© Foto: Utami Atasia Ishii

Nusasonic in Yogyakarta

Artistic Lab and Festival | 2-13 October 2018 | Yogyakarta, Indonesia

Artistic Lab – Sonic Wilderness © Foto: Utami Atasia Ishii

About Nusasonic in Yogyakarta

Nusasonic is a multi-year project that plunges into a broad spectrum of experimental sound and music cultures in Southeast Asia, enabling dialogue within the region, with Europe, and beyond. It kicks off 2–13 October 2018 in Yogyakarta, Indonesia, beginning as a multi-day lab where new artist pairings, a hacklab, and a sonic wilderness group play together and create new musical works, ideas, and possibilities. Later in the week and weekend, the festival showcases the results of these works within a programme that also includes concerts, a club night, guerrilla outdoor events, and daytime programme of talks, panels, and workshops.

About Yogya
Videos zu Nusasonic in Yogykarta © Goethe-Institut

Videos about Nusasonic in Yogyakarta


Experience powerful concerts and explore new collaborations as performed during the Nusasonic festival in Yogyakarta
 

Videos

Artists

AGF © AGF

AGF

Antye Greie-Ripatti, i.e. AGF or poemproducer, has produced a formidable amount of output stretching across exhibitions, soundtracks, mixes, performances, and releases. Born in East Germany, she has been living and working in Hailuoto, Finland since 2008.

Andreas Siagian © Andreas Siagian

Andreas Siagian

Andreas Siagian is an interdisciplinary artist with a background in Civil Engineering (Graduate of Atma Jaya, Yogyakarta). His initial interest in interdisciplinary practice began when he was in college, where he studied programming languages to create a software for highway geometric design calculation and planning.

arnont nongyao ©

Arnont Nongyao

Born in Bangkok, Arnont Nongyao lives and works in Chiang Mai. His practice centres on experimentation with vibrations that are derived from humans and other living organisms, as well as objects, and exploring their interaction in the environment and society.

Asa Rahmana © Asa Rahmana

Asa Rahmana

Asa Rahmana began her musical journey as a singer-songwriter with an electronic group called Belkastrelka (2009-2017), initiated the group Jalan Emas (Garasi Performance Institute, 2014), and was involved in the project Menara Ingatan (Garasi Performance Institute, 2017) as performer, songwriter, and researcher.

500px_ayu_saraswati (c)

Ayu Saraswati

Ayu Saraswati got to know Yogyakarta’s local music community after moving there for college, and quickly started getting involved with diverse musical projects. Over the years, she has also taught piano/keyboard at various schools in the city.

Bhakti Prasetyo ©Bhakti Prasetyo

Bhakti Prasetyo

Improviser, bass player, and one of people who started to experiment with noise in the early wave of the noise scene in Yogyakarta. His Melcyd band was included in a compilation tape titled Pekak! Indonesian Noise 1995-2015, released by the Syrphe label.

Caliph8 ©Caliph8

Caliph8

Caliph8 deploys sheets of polyrhythmic beats, one-note samples, and deconstructed cut & paste sound sequences. His arsenal of methods also includes sample-based and granular synthesis, as well as free-form improvisation in which he combines sound manipulation techniques and samples with prepared gear or objects.

Cheryl Ong © Cheryl Ong

Cheryl Ong

A Singaporean percussionist who is active in music performance and education, Cheryl Ong regularly performs with avantgarde rock group, The Observatory. She has also played with SA, a trio that fuses traditional Chinese instruments and electronics.

Dangerdope ©Dangerdope

Dangerdope

Dangerdope baut ständig auf seinen Sampling-Fähigkeiten auf, nimmt seltene und bisher ungehörte Musikstücke auf und bearbeitet sie zu Phrasen für seine Tracks. Viele seiner Tracks enthalten Dutzende von Samples.

Duto Hardono © Laura Fiorio

Duto Hardono

Originally trained in painting, his practice traverses the two-dimensionality of collages and drawings into the dynamic incorporation of readymade materials such as everyday objects, old musical instruments, records, and cassette tapes in his installations and performances.

Erick Calilan ©Erick Calilan

Erick Calilan

Sound artist, hardware hacker, and experimental musician whose works mainly focus on the illogical use of consumer-based electronic devices and the reverse-engineering of technology. His practice includes sound, kinetic and interactive installations, sound-based compositions, and field recordings.

Evans Storn © Evans Storn

Evans Storn

Electronic/experimental music artist, instrument builder, and DIY electronics practitioner based in Bandung, Indonesia. Storn’s artistic output often takes the shape of sound or interactive installations. He also leads analogue and digital synthesizer workshops. He is the founder of Storn System, a company that repairs, sells, and builds custom analogue synths.

Fauxe © Fauxe

Fauxe

His 2015 EP, titled Huh Fuck Another Beat Tape, sampled recently dug up recordings of Singaporean tracks from the 60s, creating incredibly melodic grooves by “twisting them in a Dilla-like fashion” (Bandwagon Asia). The EP was produced and recorded within 24 hours, using only the first takes from contributing rappers Mediocre Haircut Crew.

Gabber Modus Operandi ©

Gabber Modus Operandi

Gabber Modus Operandi was accidentally founded by Kasimyn and Ican Harem following their fad staging at an underground punk concert in Denpasar. After some DJ- and MC-ing, Kasimyn began producing tracks for the duo using the smallest musical instrument: the Mini Synth Teenage Engineering OP-1, while Ican Harem provides vocals and joke-filled improvisation.

Ikbal Lubys ©Ikbal Lubys

Ikbal Lubys

After studying Western classical music and classical guitar, his work moved to a focus around the exploration of dynamic and experimental relationships with the guitar in terms of its sound and function, and interlacing performances with visuals. Lubys has collaborated with artists from Asia and Europe, spanning diverse fields including performing art, visual art, dance, and film.

Jessica Ekomane © Silje Nes
Yogyakarta

Jessica Ekomane

Berlin-based musician and installation artist Jessica Ekomane creates situations in which sound functions as a form of catharsis. Her work intersperses noise and melody, playing with listeners’ perception of rhythmic structures and seeking to transform the space between sound and audience.

JNB Group © JNB Group

Jogja Noise Bombing

Jogja Noise Bombing (JNB) is an open community for noise artists from around the city of Yogyakarta that focuses on experimental audio, noise, harsh noise, ambient, drone, circuit bending, and other exploratory sound forms.

Joee and I ©Joee and I

Joee and I

Joee & I is an electronic music act by musician and multimedia artist Joee Mejias and various collaborators. Her music combines field recordings, traditional and found instruments, electronics, and voice, forming songs that evoke inner memories, altered dream states, and fragments of real or imaginary journeys.

Johanes Moong Santoso Pribadi ©Johanes Moong Santoso Pribadi

J.'Mo'ong' Santoso Pribadi

Bangkok-born and Java-raised, Johanes “Mo’ong” Santoso Pribadi is an experimental music composer and instrument builder. His main area of study is music Nusantara, or the music of Indonesia.

Kok Siew Wai ©Sebastien Gesell

Kok Siew Wai

Hailing from Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia, Kok Siew-Wai is a vocal improviser, video artist, and organiser who has shown video works and performed in Asia, Europe, Canada, and USA. Siew-Wai has a deep passion for experimental and improvised arts, and the DIY effort undertaken in promoting them.

Lintang Radittya ©Lintang Radittya

Lintang Radittya

Self-taught instrument builder and sound artist/ performer based in Yogyakarta, Indonesia. His current interests include DIY analog electronics, the relationship between sound and space, randomness, javanese futurism, and the meeting points of electroacoustic, noise, and experimental music.

Mahamboro ©Mahamboro

Mahamboro

Filled with dark, industrial, and techno-inspired sounds, his latest albums take on titles such as Akaa (“root”), Klawu (“grey”) or Surup (“sunsets”), alluding to the musician’s fascination with personal environments, in-between states, unresolved moods or impressions, the divide between the inner and the outer...

Menstrual Synthdrone ©Menstrual Synthdrone

Menstrual Synthdrone

Dyah Isaka Parameswara (Woro) was born in Malang and now lives and works in Yogyakarta. Under the moniker of Menstrual Synthdrone, she explores her interest in the various sounds that can be produced by synths, pedals, and analogue electronics. Her musical style spans ambient, drone, and hypnotizing harsh noise.

Mica Agregado ©Mica Agregado

Mica Agregado

She fabricates idealised visions through upcycled kinetic sculptures in plastic, pseudo-corporate zines, faux natural landscapes, and pattern-frenzied karaoke machines, lingering over the ambiguity between class and chintz, corporations and singularity, and mass production and specialty.

mobilegirl ©Niclas Hille

mobilegirl

Berlin-based Bao-Tran Tran or mobilegirl is an affiliate of STAYCORE, a label launched by Stockholm-based producers Dinamarca and Ghazal and Scandinavia’s darker, outward-looking answer to the marketability of London’s PC Music. mobilegirl shifts tempos and adds triplet bleeps and bloops, metallic crunches, or reggaeton kicks to turn R&B classics into futuristic Afro-Caribbean dance tracks.

Nadah el Shazly ©Nadah el Shazly
Yogyakarta

Nadah el Shazly

Starting out singing Misfits covers in a local punk band, Cairo’s Nadah el Shazly has since been making a name for herself in the city’s underground scene by producing her own electronic tracks. Her debut album, Ahwar (2017), emerged via Nawa Recordings, a label run by Khyam Allami that focuses on Middle Eastern artists.

Nadya Hatta © Nadya Hatta

Nadya Hatta

Nadya Hatta learned classical piano during her childhood but gradually became interested in exploring the piano’s sound (digital piano and effects) and creating music compositions.

NMO © NMO

NMO

N.M.O. is the project between drummer Morten J. Olsen and synthesis aficionado Rubén Patiño. N.M.O. is an acronym that serves to frame the work of a rolling computerized ceremonial aerobics unit operating in a hybrid territory between club music, performance, and inventive forms of sound spatialisation.

Opium Hum © Kate Coffee

Opium Hum

Opium Hum aka Michail Stangl nourishes his DJ sets via sombre, hazy drones and fantastical soundscapes permeated by deep and shifting rhythms to create what can only be called a waking dream.

Peter Kirn © Maria Kuzmina

Peter Kirn

Peter Kirn is an audiovisual artist, composer/musician, technologist, and journalist. He is the editor of CDM (createdigitalmusic.com and createdigitalmotion.com) and co-creator of the open source MeeBlip hardware synthesizer (meeblip.com).

Potro Joyo ©Potro Joyo

Potro Joyo

Potro (Patrap in Javanese) indicates a behaviour or attitude that is aiming for consciousness. Joyo is a symbol of cultivating superior behaviour in one’s life. To be “Potro Joyo,” you have to always try to understand your identity.

Riska Farasonalia ©Riska Farasonalia

Riska Farasonalia

Semarang-based Riska Farasonalia is a musician, journalist, and member of an inter-local feminist collective called Kolektif Betina. She is part of Samber Nyawa, a collaborative project based on improvisation, where band members as well as the music played can change according to the circumstances and soul of the era.

Rully Shabara ©Rully Shabara

Rully Shabara

Born in Palu, Central Sulawesi, Indonesia, Rully Shabara is interested in exploring oral traditions, folkloric texts, and the human voice as a medium of creation. Shabara is perhaps best-known internationally for his work as one-half of duo Senyawa (with Wukir Suryadi), where he explores the limits of the vocal range and vocal textures. As a solo artist, he has releases on labels dualpLOVER, Morphine Records, and Yes No Wave Music.

Sarana ©Sarana

Sarana

Sarana is a dark ambient / experimental unit from Samarinda, East Kalimantan that uses both electronic and non-electronic sounds. The project was born when Sabrina Eka, already active in the noise music scene, spontaneously asked Annisa Maharani and Istanara Julia Saputri to fill a vacant performance slot. Since then, they have been active in the experimental scene, producing their debut single, “Binatang” in 2016. The track heralded the release of a first EP, Heal that same year, which explored various self-healing strategies. Their full-length Grow album was just released this past June 2018.

Ruben Patiño © Ruben Patiño

Ruben Patiño

Rubén Patiño is an artist working in the field of electronic music, operating in a hybrid territory that incorporates elements of club culture and contemporary art. Most of Patiño's work takes shape as time-based proposals that incorporate sound, light, video, text, and diverse materials.

Setabuhan ©Setabuhan

Setabuhan

Setabuhan is a project created by Rully Shabara in 2017. In essence, it is a modern reinvention of tribal trance music delivered by the pure muscle and stamina of two heavy percussionists (Ramberto Agozalie and Caesarking), with voice (Rully Shabara) as the only other instrument. The project is originally inspired by the monotonous and interlocking beats of the ancient Central Sulawesian ritual, Balia; a dance associated with animism and sacred objects, particularly relating to traditional medicine used to treat someone who is affected by evil spirits.

Sote © Malthe Ivarsson

Sote

Ata Ebtekar aka Sote is an electronic music composer and sound artist based in Tehran, Iran. Over the last two decades, he has published his work via established labels such as Warp, Sub Rosa, Opal Tapes, Morphine, Digitalis and Repitch, among others. He is a co-founder of the SET Festival in Tehran.

Sudarshan ©Sudarshan

Sudarshan

Sudarshan Chandra Kumar is a musician and improv artist that regularly participates in the Serious Play Improv Lab (SPIL); a monthly experimental music series in Kuala Lumpur. Working with music for theatre, he is the music facilitator for Main Wayang (2015-2016), a children’s theatre workshop which emphasizes on the basics for orchestrating D.I.Y multimedia performances.

Tad Ermitaño ©Tad Ermitaño

Tad Ermitaño

Tad Ermitaño is a key figure in new media art in the Philippines and Southeast Asia. His sphere of influence reaches back to the late 1980s, when he co-founded the media collective Children of Cathode Ray, one of the first experimental sound art groups in the Philippines.

Tony Maryana ©Tony Maryana

Tony Maryana

Recording artist, composer, electronic musician, percussionist, and musicologist Tony Maryana is based in Yogyakarta, the centre for arts in Indonesia. Graduating from the Indonesian Institute of the Arts, he has worked on several sound installations and performances with musicians from across the globe.

Uwalmassa ©Uwalmassa

Uwalmassa

The concept behind the trio named Uwalmassa is the fusion of international sounds – from traditional to modern – with translation through an Indonesian lens. Uwalmassa acknowledge that the Indonesian identity is not something that is diminishing, but rather in need of being reconstructed – that it is still subject to reinterpretation.

Yennu Ariendra ©Yennu Ariendra

Yennu Ariendra

Composer/musician Yennu Ariendra was born in Banyuwangi, East Java, Indonesia. Most of his work takes traditional Indonesian values, history, and realities as starting points and weaves them into today’s world.

Yuen Chee Wai ©Peter Gannushkin

Yuen Chee Wai

Yuen Chee Wai is a musician, artist, and designer based in Singapore. Often inspired by ideas drawn from philosophical and literary texts, and perspectives glimpsed through the filmic eye and photographic lens, Yuen’s stylistic oeuvre in improvised music is marked by internalized reflections on memory and loss, invisibility, and indeterminacy.

© Foto: Utami Atasia Ishii

Nusasonic in Yogyakarta

Nusasonic fand zum ersten Mal vom 2. bis 13. Oktober 2018 in Yogyakarta (Indonesien) statt. Die Initiative versammelte 43 Künstler aus Thailand, Singapur, den Philippinen, Malaysia und Indonesien und begann als ein mehrtägiges Labor, in dem neue Künstlerpaare, ein Hacklab und eine Sonic-Wilderness-Gruppe zusammengebracht wurden, um neue musikalische Werke, Ideen und Möglichkeiten kreierten. Die Veranstaltung gipfelte in einem Festival-Showcase, bei dem die Ergebnisse des Labors vorgestellt wurden und andere eingeladene Künstler im Rahmen eines Programms mit Konzerten, Clubnächten, Guerilla-Veranstaltungen im Freien und einem Tagesprogramm mit Vorträgen, Panels und Workshops auftraten.

Über Nusasonic in Yogyakarta

Sonic Wilderness Workshop Calendar ©

Alle Veranstaltungen

Veranstaltungen in Yogyakarta 2018
Videos zu Nusasonic in Yogykarta © Goethe-Institut

Videos

Neue Kollaborationen und kraftvolle Sounds auf den Nusasonic-Festivalbühnen in Yogyakarta

Videos

Künstler*innen

AGF © AGF

AGF

Antye Greie-Ripatti, auch bekannt als AGF oder Poemproducer, hat eine beachtliche Menge an Output produziert, das sich über Ausstellungen, Soundtracks, Mixes, Performances und Veröffentlichungen erstreckt. Geboren in Ostdeutschland, lebt und arbeitet sie seit 2008 in Hailuoto, Finnland.

Andreas Siagian © Andreas Siagian

Andreas Siagian

Andreas Siagian ist ein interdisziplinärer Künstler mit einem Hintergrund in Bauingenieurwesen (er ist Absolvent der Atma Jaya Universität, Yogyakarta). Sein Interesse an interdisziplinärer Praxis begann, als er auf dem College war, wo er Programmiersprachen studierte, um eine Software für die Berechnung und Planung von Autobahngeometrien zu erstellen.

arnont nongyao ©

Arnont Nongyao

Geboren in Bangkok, lebt und arbeitet Arnont Nongyao in Chiang Mai. Seine Praktiken konzentrieren sich auf das Experimentieren mit Schwingungen, die von Menschen und anderen lebenden Organismen sowie Objekten abgeleitet sind, und untersuchen deren Interaktion mit der Umwelt und der Gesellschaft.

Asa Rahmana © Asa Rahmana

Asa Rahmana

Asa Rahmana begann ihre musikalische Reise als Sänger-Songwriterin mit einer elektronischen Gruppe namens Belkastrelka (2009-2017), initiierte die Gruppe Jalan Emas (Garasi Performance Institute, 2014) und war am Projekt Menara Ingatan (Garasi Performance Institute, 2017) als Performerin, Songwriterin und Forscherin beteiligt.

500px_ayu_saraswati (c)

Ayu Saraswati

Ayu Saraswati lernte Yogyakartas lokale Musikszene kennen, nachdem sie dort zur Universität gegangen war, und begann schnell, sich mit diversen musikalischen Projekten zu beschäftigen. Im Laufe der Jahre hat sie auch Klavier / Keyboard an verschiedenen Schulen in der Stadt unterrichtet.

Bhakti Prasetyo ©Bhakti Prasetyo

Bhakti Prasetyo

Improvisator, Bassist und einer der Künstler, die bereits in der frühesten Welle der Noise-Szene in Yogyakarta zu experimentieren begannen. Seine Band Melcyd wurde zusammen mit anderen Stücken auf einem Mixtape mit dem Titel Pekak! Indonesian Noise 1995-2015 veröffentlicht, herausgegeben vom Label Syrphe.

Caliph8 ©Caliph8

Caliph8

Caliph8 benutzt polyrhythmische Beats, One-Note-Samples und dekonstruierte Cut & Paste-Soundsequenzen. Sein Methodenarsenal umfasst auch Sample-basierte und granulare Synthesen sowie Freiform-Improvisationen, in denen er Klangmanipulationstechniken und Samples mit eigens dafür präpariertem Equipment oder Objekten kombiniert.

Cheryl Ong © Cheryl Ong

Cheryl Ong

Cheryl Ong ist eine Perkussionistin, die in den Bereichen Musik und Bildung aktiv ist. Sie tritt regelmäßig mit der Avantgarde Rock-Gruppe The Observatory auf. Sie spielte auch mit SA, einem Trio, das traditionelle chinesische Instrumente mit Elektronika vereint.

Dangerdope ©Dangerdope

Dangerdope

Dangerdope constantly builds on his sampling skills, taking rare and unheard pieces of music and reworking them into phrases for his tracks. Many of his tracks feature dozens of samples.

Duto Hardono © Laura Fiorio

Duto Hardono

Ursprünglich in der Malerei ausgebildet, durchläuft er in seinen Installationen und Performances die Zwei-Dimensionalität von Collagen und Zeichnungen zur dynamischen Inkorporation von Readymade-Materialien wie Alltagsgegenständen, alten Musikinstrumenten, Schallplatten und Kassetten.

Erick Calilan ©Erick Calilan

Erick Calilan

Klangkünstler, Hardware-Hacker und Experimentalmusiker, dessen Arbeiten sich hauptsächlich auf die widersprüchliche Verwendung von elektronischen Geräten auf Basis von Verbrauchern und das Reverse-Engineering von Technologie konzentrieren. Seine Praxis umfasst Klang-, kinetische und interaktive Installationen, klangbasierte Kompositionen und Feldaufnahmen.

Evans Storn © Evans Storn

Evans Storn

Elektronischer / experimenteller Musikkünstler, Instrumentenbauer und DIY-Elektroniker mit Sitz in Bandung, Indonesien. Storns künstlerisches Output nimmt oft die Form von Klang oder interaktiven Installationen an. Er leitet auch analoge und digitale Synthesizer-Workshops. Er ist der Gründer von Storn System, einem Unternehmen, das kundenspezifische Analog-Synthesizer repariert, verkauft und baut.

Fauxe © Fauxe

Fauxe

Seine 2015er EP mit dem Titel Huh Fuck Another Beat Tape hat kürzlich Aufnahmen von singapurischen Tracks aus den 60er Jahren gesampelt und dabei unglaublich melodische Grooves kreiert, indem „sie ‚Dilla-artig’ gedreht wurden“ (Bandwagon Asia). Die EP wurde innerhalb von 24 Stunden produziert und aufgenommen, wobei nur die ersten Aufnahmen der dazu beigetragenen Rappern der Mediocre Haircut Crew verwendet wurden.

Gabber Modus Operandi ©

Gabber Modus Operandi

Gabber Modus Operandi wurde eher zufällig von Kasimyn und Ican Harem nach einer kurzlebigen Inszenierung bei einem Underground-Punkkonzert in Denpasar gegründet. Nach einigen DJ- und MC-Auftritten begann Kasimyn, mit dem kleinsten Musikinstrument Tracks für das Duo zu produzieren: dem Mini Synth Teenage Engineering OP-1, während Ican Harem Gesang und humorvolle Improvisation dazu bietet.

Ikbal Lubys ©Ikbal Lubys

Ikbal Lubys

Nach dem Studium der klassischen westlichen Musik und der klassischen Gitarre konzentrierte sich seine Arbeit auf die Erkundung dynamischer und experimenteller Beziehungen mit der Gitarre in Bezug auf Klang und Funktion sowie die Verschmelzung von Performances mit Visuals.

Jessica Ekomane © Silje Nes
Yogyakarta 2019

Jessica Ekomane

Die in Berlin lebende Musikerin und Installationskünstlerin Jessica Ekomane schafft Situationen, in denen Klang als eine Form von Katharsis fungiert. Ihre Arbeit durchsetzt Lärm und Melodie, spielt mit der Wahrnehmung rhythmischer Strukturen der Zuhörer und versucht, den Raum zwischen Klang und Publikum zu transformieren.

JNB Group © JNB Group

Jogja Noise Bombing

Jogja Noise Bombing (JNB) ist eine offene Gemeinschaft für Noise-KünstlerInnen aus der Stadt Yogyakarta, die sich auf experimentelles Audio, Noise, Harsh Noise, Umgebungsgeräusche, Drones, Circuit Bending und andere explorative Klangformen konzentrieren.

Joee and I ©Joee and I

Joee and I

Joee & I ist ein elektronischer Musik-Act bestehend aus der Musikerin und Multimedia-Künstlerin Joee Mejias und verschiedenen Mitarbeitern. Ihre Musik kombiniert Feldaufnahmen, traditionelle und gefundene Instrumente, Elektronik und Stimme und kreiert Lieder, die innere Erinnerungen, veränderte Traumzustände und Fragmente von realen oder imaginären Reisen hervorrufen.

Johanes Moong Santoso Pribadi ©Johanes Moong Santoso Pribadi

J.'Mo'ong' Santoso Pribadi

Der in Bangkok geborene und auf Java aufgewachsene Johanes "Mo'ong" Santoso Pribadi ist ein experimenteller Komponist und Instrumentenbauer. Sein Hauptforschungsgebiet ist Nusantara oder die Musik Indonesiens.

Kok Siew Wai ©Sebastien Gesell

Kok Siew Wai

Die aus Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia stammende Kok Siew-Wai ist eine Stimmenimprovisatorin, Videokünstlerin und Organisatorin, die ihre Videoarbeiten bereits in Asien, Europa, Kanada und den USA gezeigt hat und dort aufgetreten ist. Siew-Wai hat eine tiefe Leidenschaft für experimentelle und improvisierte Kunst, sowie für die DIY-Bemühungen, diese zu fördern.

Lintang Radittya ©Lintang Radittya

Lintang Radittya

Autodidaktischer Instrumentenbauer und Klangkünstler / Performer mit Sitz in Yogyakarta, Indonesien. Zu seinen aktuellen Interessen gehören DIY-Analog-Elektronik, die Beziehung zwischen Klang und Raum, Zufälligkeit, javanischer Futurismus und die Berührungspunkte von elektroakustischer Geräusche und experimenteller Musik.

Mahamboro ©Mahamboro

Mahamboro

Seine neuesten Alben, gefüllt mit dunklen, industriellen und techno-inspirierten Sounds, greifen Titel wie Akaa ("root"), Klawu ("grey") oder Surup ("sunsets") auf und verweisen auf die Faszination des Musikers für seine persönliche Umgebung. Zwischenzustände, ungelöste Stimmungen oder Eindrücke sowie die Trennung zwischen dem Innerem und Äußerem. Momentan lebt und arbeitet Mahamoro in Yogyakarta.

Menstrual Synthdrone ©Menstrual Synthdrone

Menstrual Synthdrone

Dyah Isaka Parameswara (Woro) wurde in Malang geboren und lebt und arbeitet heute in Yogyakarta. Unter dem Namen Menstrual Synthdrone erforscht sie ihr Interesse an den verschiedenen Sounds, die von Synthesizern, Pedals und analoger Elektronik erzeugt werden können. Ihr musikalischer Stil umfasst Ambient, Drone und hypnotisierender Harsh Noise.

Mica Agregado ©Mica Agregado

Mica Agregado

Sie erschafft idealisierte Visionen durch wiederverwertete kinetische Skulpturen aus Plastik, pseudo-corporate Zines, künstliche Naturlandschaften und mit Mustern übersäte Karaoke-Maschinen, wobei sie über die Ambiguität zwischen Klasse und Chintz, Unternehmen und Singularität, und Massenproduktion und Spezialität verweilt.

mobilegirl ©Niclas Hille

mobilegirl

Die in Berlin lebende Bao-Tran Tran oder mobilegirl gehört zu STAYCORE, einem Label der in Stockholm ansässigen Produzenten Dinamarca und Ghazal und Skandinaviens dunkler, nach außen drängender Antwort auf die Marktfähigkeit von Londons PC Music. mobilegirl verschiebt Tempi und fügt Triple Bleeps und Bloops, metallische Crunches oder Reggaeton Kicks hinzu, um R&B Klassiker in futuristische afro-karibische Dance Tracks zu verwandeln.

Nadah el Shazly ©Nadah el Shazly
Yogyakarta 2019

Nadah el Shazly

Sie begann mit dem Singen von Misfits-Liedern in einer lokalen Punk-Band. Seitdem hat sich Nadah el Shazly aus Kairo mit ihren eigenen elektronischen Tracks einen Namen in der Underground-Szene der Stadt gemacht. Ihr Debütalbum, Ahwar (2017), entstand über Nawa Recordings, ein Label von Khyam Allami, das sich auf Künstler aus dem Nahen Osten konzentriert.

Nadya Hatta © Nadya Hatta

Nadya Hatta

Nadya Hatta lernte während ihrer Kindheit klassisches Klavier, entwickelte aber allmählich Interesse daran, den Klang des Klaviers (Digitalpiano und Effekte) zu erforschen und Musikkompositionen zu entwickeln.

NMO © NMO

NMO

N.M.O. ist ein Projekt des Schlagzeugers Morten J. Olsen und dem Synthesizer-Kenner Rubén Patiño. N.M.O. ist ein Akronym, das dazu dient, die Arbeit einer rollenden computerisierten zeremoniellen Aerobic-Einheit zu gestalten, die in einem hybriden Bereich zwischen Clubmusik, Performance und innovativen Formen der Klangverräumlichung agiert.

Opium Hum © Kate Coffee

Opium Hum

Opium Hum alias Michail Stangl nährt seine DJ-Sets über düstere, dunstige Drohnen und fantastische Klanglandschaften, die von tiefen und wechselnden Rhythmen durchzogen sind, um etwas zu erschaffen, was man nur als Wachtraum bezeichnen kann.

Peter Kirn © Maria Kuzmina

Peter Kirn

Peter Kirn ist ein audiovisueller Künstler, Komponist/Musiker, Technologe und Journalist. Er ist der Herausgeber von CDM (createdigitalmusic.com und createdigitalmotion.com) und Co-Creator des Open Source MeeBlip Hardware Synthesizers (meeblip.com).

Potro Joyo ©Potro Joyo

Potro Joyo

Potro (Patrap auf Javanisch) weißt ein Verhalten oder eine Haltung auf, welches auf das Bewusstsein abzielt. Joyo ist ein Symbol dafür, überlegenes Verhalten im eigenen Leben zu kultivieren. Um "Potro Joyo" zu sein, musst du immer versuchen, deine Identität zu verstehen.

Riska Farasonalia ©Riska Farasonalia

Riska Farasonalia

Riska Farasonia aus Semarang ist Musikerin, Journalistin und Mitglied eines inter-lokalen feministischen Kollektivs namens Kolektif Betina. Sie ist Teil von Samber Nyawa, einem kollaborativen Projekt, das auf Improvisation basiert und bei dem sich sowohl die Bandmitglieder als auch die Musik je nach seelischer Verfassung verändern können.

Rully Shabara ©Rully Shabara

Rully Shabara

Rully Shabara wurde in Palu, Zentral-Sulawesi, Indonesien geboren und interessiert sich für mündliche Überlieferungen, folkloristische Texte und die menschliche Stimme als Medium der Schöpfung. Shabara ist vielleicht international am bekanntesten für seine Arbeit als eine Hälfte des Duos Senyawa (mit Wukir Suryadi), wo er die Grenzen des Stimmumfangs und der Stimmstrukturen erforscht.

Sarana ©Sarana

Sarana

Sarana ist eine Dark Ambient / experimentelle Einheit aus Samarinda, Ost-Kalimantan, die sowohl elektronische als auch nicht-elektronische Klänge verwendet. Das Projekt wurde geboren, als Sabrina Eka, die bereits in der Noise-Musikszene aktiv war, Antisa Maharani und Istanara Julia Saputri spontan darum bat aufzutreten, da sie einen freien Slot hatte.

Ruben Patiño © Ruben Patiño

Ruben Patiño

Rubén Patiño ist ein Künstler auf dem Gebiet der elektronischen Musik, der in einem hybriden Bereich arbeitet, der Elemente der Clubkultur und der zeitgenössischen Kunst beinhaltet. Die meisten Arbeiten von Patiño nehmen Form als zeitbasierte Vorschläge an, die Ton, Licht, Video, Text und verschiedene Materialien beinhalten.

Setabuhan ©Setabuhan

Setabuhan

Das Projekt Setabuhan wurde im Jahr 2017 von Rully Shabara initiiert. Im Wesentlichen ist es eine moderne Neuerfindung der Tribal-Trance-Musik durch die reine Muskelkraft und Ausdauer von zwei schweren Perkussionisten (Ramberto Agozalie und Caesarking), mit der Stimme (Rully Shabara) als das einzige andere Instrument.

Sote © Malthe Ivarsson

Sote

Ata Ebtekar alias Sote ist ein Komponist und Klangkünstler für elektronische Musik mit Sitz in Teheran, Iran. In den letzten zwei Jahrzehnten hat er seine Arbeit über etablierte Labels wie Warp, Sub Rosa, Opal Tapes, Morphine, Digitalis und Repitch veröffentlicht. Er ist Mitbegründer des SET Festivals in Teheran.

Sudarshan ©Sudarshan

Sudarshan

Sudarshan Chandra Kumar ist ein Musiker und Improvisationskünstler, der regelmäßig am Serious Play Improv Lab (SPIL) teilnimmt; eine monatliche experimentelle Musikserie in Kuala Lumpur. Er arbeitet mit Musik für Theater und ist der Musikvermittler für Main Wayang (2015-2016), ein Kindertheater-Workshop, der die Grundlagen für die Orchestrierung von DIY Multimedia-Performances hervorhebt.

Tad Ermitaño ©Tad Ermitaño

Tad Ermitaño

Tad Ermitaño ist eine Schlüsselfigur in der neuen Medienkunst auf den Philippinen und in Südostasien. Sein Einflussbereich reicht bis in die späten 1980er Jahre zurück, als er das Medienkollektiv Children of Cathode Ray mitbegründete, eine der ersten experimentellen Klangkunstgruppen auf den Philippinen.

Tony Maryana ©Tony Maryana

Tony Maryana

Tonkünstler, Komponist, Elektroniker, Schlagzeuger und Musikwissenschaftler Tony Maryana hat seinen Sitz in Yogyakarta, dem Zentrum für Kunst in Indonesien. Nach seinem Abschluss am Indonesischen Institut der Künste hat er an verschiedenen Klanginstallationen und Auftritten mit Musikern aus der ganzen Welt gearbeitet.

Uwalmassa ©Uwalmassa

Uwalmassa

Das Konzept des Trios Uwalmassa ist die Verschmelzung internationaler Klänge - von traditionell bis modern - mit der Übersetzung durch eine indonesische Linse. Uwalmassa räumt ein, dass die indonesische Identität nicht verschwindet, sondern rekonstruiert werden muss - dass sie immer noch einer Neuinterpretation unterliegt.

Yennu Ariendra ©Yennu Ariendra

Yennu Ariendra

Komponist / Musiker Yennu Ariendra wurde in Banyuwangi, Ost-Java, Indonesien geboren. Die meisten seiner Arbeiten nehmen traditionelle indonesische Werte, Geschichte und Wirklichkeiten als Ausgangspunkte und verflechten sie mit der heutigen Welt.

Yuen Chee Wai ©Peter Gannushkin

Yuen Chee Wai

Yuen Chee Wai ist ein Musiker, Künstler und Designer mit Sitz in Singapur. Inspiriert durch Ideen aus philosophischen und literarischen Texten sowie durch das filmische Auge und die fotografische Linse erschlossene Perspektiven, ist Yuen in seinem stilistischen Werk improvisierter Musik von verinnerlichten Reflexionen über Erinnerung und Verlust, Unsichtbarkeit und Unbestimmtheit geprägt.
 

Unterstützt von