Examination Centers


Goethe-Institut examinations set the global standard in German language proficiency testing, and passing certificates are accepted by employers and higher education institutions across the German-speaking world. Goethe-Institut examinations correspond to the levels set out in the Common European Framework of Reference for Languages (CEFR) and range from A1 for beginners to C2 for native-level speakers. Each exam consists of four portions: writing, reading, listening, and speaking. All exams are administered by professionally trained and Goethe-Institut certified language examiners.

In the US, our examinations are offered at six Goethe-Institut branch offices ― Boston, Chicago, Los Angeles, New York, San Francisco, Washington DC — and at more than 50 examination centers accredited to conduct the examinations on behalf of the Goethe-Institut across the country. Examination centers are subject to guidance by responsible Goethe-Institut branch offices, and most centers also offer language courses to prepare candidates for the exam.

South

Supervision: Goethe-Institut Washington

Tuscaloosa
University of Alabama 
Dept. of Modern Languages & Classics 
P.O. Box 870246 
Tuscaloosa, AL 35406
Tel. +1 205 3486954 
Fax +1 205 3482024 
Rasma Lazda
rzlada@bama.ua.edu
Dept. of Modern Languages & Classics
 
Fayetteville 
University of Arkansas 
Department of Foreign Languages 
Jennifer Hoyer
425 Kimpel Hall 
Fayetteville, AR 72701-1201 
Tel. +1 479 5752951 
Fax +1 479 5756795 
Jennifer Hoyer 
jhoyer@uark.edu
Department of Foreign Languages
 
Goethe-Zentrum Atlanta
Colony Square, Plaza Level
1197 Peachtree St., NE
Atlanta, Georgia 30361-2401, USA
Tel. +1 404 8922388
Fax +1 404 8750475
info@german-institute.org
Goethe-Zentrum Atlanta
Davidson 
Davidson College 
Burkhard Henke 
buhenke@davidson.edu 
Department of German
P.O. Box 6956 
Davidson, NC 28035-7127 


Durham 
Duke University 
Dept. of Germanic Languages and Literatures 
Dr. Corinna Kahnke 
Durham, NC 27708-0256 
Tel. + 1 919 6605984 
corinna.kahnke@duke.edu


Winston-Salem 
Wake Forest University 
German Department 
Heiko Wigger 
wiggerh@wfu.edu 
1834 Wake Forest Road 
Winston-Salem, NC 27106 
Tel.: +1 336 7585360 
German Department 
 
Albuquerque
University of New Mexico
Albuquerque, NM 87131
Tel +505 2779115
Katja Schröter
kaddisch@gmail.com 
San Juan 
Alliance Francaise 
Eva Rivera
San Juan, PR 00911-0383 
Tel.: +1 787 7281515 ext. 1231
director@afpuertorico.org 
Charleston 
College of Charleston 
Stephen della Lana, M.A.T. 
dellalanas@cofc.edu
Department of German 
66 George Street 
Charleston, SC 29424-0001
Tel. +1 843 9535774 
Fax +1 843 9536342

 
Dallas
Deutsches KulturNetz Texas
Dallas Goethe Center
Inc. P.O.Box 600533
Dallas, TX 75360-0533
Tel.: +1 972 207-4319
Executive Director
Dr. Barbara Berthold
bberthold@dallasgoethecenter.org

Fort Worth
Texas Christian University 
Scott Williams 
scottw@tcu.edu 
Department of Modern Languages & Literatures 
Box 297210 
Fort Worth, TX 76129 
Tel. +1 817 2577163 
Fax +1 817 2577709 


Houston
German Institute for the Southwest

Mailing address
German Institute for the Southwest
P. O. Box 550465
Houston, TX 77255

Location of courses (no deliveries)
2700 Southwest Freeway
Houston, TX 77098

Barbara Olbricht
barbara@germansouthwest.org
Tel.: +1 832-495-9127

San Antonio 
University of Texas at San Antonio 
Christopher Wickham 
christopher.wickham@utsa.edu 
Department of Modern Languages and Literatures 
One UTSA Circle 
San Antonio, TX 78249 
Tel. +1 210 4587340 
Fax +1 210 4585672

Central

Supervision: Goethe-Institut Chicago

Goethe-Institut Chicago
150 North Michigan Avenue
Suite 200
Chicago, lllinois 60601, USA 
Tel. +1 312 2630472
Fax +1 312 2630476
info@chicago.goethe.org
Goethe-Institut Chicago

Evanston 
Northwestern University 
Department of German 
Kresge Hall 2-375 
1880 Campus Drive 
Evanston, Il, 60208-2203
Tel.: +847 491 8295
Katrin Völkner
k-voelkner@northwestern.edu 
Supervision: Goethe-Institut Chicago
Bloomington
Indiana State University
Germanic Studies Department
Dr. Susanne Even
1020 Kirkwood Avenue
Ballantine Hall 644
Bloomington, IN 47405-7103
Tel.: +1 812 855-7562
Dr. Susanne Even
evens@indiana.edu


West Lafayette
Purdue University
Dept. of Foreign Languages and Literatures
Prof. Marc Rathmann
1359 Stanley Coulter Hall
W. Lafayette, IN 47907
Tel.: +1 765 494-3865
Prof. Marc Rathmann
mrathman@purdue.edu​
Lawrence
University of Kansas
Department of Germanic Languages and Literatures
Jimmy D. Morrison
Wescoe Hall
1445 Jayhawk Blvd, Room 2080
Lawrence, KS 66045-7590
Tel.: +1 785 864-9173
Jimmy D. Morrison
jdmorr@ku.edu

Olathe 
South Highschool 
1640 E. 151st St.
Olathe, Ks, 66062
Tel. +1 913 780 7160 
Fax +1 913 780 7160 
Scott Seeger
sseegeros@olatheschools.org
Kalamazoo
Kalamazoo College
German Department
Dr. Michael Sosulski
1200 Academy Street
Kalamazoo, MI 49006-3295
Tel.: +1 269 337 7048
Fax: +1 269 337 5740
Dr. Michael Sosulski
Michael.Sosulski@kzoo.edu
St. Paul
Germanic-American Institute
Dr. Katrin Erdmann
301 Summit Avenue
St. Paul, MN 55102
Tel.: +1 651 2227027
Fax: +1 651 2226295
Dr. Katrin Erdmann
kerdmann@gai-mn.org
Omaha
Creighton University
Modern Languages & Literatures
Prof. Sybille Bartels
2500 California Plaza
Omaha, NE 68178
Tel.: +1 402 280-2508
Prof. Sybille Bartels
SybilleBartels@creighton.edu


Omaha
University of Nebraska at Omaha
Department of Foreign Languages and Literatures
Prof. Gwyneth Cliver
Arts and Sciences Hall, Room 301
6001 Dodge Street
Omaha, NE 68182-0192
Tel.: +1 402 554-3820
Prof. Gwyneth Cliver
gcliver@unomaha.edu
Cincinnati
Xavier University
Department of Classics and Modern Languages
910 Schott Hall
Academic Hall 1
3800 Victory Parkway
Cincinnati, OH 45207
Tel.: +1 513 745-3549
Irene Luken
lukeni@xavier.edu

Dayton
Wright State University
Department of Modern Languages
Millett Hall 325
3640 Colonel Glenn Hwy
Dayton, OH 45435-0001
Tel.: +1 937 775-2195
Renate Sturdevant
renate.sturdevant@wright.edu

Toledo
Toledo University
Departement of Foreign Languages
2801 W. Bancroft St.
Toledo, OH, 43606
Tel.: +1 419 530-7903
Friederike Emonds
friederike.emonds@toledo.edu
 
Eau Claire
University of Wisconsin - Eau Claire
Department of Foreign Languages
Prof. Johannes Strohschänk
105 Garfield Avenue
Eau Claire, WI 54702
Tel.: +1 715 836-4287
Fax: +1 715 836-2380
Joshua Brown
Brownjo@uwec.edu

West

Supervision: Goethe-Institut San Francisco

Claremont
Scripps College 
1011 Berkeley Avenue
Claremont, CA 91711-3948
Tel.: +1 909 6211673 
Fax: +1 909 6218393 
Roswitha Burwick
rburwick@scrippscollege.edu

Los Angeles
Loyola Marymount University
University Hall 1 LMU Drive,
Suite 3904
Los Angeles, CA 90045-2659
Tel.: +1 310 338-3055
Fax: +1 310 338-6433
Associate Professor of German ⁄
Director of European Studies Modern langauges & Literatures
Prof. Dr. Petra Liedke-Konow
pkonow@lmu.edu

Los Angeles
University of Southern California
University Park Campus,
Taper Hall 353
3501 Trousdale Parkway # 449
Los Angeles, CA 90089
Tel. 213 740-0351​
Dr. Britta Bothe
bothe@usc.edu

Rohnert Park 
Sonoma State University 
Dept. of Foreign Languages and Literatures
Dr. Philipp Beard
1801 East Cotati Ave
Rohnert Park, CA 94928 
Tel.: +1 707 664 2637
Fax: +1 707 664 2363 
Dr. Michaela Grobbel
grobbel@sonoma.edu

Goethe-Institut San Francisco
530 Bush Street, 2nd Floor
San Francisco, CA 94108
phone: +1 415 2638760
fax +1 415 3918715
info@sanfrancisco.goethe.org
Eugene
University of Oregon
German and Scandinavian Dept.
1250 Eugene
OR 97402-1250
Tel.. 00 15 41 3 46 40 53
Fax: 00 15 41 3 46 41 26
Herr Prof. Matthias Vogel
mattvogel5363@comcast.net

Monmouth
Western Oregon University
German Department
345 N. Monmout Ave
Monmouth, OR 97361
Tel. +1 503 838-8715
Frau Dr. Gudrun Hoobler
hoobleg@wou.edu

Portland 
Portland State University 
Department Of Foreign Languages & Literatures
Herr Dr. Steven Fuller
Box 751
Portland, OR 97207-0751
Tel.. +1 503 725 3522
Fax: +1 503 725 5276
fullers@pdx.edu

 
Boulder
Senior Instructor 
Department of Germanic and Slavic Languages and Literatures University of Colorado-Boulder 
276 UCB, MKNA 225B 
Boulder, CO 80309-0276 
Tel. +1 303 735-2581 
Fax +1 303 492-5376 
Dr. Saskia Hintz 
Saskia.Hintz@Colorado.edu
Supervision: GI San Francisco
Seattle 
University of Washington
Department of Germanics
Box 353130
Seattle, WA 98195
Tel. +1 206 5434580
Fax +1 206 6859063 
Herr Prof. Klaus Brandl
brandl@uw.edu 
Misha Neininger
nein@uw.edu
nein@u.washington.edu
Tucson
University of Arizona 
Dept. of German Studies
Frau Chantelle Warner
Tucson, AZ 85721-0105 
Tel. +1 520-6213202
Fax: +1 520-6268268
warnerc@email.arizona.edu

East

Supervision: Goethe-Institut New York

Ithaca
Cornell University
Department of German Studies
Gunhild Iris Lischke
75 Goldwin Smith Hall
Ithaca, NY 14853-3201
Tel. +1 607 2555265
gl15@cornell.edu

Exam dates Cornell University:

8/26/2016
4/19/2017


New York 
Goethe-Institut 
Svenja Fahrenholz
New York, NY 10012 
Tel.: +1 212 4398700 
language@newyork.goethe.org 



New York 
Hunter College 
Elke Nicolai
enicolai@hunter.cuny.edu 
German Department 
Room 1406 Hunter West 
695 Park Avenue 
New York, NY 10065 
Tel. +1 212 7724000 
Fax +1 212 7725746 


Binghamton
Binghamton University
State University of New York
4400 Vestal Parkway East
Binghamton, NY 13902
Tel. +1 607 7772000
Rosmarie Morewedge
rmorewed@binghamton.edu
Kingston 
University of Rhode Island
Dept. of Modern Languages 
61 Upper College Road
Kingston, RI 02881-0812
Tel.: +1 401 874 4700
Fax: +1 401 874 4694
Sigrid Berka
sigrid_berka@uri.edu