Zero Hour in Film Rubble, Utopia, New Beginnings

Zero Hour in German Film
Zero Hour in German Film | Photo (montage): “The Murderers Are Among Us” by Wolfgang Staudte (left) | © Deutsches Filminstitut, Frankfurt – “Phoenix” by Christian Petzold (right) | © Piffl Medien

From “The Murderers Are Among Us” to “Phoenix” – the period immediately after the Second World War has also been dealt with time and again in cinema, such films always reflecting the way in which Germans view themselves.

The former German Empire was in tatters when the Second World War came to an end in 1945 – not only literally but also in terms of morale. Cinema was one of the functions and institutions that had been thoroughly discredited by National Socialism. It had faithfully served the Hitler regime as a propaganda tool, so by the time the era ended there were very few filmmakers who still had a clean record, that is to say who were regarded as politically and artistically “untainted”. So what form should new German cinema take? It certainly got off to a promising start.

The first German post-war film was a “Trümmerfilm”

The first German post-war film, with its telling title of The Murderers Are Among Us, was a major cinematic event when it premiered on 16 October 1946. In the bombed-out city of Berlin, two people find themselves forced to share a flat – one is a woman who has survived life in a concentration camp, the other a soldier recently returned from the front. Their roles became representative of many films about “returnees”: the pragmatic woman gets to work clearing up, while the man – traumatized by his wartime experiences – remains paralysed by cynicism and lethargy. At the end, however, he brings his former superior officer, a war criminal, to justice. Wolfgang Staudte, a director who had managed to get through the Nazi period with his record untarnished, made this film – a dark and expressionistic shadow play – under the supervision of the Soviet occupation authorities at the newly-founded DEFA.

The clear appeal to address and punish Nazi crimes was an exception in the short-lived “Trümmerfilm”– literally, “rubble film” – genre. Although realistically depicting existential fears and hardship, they also offered hope and provided a visual indication of a new direction: really quite successful films such as Somewhere in Berlin (Gerhard Lamprecht, 1946) and Love ‘47 (Wolfgang Liebeneiner, 1949) made a visually aesthetic process of renewal seem possible, a non-sugar-coated depiction of reality in the spirit of Italian neorealism. The rapid economic upswing soon put paid to such approaches, at least in the West. Ultimately, the wider public was no more interested in realism than it was in the question of guilt – there was no room for either in the optimistic idealized cinema visions of the 1950s, the most successful epoch of West German post-war film.

Zero hour: a missed opportunity ...

Without this period of artistic suppression, it is impossible to understand the political wake-up call of New German Cinema, when directors like Rainer Werner Fassbinder, Volker Schlöndorff and Werner Herzog launched their attack on German self-perception post-1968. Fassbinder even went a step further with The Marriage of Maria Braun (1978), one of his most successful films. The tale of the supposed war widow Maria Braun, who takes part in the economic miracle with unscrupulous charm and sheer assertiveness, is the story of the young Federal Republic of Germany – and one of a missed opportunity. A year earlier, Edgar Reitz’s Zero Hour (1977) had already depicted the end of the war as offering a kind of utopian freedom: between the retreat of the US Army and the advance of the Soviets, a disused railway station near Leipzig becomes a blind spot in history in which a colourful and motley bunch of individualists is enjoying life. There is no government, and just for a while anything seems possible. Fassbinder also describes this vacuum in which a young woman takes control of her own life. She fails, however, as the male order is restored behind her back.

... or a test that has been successfully overcome

The critical thrust of New German Cinema was not destined to last long, either. In the 1991 film Rama dama (the Bavarian title, roughly translated, means “let’s clear up”), Joseph Vilsmaier presents women of Munich clearing away the rubble to a soundtrack of upbeat swing music. Nylons and lipstick are finally back, not to mention flirting with the American occupying forces – nostalgia is the order of the day in the “modern Heimatfilm” (a Heimatfilm is traditionally a sentimental depiction of homeland). Zero hour becomes a test that has been successfully overcome, a fondly remembered part of one’s own life’s achievements. In any case, the myth of the doughty “rubble woman” has long become part of Germany’s collective visual memory. Yet Vilsmaier’s approach to depicting history, which had little political content but was visually pleasing, quickly became the artistic standard when it came to examining German history, and one that was also suitable for more challenging subject matter such as the rape of German women by Russian soldiers after the end of the war in A Woman in Berlin (2008). This allowed TV films depicting events in a modern style such as Tannbach (Alexander Dierbach, 2015) – about a village on the inner German border that was divided in 1945 – to tackle formerly awkward questions of guilt and continuity without being provocative. Indeed, zero hour does now offer freedom – to tell fascinating stories.

Is nostalgia all that remains?


“Phoenix” (Trailer) | © Piffl Medien via youtube.com

In his film Phoenix (2014), author filmmaker Christian Petzold recently supplied a counterpoint to this image of a successful critical engagement with history. Petzold, well-versed in film history, styles his heroine Nelly Lenz much like the two major female stars of zero-hour film: the imperturbable Hildegard Knef in The Murderers Are Among Us and the glamourous Hanna Schygulla in The Marriage of Maria Braun. At the beginning, however, Nina Hoss who plays Nelly is a Jew who has escaped from the hell of Auschwitz, emaciated and facially disfigured – the kind of genuine concentration camp survivor that Knef was not yet allowed to portray. Her uncanny transformation is on the one hand a cinematic puzzle with references to Alfred Hitchcock, Ingmar Bergman and François Truffaut, and on the other a serious engagement with the real horror of the Holocaust and the suppression mechanisms employed by German post-war society. It would appear that zero hour continues to concern the Germans and is a narrative that is far from complete.

Stunde Null im Film Trümmer, Utopie, Neuanfang

Die Stunde Null im deutschen Film
Die Stunde Null im deutschen Film | Foto (Montage): „Die Mörder sind unter uns“ von Wolfgang Staudte (links) | © Deutsches Filminstitut, Frankfurt – „Phoenix“ von Christian Petzold (rechts) | © Piffl Medien

Von „Die Mörder sind unter uns“ bis zu „Phoenix“ – immer wieder wurde die Zeit unmittelbar nach Ende des Zweiten Weltkriegs zum Thema im Kino. Stets spiegelte sich in den Filmen auch das Selbstbild der Deutschen.

Zum Ende des zweiten Weltkriegs 1945 lag das ehemalige Deutsche Reich in Trümmern, buchstäblich wie moralisch. Zu seinen vom Nationalsozialismus gründlich diskreditierten Funktionen und Institutionen gehörte auch der Film. Als Propagandamittel hatte er dem Hitler-Regime willfährige Dienste geleistet. Nur wenige Filmschaffende hatten danach noch eine weiße Weste, galten also als politisch wie künstlerisch unbelastet. Wie sollte der neue deutsche Film aussehen? Der Anfang war vielversprechend.

Der erste deutsche Nachkriegsfilm ist ein Trümmerfilm

Mit dem programmatischen Titel Die Mörder sind unter uns wurde die Premiere des ersten deutschen Nachkriegsfilms am 16. Oktober 1946 zum cineastischen Ereignis. Im zerbombten Berlin treffen eine Überlebende aus einem Konzentrationslager und ein Frontheimkehrer aufeinander, teilen sich notgedrungen dieselbe Wohnung. Ihre Rollen wurden konstitutiv für viele Heimkehrerfilme: Die pragmatische Frau räumt auf, der von seinen Kriegserlebnissen traumatisierte Mann bleibt gelähmt in Zynismus und Lethargie. Am Ende jedoch führt er seinen ehemaligen Führungsoffizier, einen Kriegsverbrecher, der Gerechtigkeit zu. Der in der Zeit des Nationalsozialismus unauffällig gebliebene Regisseur Wolfgang Staudte drehte diesen Film der neu gegründeten DEFA unter Aufsicht der sowjetischen Besatzungsbehörden als düster-expressionistisches Schattenspiel.

Der klare Appell zur Aufarbeitung und Bestrafung der nationalsozialistischen Verbrechen bildete eine Ausnahme im kurzlebigen Genre der Trümmerfilme. Diese wiesen mit einem realistischen Bild existenzieller Sorgen und Nöte, aber auch Hoffnungen, visuell in eine neue Richtung: Durchaus erfolgreiche Filme wie Irgendwo in Berlin (Gerhard Lamprecht, 1946) oder Liebe 47 (Wolfgang Liebeneiner, 1949) ließen eine bildästhetische Erneuerung, eine ungeschönte Darstellung der Wirklichkeit im Sinne des italienischen Neorealismus, als möglich erscheinen. Der schnelle Aufschwung machte diese Ansätze, zumindest in Westdeutschland, zunichte. An Realismus war das große Publikum letztlich so wenig interessiert wie an der Schuldfrage. Im optimistischen Heile-Welt-Kino der 1950er-Jahre, der erfolgreichsten Epoche des bundesdeutschen Nachkriegsfilms, war für beides kein Platz.

Die Stunde Null als vertane Chance …

Ohne diese Periode künstlerischer Verdrängung ist auch der politische Weckruf des Neuen Deutschen Films nicht zu verstehen, mit dem nach 1968 Regisseure wie Rainer Werner Fassbinder, Volker Schlöndorff und Werner Herzog am Selbstverständnis rüttelten. Mit Die Ehe der Maria Braun (1978), einem seiner erfolgreichsten Filme, ging Fassbinder jedoch noch einen Schritt weiter. Die Geschichte der vermeintlichen Kriegswitwe Maria Braun, die mit skrupellosem Charme und Durchsetzungswillen am Wirtschaftswunder teilnimmt, ist die Geschichte der jungen Bundesrepublik – und die einer vertanen Chance. Schon ein Jahr zuvor hatte Edgar Reitz’ Stunde Null (1977) das Kriegsende als utopischen Freiraum begriffen: Zwischen dem Rückzug der US-Armee und dem Anrücken der Sowjets wird ein stillgelegter Bahnhof nahe Leipzig zum toten Winkel der Geschichte, in dem eine bunt zusammengewürfelte Schar von Individualisten das Leben genießt. Eine Regierung gibt es nicht, für eine Weile scheint alles möglich. Auch Fassbinder beschreibt dieses Vakuum, in dem eine junge Frau das eigene Leben in die Hand nimmt. Doch sie scheitert, die männliche Ordnung wird hinter ihrem Rücken wieder hergestellt.

… oder als glücklich bestandene Prüfung

Auch der kritische Impuls des Neuen Deutschen Films sollte nicht lange vorhalten. In Rama dama von 1991 (der bairische Ausspruch bedeutet „räumen tun wir“) zeigt Joseph Vilsmaier Münchnerinnen beim Schuttwegräumen zu flotter Swingmusik. Endlich wieder Nylons, Lippenstift und Flirts mit den amerikanischen Besatzern – im modernen Heimatfilm herrscht Nostalgie. Die Stunde Null wird zur glücklich bestandenen Prüfung, ein gern erinnerter Teil der eigenen Lebensleistung. Der Mythos der tapferen Trümmerfrau gehört ohnehin längst zum kollektiven Bildgedächtnis. Doch Vilsmaiers wenig politischer, dafür visuell gefälliger Historienstil wirkt weiter, wird schnell zum künstlerischen Standard deutscher Geschichtsaufarbeitung, der sich auch für schwierigere Themen eignet, etwa die Vergewaltigung deutscher Frauen durch russische Soldaten nach Kriegsende in Anonyma – Eine Frau in Berlin (Max Färberböck, 2008). Modern gestylte TV-Eventfilme wie Tannbach (Alexander Dierbach, 2015) – über ein 1945 geteiltes Dorf auf der innerdeutschen Grenze – können sich so auch einst heiklen Fragen von Schuld und Kontinuität widmen, ohne zu provozieren. Die Stunde Null bietet mittlerweile tatsächlich einen Freiraum – für spannende Geschichten.

Bleibt nur noch die Nostalgie?


„Phoenix“ (Trailer) | © Piffl Medien via youtube.com

Eine Gegenerzählung zu diesem Bild einer glücklich verarbeiteten Geschichte lieferte zuletzt der Autorenfilmer Christian Petzold in Phoenix (2014). Petzold, filmhistorisch versiert, gestaltet seine Heldin Nelly Lenz wie die zwei großen Frauen des Stunde-Null-Films: die unerschütterliche Hildegard Knef in Die Mörder sind unter uns, die glamouröse Hanna Schygulla in Die Ehe der Maria Braun. Zu Beginn jedoch ist Nina Hoss als Nelly, eine der Hölle von Auschwitz entkommene Jüdin, ausgemergelt und im Gesicht entstellt – eine Auschwitz-Überlebende, wie sie die Knef noch nicht sein durfte. Ihre unheimliche Verwandlung ist zum einen ein cineastisches Vexierspiel mit Verweisen auf Alfred Hitchcock, Ingmar Bergman und François Truffaut. Zum anderen ist sie eine ernste Auseinandersetzung mit dem realen Horror des Holocaust und den Verdrängungsmechanismen der deutschen Nachkriegsgesellschaft. Die Stunde Null, so scheint es, beschäftigt die Deutschen noch weiter und ist noch lange nicht auserzählt.