Quick access:
Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

Coding da Vinci Süd
Hack the Hackathon – Digitising Cultural Assets

Teilnehmerinnen und Teilnehmer des Kultur-Hackathons „Coding da Vinci Süd“ (v.l.n.r.): Leno Veras, Molemo Moiloa, Kofi Sika Latzoo, Ignatia Nilu
Foto: Annette Walter

For the cultural hackathon Coding da Vinci Süd, the Goethe-Institut invited 15 cultural professionals, coders and hackers from Brazil, Côte d’Ivoire, Indonesia, Senegal, South Africa and Tanzania to Munich.

Usually when you visit Gasteig, Munich’s largest library, you find people reading and, of course, it’s usually quiet. But this Sunday we see lots of people at many tables huddled together over laptops and talking animatedly. They’ve travelled here from countries like Brazil, Côte d’Ivoire, Indonesia, Senegal, South Africa and Tanzania for a cultural hackathon at the Coding da Vinci Süd kick-off weekend. In this programme, cultural professionals, coders and hackers are involved in the digitisation of cultural assets from art galleries, libraries, archives and museums.

A prerequisite for participation and digital literacy

Kofi Sika Latzoo is one of the participants. The creative strategist and designer from Senegal, who also works for the NASA Spaceapps Challenge Programme, is developing an app called Musel together in a team. With this application, tourists can find out about a city’s art treasures when booking a hotel. For example, during the booking process users are shown a painting about which they may request additional information. Their smartphone is networked with the TV in the hotel room on which guests can also view works of art in a larger format. “Book, pledge and be artsy” is the motto of the sophisticated app that Latzoo hopes to implement with his working group. The goal now is to find a hotel that will put the app on the market. Ignatia Nilu, a curator and author from Indonesia who works at Jogja National Museum is also taking part in Coding da Vinci Süd. She is spending two months in the Ebenböckhaus in Munich with the artist residency programme of the Cultural Department of the City of Munich. She’s interested in collaborative practices among artists, scholars, hackers and open technologies in contemporary art. At Coding da Vinci Süd, she and her team are developing an app about the history of postal services called Global Postmaster. For it, they are digitising the inventory of the Museum of Communication in Nuremberg so that users can interactively reconstruct historical post offices and expand their knowledge with quiz questions.

“Book, pledge and be artsy” is the motto of the newly designed Musel app by Kofi Sika Latzoo, Kouassi Junior Attreman, Dharwis Widya Utama Yacob and Emmanuel Thomas Malongo (from right to left) “Book, pledge and be artsy” is the motto of the newly designed Musel app by Kofi Sika Latzoo, Kouassi Junior Attreman, Dharwis Widya Utama Yacob and Emmanuel Thomas Malongo (from right to left) | Photo: Diane von Schoen

A few PDFs are no online strategy

Not all participants are designing apps. Leno Veras, curator and associate professor at the Universidade Federal in Rio de Janeiro, explains that the exchange of knowledge was enriching for him. “We are dealing with similar issues around the world: How can museums handle the huge amounts of data they possess, how can they create virtual platforms and how can solutions be found internationally for the transformation of museums in the digital era?” The participants were able to discuss digital strategies at the Museum Fünf Kontinente, the Lenbachhaus and the Bavarian Academy of Sciences. Johannesburg-based Molemo Moiloa is part of the Visual Arts Network of South Africa (VANSA) and is currently preparing for the founding of the Resistance and Liberation Movements Museum there. For the artist and curator, the discourse at some institutions in Bavaria is still quite conservative, for example when their only online strategy is to present PDFs on their websites. This gave the participants the opportunity to offer suggestions on how visitors can participate more, for example via network platforms and interactive formats. Moiloa’s project for Coding da Vinci Süd makes mathematical models of the University of Tübingen available on a website. She now has six weeks left to work with her colleagues from Germany and Brazil on it. Since Moiloa will be departing after the kick-off in Munich, the team will continue to work on the project virtually. On 18 May, the finished projects will be presented in Nuremberg. In 2020, the Goethe-Institut will be holding cultural hackathons in Brazil, Indonesia and one of the participating African countries after the Coding da Vinci model. 

Culture enthusiasts, hackers and coders form teams. Often they meet each other at the Hackathon for the first time Culture enthusiasts, hackers and coders form teams. Often they meet each other at the Hackathon for the first time | Photo: Diane von Schoen

Top

Schnelleinstieg:
Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

Coding da Vinci Süd
Hack den Hackathon – Digitalisierung von Kulturgütern

Teilnehmerinnen und Teilnehmer des Kultur-Hackathons „Coding da Vinci Süd“ (v.l.n.r.): Leno Veras, Molemo Moiloa, Kofi Sika Latzoo, Ignatia Nilu
Teilnehmerinnen und Teilnehmer des Kultur-Hackathons „Coding da Vinci Süd“ (v.l.n.r.): Leno Veras, Molemo Moiloa, Kofi Sika Latzoo, Ignatia Nilu | Foto: Annette Walter

Zu dem Kultur-Hackathon „Coding da Vinci Süd“ lud das Goethe-Institut 15 Kulturschaffende, Coderinnen und Hacker aus Brasilien, der Côte d'Ivoire, Indonesien, dem Senegal, Südafrika und Tansania nach München ein, um Ideen und innovative Apps für die Digitalisierung von Kulturgütern zu entwickeln. 

Normalerweise trifft man im Gasteig, der größten Bibliothek in München, lesende Menschen – es ist meist ruhig. Doch an diesem Sonntag sieht man hier zahlreiche Personen, die sich in Gruppen an vielen Tischen über ihre Laptops beugen und eifrig diskutieren. Sie sind aus Ländern wie Brasilien, der Côte d’Ivoire, Indonesien, dem Senegal, Südafrika und Tansania zum Kick-Off-Wochenende von „Coding da Vinci Süd“ zu einem Kultur-Hackathon angereist. Kulturschaffende, Coderinnen und Hacker befassen sich bei diesem Programm mit der Digitalisierung von Kulturgütern aus Galerien, Bibliotheken, Archiven und Museen.

Eine Grundvoraussetzung für Teilhabe und digitale Mündigkeit

Einer der Teilnehmer ist Kofi Sika Latzoo. Der Kreativstratege und Designer aus dem Senegal, der unter anderem für das NASA Spaceapps Challenge Programm arbeitet, entwickelt gemeinsam im Team die App „Musel“. Mit dieser Anwendung können Touristen bei einer Hotelbuchung die künstlerischen Schätze einer Stadt kennenlernen. Während der Buchung wird dem Nutzer etwa ein Gemälde angezeigt, zu dem er dann zusätzliche Informationen abrufen kann. Das Smartphone ist mit dem Fernseher im Hotelzimmer vernetzt, auf dem der Gast ebenfalls Kunstwerke in größerem Format rezipieren kann. „Book, pledge and be artsy“ ist das Motto der raffinierten App, die Latzoo mit seiner Arbeitsgruppe umsetzen möchte. Das Ziel: Ein Hotel finden, das die App dann auf den Markt bringt. An „Coding da Vinci Süd“ nimmt auch Ignatia Nilu teil, Kuratorin und Autorin aus Indonesien, die unter anderem im Jogja National Museum arbeitet. Sie verbringt insgesamt zwei Monate in München im Ebenböckhaus mit dem Künstlerresidenzprogramm des Kulturreferats der Stadt München. Ihr Interesse gilt kollaborativen Praktiken zwischen Künstlerinnen, Wissenschaftlern, Hackerinnen und frei zugänglichen Technologien in der zeitgenössischen Kunst. Bei „Coding da Vinci Süd“ entwickelt sie im Team eine App zur Geschichte des Postwesens mit dem Namen „Global Postmaster“. Dafür wird der Fundus des Museums für Kommunikation in Nürnberg digital aufbereitet, der Nutzer kann so historische Postwege interaktiv nachvollziehen und mit Quizfragen sein Wissen erweitern.

„Book, pledge and be artsy“ ist das Motto der neu entwickelten App „Musel” von Kofi Sika Latzoo, Kouassi Junior Attreman, Dharwis Widya Utama Yacob und Emmanuel Thomas Malongo (v.r.n.l.) „Book, pledge and be artsy“ ist das Motto der neu entwickelten App „Musel” von Kofi Sika Latzoo, Kouassi Junior Attreman, Dharwis Widya Utama Yacob und Emmanuel Thomas Malongo (v.r.n.l.) | Foto: Diane von Schoen

Ein PDF macht noch keine Online-Strategie

Nicht alle Teilnehmerinnen und Teilnehmer entwickeln Apps. Für ihn war der Wissensaustausch bereichernd, erläutert Leno Veras, Kurator und assoziierter Wissenschaftler an der Universidade Federal in Rio de Janeiro. „Wir befassen uns weltweit mit ähnlichen Fragen: Wie können Museen mit den großen Mengen an Daten in ihren Häusern umgehen, wie schaffen sie nicht-materielle Plattformen und wie kann man international über den Wandel von Museen in der digitalen Ära Lösungen finden?“ Über digitale Strategien konnten sich die Teilnehmerinnen und Teilnehmer etwa im Museum Fünf Kontinente, im Lenbachhaus und in der Bayerischen Akademie der Wissenschaften austauschen. Molemo Moiloa aus Johannesburg ist Teil des Visual Arts Network of South Africa (VANSA) und bereitet dort zurzeit die Gründung des Resistance and Liberation Movements Museum vor. Für die Künstlerin und Kuratorin herrscht an manchen Institutionen in Bayern noch ein sehr konservativer Diskurs, etwa wenn als Online-Strategie lediglich PDFs auf der Internetseite präsentiert würden. So gab es für die Teilnehmerinnen und Teilnehmer auch die Möglichkeit, Anregungen zu geben, wie Besucherinnen und Besucher sich stärker beteiligen können, etwa über Netzwerkplattformen und Interaktionsformate. Bei Moiloas Projekt für „Coding da Vinci Süd“ werden mathematische Modelle der Universität Tübingen auf einer Webseite zugänglich gemacht. Für die Arbeit daran hat sie nun mit ihren Mitstreitern aus Deutschland und Brasilien noch sechs Wochen Zeit. Da Moiloa nach dem Kick-Off in München wieder abreist, wird das Team virtuell an dem Projekt weiterarbeiten. Am 18. Mai werden die fertigen Projekte dann in Nürnberg präsentiert. 2020 veranstaltet das Goethe-Institut nach dem Vorbild von „Coding da Vinci“ Kultur-Hackathons in Brasilien, Indonesien und einem der beteiligten afrikanischen Länder.

Kulturinteressierte, Hackerinnen und Coder bilden Teams. Oftmals treffen sie beim Hackathon das erste Mal aufeinander Kulturinteressierte, Hackerinnen und Coder bilden Teams. Oftmals treffen sie beim Hackathon das erste Mal aufeinander | Foto: Diane von Schoen
 

Top