Erica Sklenars Audiovisual Aotearoa

Opposite Sex performing live, with visuals by Erica Sklenars
Opposite Sex performing live, with visuals by Erica Sklenars | © Erica Sklenars

Experimental audiovisual practices in New Zealand

As a visual performance artist I work collaboratively across Aotearoa’s music scene, creating projection mapped environments, often under the moniker Lady Lazer Light, and engaging in collaborations such as Sign of the Hag, an experiment in live audiovisual construction using spinning wheels, with musician and artist Dan Beban. Live collaboration between audio and visual artists is fascinating for practitioners and audiences alike. It creates a multi-sensory experience, uses an immediate mode of communication, and connects artists and audience in new ways.

Throughout Aotearoa, experimental musicians collaborating with visual artists have lately begun to attract a wider audience, emerging from the underground venues and artist run spaces and moving into bars and clubs. Many of the AV projects and collaborations mentioned in this article occupy a space between the underground and pop culture. Instant Fantasy, for example, works on the edge of pop, her dark synth-pop music accompanied by synced projections of sickly sweet colours, roses, digital sparkles, and flashes of text that recast the performance (“I’ve given up on you”). Ducklingmonster (Beth Dawson of the Futurians and File Folder) iis another experimental musician and visual artist who works with experimental sound and visuals using combinations of overhead projector images and slides, as well as digitally layered live audio visuals collaborations with artists such as Embedded Figures.


Video: Ducklingmonster, video for Bully by Embedded Figures

My involvement in audiovisual collaboration began in artist run spaces, like the Eye of Night in Whanganui, Frederick Street Sound and Light Society (Fred’s, closed in 2012) in Wellington, None Gallery in Dunedin, and later the Pyramid Club in Wellington and the Audio Foundation in Auckland. These spaces brought me into contact with artistic practices I had never experienced before, and most importantly, these practices carried with them the freedom to experiment. A good example of such an approach is the work of visual musician Kim Newall, who uses a combination of analogue and digital hardware, live camera feeds, and physical objects and imagery. Newall combines live visuals with his four-piece synth electro band SoccerPractise. His work is improvised performance art, bringing an experimental approach into the pop sphere.

Video: SoccerPractise performs at the Silver Scrolls, the Australasian Performing Rights Association awards


After formative years as a young adult in Whanganui, Wellington became my home for 6 or so years. Fred’s, based in an old wooden church, was home to weekly experimental sound and light performances. This collective later moved to the Pyramid Club, run by musicians and artists Daniel Beban, Nell Thomas and Jonny Marks. The Pyramid Club, both a gallery space and performance venue, currently thrives as Wellington’s hub for experimental music and art.

Two bands to mention here are Orchestra of Spheres and The All Seeing Hand. Both collaborate closely with visual artists, including myself, in creating multi-sensory experiences using costumes, set design, performance, and video. These performances are staged in small underground experimental venues, as well as bars, clubs and festivals, both in Aotearoa and internationally.



Video: Orchestra of Spheres Live at Temple Bar, Beijing 2015


The All Seeing Hand are notable for their multi-disciplinary, multi-artist, ever-changing work – this collective dynamism means All Seeing Hand are as much a movement as a group. They have collaborated on live performances with the likes of Georgette Brown, Andrew McLeod, Dan Harris and Nathan Taare. Along they way they have played inside giant B-movie style alien cysts, hatched out of eggs, and been immersed in projection mapped environments.

The All Seeing Hand, live with visuals by Erica Sklenars The All Seeing Hand, live with visuals by Erica Sklenars | © Erica Sklenars Video: All Seeing Hand, Blob Eat Blob

Wellington is home to many audio and visual practitioners. I’ve always loved the visual performances of Beth Hilton, using slide projectors, prisms, lenses to bend light into magical forms and textures. Mo H. Zareei (aka mHz) is an electronic musician, sound artist and a researcher also based in Wellington. His work experiments with custom built software and hardware, kinetic sound-sculptures and audiovisual installations. In his work the relationship of sound, beat and light is strong, resulting in mesmerising but jarring experiences. Wellington also played host to a collaboration between audio visual artists Flo Wilson and Olivia Webb through their Toi Poneke Arts Centre. Their audio visual installation ATTUNEMENT explored deep listening, identity, and vocality, and featured large-scale performative projections, audio created from layers of song and breath, alongside live performance.


Video: Interference [dac] mo h. zareei + jim murphy


Recently I experienced a very startling audiovisual performance by former Wellington artist (also now Berlin based) Reece McNaughten, who performs as Big Flip the Massive Using audio and video samples triggered on his drum kit, McNaughten’s beat-based work deployed projected warped CGI imagery of faces, absurd and surreal objects, and bodies twisting in either pain or ecstasy. The result was both entrancing and horrifying.

Video: Big Flip the Massive, Live @ Festsaal Kreuzberg, Berlin (October 2017)


Continuing my southward journey, two years ago I shifted to Dunedin, that cold gothic city of sound and birthplace of the celebrated Flying Nun record label. I took up residency in a studio in None Gallery, a space that has been home to experimental sound and visual art for many years. I also moved to Chick’s Hotel, a legendary venue that has now become a recording studio.

Live visuals by Lady Lazer Light (Erica Sklenars) Live visuals by Lady Lazer Light (Erica Sklenars) | © Erica Sklenars Since 2000, Dunedin has hosted the biennial experimental music festival Lines of Flight, spanning venues such as Chick’s Hotel and The Anteroom in Port Chalmers. Since 2014, on alternate years, a sister festival Refining Light. has emerged, run by filmmaker Campbell Walker and musician Peter Porteous. The festival celebrates the visual aspect of collaborations, exploring expanded cinema alongside experimental sound. Both festivals have birthed many audiovisual collaborations by Dunedin-associated artists, such as Kim Pieters with Peter Stapleton and Peter Porteous, and Campbell Walker with Sally Anne McIntyre, to name just a few.

Erica Sklenars Audiovisuelles Aotearoa

Opposite Sex performing live, with visuals by Erica Sklenars
Opposite Sex performing live, with visuals by Erica Sklenars | © Erica Sklenars

EXPERIMENTELLE AUDIOVISUELLE PRAKTIKEN IN NEUSEELAND

Als bildnerisch tätige Performance-Künstlerin bin ich an Gemeinschaftsarbeiten in der gesamten Musikszene von Aotearoa beteiligt, erschaffe – meist unter dem Namen Lady Lazer Light – mit Hilfe von Projektionen gestaltete Umwelten, bin Teil von Kollaborationen wie Sign of the Hag, einem experimentellen audiovisuellen Live-Act zusammen mit dem Musiker und Künstler Dan Beban. Gemeinschaftsarbeiten von Audio-Künstlern und Bildgestaltern sind für die Ausführenden wie das Publikum eine gleichermaßen spannende Sache. Sie ermöglichen sinneserweiternde Erfahrungen unter Einbezug unmittelbarer Medien der Kommunikation und bringt Künstler und Publikum auf neuen Wegen zueinander.

Seit einiger Zeit ist eine größere Öffentlichkeit im ganzen Land auf diese Gemeinschaftsprojekte von experimentellen Musikern und bildenden Künstlern aufmerksam geworden, die aus dem Untergrund und den Produzentengalerien in die Bars und Clubs gewandert sind. Viele der hier erwähnten audiovisuellen Projekte bewegen sich zwischen Untergrund und Popkultur. Instant Fantasy beispielsweise arbeitet an der Schnittstelle zum Pop mit ihrem düsteren Synthie-Pop, der von synchrongeschalteten Projektionen mit einem zum Erbrechen süßen Farbspiel, Rosen, digitalen Wunderkerzen und Text-Splittern begleitet wird, die die Aufführung ausmachen (“I’ve given up on you”). Ducklingmonster (Beth Dawson von den Futurians und File Folder) ist eine weitere Experimentalmusikerin, die experimentelle Klänge und Bilder mit Hilfe von Overhead-Projektor und Dias zusammenbringt, daneben live aufgeführte audiovisuelle Kollaborationen mit anderen Künstlern wie Embedded Figures verwirklicht.


Video: Ducklingmonster, video for Bully by Embedded Figures

Meine Beschäftigung mit audiovisuellen Gemeinschaftsarbeiten nahm in Produzentengalerien ihren Anfang: wie dem Eye of Night in Whanganui, der Frederick Street Sound and Light Society in Wellington (Fred’s, 2012 geschlossen), der None Gallery in Dunedin und später dem Pyramid Club in Wellington und der Audio Foundation in Auckland. An diesen Orten lernte ich künstlerische Praktiken kennen, die etwas für mich völlig Neues waren und die – und das war am wichtigsten – von allen Freiheiten des Experimentierens beseelt waren. Ein gutes Beispiel dafür sind die Arbeiten des visuellen Musikers Kim Newall, der eine Mischung aus analogem und digitalem Equipment verwendet, außerdem Live-Kamerabilder und dazu Gegenstände und Bilder. Newall kombiniert live erzeugte Bilder mit den Klängen seiner vierköpfigen Synthie-Elektro-Band SoccerPractise. Seine Arbeiten bestehen aus improvisierter Performance-Kunst, wodurch er experimentelle Elemente in die Popwelt einbringt.

Video: SoccerPractise performs at the Silver Scrolls, the Australasian Performing Rights Association awards


Nach für mich prägenden Jahren als junge Erwachsene in Whanganui war ich anschließend sechs Jahre lang in Wellington zu Hause. Im Fred’s, das sich in einem alten Kirchgebäude aus Holz befand, gab es wöchentlich experimentelle Klang- und Licht-Performances. Das Kollektiv wechselte später in den Pyramid Club, den die Musiker und Künstler Daniel Beban, Nell Thomas und Jonny Marks betreiben. Der Pyramid Club, zugleich Galerie und Auftrittsort, ist derzeit das lebendige Zentrum für experimentelle Musik und Kunst in Wellington.

Zwei an dieser Stelle erwähnenswerte Band sind Orchestra of Spheres und The All Seeing Hand. Beide Gruppen arbeiten mit bildenden Künstlern wie mir zusammen, schaffen unter Einsatz von Kostümen, Bühnendekoration, Performance und Video sinnesanregende Erlebnisse. Ihre Auftritte finden in kleinen Untergrund-Veranstaltungsorten wie in Bars, Clubs und auf Festivals in Aotearoa wie auch im Ausland statt



Video: Orchestra of Spheres Live at Temple Bar, Beijing 2015


Die All Seeing Hand sind bekannt für ihre multi-disziplinäre, künstlerisch vielfältigen, sich immer wieder erneuernden Arbeiten – ihre kollektive Dynamik machen All Seeing Hand so sehr zu einer Bewegung wie zu einer Band. Während ihrer Konzerte spielte die Gruppe bislang unter anderen mit Georgette Brown, Andrew McLeod, Dan Harris und Nathan Taare zusammen. Über die Jahre hat All Seeing Hand auch in riesigen außerirdischen Zysten wie aus B-Movies gespielt, ist aus Eiern geschlüpft, und wurde zu einem Teil von mittels Projektionen gestalteten Welten.

The All Seeing Hand, live with visuals by Erica Sklenars The All Seeing Hand, live with visuals by Erica Sklenars | © Erica Sklenars Video: All Seeing Hand, Blob Eat Blob

In Wellington gibt es viele audiovisuelle Künstler. Seit langem mag ich die visuell geprägten Aufführungen von Beth Hilton, die Projektoren, Prismen und Linsen einsetzt, um Licht in magische Formen und Texturen zu verwandeln. Mo H. Zareei (aka mHz) ist ein elektronischer Musiker, Klangkünstler und Forscher, der ebenfalls in Wellington zu Hause ist. In seiner Arbeit experimentiert er mit Software und Hardware Marke Eigenbau, mit kinetischen Klangskulpturen und audiovisuellen Installationen. In seiner Arbeit gibt er dem Verhältnis von Klang, Beat und Licht eine besondere Kraft, was zu hypnotischen und dabei schrillen Effekten führt. Wellington ist auch Ort der Kollaboration zwischen den audiovisuellen Künstlern Flo Wilson und Olivia Webb, die durch eine Residency am Toi Poneke Arts Centre möglich wurde. In ihrer audiovisuellen Installation ATTUNEMENT erforschen sie das Deep Listening, Identität und Vokalität, all dies in großformatigen performativen Projektionen, mit Klangmaterial aus Song und Atem, das mit Live-Elementen vermischt wird.


Video: Interference [dac] mo h. zareei + jim murphy


Vor kurzem erlebte ich eine höchst aufregende audiovisuelle Performance des früher in Wellington lebenden (und heute in Berlin ansässigen) Künstler Reece McNaughten, der unter dem Namen Big Flip the Massive auftritt. Unter Verwendung von Audio- und Videoschnipseln, die von seinem Schlagzeugsound ausgehen, produziert McNaughten ein beat-geprägtes Werk, in dem er projizierte gewarpte CGI-Bilder von Gesichtern, von absurd und surreale Gegenständen und von Körpern zusammenbringt, die sich entweder schmerzverzerrt oder lustvoll herumbewegen.

Video: Big Flip the Massive, Live @ Festsaal Kreuzberg, Berlin (October 2017)


Um meine Reise in den Süden fortzusetzen, landete ich vor zwei Jahren in Dunedin, der kalten, düster-gothischen Musik-Stadt und dem Geburtsort des gefeierten Flying Nun-Plattenlabels. Ich fand eine Bleibe in einem Atelier der None Gallery, seit Jahren ein Ort für experimentelle Klänge und bildende Kunst. Ich zog auch ins Chick’s Hotel, einem legendären Ort, der nun ein Aufnahmestudio beherbergt.

Live visuals by Lady Lazer Light (Erica Sklenars) Live visuals by Lady Lazer Light (Erica Sklenars) | © Erica Sklenars Seit 2000 gibt es in Dunedin das Lines of Flight, ein Festival für experimentelle Musik, das alle zwei Jahre verschiedene Orte wie Chick’s Hotel und The Anteroom in Port Chalmers verbindet. Seit 2014 findet in den jeweils anderen Jahren ein verschwestertes Festival statt: das vom Filmemacher Campbell Walker und dem Musiker Peter Porteous organisierte Refining Light. Das Festival zelebriert besonders den visuellen Anteil an den Gemeinschaftsarbeiten, gibt dem Expanded Cinema neben experimentellen Klängen viel Raum. Beide Festivals waren Geburtsstätten für eine Reihe audiovisueller Kollaborationen zwischen in Dunedin lebenden Künstlern wie der von Kim Pieters mit Peter Stapleton und Peter Porteous sowie der von Campbell Walker mit Sally Anne McIntyre, um nur einige zu nennen.