Quick access:

Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)
Headergrafik - Cassandras Eyes© Farzana Islam

Feminist Dossier
Cassandra’s Eyes

This is a space where we invite women (and their others) to imagine ‘culture’ as a site of contention and possibility, time and superluminal travel. 

Is the imagination pure? Cassandra’s end, in the Greek myth, is a night just beyond the grasp of justice; her eyes become her fatal calling, for her vision of the Fall of Troy frightens the men around her. Even ‘the gods,’ Apollo.

About Cassandra’s eyes


Submissions

Contact us at communications-dhaka@goethe.de. Please allow us 3 weeks for a response, but let us know if your work is accepted elsewhere. We have a pay scale for pieces and their illustrations.

Editor-in-Chief

Seema Amin © Seema Amin
Seema Amin
writes and occasionally performs; she is the author of two poetry books (UPL) and was Senior Feature Writer of the art magazine Depart. Her first home was Bangkok, Thailand but she lived across Europe, Asia and the US before re-inhabiting Bangladesh, where she teaches literature. Presently, she edits Cassandra’s Eyes and is in the process of publishing her third manuscript. Several of her poems from the latter are being published this year, in The Aleph Review and in an upcoming anthology, Quicksand Borders.

Cover Illustrations

Farzana Islam
Farzana Islam
is currently an undergraduate student of English Literature at Brac University. She is an independent artist working in traditional and digital media, and has worked with BYEI (Bangladesh Youth Environmental Initiative) in various creative projects as a creative insider. Taking inspiration from the real and the abstract, she aims to create a liaison between the two in her work, often integrating the people and experiences in her life into them.

Top

Schnelleinstieg:

Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)
Headergrafik - Cassandras Eyes© Farzana Islam

Feministisches Dossier
Cassandra’s Eyes

Dies ist ein Raum, in dem wir Frauen (und ihre anderen Identitäten) einladen, sich „Kultur” vorzustellen als Ort zur Auseinandersetzung und Wahrnehmung von Möglichkeiten, und sogar als überlichtgeschwindige Aufklärungsreise.

Ist die Vorstellung unverzerrt? Kassandras Ende laut der griechischen Mythologie ist eine Nacht, in der die Gerechtigkeit keine Chance hat. Ihre Augen werden zu ihrer tödlichen Berufung, denn ihre Weissagung vom Fall von Troja verbreitet Angst unter den Menschen. Selbst unter den Göttern, wie Apollo.

Über Cassandra’s eyes


Einreichungen

Meldet euch unter communications-dhaka@goethe.de. Bitte gebt uns drei Wochen Zeit, um zu antworten. Falls eure Arbeit in der Zwischenzeit bereits woanders angenommen wurde, gebt uns bitte Bescheid. Wir haben eine Vergütungsstaffelung für Artikel und deren Illustrationen.

Chefredakteurin

Seema Amin © Seema Amin
Seema Amin
schreibt und performt gelegentlich; sie ist Autorin von zwei Gedichtbänden (UPL) und war leitende Redakteurin des Kunstmagazins Depart. Ihre erste Heimat war Bangkok, Thailand, anschließen lebte sie in Europa, Asien und den USA, bevor sie sich wieder in Bangladesch niederließ, wo sie derzeit Literatur unterrichtet. Zurzeit ist sie Herausgeberin von Cassandra's Eyes und arbeitet an der Veröffentlichung ihres dritten Gedichtsmanuskripts. Einige der Gedichte werden in The Aleph Review und in der kommenden Anthologie Quicksand Borders veröffentlicht.

Titelbildgestaltung

Farzana Islam
Farzana Islam
studiert derzeit englische Literatur an der Brac University. Sie ist eine unabhängige Künstlerin, die traditionelle und digitale Medien verwendet. Farzana hat für die BYEI (Bangladesh Youth Environmental Initiative) bei verschiedenen kreativen Projekten als Kreative Insiderin gearbeitet. Sie lässt sich sowohl vom Realen als auch vom Abstrakten inspirieren und hat sich zum Ziel gesetzt, beides in ihrer Arbeit zu verbinden. Dabei integriert sie häufig die Menschen und Erfahrungen ihres Lebens in ihre Werke.

Top