Panel discussion The Platform Economy: The Future of Work?

The Platform Economy: The Future of Work? © Goethe-Institut Indonesien

16.08.2022
3 PM

Online

What will working look like in the future?

Register
Platforms are changing the world of work. Apps that provide services such as ride-hailing, food delivery, and design are reshaping traditional employment models. Although the types of jobs may not be new, people now have the ability to structure their working lives with more freedom. Dubbed as the "platform economy," it has become a lifeline for people who are otherwise unable to find regular jobs and provides opportunities for many to find side gigs.
 
As the platform economy progresses and employs more people, it has become clear what the price of freedom might be for many people. To have independence and flexibility, they might lose security and benefits. Their status as contractors, not as permanent workers, puts them in an especially precarious position since more and more are depending on what were once "side jobs" as their primary income.
 
With platforms growing in importance, how does the platform economy affect the future of work? What will working look like in the future?
 
We bring together researchers in this field to present findings on the current challenges of the gig economy in their respective countries, followed by a discussion on the future of work.

SPEAKERS

Photo of speaker Suci Lestari Yuana © Arlitadian Pratama Suci Lestari Yuana 
A lecturer at Department of International Relations Universitas Gadjah Mada, Indonesia. Yuana is pursuing her doctoral degree in the Copernicus Institute of Sustainable Development, Utrecht University. Her research focuses on the socio-political dynamic of digital platform and its impact to sustainability transition studies. Her works has been referred in the MIT Technology Review as part of AI Colonialism series reportages. 

Photo of speaker Cheryll Soriano © private collection Cheryll Ruth R. Soriano
Professor in the Department of Communication, De La Salle University. As Principal Investigator for Fairwork Philippines, her current research explores digital communication and transformations in labor and organizing in the digital economy. She is co-editor of Asian Perspectives on Digital Culture: Emerging Phenomena, Enduring Concepts (Routledge, 2016) and co-author of Philippine Digital Cultures: Brokerage Dynamics on YouTube (Amsterdam University Press, forthcoming).

Photo of speaker Oğuz Alyanak © Washington University in St. Louis Oğuz Alyanak
A cultural anthropologist whose research spans labor migration, urban studies, religion, and masculinity. Following his PhD (Washington University in St. Louis 2019), Oğuz moved to Germany as a Volkswagen Stiftung postdoctoral fellow (University of Göttingen 2019/2020). He is a postdoctoral researcher at the Fairwork project, joining a team of scholars to explore working conditions in the platform economy in Germany.

MODERATOR

Photo of speaker Amelinda Pandu Kusumaningtyas © Raden Sutejo Hermani Putro Amelinda Pandu Kusumaningtyas
A researcher at the Center for Digital Society (CfDS), a research center under the Faculty of Social and Political Sciences, Universitas Gadjah Mada, Indonesia. She is also a researcher for the Fairwork project in Indonesia. She holds a Bachelor of Arts in Sociology from Universitas Gadjah Mada. Her research interests include digital society, social inequality, gender studies, and environmental sociology.

To Project: Digital Discourses

Back

Podiumsdiskussion Die Plattformökonomie: Die Zukunft der Arbeit?

Die Plattformökonomie: Die Zukunft der Arbeit? © Goethe-Institut Indonesien

16.08.2022
15:00 Uhr

Online

Wie sieht die Arbeit der Zukunft aus?

Anmeldung
Plattformen verändern die Arbeitswelt. So tragen Apps, die Dienstleistungen wie Ride-Hailing, Lebensmittellieferungen oder Grafik-Design anbieten, zu einer Umgestaltung traditioneller Beschäftigungsmodelle bei.

Auch wenn die Beschäftigungsarten nicht neu sind, so haben beruflich Tätige heute die Möglichkeit, ihr Arbeitsleben freier zu gestalten. Unter der Bezeichnung „Plattformökonomie“ finden sich Beschäftigungsmöglichkeiten und Tätigkeitsfelder für Menschen, für die es auf dem regulären Arbeitsmarkt weniger Chancen gibt und für die nebenberufliche Tätigkeiten bzw. Nebenjobs wichtig und attraktiv sind.

Während die Plattformökonomie sich zunehmend ausdehnt und immer mehr Menschen beschäftigt, wird deutlich, welchen Preis die Freiheit für viele der Beschäftigten haben könnte. Unabhängigkeit und Flexibilität im Arbeitsleben könnten für sie auf Kosten von beruflichen Sicherheiten und Unterstützungsleistungen gehen. Der Status eines Auftragnehmers anstatt eines Festangestellten führt Menschen in eine besonders prekäre Lage, wenn ihr Haupteinkommen von Beschäftigungsverhältnissen abhängt, die vormals als „Nebenjobs“ galten.

Wie wirkt sich die Plattformökonomie angesichts der zunehmenden Bedeutung von Plattformen auf die Zukunft der Arbeit aus? Wie sieht die Arbeit der Zukunft aus?
 
Wir bringen Wissenschaftler*innen auf diesem Gebiet zusammen, die ihre Erkenntnisse zu den aktuellen Herausforderungen der Gig Economy in ihren jeweiligen Ländern vorstellen. Im Anschluss daran folgt eine Diskussion über die Zukunft der Arbeit.

SPRECHER*INNEN

Photo of speaker Suci Lestari Yuana © Arlitadian Pratama Suci Lestari Yuana
Dozentin an der Fakultät für Internationale Beziehungen der Universität Gadjah Mada, Indonesien. Derzeit promoviert sie am Copernicus Institute of Sustainable Development der Universität Utrecht. Ihr Forschungsschwerpunkt liegt auf der gesellschaftspolitischen Dynamik digitaler Plattformen und ihrer Auswirkungen auf Studien zur Nachhaltigkeitswende. Ihre Arbeiten fanden Erwähnung im MIT Technology Review als Teil der AI Colonialism-Berichtsreihe.

Photo of speaker Cheryll Soriano © private collection Cheryll Ruth R. Soriano
Professorin an der Fakultät für Kommunikation der Universität De La Salle. Als Hauptuntersuchungsleiterin für Fairwork Philippines legt sie den Schwerpunkt ihrer aktuellen Forschung auf digitale Kommunikation und Transformationen in der Arbeit und Organisation in der digitalen Ökonomie. Soriano ist Mitherausgeberin des Bandes Asian Perspectives on Digital Culture: Emerging Phenomena, Enduring Concepts (Routledge, 2016) und Mitautorin der Publikation Philippine Digital Cultures: Brokerage Dynamics on YouTube (Amsterdam University Press, in Kürze erscheinend).

Photo of speaker Oğuz Alyanak © Washington University in St. Louis Oğuz Alyanak
Kulturanthropologe mit den Forschungsschwerpunkten Arbeitsmigration, Urbanistik, Religion und Maskulinität. Nach seiner Promotion (Washington University in St. Louis 2019) zog es Oğuz Alyanak als Postdoktorand der Volkswagen Stiftung nach Deutschland (Universität Göttingen 2019/2020). Er ist als Postdoktorand im Rahmen des Fairwork-Projekts tätig und gehört einem Team von Wissenschaftler*innen an, das die Arbeitsbedingungen in der Plattformökonomie in Deutschland untersucht.

MODERATORIN

Photo of speaker Amelinda Pandu Kusumaningtyas © Raden Sutejo Hermani Putro Amelinda Pandu Kusumaningtyas
Wissenschaftlerin am Center for Digital Society (CfDS), einem Forschungszentrum der Fakultät für Sozial- und Politikwissenschaften der Universität Gadjah Mada, Indonesien, tätig. Darüber hinaus arbeitet sie wissenschaftlich für das Fairwork-Projekt in Indonesien. Ihr Studium der Soziologie schloss sie an der Universität Gadjah Mada ab. Ihre Forschungsinteressen umfassen unter anderem digitale Gesellschaft, soziale Ungleichheit, Gender Studies und Umweltsoziologie.


Zum Projekt: Digital Discourses

Zurück