Quick access:
Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

October - December 2019
Helmi Azam

Artist in Residence 2019 Helmi Azam
©HOMS Art Trans

Helmi Azam, also known as Azam Aris, graduated with a Bachelor of Fine Arts from UiTM Shah Alam in 2007.

He was offered an Artist Residency at HOM Art Trans in the following year, which led to his first solo show titled „Float“. He has participated in numerous group exhibitions and international residency program i.e. Ties of Tenggara at National Visual Arts Malaysia and ACME Studios London Residency. His work was displayed at Gwangju Fine Art Gallery in South Korea and at VIVA Art Fair in Bacolod City in the Phillipines. 

Helmi is constantly expanding his practice and experiments with various media. He exposes his own secrets, even the disturbing and unspeakable ones, within his work and mixes up facts and fiction in chapters that are both sequential and non-sequential, often putting the audience in a state of solitude and mind captive.

Marshall-Brunnen x Puncak Purnama: A Tale of Two Cities
In his exhibition concluding his residency program at Basis, Helmi deals with the passage of time and “what remains“. He explores the effects of time on memory, identity and culture and how rememberances are based on our histories and experiences.
The starting point of his reflections is that everyone has a story to tell. Therefore stories become our compasses which we navigate through our memories and discover our core beings. And this is the story of Marshall-Brunnen and Puncak Purnama (Lunar Peaks). 
 

Work of the Artist

Helmi Azam Aris - Marshall-Brunnen X Puncak Purnama: A Tale of two Cities, basis Projektraum, Frankfurt 2019 © Foto: Paul Helmich, basis e.V., Frankfurt | Helmi Azam Aris - Marshall-Brunnen X Puncak Purnama: A Tale of two Cities, basis Projektraum, Frankfurt 2019

Helmi Azam Aris - Marshall-Brunnen X Puncak Purnama: A Tale of two Cities, basis Projektraum, Frankfurt 2019 © Foto: Paul Helmich, basis e.V., Frankfurt | Helmi Azam Aris - Marshall-Brunnen X Puncak Purnama: A Tale of two Cities, basis Projektraum, Frankfurt 2019

Top

Schnelleinstieg:

Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

Oktober - Dezember 2019
Helmi Azam

Artist in Residence 2019 Helmi Azam
©HOMS Art Trans

Helmi Azam, auch bekannt als Azam Aris, schloss sein Studium 2007 mit einem Bachelor of Fine Arts an der UiTM Shah Alam ab.

Im folgenden Jahr wurde ihm eine Artist Residency bei HOM Art Trans angeboten, die zu seiner ersten Einzelausstellung mit dem Titel „Float“ führte. Er hat an zahlreichen Gruppenausstellungen und internationalen Residency-Programmen teilgenommen, z. B. Ties of Tenggara bei National Visual Arts Malaysia und ACME Studios London Residency. Seine Arbeiten wurden in der Gwangju Fine Art Gallery in Südkorea und auf der VIVA Art Fair in Bacolod City auf den Philippinen ausgestellt. 

Helmi erweitert ständig den Umfang seiner Praxis und experimentiert mit verschiedensten Medien. Er enthüllt eigene Geheimnisse, selbst die verstörenden und unaussprechlichen, vermischt Fakten und Fiktionen in Kapiteln, die sowohl sequentiell als auch nicht sequentiell sind, und versetzt das Publikum oftmals in einen Zustand der Einsamkeit und Gefangenschaft.


Marshall-Brunnen x Puncak Purnama: A Tale of Two Cities
In der Ausstellung zum Abschluss seines Residenzprogramms bei Basis beschäftigte sich Helmi mit dem Lauf der Zeit und „was bleibt“. Er untersuchte die Auswirkungen der Zeit auf Erinnerung, Identität und Kultur und inwieweit Erinnerungen auf unseren Geschichten und Erfahrungen beruhen.
Der Ausgangspunkt seiner Überlegung ist, dass jeder eine Geschichte zu erzählen hat. Daher werden Geschichten zu unseren Kompassen, die wir durch unsere Erinnerungen navigieren und unser Inneres entdecken.
 

Arbeit des Künstlers

Helmi Azam Aris - Marshall-Brunnen X Puncak Purnama: A Tale of two Cities, basis Projektraum, Frankfurt 2019 © Foto: Paul Helmich, basis e.V., Frankfurt | Helmi Azam Aris - Marshall-Brunnen X Puncak Purnama: A Tale of two Cities, basis Projektraum, Frankfurt 2019

Helmi Azam Aris - Marshall-Brunnen X Puncak Purnama: A Tale of two Cities, basis Projektraum, Frankfurt 2019 © Foto: Paul Helmich, basis e.V., Frankfurt | Helmi Azam Aris - Marshall-Brunnen X Puncak Purnama: A Tale of two Cities, basis Projektraum, Frankfurt 2019
 

Top