Islamic Theology A Bridge to Muslim Life

The degree course in Islamic theology enables a historically critical reading of the Qur’an
The degree course in Islamic theology enables a historically critical reading of the Qur’an | Photo (detail): © Fotolia/quickshooting

Five German universities have been offering degrees in Islamic theology since 2010. How successful are these courses, and how much influence do the universities have? Taking stock of the situation so far.

More than four million Muslims live in Germany, and 750,000 pupils of Muslim faith attend German schools. Islam is one of Germany’s religions – that is no longer a provocative statement, but simply a fact. Nonetheless, it was long the case that Islamic theology was not offered by German universities and that schoolchildren were not given Islamic religious education in German.

The German Council of Science and Humanities, the leading advisory body in German education policy, had therefore recommended in 2010 that degree courses in Islamic studies be established at German universities. This would allow theologians, imams and, above all, Islamic religious studies teachers to be trained. The Federal Ministry of Education and Research provided a total of 20 million euros in funding over the course of five years to pay for Islamic centres at the universities of Münster, Osnabrück, Frankfurt am Main, Tübingen and Erlangen-Nuremberg. Annette Schavan, the minister of education at the time, was the driving force behind the project: she hoped to create courses in theology that would succeed in bringing religion into the present day. The new subject was also supposed to serve as a milestone in terms of integration.

New subject given good marks

The subject was evaluated in 2016 to take stock of the progress made so far. The assessment given by Islamic scholars and theologians proved positive. As Federal Education Minister Johanna Wanka put it, the Muslim faith has found a home for itself in the academic and theological debate thanks to the centres. Around 1,800 students, both male and female, have enrolled in the bachelor’s and master’s courses at the universities. Funding is to be made available for a further five years, while faculties of religious education and theology have also been established in Paderborn and Freiburg. Berlin is still discussing whether to follow suit.

The road has not always been smooth, cooperation with the Islamic associations proving to be one obstacle. These include for example the Ditib (Turkish-Islamic Union for Religious Affairs), the Islamic Council and the Central Council of Muslims. Even though they represent only a good third of Muslims in Germany, over 80 percent of the mosque communities number among their members. They are involved in the Islamic degree courses at the universities through what are known as advisory councils, and they are supposed to have a say – rather like churches do in the case of Christian theological faculties – when it comes to personnel decisions and indeed teaching content. These associations are highly conservative and orthodox in orientation. For them, theology is the administration of religious scholarship. For this reason, many academics have warned of the risk of association officials being overly intrusive – which would undermine the freedom of research and teaching at a state university.

Concerns about their authority to interpret Islam

Münster is a particularly good example of just how difficult this cooperation can be. Mouhanad Khorchide runs the Centre for Islamic Theology there: he wants to renew Islam from the inside out, placing the central focus on the believer’s rationality and ability to speak and think for themselves. The association officials were worried about losing their authority to interpret Islam in Germany and claimed that the professor, who in their eyes was far too liberal, acted outside the boundaries of Islam and was not teaching in accordance with Islamic scripture. They demanded his resignation and had an expert report drawn up that was supposed to reveal his alleged errors. The university leadership stuck by Khorchide, since which time there has been a kind of truce between the two sides.

Filling staff positions poses another obstacle. Where are the requisite academic staff to be found so quickly? Not only should professors have a qualification in theological training, they should also be able to teach in German. It is not possible to find perfect candidates to fill all the necessary positions, though most of the initial difficulties have been overcome.

Many of the chairs have meanwhile been filled, and a certain diversity has evolved, with centres focusing on different aspects: some concentrate more on Quranic exegesis and others more on Islamic law. In Münster, for example, one research focus is on the study of Islamic norms and their methodology, while Islamic religious education is one focus in Frankfurt/Giessen. What they all have in common is that they wish to enable a historically critical reading of the Qur’an and to serve as a bridge to the reality of life for Muslims in Germany.

Distinguishing between religious belief and academic work

And what are the students themselves interested in? “Many of them are keen to deepen their faith rather than pursue academic work”, says Harry Harun Behr, professor of religious education in Frankfurt am Main. Mouhanad Khorchide is also familiar with the challenge involved in making it clear to the students what it means to study theology at a secular university. Many of them still find it difficult to make a distinction between religious belief and academic work. “They want to have their faith confirmed, yet the university is a place at which to reflect upon one’s faith.” Khorchide believes that it will take one or two more generations of students before this really gets through to everyone.

The subject of Islamic theology is still in its infancy in Germany. Nonetheless, it is making good progress. There is greater freedom of thinking in Germany than is possible in most Islamic countries – an opportunity that should be utilized.

The post-graduate programme in Islamic theology that the universities have jointly initiated with Stiftung Mercator is one step in this direction. Its goal is to address the shortage of Islamic scholars trained in Germany, and has already produced nearly 20 young academics with outstanding qualifications. They will shape theology in Germany in future, and will represent Muslims in academia, schools and the public sphere – Islam made in Germany.

Islamische Theologie Brücke zum muslimischen Leben

Der Studiengang Islamische Theologie ermöglicht eine historisch-kritische Lesart des Korans
Der Studiengang Islamische Theologie ermöglicht eine historisch-kritische Lesart des Korans | Foto (Ausschnitt): © Fotolia/quickshooting

Seit 2010 wird an fünf deutschen Hochschulen Islamische Theologie angeboten. Wie erfolgreich arbeiten die Studiengänge und welchen Einfluss nehmen die Hochschulen? Eine Bilanz.

In Deutschland leben mehr als vier Millionen Muslime, 750.000 Schülerinnen und Schüler  muslimischen Glaubens besuchen deutsche Schulen. Der Islam gehört zu Deutschland. Das ist kein provokanter Satz mehr, sondern eine Tatsache. Trotzdem war Islamische Theologie an deutschen Universitäten lange nicht vertreten und lange mussten Schüler auf islamischen  Religionsunterricht in deutscher Sprache warten.

2010 hatte der Wissenschaftsrat, das wichtigste Beratungsgremium der deutschen Bildungspolitik, deshalb empfohlen, an deutschen Universitäten Islamische Studien einzurichten. Religionsgelehrte sollten dort ausgebildet werden, Imame und vor allem auch Lehrer für den islamischen Religionsunterricht. Das Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung förderte Islamzentren an den Universitäten in Münster, Osnabrück, Frankfurt am Main, Tübingen und Erlangen-Nürnberg mit insgesamt 20 Millionen Euro für fünf Jahre. Die damalige Bundesbildungsministerin Annette Schavan war die treibende Kraft des Projekts. Sie erhoffte sich eine Theologie, die es schafft, Religion in die Gegenwart zu übersetzen. Das neue Fach sollte auch ein Meilenstein für die Integration sein.

Gute Noten für ein neues Fach

Im Jahr 2016 wurde eine Zwischenbilanz gezogen, das Fach evaluiert. Die Bewertung von Islamwissenschaftlern und Theologen fiel positiv aus. Der muslimische Glaube habe mit den Zentren eine Heimat in der wissenschaftlich-theologischen Diskussion gefunden, sagte Bundesbildungsministerin Johanna Wanka. Rund 1.800 Männer und Frauen sind an den Universitäten in die Bachelor- und Masterstudiengänge eingeschrieben. Für weitere fünf Jahre sollen die Fördergelder fließen. Auch in Paderborn und Freiburg sind Fakultäten für Religionspädagogik und Theologie entstanden. Berlin diskutiert noch darüber.

Der Weg war nicht einfach. Eine Hürde stellte die Zusammenarbeit mit den islamischen Verbänden dar. Zu ihnen zählen etwa die Ditib (Türkisch-Islamische Union der Anstalt für Religion), der Islamrat und der Zentralrat der Muslime. Auch wenn sie nur gut ein Drittel der Muslime in Deutschland vertreten, gehören ihnen doch über 80 Prozent der Moscheegemeinden an. Sie sind über sogenannte Beiräte in die Islamstudien an den Hochschulen eingebunden. Bei Personalentscheidungen und auch Lehrinhalten sollen sie – ähnlich wie die Kirchen an christlich-theologischen Fakultäten – ein Mitspracherecht haben. Diese Verbände sind sehr konservativ-orthodox ausgerichtet. Theologie ist für sie die Verwaltung von Religionsgelehrsamkeit. Viele Wissenschaftler warnten deshalb vor einem übergriffigen Verhalten der Verbandsfunktionäre – das die Freiheit von Forschung und Lehre an einer staatlichen Universität torpedieren würde.

Sorge um die Deutungshoheit

Wie schwierig diese Zusammenarbeit sein kann, zeigte sich besonders deutlich in Münster. Dort leitet Mouhanad Khorchide das Zentrum für Islamische Theologie. Khorchide will den Islam von innen heraus erneuern. Vernunft und Mündigkeit des Gläubigen stellt er dabei in den Mittelpunkt. Die Verbandsfunktionäre fürchteten um ihre Deutungshoheit des Islams in Deutschland. Der in ihren Augen viel zu liberale Professor würde sich außerhalb des Islams bewegen und nicht bekenntnisgebunden lehren. Sie forderten seinen Rücktritt und ließen ein entsprechendes Gutachten erstellen, das seine angeblichen Verfehlungen aufzeigen sollte. Die Universitätsleitung hielt zu Khorchide. Seitdem herrscht eine Art Burgfrieden.

Eine weitere Hürde stellte die Besetzung der Stellen dar. Woher soll das wissenschaftliche Personal so schnell kommen? Die Professoren sollten nicht nur eine qualifizierte theologische Ausbildung besitzen, sondern auch in der Lage sein, auf Deutsch zu lehren. Nicht alle Stellen konnten optimal besetzt werden. Aber die Startschwierigkeiten sind größtenteils überwunden.

In der Zwischenzeit sind viele Lehrstühle besetzt, es hat sich eine Vielfalt entwickelt, die Zentren haben unterschiedliche Schwerpunkte, die einen konzentrieren sich mehr auf die Koranexegese, die anderen mehr auf Islamisches Recht. In Münster etwa ist einer der Forschungsschwerpunkte Islamische Normenlehre und ihre Methodologie, in Frankfurt/Gießen ist ein Schwerpunkt etwa Islamische Religionspädagogik. Allen gemeinsam ist: Sie wollen eine historisch-kritische Lesart des Korans ermöglichen und eine Brücke zur Lebenswirklichkeit der Muslime in Deutschland schlagen.

Trennung von Glauben und Wissenschaft

Und wie ist es um die Studierenden bestellt? „Viele von ihnen streben nach Glaubensvertiefung, nicht nach wissenschaftlichem Arbeiten“, sagt etwa Harry Harun Behr, Professor für Religionspädagogik in Frankfurt am Main. Auch Mouhanad Khorchide kennt die Herausforderung, den Studierenden klarzumachen, was Theologie an einer säkularen Universität bedeutet. Vielen falle es noch schwer, zwischen Glauben und Wissenschaft zu trennen. „Sie wollen ihren Glauben bestätigt sehen, die Universität ist aber ein Ort, um über den Glauben zu reflektieren.“ Es werde wohl noch ein bis zwei Studentengenerationen dauern, bis das wirklich bei allen angekommen sei.

Das Fach Islamische Theologie steht in Deutschland noch am Anfang. Trotzdem kann sich die Entwicklung sehen lassen. In Deutschland ist eine größere Freiheit des Denkens möglich als in den meisten islamischen Herkunftsländern. Eine Chance, die es zu nutzen gilt.

Das Graduierten-Kolleg, das die Universitäten gemeinsam mit der Mercator-Stiftung ins Leben gerufen haben, ist ein Schritt in diese Richtung. Ziel des Kollegs ist es, den Mangel an in Deutschland ausgebildeten Wissenschaftlern zu beheben. Es hat bereits fast 20 hervorragend qualifizierte Nachwuchswissenschaftler hervorgebracht. Sie werden die Theologie in Deutschland in Zukunft prägen, Muslime in Wissenschaft, Schule und Öffentlichkeit repräsentieren – Islam made in Germany.