Quick access:
Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)
Lostgens/basis© Lostgens' Contemporary Art Space KL | BASIS e.V. Frankfurt

Artist in Residence Exchange Programme

The Artist-In-Residence exchange program or AIR aims at supporting and encouraging contemporary visual arts and promoting international exchange between Frankfurt and Kuala Lumpur. The program offers young and emerging artists the opportunity to gain experience regarding their own artistic practice and to build an international network.
The program is one of its kind in Malaysia and offers a bilateral exchange between the two host countries.

The Programme

Once a year the application plattform will be opened for submissions. The emerging visual artists from both countries can apply for the scholarships by submitting a cover letter, an application form and a project proposal. The applicants will then be shortlisted by a panel of juries in the respective city. This shortlist will be submitted to the final juries of the host countries, which will decide to whom the scholarship will be awarded.

The period of residence in the host city is three months. The winner will receive a scholarship worth Euro 1,000 per month as living allowances. The host organization will provide return flight tickets, a three-month accommodation, a working studio, curatorial support, integration into the local artist network and realization of a project or presentation at the end of the residency, which is optional and financially supported, too.


Artists in residence 2019


Artists in residence 2018


Artists in residence 2017


Article about BASIS Frankfurt


Partner

Top

Schnelleinstieg:
Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)
Lostgens/basis© Lostgens' Contemporary Art Space KL | BASIS e.V. Frankfurt

Artist in Residence Austauschprogramm

Das Artist-In-Residence-Austauschprogramm (AIR) dient dazu, zeitgenössische bildende Kunst zu fördern und zu unterstützen, sowie den internationalen Austausch zwischen Frankfurt und Kuala Lumpur anzuregen. Das Programm gibt jungen aufstrebenden Künstler*innen die Chance, Erfahrungen in ihrem Kunstfeld zu sammeln und gleichzeitig internationale Kontakte zu knüpfen.
Dieses Programm ist einzigartig in Malaysia und bietet einen Kulturaustausch zwischen den Gastländern.

Das Programm

Einmal im Jahr wird die Anmeldeplattform für Bewerbungen freigegeben. Dort können sich die bildenden Künstlerinnen und Künstler aus beiden Ländern mit einem Anschreiben, einem Bewerbungsformular und einem Projektvorschlag für das Stipendium bewerben. Aus allen Bewerber*innen wird von einer Jury aus der jeweiligen Stadt eine engere Auswahl erstellt. Diese Auswahlliste wird den Jurys der Gastländer vorgelegt, welche über die Vergabe des Stipendiums entscheiden.

Die Aufenthaltsdauer in der Gaststadt beträgt drei Monate. Der Gewinner erhält ein Stipendium in Höhe von 1.000 Euro monatlich als Lebensunterhaltsbeihilfe. Die gastgebende Organisation wird Rückflugtickets, eine dreimonatige Unterkunft, ein Arbeitsstudio, kuratorische Unterstützung, die Integration in das lokale Künstlernetzwerk und die Realisierung eines Projekts oder einer Präsentation am Ende des Aufenthalts zur Verfügung stellen und finanziell fördern.


Residenzkünstler*in 2019


Residenzkünstlerinnen 2018


Residenzkünstler*in 2017


Artikel über BASIS Frankfurt


Partner

Top