Arthouse Cinema

Arthouse Cinema - Mencari Hilal © Mizan Productions Arthouse Cinema_Logo © Goethe-Institut Indonesien

German-Indonesian Arthouse

Arthouse Cinema showcases a variety of genres and formats including everything from auteur to documentary films – some are feature-length, while others are really quite short. At 7 pm every second and fourth Tuesday of the month, selected productions from Germany and Indonesia will be screened at the GoetheHaus Jakarta.

Ever since it was established in 2012, Arthouse Cinema has evolved to become one of the few places in Jakarta to provide a space for non-mainstream film screenings. Arthouse Cinema aims to challenge its audiences. We show films that present new experiences and ideas, and that inspire – be they classic masterpieces, experimental works by young directors, animated films or documentaries.

Every year we show more than 20 films, accompanied whenever possible by discussions with Indonesian actors, directors or film producers. Once a year, the Arthouse Cinema Focus spotlights one particular film series or a number of works by a German director; in the past, such events have featured Fatih Akin, Werner Herzog, Rainer Werner Fassbinder, Pepe Danquart and Frank Beyer.

ARTHOUSE CINEMA JAKARTA 2017

In 2017, the Arthouse Cinema programme in Jakarta will be concentrating on music and urban stories in German film. Among the films to be screened will be Crossing the Bridge by Fatih Akin, Berlin, die Sinfonie der Großstadt (English title: Berlin: Symphony of a Metropolis) by Walther Ruttmann, and B-Movie: Lust & Sound in West Berlin by Jörg A. Hoppe, Heiko Lange Klaus Maeck and Miriam Dehne. The Indonesian productions were selected for their great acting and powerful stories, and will include Melancholy is a Movement by Richard Oh, About a Woman by Teddy Soeriaatmadja and Mencari Hilal by Ismail Basbeth.

Arthouse Cinema

Arthouse Cinema - Mencari Hilal © Mizan Productions Arthouse Cinema_Logo © Goethe-Institut Indonesien

Deutsch-indonesisches Programmkino

Arthouse Cinema umfasst diverse Genres und Formate: vom Autoren- bis zum Dokumentarfilm, in Spielfilmlänge oder ganz kurz. Gezeigt werden ausgewählte Produktionen aus Deutschland und Indonesien jeden zweiten und vierten Dienstag des Monats um 19 Uhr im GoetheHaus Jakarta.

Seit der Gründung im Jahr 2012 hat sich Arthouse Cinema zu einem der wenigen Orte Jakartas entwickelt, die Raum bieten für Film-Screenings abseits des Mainstreams. Arthouse Cinema will seine Zuschauer herauszufordern. Wir zeigen Filme, die neue Erlebnisse und Ideen bieten, die inspirieren – ob als klassisches Meisterwerk, experimentelle Arbeit eines jungen Regisseurs, Animation oder Dokumentarfilm.

Pro Jahr zeigen wir über 20 Filme; wann immer möglich ergänzt durch Diskussionen mit indonesischen Schauspielern, Regisseuren oder Filmproduzenten. Einmal jährlich stellen wir im Arthouse Cinema Fokus eine Filmreihe in den Mittelpunkt oder mehrere Arbeiten eines deutschen Regisseurs vor, darunter waren bereits Fatih Akin, Werner Herzog, Rainer Werner Fassbinder, Pepe Danquart und Frank Beyer.

ARTHOUSE CINEMA JAKARTA 2017

2017 konzentriert sich das Arthouse Cinema Programm in Jakarta auf Musik- und Stadtgeschichten im deutschen Film. Gezeigt werden u.a. die Filme Crossing the Bridge von Fatih Akin, Berlin, die Sinfonie der Großstadt von Walther Ruttmann, B-Movie: Lust & Sound in West Berlin von Jörg A. Hoppe, Heiko Lange Klaus Maeck und Miriam Dehne. Bei den indonesischen Produktionen stehen Schauspielkunst und starke Geschichten im Mittelpunkt der Auswahl. Wir zeigen u.a. Melancholy is a Movement von Richard Oh, About a Woman von Teddy Soeriaatmadja und Mencari Hilal von Ismail Basbeth.