Participatory Quilt, Conversations, Music #fempop night

#fempop night © Goethe-Institut Indonesien

14.02.2019 | 7 PM

GoetheHaus

Pusat Kebudayaan Jerman Jakarta
Jl. Sam Ratulangi 9-15
10350 Jakarta

Conversations about Pop Culture and Empowerment

The #fempop night – combining creating, talking and a concert – offers the opportunity to informally get together cultural practitioners from Southeast Asia, New Zealand and Germany to meet, craft together, and exchange thoughts.
 

COMMUNITY QUILT

As part of the #fempop night and brought by Grrl Gang founder Mich Dulce, Grrrl Gang Manila's community quilt is coming to Jakarta for the first time. Featured recently at the inaugural edition of Bangkok Biennial, the community quilt is an ongoing participatory art project. Everyone is invited to contribute to the quilt by designing a 10 x 10 inches piece of fabric – all fabrics are sewn together to create a growing quilt. The fabric can be designed in whatever way you wish: embroidered, beaded, appliquéd, painted, drawn on, text-based, abstract or figurative. What matters most are the conversations developing while creating together.
 
The community quilt highlights women's work through the act of working with one's hands on soft material. The measurement, 10×10, is a direct reference to the estimated 10 trillion USD we lose every year to unwaged domestic work and emotional labour by women worldwide.
 
All materials will be provided! Of course, feel free to bring your own fabric and material if you like.
 

TALKS

#fempop night features three talks with cultural practitioners from Southeast Asia, New Zealand and Germany. The conversations take a close look at how to create and facilitate networks to amplify underrepresented voices in pop culture, at zine culture and independent publishing as tools to create powerful platforms for your voice and at how personal experiences tie into the political struggle for equality and representation.
 

MUSIC

#fempop night closes with an acoustic solo session by multi-instrumentalist, composer and singer Alyana Cabral. She is currently the vocalist and guitarist of garage folk outfit Ourselves the Elves. Her forays with sound art and electronic music fuel her experimental solo project, Teenage Granny. Aside from performing, Alyana also organizes live shows, mostly (but not exclusively) for female musicians and female-fronted bands. She has recently founded Kababae Mong Tao, a multimedia platform aiming to empower creative women of all colors and expressions. Alyana is Manila-based and recently spent three months in Yogyakarta through a residency at Lifepatch.  
 

MEET WITH

Alyana Cabral, Philippines / musician and visual artist
Amanda Keisha Ang, Singapore / DJ, promoter and graphic designer
Dia Sabrina, Singapore / author and editor
Hera Diani, Indonesia / journalist and editor
Indraswari Pangestu, Indonesia / author and digital content strategist
Kartika Jahja, Indonesia / musician and entrepreneur
Mich Dulce, Philippines / fashion designer and musician
Natasha Matila-Smith, New Zealand / visual artist and author
Nhung Dinh, Vietnam / curator and filmmaker
Wannakarn Opassatien, Thailand / content creator
Yadanar Win, Myanmar / performance artist and visual artist 

Which spaces does pop culture open up for feminist cultural creation? How can pop culture be used to create platforms for marginalized perspectives and increase their reach beyond their own communities? What challenges do art and cultural workers encounter, who combine artistic practice and activism? Which international alliances are possible and productive? In a series of events and activities, the project #fempop brings together cultural practitioners from the Asia-Pacific region and Europe to network, discuss these questions and develop strategies of empowerment through pop culture together.
 
The #fempop night is hosted by Goethe-Institut as a follow up of the networking trip Feminism and Pop Culture in collaboration with Missy Magazine for cultural practitioners from Southeast Asia, Australia, and New Zealand to Berlin in August 2018.

Back

Gemeinsames Quilten, Gespräche, Musik #fempop night

#fempop night © Goethe-Institut Indonesien

14.02.2019 | 19:00 Uhr

GoetheHaus

Pusat Kebudayaan Jerman Jakarta
Jl. Sam Ratulangi 9-15
10350 Jakarta

Gespräche über Popkultur und Empowerment

Gemeinsam gestalten und diskutieren – die #fempop night bringt Künstlerinnen und Aktivistinnen aus Südostasien, Neuseeland und Deutschland zusammen und mit dem Publikum ins Gespräch, um sich kennenzulernen, zu quilten und gemeinsam Gedanken zu wälzen. Zum Abschluss gibt es ein Konzert.
 

GEMEINSAM QUILTEN

Als Teil der #fempop night bringt Grrrl Gang Manila Gründerin Mich Dulce das Grrrl Gang Projekt „Community Quilt“ erstmals nach Jakarta. Erst kürzlich war das partizipative Kunstprojekt im Rahmen der ersten Ausgabe der Bangkok Biennale zu erleben. Jede und jeder ist eingeladen den Quilt durch ein individuell gestaltetes Stoffstück zu erweitern. Der auf 10 x 10 Zoll zurechtgeschnittene Stoff kann frei gestaltet werden – bestickt oder bemalt, mit Text, abstrakt oder figurativ. Im Mittelpunkt stehen die Gespräche, die sich während des Quiltens entspinnen.
 
Das Quilt-Projekt bezieht sich durch die Handarbeit mit weichem Material auf die Arbeit von Frauen. Die Stoffmaße, 10 x 10, sind ein direkter Verweis auf die geschätzten 10 Billionen USD, die Frauen weltweit jährlich an unbezahlter Hausarbeit und emotionaler Arbeit leisten.
 
Alle Materialien werden zur Verfügung gestellt! Selbst mitgebrachtes Material ist natürlich ebenfalls willkommen.
 

GESPRÄCHE

Die #fempop night präsentiert drei moderierte Gespräche mit Kulturschaffenden aus Südostasien, Neuseeland und Deutschland. Die Gespräche erkunden, wie sich Netzwerke kreieren und unterhalten lassen, die unterrepräsentierten Stimmen in der Popkultur mehr Gehör verschaffen; wie die eigene Erfahrung mit dem politischem Einsatz für Gleichberechtigung und Repräsentation verwoben ist und setzen sich mit Zine-Kultur und unabhängigem Publizieren als Plattformen für die eigene Perspektive auseinander.
 

KONZERT

Zum Abschluss der #fempop night gibt Sängerin, Komponistin und Multi-Instrumentalistin Alyana Cabral ein Solo-Konzert. Sie ist aktuell Sängerin und Gitarristin des garage folk Projekts Ourselves the Elves. In ihrem experimentellen Solo-Projekt Teenage Granny verarbeitet sie ihre Streifzüge durch die elektronische Musik. Neben den eigenen Auftritten, organisiert Alyana Live-Shows, hauptsächlich (aber nicht ausschließlich) für Musikerinnen und Bands mit Leadsängerinnen. Sie ist Gründerin von Kababae Mong Tao, einer Multimedia-Plattform zur Stärkung kreativer Frauen „of all colors and expressions“. Alyana arbeitet in Manila und hat kürzlich im Rahmen einer Residenz bei Lifepatch drei Monate in Yogyakarta verbracht.
 

BEGEGNE BEI DER #fempop night:

Alyana Cabral, Philippinen / Musikerin und bildende Künstlerin
Amanda Keisha Ang, Singapur / DJ, Promoterin und Grafikdesignerin
Dia Sabrina, Singapur / Autorin und Herausgeberin
Hera Diani, Indonesien / Journalistin und Redakteurin
Indraswari Pangestu, Indonesien / Autorin und Digital Content Strategist
Kartika Jahja, Indonesien / Musikerin und Unternehmerin
Mich Dulce, Philippinen / Modedesignerin und Musikerin
Natasha Matila-Smith, Neuseeland / Bildende Künstlerin und Autorin
Nhung Dinh, Vietnam / Kuratorin und Filmemacherin
Wannakarn Opassatien, Thailand / Content Creator
Yadanar Win, Myanmar / Performancekünstlerin und bildende Künstlerin

Welche Räume eröffnet die Popkultur für feministisches Kulturschaffen? Wie lässt sich Popkultur nutzen, um Plattformen für marginalisierte Perspektiven zu schaffen und deren Reichweite über die eigenen Communities hinaus zu erhöhen? Welchen Herausforderungen begegnen Kunst- und Kulturschaffende, die in ihrer Praxis künstlerische und aktivistische Anliegen zusammendenken? Welche internationalen Allianzen sind möglich und produktiv? In verschiedenen Veranstaltungen und Aktivitäten bringt #fempop Kulturschaffende aus Ländern des südostasiatisch-pazifischen Raums und Europa zusammen, um diese Fragen zu diskutieren und gemeinsam Strategien für feministische Popkultur-Praxis zu entwickeln.
 
Das Goethe-Institut veranstaltet die #fempop night in Fortschreibung der Netzwerkreise Feminismus und Popkultur für Kulturschaffende aus Südostasien, Australien und Neuseeland, die im August 2018 in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Missy Magazine stattfand.

Zurück