German Season | Interview Leif Randt & Andreas Stichmann

Leif Randt und Andreas Stichmann
© Goethe-Institut Indonesien/Christel Mahnke

A literary journey through Indonesia


What were your expectations before traveling to Indonesia?

Leif Randt: A friend of mine gave me a briefing that boiled down to “gentle people”, “humidity and heat”, “fantastic nature”.

Andreas Stichmann: I had no expectations. I didn’t know a lot about Indonesia and tried not to read too much before my trip so that I could be unbiased and just see what would happen.

What experiences will you remember particularly well?

Leif Randt: When I was on a small island called Leila, near Makassar, a coconut falling down from a tree almost killed me. In Bandung I got lost during a hash-house run. It was already dark and I was convinced that I would have to spend the night in the mountains. The moment when I reached Gili Trawangen and realized that I had left what I thought ‘Indonesia’ was. Suddenly white people with smug faces. The first hours I didn’t like it at all.

Andreas Stichmann: The people I met while couch-surfing were the really interesting ones. Driving fast on a motorbike in chaotic traffic conditions and getting through it, was really great. The most memorable discussions I had were about religion. I was surprised how open young Muslims were that I met – you could talk to them about everything and ask them anything. I did spend some time in Iran before and I was used to people being more reserved when it came to religion – although they were very hospitable and open otherwise.
 
  • Gili Island | Leif Randt © Leif Randt
  • Makassar One | Leif Randt © Leif Randt
  • Makassar Four | Leif Randt © Leif Randt
  • Leif Randt in Jakarta © Leif Randt
  • Leif Randt mit Iwan Gunawan © Goethe-Institut Indonesien
How did you perceive the Indonesian literary scene?

Leif Randt: The festival in Makassar was very charming. In the evening the whole city seemed to be up on its feet to party. Students, who were taking care of the authors, were very motivated and pleasant. Obviously many Indonesians are enthusiastic about literature. However, I didn’t get to know a lot of Indonesian literature while I was there.

Andreas Stichmann: The literary events I saw were more focused on performance, commonality and fun – more than in Germany. Social criticism and relevance to present times seemed to have a smaller emphasis. Dancing during readings would also be rather a rare sight in Germany. I did like it a lot though, it seemed more fun and more communal. It was also noticeable that the literary scene is not very big and that not too many books are published.

Will we find some Indonesia references in your upcoming projects?

Leif Randt: Those who will look close enough will find something.

Andreas Stichmann: I can’t say at this stage.


This interview was first published on the German Season/Leif Randt & Andreas Stichmann.

Deutsche Saison | Interview Leif Randt & Andreas Stichmann

Leif Randt und Andreas Stichmann
© Goethe-Institut Indonesien/Christel Mahnke

Eine literarische Reise durch Indonesien


Was waren Ihre Erwartungen an Indonesien, bevor Sie die Reise angetreten haben?

Leif Randt: Eine Freundin hatte mich gebrieft. "Sanfte Menschen", "feuchte Hitze", "irre Natur".

Andreas Stichmann: Keine, ich kannte das Land gar nicht und hab mich auch bewusst nicht allzu sehr eingelesen, sondern wollte einfach unvoreingenommen schauen, was passiert.

Gab es bestimmte Erfahrungen, die Ihnen besonders in Erinnerung geblieben sind?

Leif Randt: Auf der kleinen Insel Leila vor der Küste der Hafenstadt Makassar wurde ich um Haaresbreite von einer herabfallenden Kokosnuss erschlagen. In den Bergen von Bandung bin ich während einer HashHouse-Laufs verloren gegangen. Es war längst dunkel geworden, und ich glaubte, die Nacht in den Bergen verbringen zu müssen. Der überraschende Schock, als ich die Partyinsel Gili-Trawangan betrat, und das, was ich für Indonesien hielt, mit einem Schlag verlassen hatte. Plötzlich wieder gottlose Weiße mit blasierten Gesichtern. Für einige Stunden missfiel mir das dann wirklich.

Andreas Stichmann: Ich habe ja Couchsurfing gemacht, und die Leute, die ich dabei getroffen habe, waren eigentlich die Interessantesten. Das schnelle Motorradfahren im chaotischen Verkehr, zu dem ich dadurch gekommen bin, hat mir gefallen. Die eindrücklichsten Gespräche waren die über Religion. Ich war überrascht, wie offen die jungen Muslime waren, die ich getroffen habe - man konnte über alles mit ihnen reden und sie alles fragen. Aus dem Iran, wo ich vorher mal eine Weile war, war ich eine etwas zugeknöpftere Haltung gewöhnt - wobei die Leute auch da natürlich sehr gastfreundlich und offen waren.
 
  • Gili Island | Leif Randt © Leif Randt
  • Makassar One | Leif Randt © Leif Randt
  • Makassar Four | Leif Randt © Leif Randt
  • Leif Randt in Jakarta © Leif Randt
  • Leif Randt mit Iwan Gunawan © Goethe-Institut Indonesien
Wie haben Sie die indonesische Literaturszene wahrgenommen?

Leif Randt: Das Festival in Makassar hatte erstaunlich viel Charme. Abends schien die ganze Stadt auf den Beinen, um zu feiern. Die Studenten, die sich um die Autoren kümmerten, waren sehr motivierend und angenehm. Es gibt offensichtlich literaturbegeisterte Leute in Indonesien, generell viel Begeisterung, glaube ich. Das, was dort geschrieben wird, habe ich während des Aufenthaltes aber nicht wirklich kennen gelernt.

Andreas Stichmann: Die Literaturveranstaltungen, die ich gesehen habe, schienen mir viel mehr auf Performance, Gemeinsamkeit und Spaß haben ausgerichtet zu sein, als Veranstaltungen in Deutschland es sind. Gesellschaftskritik, Gegenwartsbezogenheit u.Ä. schienen nicht so im Vordergrund zu stehen - und das vor einer Lesung getanzt wird, sieht man in Deutschland wohl auch eher selten. Das schien mir aber alles sehr schön - spaßiger und gemeinschaftlicher. Natürlich fiel auf, dass die Literaturszene einfach nicht so groß ist, dass nicht so viele Bücher erscheinen.

Werden wir in Ihren nächsten Werken eventuell den ein oder anderen Indonesien-Bezug finden?

Leif Randt: Wer genau genug sucht, wird etwas finden.

Andreas Stichmann: Das kann ich noch nicht sagen.


Dieses Interview erschien zuerst auf der Webseite der Deutschen Saison/Leif Randt & Andreas Stichmann.