Foto Interview with Nora Scheidler dan Rangga Purbaya

Books on Shelf
© Rangga Purbaya

The exhibition “Stories Left Untold”, an exhibition curated by Budi N.D. Dharmawan, pictures forgotten and repressed memories from past periods in German and Indonesian history via a very personal quest for truth by two young photographers. It features works by the German photographer Nora Scheidler and the Indonesian photographer Rangga Purbaya. The exhibition opened on 2nd October 2015 at the iCAN Gallery in Yogyakarta. We spoke to the two photographers about their works.
 
Could you give us a short overview of what the project “Stories Left Untold” is about and how the cooperation between the two of you came into being?
 
Rangga Purbaya: "Stories Left Untold" is about family history, about a story that was kept from the children and grandchildren because it was very traumatizing and no one will ever talk about it. We are trying to dig deeper into the story by visiting the scenes, concluding interviews, and browsing documents and archives. For me it is like collecting and arranging a puzzle to get a bigger narrative. Nora and I share the same story as a repressive rule inflicted violence on both our families, that´s how our cooperation started.
 
Nora Scheidler: “Stories Left Untold“ is an Indonesian-German photo exhibition about Rangga and me going on a journey to find out more about the past of our family members, who disappeared or innocently went to jail. I believe that traumata which happened to anyone in the family often have effects on the following generations as well. Just like questioning my grandfather about World War I&II, I was also curious to find out about my parents’ backgrounds and why my father had been in prison for one and a half years for simply throwing leaflets expressing his own and pretty peaceful opinion. Actually it was Tina [Christina Schott – project coordinator] who came up with the idea to combine the two anniversaries of Indonesia and Germany with two people’s backgrounds with similarities in their family history. Both Rangga and I were immediately interested in such a project.
 
Your projects seem to be complementary to each other in the way that one deals with a communist regime suppressing its proclaimed enemies in the Democratic Republic of Germany before the fall of the Iron Curtain. The other one vice versa documents the persecution of proclaimed communists in the aftermath of a military coup d'etat in Indonesia in 1965. What is your opinion about that?
 
Rangga Purbaya: We fulfilled each other with this story, at the end it's not just about communism or ideology but it is about humanity, how we treat other people as human beings.
 
Nora Scheidler: I agree with Rangga on this point.
 
Did it change the outlook on your own projects while getting to know the story of the respectively other?
 
Rangga Purbaya: No, it did not change the outlook on my own project because we know that we are dealing with repressive governments and stigmata within our own society.
 
Nora Scheidler: It didn’t change the outlook on my own project but it somehow completed it and made it no longer important, whether communists were persecuted or repressing nor which side anyone took part in. It kind of consolidated my opinion of always having two sides to every story and that no ideology no matter which one can be enforced with violence.
 
When you compare the level of awareness about these chapters in the histories of Germany and Indonesia what do you see?
 
Rangga Purbaya: We need to learn more about our history from different points of view, we have to talk and discuss openly about our history to get new meanings and knowledge.
 
Nora Scheidler: I definitely think that it is way easier and safe to talk about the past in Germany than it is in Indonesia. But on the other hand I would say that Germany´s efforts to encounter its past have not been concluded yet. It´s a long process to deal with a traumatic past, whether personal, in family backgrounds or in a countries history and it might take generations to complete it somehow if that’s possible at all.
 
Could you imagine continuing your cooperation with further projects?
 
Rangga Purbaya: Yes, because we can learn from each other how to deal with our history and how to act when we know that there is something wrong with our past. For Indonesians, reconciliation between victims and perpetrators of crimes against humanity remains a long way to go. That is why we must not stop.
 
Nora Scheidler: For sure I would do other projects with Rangga. It was challenging, interesting and joyful to work with him. And I don’t know so many people in Indonesia, who are as brave as him.

Fotografie Interview mit Nora Scheidler und Rangga Purbaya

Bücher im Regal
© Rangga Purbaya

“Stories Left Untold”, eine Ausstellung kuratiert von Budi N.D. Dharmawan, erzählt von vergessen geglaubten und unterdrückten Erinnerungen vergangener Zeiten der deutschen und indonesischen Geschichte. Die Arbeiten sind eine sehr persönliche Suche nach der Wahrheit der beiden jungen Fotografen Rangga Purbaya und Nora Scheidler. Die Ausstellung wurde am 2. Oktober 2015 in der iCAN Galerie, Yogjakarta eröffnet.
 
Können Sie uns einen kurzen Überblick darüber geben, was das Projekt „Stories left untold“ beinhaltet und wie die Zusammenarbeit zwischen Ihnen beiden entstanden ist?
 
Rangga Purbaya: In “Stories Left Untold” geht es um Familiengeschichte, eine Geschichte die von den Kindern und Enkeln verborgen wurde, weil sie sehr traumatisierend war und niemand darüber sprechen wollte. Wir versuchen tiefer zu graben indem wir die Schauplätze der Verbrechen besuchen, Interviews führen und Dokumente und Archive sichten. Für mich ist es wie Puzzleteile zusammenzusetzten um eine weiter gefasste Narrative zu bekommen. Nora und ich teilen dieselbe Geschichte insofern, als dass unseren Familien durch ein repressives Regime Leid angetan wurde.
 
Nora Scheidler: “Stories Left Untold” ist eine deutsch-indonesische Fotoausstellung, in der Rangga und ich auf eine Reise gehen, um mehr über die Vergangenheit unserer Familienangehörigen zu erfahren, welche entweder verschwunden sind oder unschuldig verhaftet wurden. Ich denke, dass die Traumata einer Familie über Generationen weitergegeben werden. Ich hatte bereits meinen Großvater über seine Erfahrungen im 1. und 2. Weltkrieg befragt und wollte ebenfalls in Erfahrung bringen was meinen Eltern passiert war. Mein Vater wurde als junger Mann verhaftet und verbrachte eineinhalb Jahre in Haft, nur weil er Flugblätter verteilte, in welchen er zu Frieden aufrief. Es war Tina [Tina Schott-Projektkoordinatorin], die die Idee hatte, anlässlich der Jahrestage der indonesischen Unabhängigkeit und der deutschen Widervereinigung, zwei Perspektiven einer Familiengeschichte der  jeweiligen Länder aufzuzeigen.
 
Ihre Projekte scheinen sich zu ergänzen insofern, als dass das eine den brutalen Umgang der kommunistischen Regierung der DDR mit Menschen dokumentiert, welche als nicht Systemkonform angesehen wurde. Das andere zeigt umgekehrt wie Kommunisten in Indonesien nach dem Coup d´Etat von 1965 verfolgt und getötet wurden. Wie denken Sie darüber?
 
Rangga Purbaya: Unsere Geschichten haben sich sehr gut ergänzt, aber im Endeffekt geht es nicht um Kommunismus oder Ideologien sondern um Menschlichkeit und wie wir miteinander als Menschen umgehen.
 
Nora Scheidler: Das sehe ich genauso.
 
Hat das Wissen über die Geschichte des jeweils anderen Ihre Perspektive auf das eigene Projekt verändert?
 
Rangga Purbaya: Nein, es hat meine Perspektive nicht verändert, wir wissen, dass wir es mit repressiven Regimen und Stigmata in unserer Gesellschaft zu tun haben.
 
Nora Scheidler: Es hat nicht die Perspektive auf mein eigenes Projekt verändert, aber es hat es auf eine Weise vervollständigt und es unwichtig erscheinen lassen, ob Kommunisten als Unterdrücker oder als Unterdrückte auftraten und wer auf welcher Seite stand. Es hat mich in meiner Ansicht bestätigt, dass es immer zwei Versionen einer Geschichte gibt, und dass keine Ideologie durch Gewalt durchgesetzt werden kann.
 
Wie steht es Ihrer Meinung nach um das öffentliche Bewusstsein über diese Kapitel in der Geschichte Deutschlands und Indonesiens?
 
Rangga Purbaya: Wir müssen mehr über unsere Geschichte aus verschiedenen Blickwinkeln erfahren und offen über sie diskutieren, um uns neue Herangehensweisen und Wissen erschließen zu können.
 
Nora Scheidler: Ich denke, dass es sicherer und einfacher ist in Deutschland über die Vergangenheit zu sprechen als in Indonesien. Auf der anderen Seite würde ich sagen, dass es auch in Deutschland noch Bedarf gibt, die Bemühungen Vergangenheit zu konfrontieren zu intensivieren. Es ist ein langer Prozess mit einer traumatischen Vergangenheit umzugehen, sei es auf familiärer Ebene oder in der Geschichte eines Landes und es kann Generationen dauern bis dieser Prozess abgeschlossen ist, wenn dies überhaupt möglich ist.
 
Können Sie sich vorstellen die Zusammenarbeit mit weiteren Projekten fortzusetzen?
 
Rannga Purbaya: Ja, weil wir voneinander lernen können, mit unserer Vergangenheit umzugehen und ihre dunklen Kapitel zu konfrontieren. Für Indonesier ist es noch ein langer Weg bis zur Aussöhnung zwischen Tätern und Opfern der Verbrechen. Deswegen müssen wir weitermachen.
 
Nora Scheidler: Ich würde sehr gerne mit Rangga weitere Projekte realisieren. Es war herausfordernd, interessant und angenehm mit ihm zu arbeiten. Ich kenne nicht viele Menschen in Indonesien, die so mutig sind wie er.