Interview Discovering Muslim Diversity

Muslimische Vielfalt live erleben
© Humboldt University

Goethe-Institut director Dr. Heinrich Blömeke and university lecturer Muhammad Heychael about impressions and insights of our study trip programs 2017 and 2018.

Dr. Blömeke, could you briefly describe for us the reasons Goethe-Institut Jakarta initiated the project?

For very different reasons, in recent years Indonesia and Germany have experienced an intensification of the discussion about the role of religion in public and political sectors. Germany, which was historically shaped by Christian denominations but which considers itself a secular state, has developed into a multi-religious and multi-cultural society as a result of immigration, primarily of Muslims. Currently, 5–6 % of the population living in Germany are Muslims, of which 75% are Sunnis.

The issues and frictions accompanying this cultural change in Germany are also relevant to Goethe-Institut’s information mandate, and of course they also invite dialogue between German and Indonesian stakeholders who have never worked together with the German cultural institute.

For young Muslim intellectuals from Indonesia, life in a secular and multi-religious environment is interesting for a number of reasons. How are religious beliefs experienced in a secular society? How is the relationship between the Muslim minority and the other religious communities shaped? How do the various Muslim groups – Sunnis, Alevi, Shiites, Alawites, Ahmadis etc. – interact with each other?

What criteria were used to select the fourteen participants for the study tour?

Young Muslim intellectuals were particularly favored who are disseminators in religious or public educational institutions or in the media sector; the participants are thus lecturers, journalists, activists, and members of the millennial generation (25–35 years old). It was important that the project participants were interested in such a program focused on information and encounter. Also key was that they are in a position to be able to communicate and share their impressions and experiences.

Mr. Heychael, you were one of the participants in 2017. What motivated you to join the program “Life of Muslims in Germany”?

As a Sunni Muslim I belong to the religious majority here in Indonesia. That’s why I wanted to see how Muslims live in Germany and to experience it from the perspective of a religious minority. That was my main motivation. I wanted to understand how people feel being Christians or members of another religion here.

During the trip, what was the biggest difference you noticed between Muslim communities in Germany and Indonesia?

For me it was how diverse the Muslim communities in Germany are. We are also diverse here in Indonesia, but we don’t have the kind of diversity Germany has. There you have, for example, the Alevi Muslims – they were something completely new for me. All of these different communities live together side by side and there is no such thing as conflict. That really amazed me.

What was your personal highlight during the program in Germany?

As I mentioned, I actually wanted to see how Muslims live as a minority. But the most interesting thing for me in the end was how Germans appreciate their own history, how they preserve history in their daily life. It really struck me, because here in Indonesia we have so many problems with historical incidents, such as the mass killings in 1965, but we don’t acknowledge them in our history. The experience in Germany gave me a new perspective about how we can actually live with our own history.

Dr. Blömeke, what can the participants expect for the 2018 study tour? 

Through visits, encounters and conversations they will learn about the conjunction of religious practice and the daily life of Muslims as well as the role Islam plays in German culture and educational institutions, for example museums and universities. Further, in discussions with representatives of Muslim organizations and associations and by meeting with politicians, the study tour participants will become acquainted with the sensitive religious issues existing in secular societies; this refers to frictions and areas of conflict between members of different religious orientations and public institutions.

Mr. Heychael, as an alumnus of the program, what personal advice would you give to those going with the program to Germany in 2018?

I think they have the chance to learn a lot. The most important thing is to reflect on the life of Muslims over there and how our life is here. This is the most important thing.

Interview Muslimische Vielfalt entdecken

Muslimische Vielfalt live erleben
© Humboldt University

Der Direktor des Goethe-Instituts Indonesien, Dr. Heinrich Blömeke, und Dozent Muhammad Heychael im Gespräch über Hintergründe und Eindrücke unserer Besucherreisen 2017 und 2018.

Herr Blömeke, können Sie uns kurz erklären,  aus welchen Gründen das Goethe-Institut Jakarta das Projekt initiiert hat?

Aus sehr unterschiedlichen Gründen erleben Indonesien wie Deutschland in den letzten Jahren eine Intensivierung der Diskussion über die Rolle von „Religion“ im öffentlichen wie politischen Leben:  Deutschland, das historisch durch christliche Glaubensgemeinschaften geprägt war, sich aber als säkulares Gemeinwesen versteht, hat sich infolge der Zuwanderung v.a. von Muslimen zu einer multireligiösen und multikulturellen Gesellschaft entwickelt. Inzwischen sind etwa 5 bis 6 Prozent der in Deutschland lebenden Menschen Muslime, unter denen mit 75 Prozent die sunnitische Richtung dominiert.

Die mit diesem religiösen und kulturellen Wandel in Deutschland verbundenen Fragen und Reibungsflächen sind auch für den Informationsauftrag des Goethe-Instituts relevant, sie bieten außerdem natürlich auch Stoff für einen Dialog zwischen Deutschen und Indonesiern, an dem sich auch Akteure beteiligen, die bisher nicht mit dem deutschen Kulturinstitut zusammengearbeitet haben.

Für jüngere muslimische Intellektuelle aus Indonesien ist das Leben von Muslimen in einem sowohl säkularen wie multireligiösen Umfeld in mehrfacher Hinsicht interessant: Wie werden religiöse Überzeugungen in einer säkularen Gesellschaft gelebt, wie gestaltet sich das Verhältnis der muslimischen Minderheit zu den anderen Religionsgemeinschaften, wie gehen die unterschiedlichen muslimischen Gruppen – beispielsweise Sunniten, Aleviten, Schiiten, Alawiten oder Ahmadiyya - miteinander um?

Und nach welchen Kriterien wurden die vierzehn Teilnehmerinnen und Teilnehmer der Studienreise ausgewählt?

Für die Auswahl waren besonders jüngere muslimische Intellektuelle interessant, die in religiösen oder öffentlichen Bildungseinrichtungen oder Medien auch eine Funktion als Multiplikatoren haben, die Teilnehmenden sind also Dozenten, Journalisten, Aktivisten, sowie allgemein Angehörige der Generation der Millennials. Wichtig war uns, dass die Teilnehmerinnen und Teilnehmer Interesse an einem solchen Informations- und Begegnungsprogramm mitbringen und auch in einer Position tätig sind, in der sie ihre Eindrücke und Erfahrungen weiter vermitteln können.

Herr Heychael, Sie waren einer der Teilnehmer an der 2017 durchgeführten Besucherreise: Aus welchem Grund haben Sie sich für das Programm “Life of Muslims in Germany“ beworben?

Ich bin ein sunnitischer Muslim und damit gehöre ich hier in Indonesien zu der religiösen Mehrheit. Ich wollte deswegen sehen, wie Muslime in Deutschland leben, um so die Perspektive einer religiösen Minderheit kennenzulernen. Das war meine Hauptmotivation: Dass ich verstehen kann, wie Menschen sich hier in Indonesien fühlen, die Christen oder Mitglied einer anderen Religion sind.

Was war der größte Unterschied, den Sie auf Ihrer Reise zwischen muslimischen Gemeinschaften in Deutschland und Indonesien festgestellt haben?
 
Für mich war es die Vielfalt der muslimischen Gemeinschaften in Deutschland. Wir sind auch vielfältig hier in Indonesien, aber wir haben nicht diese Art von Vielfalt wie in Deutschland. Dort gibt es z.B. die alevitischen Muslime - die waren etwas völlig Neues für mich. Alle diese unterschiedlichen Gemeinschaften leben dort Seite an Seite und es gibt keinen Konflikt - das hat mich wirklich erstaunt.

Was war Ihr persönlicher Höhepunkt während der Studienreise in Deutschland?

Für mich war das Interessanteste, wie die Deutschen ihre eigene Geschichte wertschätzen. Wie sie ihre Geschichte im Alltag erhalten. Das hat mich wirklich beeindruckt, weil wir hier in Indonesien so viele Probleme mit historischen Ereignissen haben, wie etwa die Massaker in 1965, aber nicht zu unserer Vergangenheit stehen. Diese Erfahrung in Deutschland hat mir eine neue Perspektive dafür gegeben, wie wir tatsächlich mit unserer eigenen Geschichte leben können. 

Herr Blömeke, mit Blick auf die Besucherreise 2018:  Was waren die Höhepunkte in diesem Jahr?

Die Teilnehmenden haben in Besuchen, Begegnungen und Gesprächen das Verhältnis von Glaubenspraxis und Alltagsleben von Muslimen ebenso kennengelernt wie die Rolle, die der „Islam“ in deutschen Kultur- und Bildungseinrichtungen einnimmt. Außerdem haben sie in Gesprächen mit Vertretern von muslimischen Organisationen oder Verbänden oder mit Politikern auch die Sensibilitäten von „Glaubensfragen“ in säkularen Gesellschaften kennengelernt. Dies bezieht sich auf die Reibungsflächen oder Konfliktfelder zwischen den Anhängern unterschiedlicher Glaubensrichtungen wie auch zwischen den Glaubenseinrichtungen und öffentlichen Einrichtungen.