© CTM Festival/ Udo Siegfriedt

Nusasonic at CTM Festival 2019

CTM Festival’s 20th anniversary edition took place 25 January – 3 February 2019 in Berlin. With the title, Persistence, CTM 2019 examined the aesthetic and societal potentials and pains of perseverance, and of its opposite: the transient and the provisional, and considers the struggles that come with balancing continuity and changeability.

About Nusasonic at CTM Festival 2019

 © CTM Festival

Artists

Andreas Siagian © Andreas Siagian

Andreas Siagian

Andreas Siagian is an interdisciplinary artist with a background in Civil Engineering (Graduate of Atma Jaya, Yogyakarta). His initial interest in interdisciplinary practice began when he was in college, where he studied programming languages to create a software for highway geometric design calculation and planning.

Bhakti Prasetyo ©Bhakti Prasetyo

Bhakti Prasetyo

Improviser, bass player, and one of people who started to experiment with noise in the early wave of the noise scene in Yogyakarta. His Melcyd band was included in a compilation tape titled Pekak! Indonesian Noise 1995-2015, released by the Syrphe label.

Caliph8 ©Caliph8

Caliph8

Caliph8 deploys sheets of polyrhythmic beats, one-note samples, and deconstructed cut & paste sound sequences. His arsenal of methods also includes sample-based and granular synthesis, as well as free-form improvisation in which he combines sound manipulation techniques and samples with prepared gear or objects.

Cheryl Ong © Cheryl Ong

Cheryl Ong

A Singaporean percussionist who is active in music performance and education, Cheryl Ong regularly performs with avantgarde rock group, The Observatory. She has also played with SA, a trio that fuses traditional Chinese instruments and electronics.

Gabber Modus Operandi ©

Gabber Modus Operandi

Gabber Modus Operandi was accidentally founded by Kasimyn and Ican Harem following their fad staging at an underground punk concert in Denpasar. After some DJ- and MC-ing, Kasimyn began producing tracks for the duo using the smallest musical instrument: the Mini Synth Teenage Engineering OP-1, while Ican Harem provides vocals and joke-filled improvisation.

Kok Siew Wai ©Sebastien Gesell

Kok Siew Wai

Hailing from Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia, Kok Siew-Wai is a vocal improviser, video artist, and organiser who has shown video works and performed in Asia, Europe, Canada, and USA. Siew-Wai has a deep passion for experimental and improvised arts, and the DIY effort undertaken in promoting them.

Lintang Radittya ©Lintang Radittya

Lintang Radittya

Self-taught instrument builder and sound artist/ performer based in Yogyakarta, Indonesia. His current interests include DIY analog electronics, the relationship between sound and space, randomness, javanese futurism, and the meeting points of electroacoustic, noise, and experimental music.

Sarana ©Sarana

Sarana

Sarana is a dark ambient / experimental unit from Samarinda, East Kalimantan that uses both electronic and non-electronic sounds. The project was born when Sabrina Eka, already active in the noise music scene, spontaneously asked Annisa Maharani and Istanara Julia Saputri to fill a vacant performance slot. Since then, they have been active in the experimental scene, producing their debut single, “Binatang” in 2016. The track heralded the release of a first EP, Heal that same year, which explored various self-healing strategies. Their full-length Grow album was just released this past June 2018.

Yuen Chee Wai ©Peter Gannushkin

Yuen Chee Wai

Yuen Chee Wai is a musician, artist, and designer based in Singapore. Often inspired by ideas drawn from philosophical and literary texts, and perspectives glimpsed through the filmic eye and photographic lens, Yuen’s stylistic oeuvre in improvised music is marked by internalized reflections on memory and loss, invisibility, and indeterminacy.

Setabuhan ©Setabuhan

Setabuhan

Setabuhan is a project created by Rully Shabara in 2017. In essence, it is a modern reinvention of tribal trance music delivered by the pure muscle and stamina of two heavy percussionists (Ramberto Agozalie and Caesarking), with voice (Rully Shabara) as the only other instrument. The project is originally inspired by the monotonous and interlocking beats of the ancient Central Sulawesian ritual, Balia; a dance associated with animism and sacred objects, particularly relating to traditional medicine used to treat someone who is affected by evil spirits.

Rully Shabara ©Rully Shabara

Rully Shabara

Born in Palu, Central Sulawesi, Indonesia, Rully Shabara is interested in exploring oral traditions, folkloric texts, and the human voice as a medium of creation. Shabara is perhaps best-known internationally for his work as one-half of duo Senyawa (with Wukir Suryadi), where he explores the limits of the vocal range and vocal textures. As a solo artist, he has releases on labels dualpLOVER, Morphine Records, and Yes No Wave Music.

Adythia Utama ©

Adythia Utama

Adythia Utama is an audiovisual enthusiast based in Jakarta, who takes on the roles of director, videographer, and editor. Adyth graduated in 2010 with BA degree from Jakarta Institute of the Arts concentrating in documentary film. His audiovisual and film works have been screened internationally. Bising is his first feature documentary film.

Cari Padu ©

Andrea Neumann

Andrea Neumann is an electroacoustic composer based in Berlin, who has pioneered the ‘inside piano’ approach to sound generation. She has been involved in the avant-garde community since the mid-1990s, establishing “Labor Sonor,” an experimental film and music series in Berlin, in 2000. Neumann is also a regular collaborator of trumpeter and composer Sabine Ercklentz.

C-drik © by Andrea Kriszai

C-drík

Born in Zaire (now Democratic Republic of Congo), and currently based in Berlin, C-drík is a musician, activist, curator, DJ and author. He runs Syrphe, a recording label focusing on electronic and noise music from Asia and Africa, and establishing connections between different disciplines and media. 

Marta Zapparoli © Corinna Harl

Marta Zapparoli

Marta Zapparoli is an experimental sound artist, improviser, performer, and musician based in Berlin. She is known for crafting evocative sound pieces using a wide variety of recording techniques, devices, and self-made microphones, in addition to her use of real-time tape manipulation.

Nguyễn + Transitory ©

Nguyen + Transitory

Nguyễn + Transitory is composed of Nguyễn Baly and Tara Transitory. Their work crosses disciplines of sound, performance, and installation. Together, the two attempt to approach sound, synthesis, noise, rhythm, and performance from a postcolonial lens. 

Nguyen Hong Giang © Morishita Ayane

Nguyen Hong Giang

Nguyen Hong Giang is a Vietnamese producer, composer, and label head, currently based in Saigon. With 11 years of training at the Ho Chi Minh Conservatory behind him, he now works primarily with experimental noise music. 

Nonplus © Brendan Goco

Nonplus

Maia Reyes, aka Nonplus, is a sound and visual artist from Manila. As one of the few consistent female sonic experimenters and DJs in the male-dominated Manila electronic music world, Nonplus has been earning her scene cred since the 90s.

Peter Kirn © Maria Kuzmina

Peter Kirn

Peter Kirn is an audiovisual artist, composer/musician, technologist, and journalist. He is the editor of CDM (createdigitalmusic.com and createdigitalmotion.com) and co-creator of the open source MeeBlip hardware synthesizer (meeblip.com).

Pisitakun © Keith Jones

Pisitakun

Thai experimental artist Pisitakun Kuantalaeng is a purveyor in noise, folding personal loss with the fraught recent political upheaval of his native Thailand.

Rabih Beaini ©

Rabih Beaini

Lebanese-born producer and DJ Rabih Beaini (formerly known as Morphosis) specializes in grainy, imaginative analogue techno. In the past year however, his Morphine label has telescoped in on key (often overlooked) voices in avant-garde electronic and outernational music.

Raed Yassin ©

Raed Yassin

An artist and musician, Yassin's work often originates from an examination of his personal narratives and their workings within a collective history, through the lens of consumer culture and mass production.

Cari Padu ©

Ramberto Agozalie

Ramberto Agozalie is a percussionist and member of Indonesian experimental punk band Zoo. For CTM 2019, he will perform both as part of the band, as well as with Kombo, a DIY platform that aims to facilitate and develop a dialogue between local and international improvisational music scenes.

Cari Padu ©

Rambo

Using self-built music machines as modular synths, effects pedals, and circuit-bent instruments, Rambo’s musical arsenal is comprised of an array of electro-acoustic oddities. His instruments are built using recycled cheap and low-cost materials, or what he terms “dirtronics.” 

Riar Rizaldi ©

Riar Rizaldi

Riar Rizaldi is an Indonesian artist currently based in Hong Kong. His main focus is on the relationship between humans and technology, consumer electronics, theory-fiction, image circulation, and network intervention.

Sabine Ercklentz ©

Sabine Ercklentz

Born in Monchengladbach but now residing in Berlin, composer and brass player Sabine Ercklentz has been performing solo and in collaborative projects over the past two decades. Ercklentz' performances are known to showcase her eclectic approach to the trumpet and electronic sound manipulation.

Sodadosa © Asian Music Network

Sodadosa

Sodadosa is a moniker of Krisna Widiathama, an artist based in Yogyakarta, Indonesia. He is a well known participant in the country's experimental music scene, active in many bands and sound projects such as Black Ribbon, Liwoth, The Spektakuler, Punkasila, Feces Anatomy, Sulfur, and more.

Tarawangsawelas ©

Tarawangsawelas

Tarawangsawelas is a musical duo from Bandung, who mainly perform a contemporary version of Tarawangsa, the sacred music from Sundanese West Java. Their album Wanci features teacher and maestro Pak Pupung Supena together with musician Pak Jaja.

Zoo © Luca Caciagli

Zoo

From Yogyakarta, Indonesia, are four-piece experimental and progressive rock group Zoo. Forming in 2005, the group were initially known for their fast-paced noise music—however over the years, Zoo have begun incorporating traditional Indonesian folk into their sound, carving out a new style of rock music.

© CTM Festival/ Udo Siegfriedt

Nusasonic am CTM Festival 2019

Die 20. Jubiläumsausgabe des CTM-Festivals fand vom 25. Januar bis 3. Februar 2019 in Berlin statt. Unter dem Titel „Persistence“ untersuchte CTM 2019 die ästhetischen und gesellschaftlichen Potentiale und Schmerzen des Beharrens und seines Gegenteils, des Vergänglichen und des Provisorischen, und betrachtet die Anstrengungen, die mit dem Ausgleich von Kontinuität und Wandelbarkeit einhergehen.

Über Nusasonic CTM Festival 2019

 © CTM Festival

Alle Veranstaltungen

All Events

Künstler*innen

Andreas Siagian © Andreas Siagian

Andreas Siagian

Andreas Siagian ist ein interdisziplinärer Künstler mit einem Hintergrund in Bauingenieurwesen (er ist Absolvent der Atma Jaya Universität, Yogyakarta). Sein Interesse an interdisziplinärer Praxis begann, als er auf dem College war, wo er Programmiersprachen studierte, um eine Software für die Berechnung und Planung von Autobahngeometrien zu erstellen.

Bhakti Prasetyo ©Bhakti Prasetyo

Bhakti Prasetyo

Improvisator, Bassist und einer der Künstler, die bereits in der frühesten Welle der Noise-Szene in Yogyakarta zu experimentieren begannen. Seine Band Melcyd wurde zusammen mit anderen Stücken auf einem Mixtape mit dem Titel Pekak! Indonesian Noise 1995-2015 veröffentlicht, herausgegeben vom Label Syrphe.

Caliph8 ©Caliph8

Caliph8

Caliph8 benutzt polyrhythmische Beats, One-Note-Samples und dekonstruierte Cut & Paste-Soundsequenzen. Sein Methodenarsenal umfasst auch Sample-basierte und granulare Synthesen sowie Freiform-Improvisationen, in denen er Klangmanipulationstechniken und Samples mit eigens dafür präpariertem Equipment oder Objekten kombiniert.

Cheryl Ong © Cheryl Ong

Cheryl Ong

Cheryl Ong ist eine Perkussionistin, die in den Bereichen Musik und Bildung aktiv ist. Sie tritt regelmäßig mit der Avantgarde Rock-Gruppe The Observatory auf. Sie spielte auch mit SA, einem Trio, das traditionelle chinesische Instrumente mit Elektronika vereint.

Gabber Modus Operandi ©

Gabber Modus Operandi

Gabber Modus Operandi wurde eher zufällig von Kasimyn und Ican Harem nach einer kurzlebigen Inszenierung bei einem Underground-Punkkonzert in Denpasar gegründet. Nach einigen DJ- und MC-Auftritten begann Kasimyn, mit dem kleinsten Musikinstrument Tracks für das Duo zu produzieren: dem Mini Synth Teenage Engineering OP-1, während Ican Harem Gesang und humorvolle Improvisation dazu bietet.

Kok Siew Wai ©Sebastien Gesell

Kok Siew Wai

Die aus Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia stammende Kok Siew-Wai ist eine Stimmenimprovisatorin, Videokünstlerin und Organisatorin, die ihre Videoarbeiten bereits in Asien, Europa, Kanada und den USA gezeigt hat und dort aufgetreten ist. Siew-Wai hat eine tiefe Leidenschaft für experimentelle und improvisierte Kunst, sowie für die DIY-Bemühungen, diese zu fördern.

Lintang Radittya ©Lintang Radittya

Lintang Radittya

Autodidaktischer Instrumentenbauer und Klangkünstler / Performer mit Sitz in Yogyakarta, Indonesien. Zu seinen aktuellen Interessen gehören DIY-Analog-Elektronik, die Beziehung zwischen Klang und Raum, Zufälligkeit, javanischer Futurismus und die Berührungspunkte von elektroakustischer Geräusche und experimenteller Musik.

Sarana ©Sarana

Sarana

Sarana ist eine Dark Ambient / experimentelle Einheit aus Samarinda, Ost-Kalimantan, die sowohl elektronische als auch nicht-elektronische Klänge verwendet. Das Projekt wurde geboren, als Sabrina Eka, die bereits in der Noise-Musikszene aktiv war, Antisa Maharani und Istanara Julia Saputri spontan darum bat aufzutreten, da sie einen freien Slot hatte.

Yuen Chee Wai ©Peter Gannushkin

Yuen Chee Wai

Yuen Chee Wai ist ein Musiker, Künstler und Designer mit Sitz in Singapur. Inspiriert durch Ideen aus philosophischen und literarischen Texten sowie durch das filmische Auge und die fotografische Linse erschlossene Perspektiven, ist Yuen in seinem stilistischen Werk improvisierter Musik von verinnerlichten Reflexionen über Erinnerung und Verlust, Unsichtbarkeit und Unbestimmtheit geprägt.
 

Setabuhan ©Setabuhan

Setabuhan

Das Projekt Setabuhan wurde im Jahr 2017 von Rully Shabara initiiert. Im Wesentlichen ist es eine moderne Neuerfindung der Tribal-Trance-Musik durch die reine Muskelkraft und Ausdauer von zwei schweren Perkussionisten (Ramberto Agozalie und Caesarking), mit der Stimme (Rully Shabara) als das einzige andere Instrument.

Rully Shabara ©Rully Shabara

Rully Shabara

Rully Shabara wurde in Palu, Zentral-Sulawesi, Indonesien geboren und interessiert sich für mündliche Überlieferungen, folkloristische Texte und die menschliche Stimme als Medium der Schöpfung. Shabara ist vielleicht international am bekanntesten für seine Arbeit als eine Hälfte des Duos Senyawa (mit Wukir Suryadi), wo er die Grenzen des Stimmumfangs und der Stimmstrukturen erforscht.

Adythia Utama ©

Adythia Utama

Adythia Utama ist ein audiovisueller Enthusiast aus Jakarta, der unter anderem als Regisseur, Videofilmer und Redakteur tätig ist. Adyth schloss 2010 sein Bachelor-Studium am Jakarta Institute of the Arts ab, wobei er sich auf Dokumentarfilme konzentrierte. Seine audiovisuellen und filmischen Werke wurden bereits international gezeigt. Bising ist sein erster Dokumentarfilm.

Cari Padu ©

Andrea Neumann

Andrea Neumann ist eine in Berlin ansässige elektroakustische Komponistin und Pionierin des “Inside Piano”-Ansatzes bei der Sound Generation. Sie engagiert sich seit Mitte der 1990er Jahre in der Avantgarde-Community und gründete im Jahr 2000 in Berlin die experimentelle Film- und Musikreihe "Labor Sonor". Neumann arbeitet auch regelmäßig mit der Trompeterin und Komponistin Sabine Ercklentz zusammen.

C-drik © by Andrea Kriszai

C-drík

C-drík wurde in Zaire (heute die Demokratische Republik Kongo) geboren und lebt derzeit in Berlin. Er ist Musiker, Aktivist, Kurator, DJ und Autor. Er leitet Syrphe, ein Plattenlabel, das sich auf elektronische Musik und Noise aus Asien und Afrika konzentriert und Verbindungen zwischen verschiedenen Disziplinen und Medien herstellt.

Marta Zapparoli © Corinna Harl

Marta Zapparoli

Marta Zapparoli ist eine in Berlin lebende experimentelle Klangkünstlerin, Improvisatorin, Performerin und Musikerin. Sie ist dafür bekannt, dass sie neben der Manipulation von Tapes in Echtzeit mit einer Vielzahl von Aufnahmetechniken, Geräten und selbstgebauten Mikrofonen evokative Klangstücke herstellt.

Nguyễn + Transitory ©

Nguyen + Transitory

Nguyễn + Transitory besteht aus Nguyễn Baly und Tara Transitory. Ihre Arbeit überschneidet die Disziplinen Klang, Performance und Installation. Gemeinsam versuchen die beiden, sich Klang, Synthese, Geräusch, Rhythmus und Performance aus einer postkolonialen Perspektive zu nähern.

Nguyen Hong Giang © Morishita Ayane

Nguyen Hong Giang

Nguyen Hong Giang ist ein vietnamesischer Produzent, Komponist und Labelchef, der derzeit in Saigon ansässig ist. Nach 11 Jahren Ausbildung am Ho-Chi-Minh-Konservatorium arbeitet er nun hauptsächlich mit experimenteller Noise-Musik.

Nonplus © Brendan Goco

Nonplus

Maia Reyes, alias Nonplus, ist eine Klang- und Bildkünstlerin aus Manila. Als eine der wenigen beständigen weiblichen Soundexperimentatorinnen und DJs in der von Männern dominierten elektronischen Musikwelt Manilas hat Nonplus sich seit den 90er Jahren in der Szene einen Namen gemacht.

Peter Kirn © Maria Kuzmina

Peter Kirn

Peter Kirn ist ein audiovisueller Künstler, Komponist/Musiker, Technologe und Journalist. Er ist der Herausgeber von CDM (createdigitalmusic.com und createdigitalmotion.com) und Co-Creator des Open Source MeeBlip Hardware Synthesizers (meeblip.com).

Pisitakun © Keith Jones

Pisitakun

Der Experimentalkünstler Pisitakun Kuantalaeng ist ein Experte in Noise und verbindet persönlichen Verlust mit den jüngsten politischen Umwälzungen in seiner Heimat Thailand.

Rabih Beaini ©

Rabih Beaini

Der im Libanon geborene Produzent und DJ Rabih Beaini (früher bekannt als Morphosis) ist auf körnigen, fantasievollen analogen Techno spezialisiert. Im vergangenen Jahr hat sich sein Label Morphine jedoch auf Schlüsselstimmen (die oft übersehen werden) in der avantgardistischen elektronischen und outernationalen Musik fokussiert.

Raed Yassin ©

Raed Yassin

Als Künstler und Musiker entsteht Yassins Werk oft aus der Auseinandersetzung mit seinen persönlichen Erzählungen und ihrer Funktionsweise innerhalb einer kollektiven Geschichte, durch die Linse der Konsumkultur und der Massenproduktion.

Cari Padu ©

Ramberto Agozalie

Ramberto Agozalie ist Perkussionist und Mitglied der indonesischen Experimentalpunkband Zoo. Für CTM 2019 wird er sowohl als Teil der Band als auch mit Kombo auftreten, einer DIY-Plattform, die den Dialog zwischen lokalen und internationalen improvisierten Musikszenen erleichtern und entwickeln soll.

Cari Padu ©

Rambo

Unter Verwendung selbstgebauter Musikmaschinen als modulare Synthesizer, Effektpedale und schaltkreisgebundene Instrumente besteht Rambos musikalisches Arsenal aus einer Reihe elektroakustischer Kuriositäten. Seine Instrumente werden aus recycelten, billigen und kostengünstigen Materialien gebaut, oder wie er es nennt, “dirtronics”.

Riar Rizaldi ©

Riar Rizaldi

Riar Rizaldi ist ein indonesischer Künstler, der momentan in Hongkong lebt. Sein Hauptfokus liegt auf der Beziehung zwischen Mensch und Technologie, Unterhaltungselektronik, Theory-Fiction, Bildzirkulation und Netzwerkintervention.

Sabine Ercklentz ©

Sabine Ercklentz

Die in Mönchengladbach geborene und heute in Berlin lebende Komponistin und Blechbläserin Sabine Ercklentz trat in den letzten zwei Jahrzehnten als Solistin und in gemeinsamen Projekten auf. Ercklentz’ Auftritte sind für ihre eklektische Herangehensweise an die Trompete und elektronische Klangmanipulation bekannt.

Sodadosa © Asian Music Network

Sodadosa

Sodadosa ist der Künstlername von Krisna Widiathama, einem in Yogyakarta, Indonesien, lebenden Künstler. Er ist in der experimentellen Musikszene des Landes gut bekannt und in vielen Bands und Soundprojekten aktiv, wie Black Ribbon, Liwoth, The Spektakuler, Punkasila, Feces Anatomy, Sulfur und anderen.

Tarawangsawelas ©

Tarawangsawelas

Tarawangsawelas ist ein musikalisches Duo aus Bandung, das hauptsächlich eine zeitgenössische Version von Tarawangsa, der geistlichen Musik aus dem sundanesischen West-Java, aufführt. Auf ihrem Album Wanci ist der Lehrer und Maestro Pak Pupung Supena zusammen mit dem Musiker Pak Jaja zu hören.

Zoo © Luca Caciagli

Zoo

Aus Yogyakarta, Indonesien, kommt die vierköpfige experimentelle und progressive Rockgruppe Zoo. Die Gruppe wurde 2005 gegründet und war zunächst für ihre rasante Noise-Musik bekannt. Im Laufe der Jahre hat Zoo jedoch begonnen, traditionelle indonesische Folklore in ihren Sound zu integrieren und einen neuen Stil der Rockmusik zu entwickeln.