Staff

  • Goethe-Institut Washington © Goethe-Institut, Mike Morgan
    Goethe-Institut Washington

Please make a selection from the departments based on who you think might be able to assist you best. Please don't hesitate to contact us. We are here to help.

Dr. Andreas Ströhl
Director Goethe-Institut Washington
Regional Director North America
Tel.: +1 (202) 847 4700
Andreas.Stroehl@goethe.de
Dr. Anne Schönhagen
Director Language Programs North America
Deputy Executive Director
Tel.: +1 (202) 847 4703
Anne.Schoenhagen@goethe.de
Sophia Depis
Director Operations & Finance North America
Deputy Executive Director
Tel.: +1 (202) 847 4702
Fax: +1 (202) 847 4727
Sophia.Depis@goethe.de
Kyra Howe
Assistant to the Regional Directors
Tel.: +1 (202) 847-4708
Kyra.Howe@goethe.de
Sophia Depis
Director Operations & Finance North America
Deputy Executive Director
Tel.: +1 (202) 847 4702
Fax: +1 (202) 847 4727
Sophia.Depis@goethe.de
Birgit Nielsen
US Accounting Center
Quality Management Representative
Tel.: +1 (202) 847 4724
Birgit Nielsen@goethe.de
Verena Hütter Verena Hütter
Director Information Services North America
Tel.: +1 (202) 847 4705
Verena.Huetter@goethe.de
Nicola Hofstetter Nicola Hofstetter
Social Media Manager
Digital Communication
Tel.: +1 (202) 847 4726
Nicola.Hofstetter@goethe.de
Savannah Beck Savannah Beck
Online Editor
Tel.: +1 (202) 847-4725
Savannah.Beck@goethe.de
Caroline Brendel
Director of Cultural Programs North America
Tel.: +1 (202) 847 4704
Caroline.Brendel@goethe.de
Elizabeth Schreiber-Byers
Cultural Programs Curator
Tel.: +1 (202) 847 4706
Elizabeth.Schreiber-Byers@goethe.de
Raleigh Joyner
Cultural Programs Coordinator
Tel.: +1 (202) 847-4707
Raleigh.Joyner@goethe.de
Dr. Anne Schönhagen
Director Language Programs North America
Deputy Executive Director
Tel.: +1 (202) 847 4703
Anne.Schoenhagen@goethe.de
Stephanie Hafner Dr. Stephanie Hafner
PASCH Language Consultant North America
Tel.: +1 (202) 847 4719
Stephanie.Hafner@goethe.de
Thomas Flanagan
Language Program Officer for “Schools: Partners for the Future” (PASCH)
Tel.: +1 (202) 847 4737
Thomas.Flanagan@goethe.de
Allison Czok Allison Paul
Language Program Officer
Tel.: +1 (202) 847-4717
Allison.Paul@goethe.de
Eileen Sellman Eileen Sellman
Language Program Officer
Tel.: +1 (202) 847 4718
Eileen.Sellman@goethe.de
Jan Marie Steele Jan Marie Steele
Education Coordinator
Tel.: +1 (202) 847 4714
Jan.Steele@goethe.de
Craig Childers Craig Childers
Director, German Courses & Exams
Tel.: +1 (202) 847-4732
Craig.Childers@goethe.de
Giang Bui Dr. Giang Bui
German Courses & Exams
Mon-Fri 10am-1:30pm
Tel.: +1 (202) 847-4730
Giang.Bui@goethe.de
Christopher Stohs Christopher Stohs
German Courses & Exams
Mon-Fri 1:30pm-5:30pm
Tel.: +1 (202) 847-4730
Christopher.Stohs@goethe.de
Jessica Csoma Jessica Csoma
Teacher
Jessica.Csoma@goethe.de

“I am originally from the beautiful university town of Münster in northwestern Germany but now call DC home. I have a Master’s degree in English, History and Economics from the Westfälische Wilhelms-Universität Münster and certifications to teach both German and English as a foreign language. Languages—and travel—are my passion. I look forward to meeting you!”
 
  Ursula Dannebom
Teacher
Ursula.Dannebom@goethe.de
 
Monika Hoffarth-Zelloe Monika Hoffarth-Zelloe
Examiner / Examiner Trainer

“I am from the beautiful Odenwald region in Hessen. Growing up in a small town enticed me to travel all over the world, explore other cultures, and learn as many languages as possible. I ended up studying in Würzburg, Caen/France, and Dartmouth College/U.S. and received my Doctorate from the University in Würzburg in the teaching of foreign languages (Fremdsprachendidaktik).”
 
  Paul Perterer
Teacher
Paul.Perterer@goethe.de

 
Karen Riechert Karen Riechert
Teacher and Examiner
Karen.Riechert@goethe.de
Anke Stoneman Anke Stoneman
Teacher and Examiner
Anke.Stoneman@goethe.de
Wendy Wilson Wendy Wilson
Teacher
Wendy.Wilson@goethe.de

“Growing up outside of Philadelphia, I was aware of my German heritage, which influenced my choice to learn German in high school. At 20, I moved to Austria for 8 years before returning to the US to receive my bachelor’s degree in German at Gordon College and my Ph.D. in German Studies at Georgetown University. Since graduating, I have taught at several US universities/colleges and have been teaching at the Goethe Institut since 2015.“
Wood Powell Wood Powell
Managing TOP Director
Tel.: +1 (202) 847 4712
Wood.Powell@goethe.de
Jenny Windell Jenny Windell
Program Manager
Tel.: +1 (202) 847 4713
Jenny.Windell@goethe.de
Jan Marie Steele Jan Marie Steele
Education Coordinator
Tel.: +1 (202) 847 4714
Jan.Steele@goethe.de
Lisa Nicolaus Lisa Nicolaus
Coordinator, Education Projects
Project Manager, Corporate Sponsorship / Institutional Giving
Tel.: +1 (202) 847 4738
Lisa.Nicolaus@goethe.de
Michael Schrade Michael Schrade
Director of Administration
IT-Administrator
Tel.: +1 (202) 847 4720
Fax: +1 (202) 847 4727
Michael.Schrade@goethe.de
Serge Homma
Assistant Administrator
Accounting
Tel.: +1 (202) 847 4721
Serge.Homma@goethe.de
Rüdiger Roberts
Administrative Assistant (Mon-Thu)
Event Inquiries (Mon-Thu)
Tel.: +1 (202) 847 4700
Rudiger.Roberts.Extern@goethe.de
Timon Fleiter Timon Fleiter
Administrative Assistant
Tel.: +1 (202) 847 4700
Timon.Fleiter@goethe.de
Steven Erdman
Media Technician
Tel.: +1 (202) 847 4723
Steven.Erdman@goethe.de