International E-Sport Tournament Football meets library

Fußball trifft Bibliothek
© Goethe-Institut Indonesien

Mario Gomez shoots the winning goal in the final. Jérôme Boateng kicks the deciding cross. With the games “FIFA” and “Pro Evolution Soccer” everything is possible at many Goethe-Instituts, just as it is in Jakarta. Xbox, PlayStation and even VR headsets are permanently part of the library’s equipment and are visitor favorites during opening times.

And not only that: in 2018 Goethe-Institut Jakarta initiated an international online video game tournament for Goethe-Institut course participants to compete against players of other institutes in Asia to determine an overall champion. The tournament is played online on PlayStation using “Pro Evolution Soccer”. Play is much more fun together. And it connects football enthusiasts learning German around the globe – from Bandung, Bangkok, Colombo, Delhi and Hong Kong to Jakarta, Calcutta, Pune and Tokyo.

The institute-internal preliminary games determine a player who will represent his/her Goethe-Institut against competitors from other institutes. What’s particularly special about this is that nobody has to leave their country. The games take place in the Goethe-Institut on site. The competitors will be connected via the internet and then have the chance to lead their respective teams to victory, despite thousands of kilometers between them. The language is, of course, German.

In Jakarta each of the 70 language courses has the opportunity to select a representative to compete. The staff of the library have worked out a detailed game schedule that specifies who plays against whom. There will be one “institute winner” at the end, who will then play against the winners of other countries. The playoffs will take place in late July, and on September 1 the final for the championship will be played. We are super excited about who will emerge as the champion of the tournament. And, of course, we’re keeping our fingers crossed that it will be our man from Jakarta!

Internationales E-Sport-Turnier Fußball trifft Bibliothek

Fußball trifft Bibliothek
© Goethe-Institut Indonesien

Wie Mario Gomez das Siegestor im Finale schießen? Wie Jérôme Boateng die entscheidende Flanke geben? Durch die Spiele „FIFA“ und „Pro Evolution Soccer“ ist dies an vielen Goethe-Instituten, wie in Jakarta, problemlos möglich. Xbox, PlayStation und selbst eine VR-Brille gehören zur festen Ausstattung der Bibliothek und werden von den Besucherinnen und Besuchern während der Öffnungszeiten gerne genutzt.

Und nicht nur das: Das Goethe-Institut Jakarta hat 2018 ein internationales Online Videospiel Turnier initiiert, bei dem Kursteilnehmerinnen und Kursteilnehmer des Instituts gegen Spieler aus acht anderen Instituten in Asien um den Gesamtsieg ringen. Gespielt wird bei dem Turnier „Pro Evolution Soccer“, ausgetragen werden die Spiele online mit der PlayStation. Denn gemeinsam macht das Spielen noch viel mehr Spaß. Und es verbindet gleichzeitig fußballbegeisterte Deutschlerner aus so unterschiedlichen Orten wie Bandung, Bangkok, Colombo, Delhi, Hong Kong, Jakarta, Kalkutta, Pune und Tokyo.
 
In internen Vorrundenspielen wird an den Instituten zunächst ein Spieler bestimmt, der als Vertreter des jeweiligen Goethe-Instituts gegen die Kontrahenten aus den anderen Instituten antritt. Das Besondere daran? Keiner von ihnen verlässt sein Land. Gespielt wird nämlich im Goethe-Institut vor Ort. Die beiden Kontrahenten werden dank Internet miteinander verbunden und haben so die Möglichkeit, die eigene Mannschaft zum Sieg zu führen - trotz tausender Kilometer Entfernung. Die Sprache ist dabei natürlich Deutsch.
In Jakarta hatten zunächst die rund 70 Sprachkurse Gelegenheit, jeweils einen Repräsentanten oder eine Repräsentantin auszuwählen und ins Rennen zu schicken. Die Mitarbeiter der Bibliothek haben einen detaillierten Spielplan ausgearbeitet, nach dem die Spielerinnen und Spieler gegeneinander angetreten sind. Übrig blieb am Ende ein einziger Spieler, der nun als „Institutssieger“ gegen die Spieler der anderen Nationen spielen wird. Ende Juli wird eine Playoff-Runde stattfinden, das große Finale ist am 1. September. Wir sind sehr gespannt, wer am Ende als Champion aus dem Turnier hervorgehen wird – und drücken natürlich unserem Spieler aus Jakarta die Daumen!