Quick access:

Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

Kübra Gümüşay

Kübra Gümüşay, born in Hamburg in 1988, studied political science in Hamburg and London. She is the author of the bestselling book “Sprache § Sein” (Language and Being) and the founder of several award-winning campaigns and associations – e.g. the campaign #SchauHin against racism, the feminist alliance #ausnahmslos, and the campaign 'Organized Love'. In 2018, Forbes Magazine selected her as one of 30 under 3o in Europe in the media and marketing industry.

Kübra Gümüsay© Paula Winkler

Meet The Author

What do you like to do when you are not writing?
Read, experience, absorb and soak up life, think and exchange - because my writing only fulfils me when I am fulfilled.
A memory while writing the book you would like to share....
At some point the book took on a life of its own, it made me want to go in a different direction than I had previously planned. It was a magical moment that was very empowering for me because it made me realise my limitations and nothingness.
Do you believe in writer's block?
I believe that some thoughts are not ready yet and therefore can't get out. So sometimes it just needs a little more time, another source, another experience, but sometimes it's just time pressure.
Would you say that writing stimulates or exhausts a writer?
Both. Depending on the subject and state of mind.
How are foreign-language authors received in South Asian countries?
I notice a change, for example, in booksellers who consciously put literature on their shelves that looks at the world from different angles and perspectives. These people play a big role in the perception of authors from other parts of the world. Hopefully, this change in awareness will continue to bear fruit and at some point become a matter of course - and not an exception.

Top

Schnelleinstieg:

Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

Kübra Gümüşay

Kübra Gümüşay, geboren 1988 in Hamburg, studierte Politikwissenschaften in Hamburg und London. Sie ist Autorin des Bestsellers »Sprache & Sein«, sowie Initiatorin zahlreicher Kampagnen und Vereine - u.a. die Antirassismus-Kampagne #SchauHin, das feministische Bündnis #ausnahmslos und die Kampagne »Organisierte Liebe«. Das Magazin Forbes zählte sie 2018 zu den Top 30 unter 30 in Europa im Bereich Media und Marketing.

Kübra Gümüsay© Paula Winkler

Meet The Author

Was machen Sie gerne, wenn Sie nicht schreiben?
Lesen, erleben, das Leben aufnehmen und aufsaugen, denken und in Austausch treten – denn mein Schreiben erfüllt mich nur, wenn ich erfüllt bin.
Eine Erinnerung beim Schreiben des Buches, das Sie teilen möchten…
Irgendwann bekam das Buch ein Eigenleben, es wollte ich eine andere Richtung einschlagen als ich zuvor geplant hatte. Ein magischer Moment, der für mich sehr ermächtigend war, weil er mir meine Begrenztheit und Nichtigkeit vor Augen führte.
Glauben Sie an eine Schreibblockade?
Ich glaube, dass manche Gedanken noch nicht fertig sind und deshalb nicht rauskönnen. So braucht es manchmal einfach nur noch ein wenig mehr Zeit, noch eine weitere Quelle, ein weiteres Erlebnis, manchmal aber auch einfach nur zeitlichen Druck.
Würden Sie sagen, dass das Schreiben einen Autor anregt oder erschöpft?
Beides. Je nach Thema und Seelenzustand. 
Wie werden fremdsprachige Autoren in südasiatischen Ländern aufgenommen?
Ich nehme einen Wandel wahr, beispielsweise bei Buchhändler*innen, die bewusst Literatur in ihre Verkaufsregale stellen, die die Welt aus anderen Blickwinkeln und Perspektiven betrachten. Diese Menschen spielen eine große Rolle in der Wahrnehmung von Autor*innen aus anderen Teilen der Welt. Dieser Bewusstseinswandel wird hoffentlich weiter fruchten und irgendwann eine Selbstverständlichkeit sein – und keine Ausnahme.

Top