Quick access:

Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

Suspended Between the Second and the Third Kiss: A Choreography by Petra Serhal

suspended © Petra Serhal 2020

Suspended Between the Second and the Third Kiss A Choreography by Petra Serhal

Within the framework of an International Co-Production Fund of the Goethe-Institut in the field of theatre and dance, the artist Petra Serhal presented her performance Suspended Between the Second and the Third Kiss after nearly two years of postponement. From 16 to 18 July 2021, the premiere of the performance took place in Bremen at the Schwankhalle, shown as part of the contemporary dance festival Tanz Bremen.

Suspended Between the Second and the Third Kiss is a choreography by Beirut-based artist Petra Serhal dealing with the corporal experience of the individual and the collective in moments that oscillate between intimacy and control. The choreography investigates the relations of power in intimate relationships and dance, and experiments with the limits of the body through movement and sound. This opens for a new spatial, choreographic and sonic experience that interrogates how our bodies perceive, absorb, relate, react, and endure these moments.  
  
Petra Serhal is an artist working in live-art and choreography. Her work draws from her ongoing research on the experiential aspect in performance and the role of the audience in the performative and choreographed experience. Her work often deals with language and sound in relation to movement and space, body as archive, fragmentation, absence, physical violence, and embodiment. Serhal received her M.A. Body in Performance from Trinity Laban Conservatoire of Music and Dance, London (2015). Her recent works include: LIVE/laiv/, Adagio, Toyota89, Overlooking & Panoramic, and No Blood Included. 
  
Co-Producer: Sasha Ussef; Technical Director: Gregor Knüppel; Sound Designer: Fadi Tabbal (Tunefork Studios); Performers: Petra Serhal and Martin Angiuli; Assistant Choreographer: Elisabetta Gareri; Dramaturgy in collaboration with Margrit Sengebusch; Production Coordinator: Malin Bassner; Technical Assistant: Daniel Al Choueiry; Cube Construction: Damj Design (Beirut) and Bras (Bremen); Costume Designer: Bshara Atallah; Visual Design: David Habchy 
   
This project is supported by the International Coproduction Fund of the Goethe-Institut, 
The Arab Fund for Arts and Culture (AFAC)
 and Fanak Fund. In collaboration with Schwankhalle (Bremen).
 
Partners: Hammana Artist House (Lebanon), Institut Français (Beirut), Amalgam (Beirut). 
 
 
Top

Schnelleinstieg:

Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

Suspended Between the Second and the Third Kiss: eine Choreografie von Petra Serhal

suspended © Petra Serhal 2020

Suspended Between the Second and the Third Kiss eine Choreografie von Petra Serha

Im Rahmen eines Internationalen Koproduktionsfonds des Goethe-Instituts im Bereich Theater und Tanz präsentierte die Künstlerin Petra Serhal nach fast zweijähriger Verschiebung ihre Performance Suspended Between the Second and the Third Kiss. Vom 16. bis 18. Juli 2021 fand die Uraufführung der Performance in der Bremer Schwankhalle statt, gezeigt im Rahmen des zeitgenössischen Tanzfestivals Tanz Bremen.

Suspended Between the Second and the Third Kiss ist eine Choreografie von der in Beirut lebenden Künstlerin Petra Serhal, die sich mit der körperlichen Erfahrung des Individuums und des Kollektivs in Momenten befasst, die zwischen Intimität und Kontrolle oszillieren. Die Choreographie untersucht die Machtverhältnisse in intimen Beziehungen und im Tanz und experimentiert mit den Grenzen des Körpers durch Bewegung und Sound. Dies eröffnet eine neue räumliche choreografische und klangliche Erfahrung, die hinterfragt, wie unsere Körper diese Momente wahrnehmen, absorbieren, in Beziehung setzen, reagieren und aushalten.
 
Petra Serhal ist eine Künstlerin, die im Bereich Live-Kunst und Choreografie arbeitet. Ihre Arbeit stützt sich auf ihre kontinuierliche Forschung über den Erfahrungsaspekt in der Performance und die Rolle des Publikums in der performativen und choreografischen Erfahrung. In ihren Arbeiten beschäftigt sie sich häufig mit Sprache und Sound in Bezug auf Bewegung und Raum, Körper als Archiv, Fragmentierung, Abwesenheit, physische Gewalt und Verkörperung. Serhal erhielt ihren MA Body in Performance am Trinity Laban Conservatoire of Music and Dance, London (2015). Zu ihren jüngsten Arbeiten gehören: LIVE/laiv/, Adagio, Toyota89, Overlooking & Panoramic, and No Blood Included.
 
Koproduzentin: Sasha Ussef; Technischer Direktor: Gregor Knüppel; Sound-Designer: Fadi Tabbal (Tunefork-Studios); Darsteller*innen: Petra Serhal und Martin Angiuli; Choreografieassistenz: Elisabetta Gareri; Dramaturgie in Zusammenarbeit mit Margrit Sengebusch; Produktions-Koordinatorin: Malin Bassner; Technischer Assistant: Daniel Al Choueiry; Kubuskonstruktion: Damj Design (Beirut) und bras (Bremen); Kostümbildner: Bshara Atallah; Visuelle Gestaltung: David Habchy
 
Dieses Projekt wird unterstützt durch den International Coproduction Fund des Goethe-Institut, Der Arabische Fonds für Kunst und Kultur (AFAC) und den Fanak Funds. In Zusammenarbeit mit Schwankhalle (Bremen).
 
Partner: Hammana Artist House (Libanon), Institut Français (Libanon), Amalgam (Beirut).
 
 
 
Top