Staff

  • Goethe-Institut Washington © Goethe-Institut, Mike Morgan
    Goethe-Institut Washington
  • Regional Directors North America © Goethe-Institut, Mike Morgan
    Regional Directors North America
  • Language Programs and German Courses © Goethe-Institut, Mike Morgan
    Language Programs and German Courses
  • Cultural Programs © Goethe-Institut, Mike Morgan
    Cultural Programs
  • Internet and Public Relations © Goethe-Institut, Mike Morgan
    Internet and Public Relations
  • Transatlantic Outreach Program (TOP) © Goethe-Institut, Mike Morgan
    Transatlantic Outreach Program (TOP)
  • Administration & Accounting © Goethe-Institut, Mike Morgan
    Administration & Accounting

Please make a selection from the departments based on who you think might be able to assist you best. Please don't hesitate to contact us. We are here to help.

Dr. Andreas Ströhl
Director Goethe-Institut Washington
Regional Director North America
Tel.: +1 (202) 847 4700
Andreas.Stroehl@goethe.de
Christoph Veldhues Dr. Christoph Veldhues
Director Language Programs North America
Deputy Executive Director
Tel.: +1 (202) 847 4703
Christoph.Veldhues@goethe.de
Waltraud Sebastian Waltraud Sebastian
Director Operations & Finance North America
Deputy Executive Director
Tel.: +1 (202) 847 4702
Fax: +1 (202) 847 4727
Waltraud.Sebastian@goethe.de
Joshua Seale Joshua Seale
Assistant to the Regional Directors
Tel.: +1 (202) 847-4708
Joshua.Seale@goethe.de
Waltraud Sebastian Waltraud Sebastian
Director Operations & Finance North America
Deputy Executive Director
Tel.: +1 (202) 847 4702
Fax: +1 (202) 847 4727
Waltraud.Sebastian@goethe.de
Manuela Roth Manuela Roth
Assistant Administrator North America
Accounting North America
Tel.: +1 (202) 847 4724
Manuela.Roth@goethe.de
Verena Hütter Verena Hütter
Director Information Services North America
Tel.: +1 (202) 847 4705
Verena.Huetter@goethe.de
Nicola Hofstetter Nicola Hofstetter
Internet Coordinator
Social Media Coordinator
Tel.: +1 (202) 847 4726
Nicola.Hofstetter@goethe.de
Marlou Taenzer Marlou Taenzer
Online Editor
Tel.: +1 (202) 847 4725
Marlou.Taenzer@goethe.de
Zita Ratzenberger Zita Ratzenberger
Trainee
Tel.: +1 (202) 847-4736
Zita.Ratzenberger@goethe.de
Lena Joehnk Lena Jöhnk
Director of Cultural Programs North America
Tel.: +1 (202) 847 4704
Lena.Joehnk@goethe.de
Sylvia Blume Sylvia Blume
Cultural Programs Curator
Tel.: +1 (202) 847 4706
Fax: +1 (202) 847 4727
Sylvia.Blume@goethe.de
Peter Sproule
Cultural Programs Coordinator
Tel.: +1 (202) 847-4707
Peter.Sproule@goethe.de
Christoph Veldhues Dr. Christoph Veldhues
Director Language Programs North America
Deputy Executive Director
Tel.: +1 (202) 847 4703
Christoph.Veldhues@goethe.de
Eileen Sellman Eileen Sellman
Language Program Officer
Tel.: +1 (202) 847 4718
Eileen.Sellman@goethe.de
Anja Veldhues Dr. Anja Veldhues
Language Program Officer
Tel.: +1 (202) 847 4716
Anja.Veldhues@goethe.de
Allison Czok Allison Czok
Language Program Officer
OSKA Coordinator for the Region North America
Tel.: +1 (202) 847-4717
Allison.Czok@goethe.de
Stephanie Hafner Dr. Stephanie Hafner
PASCH Language Consultant North America
Tel.: +1 (202) 847 4719
Stephanie.Hafner@goethe.de
Craig Childers Craig Childers
Director, German Courses & Exams
Tel.: +1 (202) 847 4732
Craig.Childers@goethe.de
Christopher Stohs Christopher Stohs
German Courses & Exams
Tel.: +1 (202) 847-4730
Christopher.Stohs@goethe.de
Jessica Csoma Jessica Csoma
Teacher and Examiner
Jessica.Csoma@goethe.de

I am originally from the beautiful university town of Münster in northwestern Germany but now call DC home. I have a Master’s degree in English, History and Economics from the Westfälische Wilhelms-Universität Münster and certifications to teach both German and English as a foreign language. Languages—and travel—are my passion. I look forward to meeting you!
 
  Ursula Dannebom
Teacher
Ursula.Dannebom@goethe.de

 
  Monika Hoffarth-Zelloe
Examiner / Examiner Trainer

Guten Tag! Herzlich willkommen am Goethe-Institut Washington. I am from the beautiful Odenwald region in Hessen. Growing up in a small town enticed me to travel all over the world, explore other cultures, and learn as many languages as possible. I ended up studying in Würzburg, Caen/France, and Dartmouth College/U.S. and received my Doctorate from the University in Würzburg the teaching of foreign languages (Fremdsprachendidaktik). I am the official “examiner” here and train colleagues how to administer exams and look forward to testing you in the near future!
 
  Paul Perterer
Teacher
Paul.Perterer@goethe.de

 
Karen Riechert Karen Riechert
Teacher and Examiner
Karen.Riechert@goethe.de
Anke Stoneman Anke Stoneman
Teacher and Examiner
Anke.Stoneman@goethe.de
Wendy Wilson Wendy Wilson
Teacher
Wendy.Wilson@goethe.de

Growing up outside of Philadelphia, I was aware of my German heritage, which influenced my choice to learn German in high school. At 20, I moved to Austria for 8 years before returning to the US to receive my bachelor’s degree in German at Gordon College and my Ph.D. in German Studies at Georgetown University. Since graduating, I have taught at several US universities/colleges and have been teaching at the Goethe Institut since 2015.


Wood Powell Wood Powell
Managing TOP Director
Tel.: +1 (202) 847 4712
Wood.Powell@goethe.de
Jan Marie Steele Jan Marie Steele
Education Coordinator
Tel.: +1 (202) 847 4714
Jan.Steele@goethe.de
Jenny Windell Jenny Windell
Public Relations & Alumni Coordinator
Tel.: +1 (202) 847 4713
Jenny.Windell@goethe.de
Michael Schrade Michael Schrade
Director of Administration
IT-Administrator
Tel.: +1 (202) 847 4720
Fax: +1 (202) 847 4727
Michael.Schrade@goethe.de
Patrizia Ross Patrizia Ross
Assistant Administrator
Accounting
Tel.: +1 (202) 847 4721
Patrizia.Ross@goethe.de
Julie Proctor Julie Proctor
Administrative Assistant (Mon-Thu)
Event Inquiries (Mon-Thu)
Tel.: +1 (202) 847 4700
Julie.Proctor@goethe.de
Timon Fleiter Timon Fleiter
Administrative Assistant
Tel.: +1 (202) 847 4700
Timon.Fleiter@goethe.de
Steven Erdman Steven Erdman
Media Technician
Tel.: +1 (202) 847 4723
Steven.Erdman@goethe.de