressed various public platforms. Yet her work has found little coverage in India’s mainstream media or globally.

By Reetika Revathy Subramanian and Maitri Dore
 



Artists and Their previous Artworks

  • Reetika Revathy Subramanian and Maitri Dore © Reetika Revathy Subramanian and Maitri Dore
  • Reetika Revathy Subramanian and Maitri Dore © Reetika Revathy Subramanian and Maitri Dore
  • Reetika Revathy Subramanian and Maitri Dore © Reetika Revathy Subramanian and Maitri Dore
  • Reetika Revathy Subramanian and Maitri Dore © Reetika Revathy Subramanian and Maitri Dore
Reetika Revathy Subramanian© Reetika Revathy Subramanian

Reetika Revathy Subramanian

is a journalist and researcher from Mumbai, India. She is currently pursuing her PhD in Gender Studies as a Gates Cambridge Scholar at University of Cambridge, UK. Through her work that is anchored in intersectional feminist politics, she aims to reconcile collaborative storytelling with pressing marginalized realities.

Maitri Dore © Maitri Dore

Maitri Dore

is an architect and freelance illustrator from Mumbai, India. Through her illustrations, she attempts to highlight the struggles of oppressed communities in India, focusing on gender, caste and religion. She is currently pursuing a PhD in cultural heritage conservation at the University of Gothenburg, Sweden.

Top

Schnelleinstieg:

Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

Movements and Moments
Regentropfen In Der Dürre: Godavari Dange

Als Schulabbrecherin mit 13, Braut mit 15 und Witwe mit 19 Jahren wuchs Godavari Dange vor dem Hintergrund wachsender Schulden, vertrockneter Ernten und wiederkehrender Katastrophen im Epizentrum der indischen Agrarkrise, in Marathwada, auf. Angetrieben durch ihre persönlichen Tragödien und die alltägliche Ausgrenzung anderer Bahujanerinnen in der Region, hat Godavari mehr als zwei Jahrzehnte in feministischen Organisationen verbracht, die sich um den Aufbau einheimischer, nachhaltiger Klimalösungen wie das innovative "Ein-Hektar-Modell" bemühen. Seither hat sie, unterstützt von der NGO Swayam Shikshan Prayog, über 50.000 Frauen in Marathwada unterstützt und sich an verschiedene öffentliche Plattformen gewandt. Dennoch hat ihre Arbeit in den Mainstreammedien Indiens und weltweit bislang wenig Beachtung gefunden.

Von Reetika Revathy Subramanian und Maitri Dore

 


Künstlerische Werke

  • Reetika Revathy Subramanian und Maitri Dore © Reetika Revathy Subramanian und Maitri Dore
  • Reetika Revathy Subramanian und Maitri Dore © Reetika Revathy Subramanian und Maitri Dore
  • Reetika Revathy Subramanian und Maitri Dore © Reetika Revathy Subramanian und Maitri Dore
  • Reetika Revathy Subramanian und Maitri Dore © Reetika Revathy Subramanian und Maitri Dore
Reetika Revathy Subramanian© Reetika Revathy Subramanian

Reetika Revathy Subramanian

ist eine Journalistin und Forscherin aus Mumbai, Indien. Zurzeit promoviert sie als Gates Cambridge Scholar an der University of Cambridge, Großbritannien, in Gender Studies. Durch ihre Arbeit, die in intersektionalen feministischen Politiken verankert ist, versucht sie, gemeinschaftliches Geschichtenerzählen mit marginalisierten Realitäten in Einklang zu bringen.

Maitri Dore © Maitri Dore

Maitri Dore

ist Architektin und freiberufliche Illustratorin aus Mumbai, Indien. Mit ihren Illustrationen versucht sie, die Kämpfe marginalisierter Gemeinschaften in Indien hervorzuheben, wobei sie sich auf Geschlecht, Kaste und Religion konzentriert. Zurzeit promoviert sie an der Universität Göteborg, Schweden, zum Thema der Bewahrung kulturellen Erbes.

Top