David Bowie and German Pop Music Hero for a Day

David Bowie 2015
David Bowie 2015 | Foto (Ausschnitt): Sony / Jimmy Katz

Berlin was a divided and encircled city, a sociotope in a special political situation. For just under two years, beginning in 1976, it was for David Bowie a retreat and an inspiration. This was enough to give a formative impulse to then still young and indecisive German Pop music.

California disagreed with David Bowie. After the production in Los Angeles of his album Station To Station, which was released in early 1976, he seemed burned out, and the copious consumption of cocaine did the rest. Not only the British writer Barry Hoskins, in his famous chronicle of the WEST Coast Pop scene, Waiting for The Sun, reported of the collapse and death wish of the young, eccentric Londoner who, after success in the Old World, had tried his luck in America. After the 1976 world tour, baptized Isolar, came to its difficult end, Bowie found shelter, via European stopovers with the Tangerine-Dream mastermind Edgar Froese, in Berlin-Schöneberg. It was a move during a cold drug withdrawal and a radical change of artistic scenario. From the bright sun of Hollywood to the Cold War.

It was no accident that the Pop avant-gardist Bowie docked in a guest room of the progressive electronic musician Froese. Apart from early Kraftwerk, Can and some krautrockers, German Pop music of the seventies didn’t have many compelling alternatives to offer a world star like Bowie. Walled-in Berlin meant for him, who was finally to live in the Schöneberg Hauptstraße until 1978, a retreat into the anonymity of the local underground. When his former Los Angeles buddy Iggy Pop, with whom he had collaborated several times in the studio, followed him to Berlin, a small, creative cell grew up. Schöneberg as the epicentre of glam Raw Power and avant-garde.

Schöneberg Creativity

At the beginning, Bowie’s time in Berlin was for him a come-down into the haze of brown coal that wafted over from East Germany. A pause in art galleries, before the paintings of the Weimar Republic, at the travesty salon of Romy Haag, and finally a musical impetus with the three major albums mainly recorded at the Hansa Studios (at attractive costs subsidized by the city of Berlin): Low, Heroes and Lodger, with a view of the East German guard troops on the spooky, divided Potsdamer Platz. Bowie had avidly imbibed new impressions, which under the aegis of his producers he turned into an altered sound aesthetics. A change of atmospheres that culminated in one of his pithiest singles, Heroes: cool synth layers accompany the “hero just for one day”.

In 1978 the Pop magazine Musikexpress, then still based in Hamburg, drew up the balance of Bowie’s Berlin era in a several-page “Special Story”. The thrust: Bowie and Iggy Pop, along with the production genius of Brian Eno and Tony Visconti, had prepared a basis for a German Punk avant-garde. Bowie himself never directly worked together with the later main figures of the “New German Wave”, but alone the knowledge that the Pop grandmaster might show up in local New Wave discos like Jungle inspired the scene. And regardless whether the major Rhenish producer Conny Plank (Can, Neu, Kraftwerk) really nonchalantly declined an offer from Bowie of a studio collaboration, as some people say, the German sound pioneers felt themselves confirmed in their direction. Iggy and Bowie were suddenly drinking König Pilsener at corner pubs and buying rough overalls at the construction worker outfitter John Glet on Mehringdamm.

Experimental culture inspiration

The experimental culture of the brusque, isolated city gave the German Federal Republic a new centre of gravity. One that received a socio-political dimension through the immense success of the contemporary best-seller Wir Kinder vom Bahnhof Zoo (We Children from Bahnhof Zoo) by Christiane F. In the film version, Bowie, who in a television documentary had called West Berlin the “world capital of heroin”, made a cameo appearance. The unsparing hardness of the drug scene, the rampant “no future” mentality, the “dance on the volcano”, was soon to be set to staccato rhythms by Punk and New Wave and find a hitherto unknown realization in the street battles of the squatters scene.
 

In this way a new generation was recruited to the Rolling Stones’ “street-fighting men” of the sixties. By the time the atonal attacks of the Einstürzende Neubauten (Collapsing new Buildings) blazed the way, Bowie had moved again. It was only in later interviews that he savoured the Tödliche Doris (Deadly Doris), Sprung aus dem Wolken (Jump from the Clouds) and the cool groove of the female band Malaria as a whole. In 1978, his last year in Berlin, the multi-talent played the lead role in David Hemmings’s Just a Gigolo with Marlene Dietrich, a stylish finish to his Pop phase that established him firmly in the charts.

In his almost two years in Berlin, Bowie knew intuitively how to combine the myths of German Pop culture. He had always seen Pop music in a larger context and presented it, through the styling and production of his person, as art. A touch of Andy Warhol, Velvet Underground and New York wafted through Berlin. You could say if you like that Bowie gave Germany a Pop appeal. At any rate, it was his merit to have given the then still very modestly-sized creative community of the old Federal Republic a decisive kick, even if this was not the reason he came to the city. Thereafter it was not only the Berlin scene that could go its own way.

David Bowie und die deutsche Popmusik Helden für einen Tag

David Bowie 2015
David Bowie 2015 | Foto (Ausschnitt): Sony / Jimmy Katz

Berlin war eine geteilte und eingekesselte Stadt, ein Soziotop in besonderer politischer Lage. Für David Bowie wurde es von 1976 an knapp zwei Jahre lang zum Rückzugs- und Inspirationsraum. Das genügte, um seinerseits der noch jungen, unentschlossenen deutschen Popmusik prägende Impulse zu geben.

Kalifornien ist David Bowie nicht gut bekommen. Nach der Produktion seines Albums Station To Station in Los Angeles, das Anfang 1976 erschien, wirkte er wie ausgebrannt, der ausgiebige Konsum von Kokain tat ein Übriges. Nicht nur der britische Autor Barry Hoskins berichtet in seiner renommierten Chronik der Westcoast-Popszene mit dem Titel Waiting for The Sun von Zusammenbruch und Todessehnsucht des jungen, exaltierten Londoners, der nach dem Erfolg in der Alten Welt in Amerika sein Glück gesucht hatte. Nachdem Bowies Isolar getaufte 1976er-Welttour mühevoll beendet war, kam er über europäische Zwischenstationen bei Tangerine-Dream-Mastermind Edgar Froese in Berlin Schöneberg unter. Es war ein Umzug in den kalten Drogenentzug und ein radikaler Wechsel des künstlerischen Szenarios. Von der hellen Sonne Hollywoods in den Kalten Krieg.

Es war kein Zufall, dass der Pop-Avantgardist Bowie fürs Erste im Gästezimmer der progressiven Elektroniker um Froese andockte. Abgesehen von den frühen Kraftwerk, Can und einigen Krautrockern hatte die deutsche Popmusik der Siebzigerjahre nicht allzu viele zwingende Alternativen für einen Weltstar wie Bowie zu bieten. Das eingemauerte West-Berlin bedeutete für ihn, der schließlich bis 1978 an der Schöneberger Hauptstraße wohnte, auch einen Rückzug in die Anonymität des örtlichen Undergrounds. Als sein damaliger Los-Angeles-Kumpel Iggy Pop, mit dem er mehrfach im Studio zusammengearbeitet hatte, ihm nach Berlin folgte, wuchs bereits eine kleine, kreative Zelle heran. Schöneberg als Epizentrum von Glam, „Raw Power“ und Avantgarde.

Schöneberger Kreativität

Anfangs war die Berliner Zeit für Bowie ein Runterkommen im Dunst der Braukohleluft, die aus der DDR herüberwehte. Ein Innehalten in Galerien, in der Malerei der Weimarer Republik, im Travestie-Salon von Romy Haag und letztlich ein musikalischer Schub mit den drei wichtigen, überwiegend in den – durch Berlin-Subventionen günstig zu bespielenden – Hansa-Studios aufgenommenen Alben Low, Heroes und Lodger, mit Blick auf die DDR-Wachtruppen am gespenstisch zerteilten Potsdamer Platz. Bowie hatte die neuen Eindrücke begierig aufgesaugt, die er unter der Ägide seiner Produzenten in eine veränderte Soundästhetik einbrachte. Ein Atmosphären-Wechsel, der in einer seiner prägnantesten Singles Heroes gipfelte: Kühle Synthieflächen begleiten die „Helden für einen Tag“.

Das damals noch in Hamburg angesiedelte Popmagazin Musikexpress bilanzierte Bowies Berlin-Ära bereits 1978 in einer mehrseitigen „Special Story“. Tenor: Mit Bowie und Iggy Pop sowie dem Produktions-Genius von Brian Eno und Tony Visconti war eine Basis für die deutsche Punk-Avantgarde bereitet. Bowie selbst hat zwar mit keinem der späteren Protagonisten der „Neuen Deutschen Welle“ direkt zusammengearbeitet. Doch allein das Wissen, dass die Pop-Großmeister in der örtlichen New-Wave-Discos wie dem Dschungel auftauchen konnten, beflügelte die Szene. Und ganz egal, ob der rheinische Großproduzent Conny Plank (Can, Neu, Kraftwerk) wirklich, wie es heißt, ein Angebot Bowies zu einer Studiokooperation nonchalant abgelehnt hat: Die deutschen Neutöner konnten sich bestätigt fühlen. Iggy und Bowie tranken plötzlich König Pilsener in Eckkneipen und kauften grobe Latzhosen beim Bauarbeiter-Ausstatter John Glet auf dem Mehringdamm.

Experimentalkultur als Inspiration

Die Bundesrepublik hatte mit der Experimentalkultur der schroffen Inselstadt ein neues Gravitationszentrum bekommen. Eins, das durch den immensen Bestseller-Erfolg des Buches Wir Kinder vom Bahnhof Zoo von Christiane F. zur gleichen Zeit eine gesellschaftspolitische Dimension bekam. In der Verfilmung hatte Bowie, der West-Berlin in einer Dokumentation des TV-Senders „die Welthauptstadt des Heroins“ nannte, einen Cameo-Auftritt. Die schonungslose Härte des Drogenmilieus, die grassierende No-Future-Mentalität, der „Tanz auf dem Vulkan“ sollte bald im Stakkato von Punk und New Wave vertont werden und nicht zuletzt in den Straßenschlachten der Häuserbesetzer-Szene einen bislang nicht gekannten Ausbruch in der Realität erfahren. 
 

Die „Street Fighting Men“ der Rolling Stones der Sixties hatten auf diese Weise Nachwuchs bekommen. Als sich dann die atonalen Attacken der Einstürzenden Neubauten ihre Bahn brachen, war David Bowie schon wieder weitergezogen. Die Tödliche Doris, Sprung aus dem Wolken und den kühlen Groove der Frauenband Malaria hat er nur in späteren Interviews als großes Ganzes goutiert. Am Ende der Berliner Jahre spielte das Multitalent 1978 noch die Hauptrolle in Schöner Gigolo, armer Gigolo von David Hemmings, dem letzten Film, in dem Marlene Dietrich mitwirkte, ein stilvoller Abgang in seine poppige Phase, die ihn endgültig in den Hitparaden verankerte. 

Tatsächlich verstand David Bowie es intuitiv, in seinen knapp zwei Berliner Jahren die Mythen der deutschen Popkulturgeschichte zu verbinden. Er hat Popmusik stets in einen größeren Zusammenhang gestellt, sie durch seinen Stil und die Inszenierung seiner Person wie selbstverständlich als Kunst präsentiert. Ein Hauch von Andy Warhol, Velvet Underground und New York wehte durch Berlin. Wenn man so will, hat Bowie Deutschland einen Pop-Appeal verpasst. Es war jedenfalls sein Verdienst, einer damals noch sehr überschaubaren Kreativgemeinschaft der alten Bundesrepublik den entscheidenden Kick versetzt zu haben, auch wenn das nicht der Grund war, weshalb er in die Stadt gekommen war. Danach konnte nicht nur die Berliner Szene eigene Wege gehen.