Quick access:

Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)
 Irtijal'21 © Irtijal'21

Hans-Joachim Irmlers Beiruter Ensemble

Irtijal 2021 - International Festival for Experimental Music in Lebanon

In collaboration with Irtijal, the Goethe-Institut Libanon invites Krautrock, electronic music and sound experiment pioneer, Hans-Joachim Irmler to lead a three-day workshop with six Lebanon based musicians from 12 to 15 September, culminating in a concert at the Ballroom Blitz on 17 September as part of Irtijal’s 21st International Festival for Experimental Music in Lebanon.

Born in 1950, Hans-Joachim Irmler began experimenting with sound-generating technology at a very early age. As a teenager, he built his first organ. In 1969, he moved to Hamburg, where he studied art and worked for television. There, he was drawn into a collective of musicians and filmmakers. Out of this loose group, a band crystallized which would become known as Faust - a band which subsequently became known to people with an interest in avant-garde music all around the world.

The band negotiated a contract with Polydor in 1971 in which they were granted their own studio and custom-built sound-processing equipment (unheard of for a „pop” or „rock group”at that time). On their eponymous debut in 1971 (pressed on clear vinyl and housed in a transparent cover), one can hear familiar sounds augmented with electronically generated and distorted ones, which made Faust into probably the most far-out album ever released on a major label. This musical and technological transmutation has become the leitmotif of Irmler’s aesthetic. He always worked with selfbuilt or heavily customized equipment. Thus, it is small wonder that when Faust folded in 1976 he started his own keyboard workshop.

But Faust never really stopped, there were always reunions - sometimes private, sometimes public. In 1994, he and two other core-members of Faust record Rien, the first album in 20 years. It was produced by Jim O’Rourke and released on Jeff Hunt’s Table of Elements, one of the prime labels for so-called post-rock in the 90s. Irmler went on to form his own label Klangbad in 1996, on which he published not only Faust, but also other bands, most of whom he recorded in the label’s own studio (including Custer, Dieter Moebius, Circle, Ectogram, Nigthingales, Ole Lukkye, to name but a few). In 2004, the studio relocated to the premises of a disked paper factory in the rural Swabian village Scheer, it contains all of Irmler’s equipment built over the last 30 years as well as new, computer-based recording tools.

The Workshop participants and concert performers
Sandy Chamoun voice
Antonio Hajj bass
Farah Kaddour buzuk
Anthony Sahyoun guitar, synth
Pascal Semerdjian drums
Marwan Tohme guitar
+ Hans-Joachim Irmler!

For an overview of Irtijal 2021 and information about the concert:
https://irtijal.org/irtijal-2021-overview/

Top

Schnelleinstieg:

Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)
 Irtijal'21 © Irtijal'21

Hans-Joachim Irmlers Beiruter Ensemble

Irtijal 2021 - Internationales Festival für experimentelle Musik im Libanon

In Zusammenarbeit mit Irtijal lädt das Goethe-Institut Libanon den Pionier des Krautrock, der elektronischen Musik und des Klangexperiments, Hans-Joachim Irmler, ein, vom 12. bis 15. September einen dreitätigen Workshop mit sechs im Libanon ansässigen Musiker*innen zu leiten, der am 17. September mit einem Konzert im Ballroom Blitz im Rahmen des Irtjals 21. Internationalen Festivals für experimentelle Musik im Libanon endet.

Der 1950 geborene Hans-Joachim Irmler begann schon sehr früh mit klangerzeugenden Technologien zu experimentieren. Als Jugendlicher baute er seine erste Orgel. 1969 zog er nach Hamburg, wo er Kunst studierte und für das Fernsehen arbeitete. Dort wurde er in ein Kollektiv von Musiker*innen und Filmemacher*innen aufgenommen. Aus dieser losen Gruppe kristallisierte sich eine Band heraus, die unter dem Namen Faust bekannt wurde - eine Band, die in der Folgezeit bei Avantgarde-Musikinteressierten in der ganzen Welt bekannt wurde.

1971 handelte die Band einen Vertrag mit Polydor aus, in dem sie ein eigenes Studio und eine speziell angefertigte Tontechnik erhielt (was für eine "Pop-" oder "Rockgruppe" zu dieser Zeit unerhört war). Auf ihrem gleichnamigen Debütalbum aus dem Jahr 1971 (auf durchsichtigem Vinyl gepresst und in einer durchsichtigen Hülle untergebracht) hört man vertraute Klänge, die mit elektronisch erzeugten und verzerrten Klängen angereichert sind, was Faust zum wahrscheinlich ausgefallensten Album macht, das je auf einem Major-Label veröffentlicht wurde. Diese musikalische und technologische Transmutation ist zum Leitmotiv von Irmlers Ästhetik geworden. Er arbeitete stets mit selbstgebautem oder stark angepasstem Equipment. So ist es nicht verwunderlich, dass er nach der Auflösung von Faust im Jahr 1976 eine eigene Keyboardwerkstatt eröffnete.

Aber Faust hat nie wirklich aufgehört, es gab immer wieder Zusammenkünfte - mal privat, mal öffentlich. 1994 nahmen er und zwei andere Kernmitglieder von Faust Rien auf, das erste Album seit 20 Jahren. Es wurde von Jim O'Rourke produziert und auf Jeff Hunts Table of Elements veröffentlicht, einem der wichtigsten Labels für so genannten Post-Rock in den 90er Jahren. Irmler gründete 1996 sein eigenes Label Klangbad, auf dem er nicht nur Faust, sondern auch andere Bands veröffentlichte, von denen er die meisten im eigenen Studio aufnahm (u.a. Custer, Dieter Moebius, Circle, Ectogram, Nigthingales, Ole Lukkye, um nur einige zu nennen). Im Jahr 2004 zog das Studio in die Räumlichkeiten einer Scheibenpapierfabrik im schwäbischen Scheer um und beherbergt alle von Irmler in den letzten 30 Jahren gebauten Geräte sowie neue, computergestützte Aufnahmewerkzeuge.

Die Workshops Teilnehmer*innen und Konzert Musiker*innen  
Sandy Chamoun voice
Antonio Hajj bass
Farah Kaddour buzuk
Anthony Sahyoun guitar, synth
Pascal Semerdjian drums
Marwan Tohme guitar
+ Hans-Joachim Irmler !

Für einen Überblick über Irtijal 2021 und Informationen über das Konzert: https://irtijal.org/irtijal-2021-overview/

Top