Quick access:

Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

Movements and Moments
Millaray Huichalaf: The protectress of the sacred river (La defensora del río sagrado)

Millaray Huichalaf (29) is a Machi, the spiritual guide and healer of her Mapuche Indigenous commune in the south of Chile. She leads the resistance against Statkraft, a Norwegian state company building hydroelectric plants that could destroy the delicate ecosystem of Pilmaiken, a river that is sacred to her culture. In the context of a long history of predatory colonization and a global climate, economic and health crisis, Machi Millaray's story embodies the moral courage of Indigenous women in defense of natural and spiritual ecosystems. The wisdom of their harmonic coexistence with nature could be a lifeline for Earth.

By Consuelo Terra and Greta di Girolamo

 


Artworks by artists

  • Consuelo Terra and Greta di Girolamo © Consuelo Terra and Greta di Girolamo
  • Consuelo Terra and Greta di Girolamo 2 © Consuelo Terra and Greta di Girolamo
Consuelo Terra © Consuelo Terra

Consuelo Terra

is a journalist and comics creator. She drew “Water Stations Save Lives” for the book Border-X, a Crisis in Graphic Detail (2020). Her graphic novel Mamá, yo te recuerdo, with Emiliano Valenzuela, will be printed in 2021 by Reservoir Books Chile. She publishes a pop culture comic every Friday at NerdNews.cl.

Greta di Girolamo© Greta di Girolamo

Greta di Girolamo

As a journalist, Greta di Girolamo has worked for The Clinic, El Desconcierto, Revista Paula, Vice and independent projects related to childhood, ecology, feminism and human rights. Some of her works have been selected for excellence in journalism competitions. Greta is the founder of the ecofeminist collective Brujas de la Mar de El Quisco.

Top

Schnelleinstieg:

Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

Movements and Moments
Millaray Huichalaf: Die Hüterin Des Heiligen Flusses (La Defensora Del Río Sagrado)

Millaray Huichalaf (29) ist eine Machi, die spirituelle Führerin und Heilerin ihrer Indigenen Mapuche-Gemeinde im Süden Chiles. Sie führt den Widerstand gegen Statkraft an, ein norwegisches Staatsunternehmen, das Wasserkraftwerke baut, die das empfindliche Ökosystem des Pilmaiken, eines für ihre Kultur heiligen Flusses, zerstören könnten. Vor dem Hintergrund einer langen Geschichte rücksichtsloser Kolonisierung und einer globalen Klima-, Wirtschafts- und Gesundheitskrise verkörpert Machi Millarays Geschichte den moralischen Mut Indigener Frauen zur Verteidigung der natürlichen und spirituellen Ökosysteme. Die Weisheit ihres harmonischen Zusammenlebens mit der Natur könnte eine Lebensader für die Erde sein.

Von Consuelo Terra und Greta di Girolamo

 


Künstlerische Werke

  • Consuelo Terra und Greta di Girolamo © Consuelo Terra und Greta di Girolamo
  • Consuelo Terra und Greta di Girolamo 2 © Consuelo Terra und Greta di Girolamo
Consuelo Terra © Consuelo Terra

Consuelo Terra

ist Journalistin und Comiczeichnerin. Sie zeichnete "Wasserstationen retten Leben" für das Buch Border-X, eine Krise im grafischen Detail (2020). Ihre Graphic Novel Mamá, yo te recuerdo, mit Emiliano Valenzuela, erscheint 2021 bei Reservoir Books Chile. Sie veröffentlicht jeden Freitag auf NerdNews.cl einen Popkultur-Comic.

Greta di Girolamo© Greta di Girolamo

Greta di Girolamo

Als Journalistin hat Greta di Girolamo für The Clinic, El Desconcierto, Revista Paula, Vice und unabhängige Projekte über Themen wie Kindheit, Ökologie, Feminismus oder Menschenrechte geschrieben. Einige ihrer Arbeiten wurden in Journalistenwettbewerben für herausragende Leistungen ausgezeichnet. Greta ist die Gründerin des ökofeministischen Kollektivs Brujas de la Mar de El Quisco.

Top