Quick access:
Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

Sustainable Tourism
Schmilka – an organic enclave in the Saxon Switzerland national park

Traditional cottages and the mill in Schmilka
Traditional cottages and the mill in Schmilka | © Marina Bierbrauer

The tiny village of Schmilka is located in the heart of the Saxon Switzerland national park, beside the Elbe river, right on the German-Czech border. Over the last 20 years Schmilka has gradually been transformed into an all-organic enclave. The aim is to create an integrated blend of sustainability, regional self-sufficiency, and locally made artisan organic food products.

By Marina Bierbrauer

On a one-day tour of the village, I was able to take a closer look at the local sights and attractions. Like virtually all the towns and villages in the region, Schmilka is easily accessible by rail. The train deposited me on the opposite bank of the Elbe, from where I could look straight across at the 69 small cottages nestled beside the narrow road winding its way up the hill from the river bank. I crossed to the other side on the “Lena”, a small historic ferry dating back to 1927.

Baking as they did 300 years ago

I start the day with a guided tour through the historic mill and the adjacent bakery. The building dates back to 1665, and is the village’s oldest surviving structure. It was lovingly refurbished in 2007. Today the visitor can watch the flour being ground and baked into delicious bread and pastries. The bread is baked in a traditional wood-fired oven, exactly as in the old days. As you enter the bakehouse you are greeted with the unique smell of fresh bread, and the warmth of the heat radiating from the oven.

Seasonal organic produce from the local region

In the mill house I then warm up and try some fresh bread with a vegan lentil soup. The goods on display – cakes the size of cart wheels, sweet or savoury as you prefer, “miller’s loaves” and bread rolls – can be consumed on the spot or taken home to be enjoyed later. All products are organic certified, with ingredients mainly sourced from within the region, and in many cases locally grown as well. The goods produced vary according to the season, and also according to fluctuations in demand, to minimise left-overs at the end of the day and the resulting waste of resources. Along with the mill and bakery, the village also has an artisan patisserie and cake shop, and an organic brewery, all operated on these same principles.

Modern-day reconstruction of a historic village

As I walk around the village, I start to pick up some more information on its history, and the background to what is happening there today. The impetus came from the businessman and private investor Sven-Erik Hitzer. He operates a number of historical tourism destinations and restaurants, and has received multiple awards for his activities in the area of heritage protection and tourism. He has had links with the Saxon Switzerland region since childhood, and for many years owned a holiday cottage in Schmilka. He saw the gradual decline in the local population and visitor numbers, not least because of two major floods, and watched the houses gradually falling into disrepair. So over 20 years ago, he started to buy up vacant buildings in the village, and to realise his vision of a sustainable organic enclave.

The village’s half-timber cottages were progressively refurbished using the latest organic construction methods, while preserving their original charm. Energy is generated from solar panels and other renewable sources, and the waste heat is used to heat the village’s houses and buildings. The aim is for the village eventually to be self-sufficient in terms of energy. Overnight accommodation is available in the eco-hotel and a limited number of family-operated bed and breakfast establishments and holiday homes. No high-rise hotels here!

These changes have been mainly well received by the local population, who have all clearly benefited from the process. You can feel a real sense of common purpose here.
 
  • A view of Schmilka and the ferry from the other side of the Elbe © Marina Bierbrauer
    A view of Schmilka and the ferry from the other side of the Elbe
  • Traditional cottages and the mill in Schmilka © Marina Bierbrauer
    Traditional cottages and the mill in Schmilka
  • Bread and pastries from the mill bakery © Marina Bierbrauer
    Bread and pastries from the mill bakery
  • The bakehouse © Marina Bierbrauer
    The bakehouse
  • The mill wheel © Marina Bierbrauer
    The mill wheel
  • Bath tub in the “winter village” © Marina Bierbrauer
    Bath tub in the “winter village”
  • Walking tracks in and around Schmilka © Marina Bierbrauer
    Walking tracks in and around Schmilka
 

All-year-round tourist destination

Schmilka is on the Elbe cycle way, and is the starting point for numerous walks. Part of the Painters’ Trail (Malerweg) one of Germany’s best-known walkways, leads directly through the village. Like many of the small towns and villages in the national park, Schmilka is flooded with visitors particularly during the summer months. In spite of all the resulting benefits for the region, this can place major stress on the local infrastructure and fragile ecosystems. But Schmilka is determined to show that profit and sustainability can go hand in hand, and that sustainability can provide the foundation for a successful tourism industry.

In recent years, to extend its appeal into the winter months, the concept of a “winter village” has been introduced, running from mid-November to mid-March. This helps to create permanent employment opportunities, even outside the peak season. After enjoying a sauna, and an invigorating cold water plunge afterwards, for example, visitors are invited to relax in a hot bath tub, with beer steam (Aufguss) if they so desire. Or they can opt to end the day with a delicious steaming hot glass of Glühwein, as I did.

Top

Schnelleinstieg:

Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

Nachhaltiger Tourismus
Das Bio-Refugium Schmilka in der Sächsischen Schweiz

Typische Häuser in Schmilka inkl Mühle
Typische Häuser in Schmilka inkl Mühle | © Marina Bierbrauer

​Das kleine Dorf Schmilka, mitten im Nationalpark Sächsische Schweiz an der Grenze zu Tschechien und direkt an der Elbe gelegen, hat sich in den letzten zwanzig Jahren nach und nach zum Bio-Refugium entwickelt. Nachhaltigkeit, Regionalität und die Herstellung eigener Bio-Produkte werden hier in einem ganzheitlichen Konzept umgesetzt.

Von Marina Bierbrauer

Bei einem Tagesausflug hatte ich Gelegenheit, mir die einzelnen Angebote genauer anzuschauen. Wie fast alle Orte in der Sächsischen Schweiz erreiche ich Schmilka unkompliziert mit der Bahn. Von der anderen Elbseite habe ich einen schönen Blick auf die 69 Häuschen, die sich an einer kleinen Straße vom Ufer den Berg hinauf schlängeln. Mit der kleinen, historischen Fähre „Lena“ aus dem Jahre 1927 fahre ich hinüber ins Dorf.

Backen wie vor 300 Jahren

Ich beginne den Tag mit einer Führung durch die historische Wassermühle mit angeschlossener Bäckerei. Das Bauwerk aus dem Jahre 1665 ist das älteste erhaltene Gebäude des Ortes und wurde 2007 liebevoll saniert. Heute kann man live zuschauen, wie das Mehl gemahlen und zu leckeren Backwaren verarbeitet wird. In der Bäckerei wird nach wie vor in einem historischen Holzofen gebacken. Bereits beim Betreten der Backstube duftet es herrlich nach frischem Brot gemischt mit der wohligen Wärme des Holzofens.

Saisonale und regionale Bio-Produkte

In der Mühlenstube wärme ich mich anschließend auf und probiere das frische Brot zusammen mit einer veganen Linsensuppe. Wagenradgroße Kuchen in süßen und herzhaften Varianten, Mühlenbrote und Brötchen kann man entweder direkt vor Ort verzehren oder mitnehmen und zu Hause genießen. Alle Produkte sind bio-zertifiziert, die Zutaten werden vorwiegend aus der Region bezogen und zum Teil selbst angebaut, produziert wird saisonal. Gebacken und gekocht wird außerdem nach Bedarf, um am Ende des Tages möglichst wenig übrig zu haben und keine Lebensmittel zu verschwenden. Neben Bäckerei und Mühle gibt es im Dorf eine Handvoll kleiner Restaurants, eine Konditorei und Tortenmanufaktur sowie eine Bio-Braumanufaktur, die nach eben diesen Prinzipien arbeiten.

Moderne Rekonstruktion eines historischen Dorfes

Bei einem Dorfrundgang erfahre ich Geschichtliches zu Schmilka und seiner heutigen Entwicklung. Möglich gemacht hat diese der Unternehmer und private Investor Sven-Erik Hitzer. Er betreibt mehrere historisch-touristische Ausflugsziele und Gastronomien und wurde für seine Aktivitäten in den Bereichen Denkmalschutz und Touristik mehrfach ausgezeichnet. Bereits seit seiner Kindheit eng mit der Sächsischen Schweiz verbunden, besaß er lange ein Feriendomizil in Schmilka. Er erlebte, wie die Einwohner- und Besucherzahl Schmilkas nicht zuletzt durch zwei große Hochwasser immer weiter schrumpfte und viele Häuser verfielen. Daher begann er vor gut 20 Jahren leerstehende Gebäude im Dorf aufzukaufen und seine Vision von einem nachhaltigen Bio-Refugium umzusetzen.

Die kleinen Fachwerkhäuschen wurden nach und nach mit modernen, baubiologischen Methoden saniert und dabei in ihrem ursprünglichen Charme erhalten. Energie wird aus Solaranlagen und Ökostrom bezogen, Heizungen werden mit Abwärme betrieben. Das Ziel ist, irgendwann gänzlich energieautark zu sein. Übernachten kann man in Schmilka im Bio-Hotel oder in einer der wenigen familiengeführten Pensionen und Ferienwohnungen. Große Hotelanlagen sucht man vergebens.

Von den Bewohnern Schmilkas werden die Bemühungen vorwiegend positiv aufgenommen, schließlich kommt die Entwicklung allen zugute. Man merkt, dass hier alle an einem Strang ziehen.
 
  • Blick auf Schmilka mit Fähre von der anderen Elbseite © Marina Bierbrauer
    Blick auf Schmilka mit Fähre von der anderen Elbseite
  • Typische Häuser in Schmilka inkl Mühle © Marina Bierbrauer
    Typische Häuser in Schmilka inkl Mühle
  • Backwaren aus der Mühlenbäckerei © Marina Bierbrauer
    Backwaren aus der Mühlenbäckerei
  • Blick in die Backstube © Marina Bierbrauer
    Blick in die Backstube
  • Mühlrad © Marina Bierbrauer
    Mühlrad
  • Badezuber im Winterdorf © Marina Bierbrauer
    Badezuber im Winterdorf
  • Mögliche Wanderungen in und um Schmilka © Marina Bierbrauer
    Mögliche Wanderungen in und um Schmilka
 

Ganzjähriges Ausflugsziel

Schmilka liegt am Elberadweg, ist Ausgangspunkt zahlreicher Wanderungen und ein Teil des Malerwegs, einer der bekanntesten Wanderwege Deutschlands, führt direkt durch das kleine Dorf. Wie viele kleinere Orte im Nationalpark ist Schmilka daher besonders in der warmen Jahreszeit mit einer großen Besuchermasse konfrontiert. Was einerseits gut für die Region ist, führt gleichzeitig schnell zur Überforderung der Infrastruktur und des empfindlichen Ökosystems. Schmilka zeigt mit seinem außergewöhnlichen Ansatz, dass Profit und Nachhaltigkeit sich nicht ausschließen müssen, sondern ganz im Gegenteil ein auf Nachhaltigkeit basiertes Konzept die Grundlage für einen erfolgreichen Tourismus bilden kann.

Um auch im Winter als Ausflugsziel attraktiv zu sein, gibt es seit einigen Jahren von Mitte November bis Mitte März das Winterdorf. Dadurch werden feste Arbeitsplätze auch außerhalb der Hauptsaison geschaffen. Hier kann man z. B. nach einem Saunagang mit anschließendem Eisbad in einem heißen Badezuber – wahlweise mit Bieraufguss – verweilen und entspannen. Oder wie ich den Tag mit einem leckeren, heißen Glühwein ausklingen lassen.

Top