Staff

We invite you to contact each staff member of the Goethe-Institut New York directly. Please refer to the department staff lists to find out who can best assist you. We look forward to hearing from you.

Georg Blochmann Georg Blochmann
Executive Director
georg.blochmann@goethe.de
Andrea Pfeil Andrea Pfeil
Director Language Program
Deputy Executive Director
Tel.: +1 212 439 8719
andrea.pfeil@goethe.de

For further questions, please send an email to:
program@newyork.goethe.org



Georg Blochmann Georg Blochmann
Executive Director
georg.blochmann@goethe.de
Sara Stevenson Sara Stevenson
Residency Program Director Ludlow 38
Program Curator: Visual arts, film, music, academic programs
sara.stevenson@goethe.de
Saim Saim Demircan
Ludlow 38 Curatorial Resident 2017
saim.demircan@goethe.de
To contact the Library:
Tel:  +1 877 GOETHE-1 (toll-free within the USA)
Tel:  +1 212 4398688
Fax: +1 212 4398705
circulation@newyork.goethe.org

Katherine Lorimer Katherine Lorimer
Library Director
katherine.lorimer@goethe.de
Walter Schlect Walter Schlect
Librarian
Tel.: +1 212 4398697
Fax: +1 212 4398705
walter.schlect@goethe.de
Andrea Pfeil Andrea Pfeil
Director Language Program
Deputy Executive Director
Tel.: +1 212 439 8719
andrea.pfeil@goethe.de
Dr. Olga Liamkina Dr. Olga Liamkina
Educational Liaison
olga.liamkina@goethe.de
Simona Gnade Simona Gnade
Educational Liaison
Language Program Officer
Tel.: +1 212 439 8718
simona.gnade@goethe.de
Steffi Krause Steffi Krause
Language Program Officer
steffi.krause@goethe.de
 
Foto Ebru Birgin Ebru Ahuja
Teacher
Ebru.Ahuja@goethe.de

I am from Hamburg, a port city in the north of Germany where I did my masters degree in Social and Economy History. After working several years in the field of press relations and corporate communications I started my skill enhancement in order to teach German as a foreign language in 2016. Apart from German and English I do speak Turkish, Portuguese and a little French. So, I am passionate about languages and their importance for intercultural understanding. In 2016 I moved to New York and I am still fascinated by this multicultural city - the perfect base to learn and make use of languages. My goal is to teach German in a way that is motivating and fun for my learners.
   
Anne-Sophie Albrecht Anne-Sophie Albrecht
Teacher
anne-sophie.albrecht@goethe.de

Before moving from the Bavarian Alps to New York City, I worked as a Speech-Language-Pathologist, specializing in neurological diseases and helping patients who lost their ability to speak. I hold a Master’s degree in Speech-Therapy. I am also a certified teacher for German as a foreign language. I love music and have been playing the harp for almost 30 years. Connecting and learning about other cultures enriches and expands my vision of the world.​
   
Elena Mezger Elena Alston
Lehrkraft
elena.alston@goethe.de

I grew up in the Southern city of Stuttgart and studied at the University of Tübingen. I obtained my teaching degree in German and English with a focus on literary studies, linguistics, and education. Beginning in my first semester, I worked as an assistant in the department for German as a Foreign Language at the university and discovered my passion for teaching my mother tongue. Since then I have been following this passion and worked at different institutions in both the USA and Germany. The most fascinating aspect of teaching German is the combination of Lehren (teaching) and Lernen (learning) – for both my students and me. Learning a language takes you on an enriching journey that does not end in the classroom.
   
Veronika Benkert © Jacobia Dahm Veronika Benkert
Teacher
veronika.benkert@goethe.de

I was raised in a small town near the beautiful city of Heidelberg. I found my passion for educating and teaching during my time as an au pair in Washington, D.C., after graduating from high school. I received a master´s degree in Education as well as in English and Spanish from the University of Wuerzburg and completed an 18 month teacher training in the state of Baden-Wuerttemberg. Before moving to New York, I worked as a secondary teacher for German, English and Spanish, not only in Germany but also in Switzerland. I have been teaching German as a Foreign Language at the GoetheInstitut since January 2016, and I love sharing the pleasure of the German language and culture with my students.
   
Steffi Krause Foto: Jacobia Dahm Steffi Krause
Teacher
steffi.krause@goethe.de

I was raised in Berlin but lived in a beautiful city named Passau (in Bavaria) for the last 6 years. In Passau, I did my degree in Media Studies, focussing on German Literature and German Film. In 2012 I started working as a lecturer and research assistant at the University. I worked at the chair for Media Education. I  also taught German courses for different groups of foreign students or refugees from 2012-2015. What I love about teaching language courses is the story behind each learner’s motivation. I want to help my students to enjoy not only the language but his or her intercultural experience.
   
Mernosch Mirzaei-Reyes Goethe-Institut / Steffi Krause Mernosch Mirzaei-Reyes
Teacher
Mehrnosch.Mirzaei-Reyes@goethe.de

I grew up in the historic city of Wuerzburg and lived in Berlin for 11 years, where I worked in the advertisement field. I hold degrees in Business Psychology and in Translation (English and Spanish). In 2012 I started teaching German to international students and artists. I enjoyed working as a German teacher and, therefore started organizing group conversation as well as individual classes. It is a pleasure for me to teach German, and always a rewarding experience, when I can help my learners to make progress. In 2013 I decided to move to New York City. This place fascinates me due to its unique cultural structure and layered diversity. I am happy to help people here, to open the door to the wonderful German language and its rich culture.  
 
Anna Polster © Jacobia Dahm Anna Polster
Teacher
anna.polster@goethe.de

I was born in the wonderful city of Dresden but I grew up in Hungary, where I did my BA before I moved to Freiburg in Germany for my Master in Intercultural German Studies. I was trained in an integration course for immigrants and refugees and I also had the remarkable experience of teaching in a German prison. After my studies I moved to France, where I was teaching business language in the Chambre de Commerce, Grenoble. Since March 2016 I am teaching in New York. I love to discover not only new countries but also languages, digging as deep as possible to find the most astonishing treasures and I can’t wait to share this joy with my students!
   
Foto Irina Sarrar © Jacobia Dahm Irina Sarrar
Teacher
irina.sarrar@goethe.de

I was born and raised in St. Petersburg, Russia. Because of my love to languages I decided to study German and English in St. Petersburg and Berlin. After graduation I worked as a teacher for German as a foreign language in Russia, Germany and Vietnam. I’ve been teaching German at the Goethe-Institute since 2010 and I am more than happy to be teaching in New York since December 2015. My goal is to help my students not only learn a new language, but also get to know the culture better and enjoy the learning process.
   
Emily Hackmann Foto: Jacobia Dahm Emily Wallace
Teacher
emily.hackmann@goethe.de

I am from Marthasville, Missouri, a small town near St. Louis. I studied at the University of Missouri, where I earned a B.A. in German and Linguistics as well as a Masters in German Literature. I have been learning German myself for almost 20 years. During the last 10 years I have gained experience teaching German at the University of Missouri, the University of Kansas, and Truman State University. I began teaching at the Goethe Institute in September of 2015. In May of 2016 I completed my PhD in German Applied Linguistics and Second Language Acquisition at the University of Kansas. In my dissertation I investigated the acquisition of tense in German through the use of narrative blogs.
Natascha Lehner Natascha Lehner
Executive Director
Tel.: +1 212 439 8700
Fax: +1 212 439 8705
natascha.lehner@goethe.de
Stefanie Proessl Stefanie Proessl
Program Officer
GAPP-Counselor
stefanie.proessl@goethe.de
Helga Lehmann Helga Lehmann
Administrative Assistant
helga.lehmann@goethe.de
Felix Baumann Felix Baumann
Director of Administration/Accounting
felix.baumann@goethe.de
Lee Grice Lee Grice
Media Technician
Guard
lee.grice@goethe.de
Michael Sanabria Michael Sanabria
Media Technician
Guard
michael.sanabria@goethe.de
Marc Paradise Marc Paradise
Media Technician
marc.paradise@goethe.de
 Marlen Mitschke-Elgasmi
General Administration/Human Resources
marlen.mitschke-elgasmi@goethe.de
Geoff Geoffrey Dobbs
Reception
geoffrey.dobbs@goethe.de