Quick access:

Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

21st Schillertage Mannheim

Schillertage Mannheim © Schillertage Mannheim
The Internationale Schillertage
Mannheim

 
The Internationale Schillertage have been a biennial festival of the Nationaltheater Mannheim since 1978. Since 2019, under the direction of Christian Holtzhauer, the Internationale Schillertage are not primarily dedicated to the dramatic work, but above all to Schiller’s worlds of ideas and their reflection in the present day.
 
From the very beginning, the Schillertage have been distinguished, among other things, by their accompanying theatre-theoretical, -historical and –practical programme. Since 2019, the Festival Academy, under the direction of theatre scholar Laura Strack and dramaturg Johanna-Yasirra Kluhs, has developed into a democratic place of learning and exchange between the disciplines.

 
21st Internationale Schillertage & Festival Academy
Nationaltheater Mannheim, 17.-27.06.2021
 
In common, here and now?
Directed by: Laura Strack and Johanna-Yassira Kluhs

 
The 21st Internationale Schillertage will be guided by the term “TOGETHER” in 2021. As part of the Festival Academy, students, artists, curators and academics will reflect on the artistic programme and take an in-depth look at the festival theme.
“Together” or “In common”? A momentous difference. While “together” emphasizes unity, “in common” is something that lies between us and joins us. So what does it mean to go to the theatre together? And to what extent is the theatre a shared space?
 
Different bodies gather around an artistic event. They don’t know each other, but they share the space: in the seat next to the unknown person, over a glass of wine in the foyer, in the follow-up discussion with the artists. Inspiration and surprise, risk and challenge, repulsion and attraction – theatre makes the space between us touchable and opens horizons of concern for each other. But at a time when the social and physical space appears as a danger zone and the uttermost protection of the individual is demanded daily, the conventional architectures, practices and functions of theatre become questionable.
 
This year, the Festival Academy of the Internationale Schillertage will consist of three two-day workshops, each based on a different artistic practice. Together with choreographs, artistic researches and dissent and community, we will try to continue the work in the common and for the common: How can we refer to each other in a distanced way? How can we practice the distance between us in solidary dissent? How can we continue to care for the spaces in between – in theatre, in everyday social life and in international and global contexts?
 
With Esther Struck & Alexandra Knieps (SEE!), Stine Hertel, Alice Ferl, Jones Seitz (Lukas und), Giulia Crisci etc.
 
The languages of the Festival Academy and the Festival are German and English.
 
 

Top

Schnelleinstieg:

Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

21. Schillertage Mannheim

Schillertage Mannheim © Schillertage Mannheim
Die Internationalen Schillertage
Mannheim

 
Die Internationale Schillertage sind ein seit 1978 alle zwei Jahre stattfindendes Festival des Nationaltheaters Mannheim. Unter der Leitung von Christian Holtzhauer widmen sich die Internationalen Schillertage seit 2019 nicht vorrangig dem dramatischen Werk, sondern vor allem der Ideenwelt Schillers und ihrer Reflexion in der heutigen Zeit.
 
Von Anfang an zeichneten sich die Schillertage unter anderem durch ihr theatertheoretisches, - historisches und –praktisches Begleitprogramm aus. Seit 2019 entwickelt sich die Festivalakademie unter der Leitung der Theaterwissenschaftlerin Laura Strack und der Dramaturgin Johanna-Yassira Kluhs zum demokratischen Lern-und Austauschort zwischen den Disziplinen.
 
21. Internationale Schillertage & Festivalakademie
Nationaltheater Mannheim, 17.-27.06.2021

 
Gemeinsam hier?
Leitung: Laura Strack und Johanna-Yassira Kluhs
 
2021 stehen die Internationalen Schillertage unter dem Motto „ZUSAMMEN“. Im Rahmen der Festivalakademie reflektieren Studierende, Künstler*innen, Kurator*innen und Wissenschaftler*innen das künstlerische Programm und setzten sich vertiefend mit dem Festivalthema auseinander.
„Zusammen“ oder „gemeinsam“ ? Eine Nuance, die es in sich hat. Denn während zusammen Einheit oder gar Einheitlichkeit betont, ist gemeinsam etwas, was zwischen uns liegt und uns miteinander verbindet. Was heißt es also, zusammen ins Theater zu gehen? Und inwiefern ist das Theater ein gemeinsamer Raum?

Verschiedene Körper versammeln sich rund um einen künstlerischen Anlass. Sie kenne einander nicht, teilen jedoch den Raum: auf dem Sitz neben dem*r Unbekannten, beim Glas Wein im Foyer, im Nachgespräch mit den Künstler*innen. Inspiration und Überraschung, Risiko und Überforderung, Abstoßung und Anziehung – Theater macht den Raum zwischen uns berührbar und eröffnet Horizonte der Sorge umeinander. Doch in einer Zeit, in welcher der soziale und körperliche Zwischenraum als Gefahrzone erscheint und täglich der größtmögliche Schutz des gefährdeten Individuums gefordert wird, werden die herkömmliche Architekturen, Praktiken und Funktionen des Theaters fragwürdig.
 
In diesem Jahr wird die Festivalakademie der Internationalen Schillertage aus drei je zweitägigen Workshops bestehen, die jeweils von einer konkreten künstlerischen Praxis ausgehen. Zusammen mit Choreograf*innen, Streitkünstler*innen und Vermittler*innen versuchen wir, die Arbeit im Gemeinsamen und für das Gemeinsame fortzusetzen: Wie lässt sich distanziert aufeinander Bezug nehmen? Wie können wir den Abstand zwischen uns im solidarischen Dissens üben? Wie können wir weiterhin für die Zwischenräume Sorge tragen – im Theater, im sozialen Alltag sowie in internationalen und globalen Zusammenhänge?
 
Mit Esther Struck & Alexandra Knieps (SEE!), Stine Hertel, Alice Ferl, Jones Seitz (Lukas und), Giulia Crisci u.a.
 

Top