Film screening 5 Islands / 5 Villages

21.02.2017, 7 PM

GoetheHaus

Pusat Kebudayaan Jerman Jakarta
Jl. Sam Ratulangi 9-15
10350 Jakarta

Premiere, directors in attendance

Comprising more than 16,000 islands, the Indonesian archipelago extends some 5,000 km from east to west. Accepting an invitation from the Goethe-Institut Indonesia, young filmmakers from the University of Fine Arts Hamburg immersed themselves in life on five of these very different islands in March 2016. They were accompanied by young cultural anthropologists from Universitas Indonesia. During their stay, they made films based on their individual observations and personal encounters – films that are as diverse as their own views of the islands, and indeed as diverse as the islands themselves. The filmmakers get up close and personal, take their time, trust their own eyes and truly engage with the situations, people and images they depict. The result is a panorama of synchrony and diversity. 

The directors of the short documentaries Yannick Kaftan, Samuel J. Heinrichs and Max Sänger, will be attending the premiere, as well as Pepe Danquart, filmmaker and professor for documentary film at the HFBK Hamburg and Bernd Schoch, filmmaker and former artistic assistant at the HFBK Hamburg.

Boats
Directed by Yannick Kaftan

Wangi-Wangi Island, Wakatobi. Two boats. Fishermen from the Bajo village Mola follow their daily business. On this day they are stuck in the middle of the sea. The sun is blazing. The motor needs to be fixed. Who can help out? On another boat, two women on their way to the market delivering fish.

Bobanehena
Directed by Anna Walkstein

Bobanehena, Halmahera Island, North Maluku. A woman hangs the laundry out to dry onto a hand-made construction of bamboo sticks and ropes. The atmosphere of the village Bobanehena is shaped by the peoples' daily work routines, through the strong faith and through the problems associated with this area.

Rote Malam
Directed by Samuel J. Heinrichs

Ba'a, Rote Island, East Nusa Tenggara. Midnight until sunrise. Motorbikes pass and people begin to gather along a dark boulevard to the hum of a generator. Torch-lit activity and distant lights observed in expectation. Filmed over several nights the film follows the men and women waiting for the fishing boats to return from sea. 

Selarus Dream
Directed by Marko Mijatovic

Lingat and Adaut, Selaru Island, South Maluku. In the far south of Indonesia we follow those healing and those looking for a cure: a traditional shaman, a midwife, a priest, a business-minded veteran and their nightmares. “Adat”, the traditional order of being, the divine and the evil forces and modern phenomena, like western economy and conventional medicine, are in a constant state of dialogue.

Reda Mata
Directed by Max Sänger

Sumba Island, East Nusa Tenggara. Reda Mata follows a funeral in the Marapu tradition, one of the last surviving megalithic burial practices. The priests meet to discuss matters of the dead. Kids play the gong. Relatives bring buffalos to sacrifice. The deceased is put to rest in a large tomb, the gateway for the soul to enter the spirit realm.


The 5 Islands were developed in cooperation with Universitas Indonesia as part of the project 5 Islands / 5 Villages of the Goethe-Institut and the University Of Fine Arts Hamburg. The project explores different ways of viewing periphery and distance, time and temporality through the medium of documentary filmmaking.

 

Back

Filmvorführung 5 Inseln / 5 Dörfer

5 Inseln / 5 Dörfer © Goethe-Institut Indonesien

21.02.2017, 19:00 Uhr

GoetheHaus

Pusat Kebudayaan Jerman Jakarta
Jl. Sam Ratulangi 9-15
10350 Jakarta

Premiere, in Anwesenheit der Regisseure

Der indonesische Archipel erstreckt sich über 5000 km von Osten nach Westen. Mehr als 16.000 Inseln zählen dazu. Auf Einladung des Goethe-Instituts Indonesien tauchten junge Filmemacherinnen und Filmemacher der Hochschule für Bildende Künste Hamburg (HFBK) im März 2016 drei Wochen lang intensiv ein in das Leben auf fünf dieser sehr unterschiedlichen Inseln. Begleitet wurden sie von jungen Kulturwissenschaftlern der Universitas Indonesia. Vor Ort entstanden filmische Arbeiten aus der individuellen Beobachtung und persönlichen Begegnung heraus. Die Filme sind so unterschiedlich wie die Perspektiven auf die Orte, wie die Inseln selbst. Sie gehen nah heran, nehmen sich Zeit, vertrauen dem eigenen Blick und lassen sich ein auf die Menschen, Bilder und Situationen, die sie zeigen. Ein Panorama der Gleichzeitigkeit und Vielfalt entsteht.

Zur Premiere der Kurzfilme sind die Regisseure Yannick Kaftan, Samuel J. Heinrichs und Max Sänger anwesend, sowie Pepe Danquart, Filmemacher und Professor für Dokumentarfilm an der HFBK Hamburg und Filmemacher Bernd Schoch.

Boats
Regie: Yannick Kaftan

Wangi-Wangi, Wakatobi. Zwei Boote. Fischer aus dem Bajo-Dorf Mola gehen ihrem alltäglichen Geschäft nach. An diesem Tag stecken sie mitten auf dem Meer fest. Die Sonne brennt. Der Motor muss repariert werden. Wer kann helfen? Auf einem anderen Boot; zwei Frauen unterwegs zum Markt mit einer Lieferung Fisch.

Bobanehena
Regie: Anna Walkstein

Bobanehena, Halmahera, Nord-Molukken. Eine Frau hängt Wäsche zum Trocknen auf eine selbstgebaute Konstruktion aus Bambus-Stöcken und Seilen. Die Alltagsroutinen der Menschen bestimmen die Atmosphäre des Dorfes Bobanehena, der starke Glaube und die Probleme der Gegend.

Rote Malam
Regie: Samuel J. Heinrichs

Ba’a, Rote, Kleine Sunda Inseln. Mitternacht bis Sonnenaufgang. Motorräder fahren vorbei und Menschen versammeln sich entlang einer dunklen Promenade zum Summen eines Generators. Tätigkeiten im Taschenlampenlicht und erwartungsvolle Beobachtungen ferner Lichter. Über mehrere Nächte hinweg gedreht folgt der Film Männern und Frauen, die auf die Rückkehr der Fischerboote warten.

Selarus Dream
Regie: Marko Mijatovic

Im fernen Süden Indonesiens, auf den Molukken, folgen wir denjenigen, die heilen, und denjenigen, die nach Heilung suchen: ein traditioneller Schamane, eine Geburtshelferin, ein Priester, ein geschäftstüchtiger Veteran und ihre Alpträume. “Adat”, die traditionelle Ordnung der Dinge, die göttlichen und die bösen Kräfte und moderne Erscheinungen, wie die westliche Wirtschaft und konventionelle Medizin, sind im ständigen Dialog.

Reda Mata
Regie: Max Sänger

Reda Mata folgt einer Beerdigung in der Marapu-Tradition, einer der letzten bestehenden megalithischen Begräbnisbräuche. Die Priester kommen zusammen um Fragen des Todes zu besprechen. Kinder spielen den Gong. Verwandte bringen Stiere zur Opferung. Der Verstorbene wird in einer großen Gruft zur letzten Ruhe gebettet, das Tor für die Seele zur Geisterwelt.

Die 5 Inseln entstanden in Zusammenarbeit mit der Universitas Indonesia im Rahmen des Projekts 5 Inseln / 5 Dörfer des Goethe-Instituts Indonesien und der Hochschule für Bildende Künste Hamburg. Das Projekt setzt sich mit dem filmisch-dokumentarischen Blick auf Peripherie und Distanz, auf Zeit und Zeitlichkeit auseinander.

 

 

Zurück