Quick access:

Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

Digital Discourses
Saijai Liangpunsakul (Myanmar)

Is Facebook Responsible for Mass Killings in Myanmar? – The Role of Platforms

After five decades of military rule, Myanmar is opening up. At the same time, the country is undergoing a connectivity revolution. After liberalizing its telecommunications market, the country jumped straight to smartphones. With more than 20 million users, Facebook is simply the internet in Myanmar. 

With Facebook came new ways for people in Myanmar to connect and communicate. However, the UN report describes Facebook as a “useful instrument for those seeking to spread hate” against the Muslim minority and mentions that the role of Facebook must be independently and thoroughly investigated. Is Facebook responsible for the violence? Could misinformation and hate speech cause real-world violence? What is the role of the platform? 
 

Podcast: 
 

Saijai Liangpunsakul Saijai Liangpunsakul | © Phandeeyar Saijai Liangpunsakul is a social impact director at Phandeeyar, Myanmar Innovation Lab, leading Tech for Peace, hate speech research, and open data work. She is spearheading the effort to leverage technology and open data to support free and fair elections in Myanmar.
Saijai has a passion for using technology to create social impact. She has experience in implementing technology for underserved communities in more than 15 countries. She has previously designed a national mHealth tool for midwives in Myanmar and worked as an innovation advisor for USAID’s HIV/AIDS flagship project. Saijai was the winner of people’s choice award at the Mobile Solutions at USAID’s mStar Project.

Top

Schnelleinstieg:

Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

Digital Discourses
Saijai Liangpunsakul (Myanmar)

Ist Facebook für Massenmorde in Myanmar verantwortlich? – Zur Rolle sozialer Plattformen

Nach einer fünf Jahrzehnte währenden Militärherrschaft öffnet sich Myanmar nun wieder. Gleichzeitig erlebt das Land eine wahre Kommunikationsrevolution: Nach der Liberalisierung des Telefonmarktes ist Myanmar schnell auf den Smartphone-Zug aufgesprungen. Mit über 20 Millionen Nutzern ist Facebook inzwischen gleichsam zum Inbegriff für „das Internet“ geworden.  

Facebook hat den Menschen in Myanmar neue Wege des Vernetzens und des Kommunizierens ermöglicht. Ein UN-Bericht sieht in Facebook aber auch ein „nützliches Instrument für alle, die [gegen muslimische Minderheiten] Hass verbreiten wollen” und fordert, dass die Rolle von Facebook unabhängig und gründlich untersucht werden müsse. Können Falschmeldungen und Hass-Kommentare im echten Leben Gewalt auslösen? Und welche Rolle spielt die Online-Plattform dabei genau? 
 

Podcast: 
 

Saijai Liangpunsakul Saijai Liangpunsakul | © Phandeeyar Saijai Liangpunsakul ist Social Impact Director am Phandeeyar, Myanmar Innovation Lab und beschäftigt sich schwerpunktmäßig mit den Themen Tech for Peace, Hate Speech und Open Data. Der Einsatz von Technologien und Open Data zur Ermöglichung von freien und fairen Wahlen in Myanmar ist ihr ein besonderes Anliegen.
Saijai möchte zudem mit Hilfe von Technologie den sozialen Wandel vorantreiben. In bislang 15 Ländern hat sie benachteilige Bevölkerungsgruppen mit Projekten zur Bereitstellung nützlicher Technologien unterstützt. Saijai hat unter anderem eine mobile Anwendung für Hebammen in Myanmar entwickelt und war als Innovationsberaterin für ein USAID Leuchtturmprojekt zur Bekämpfung von HIV/AIDS tätig. Sie wurde mit dem People’s Choice Award im Bereich mobile Lösungen beim Projekt USAID mStar ausgezeichnet.
 

Top