Residency Relay

Black and white picture of a woman and animals in the snow Photo (detail): © Susanne Hætta/BONO 2020 The cross-border interdisciplinary project “The Right To Be Cold” focuses on the arctic and boreal region. The initiative, which mainly takes the form of a circumpolar chain of residencies and a virtual exchange in 2021, embraces issues relating to indigenous knowledge, ecology, climate justice and culture. The overarching theme is climate change, which is fundamentally challenging and changing living conditions in the northern regions.  

The Right To Be Cold* – Circumpolar Perspectives

Glaciers are melting, “eternal” ice is disappearing – it is getting warmer and warmer in the otherwise cold north. Climate change is making northern living conditions drastically more difficult. The international and interdisciplinary project “The Right to Be Cold” focuses on the so-called Arctic and Boreal region. In particular, it addresses questions of Indigenous knowledge, ecology, climate justice and culture, and the challenges the people in the regions affected by climate change are facing. 

The main format is a circumpolar chain of residencies and virtual exchange. Within this project, existing and new residency programmes in Nunavik, Finland, Yakutia, Norway and Sápmi establish a network for artists and researchers.

The programme “The Right To Be Cold” was developed with the advice of Tero Mustonen (Snowchange) and Elin Már Øyen Vister (Røst AiR). The Goethe-Institut would also like to express its appreciation to all those currently involved in the project: Aka Niviâna, Assinajaq, Avataq Cultural Institute, Dáiddadállu, Giovanna Esposito Yussif, Malakta, Patricia Rodas, Sámi Dáiddaguovddáš, Stina Aikio, Sunna Nousuniemi, National Art Museum of the Republic of Sakha.

Avataq Cultural Institute provides a strong foundation for the living culture of today’s Inuit. Since its inception in 1980, Avataq has built a solid reputation as the cultural leader for Nunavik Inuit and as an important resource for Inuit culture in Canada and beyond. Our goal is to ensure that Inuit culture and language continue to thrive into the future, so that our descendants can benefit from the rich heritage passed down to us through the wisdom of our ancestors. 
  
In the spring of 2009, Avataq Cultural Institute set up a new department called Aumaaggiivik, the Nunavik Arts Secretariat, with the goal of promoting the development of the arts in Nunavik, as well as encouraging economic development and the creation of long-term employment opportunities in the region’s arts and culture sector.  
 
Aumaaggiivik – which takes its name from the Inuktitut work that means "the place where sparks are sourced” – provides support to artists in every artistic discipline (the visual arts, music, media arts, literature, story-telling, etc.) by boosting their careers through a programme of arts grants and specialized training. 

Aumaaggiivik also provides artistic residencies, and supports the establishment of local infrastructure to provide work space for artists and to promote the arts both within and outside the region. In the context of ‘The right to be cold - Circumpolar perspectives’, the selected artist would be oriented to a community that suits its project's statement with the supervision of Aumaaggiivik’s staff. 
Malakta can be seen as an ecosystem built for and with artists in mind. Over the last 13 years, Malakta has built and improved the infrastructure in order to facilitate through different art based events, like residencies, workshop, labs, etc. the cultural exchange between the guest artists and the region. Since geographically Malakta is situated in the minority population area of swedishfinns and in the periphery of ‘the centralised art world’; our focus is on bringing more artists with a particular interest in the nature and the environment. Drawing a parallel with the Indigenous communities, a mutual interest can be achieved by sharing, investigating and understanding the human condition through the geopolitical circumstances, history, culture and also to improve our daily life in the symbioses with the environment. 
 
Malakta AiR focus on to bringing artists to Malakta art community which have nature as the inspiration subject in their art practice. Nature as a subject but also nature as a raw material. Nature as, by definition, something opposed to human creations, and Art, as a physical process of human creation. With the results of the residency is experience and rising awareness between natural and prefabricated habitat in which the contemporary society is moving towards. 
 
The aim of the Malakta AiR programme is to create encounters between art and nature, to increase an awareness of nature and art and to enable visiting artists to develop, create and share their work in a supportive and creative environment that includes a thriving artist community and purpose-built working spaces with nature around the corner. Malakta AiR continues to build a multi-art residency programme that has a clear and direct impact on local and regional communities, and that contributes to a more versatile and virile art scene and creates new forms of participatory and community art in the region. 

Spaces, equipment, resources: 
A private studio and 24 hour access to other work spaces and tools. Wood and metal workshop. A studio with a wooden dance floor. An editing suite (built as a mini-cinema). A photographic dark room. Accommodation - a choice of 3 double rooms with access to shared kitchen and bathroom facilities, a total capacity for 6 people at same time. Access to traditional Finnish wood-burning saunas (one larger and one small). A laundry room with a washing machine and dryer. The use of a car and bicycles. Large outdoor spaces suitable for activities and events with a fireplace/barbecue. 
 
Staff and support: 
Guest artists will be assigned one contact person, from the board of Malakta, who will guide and support the guest. Additional support from 1-2 artists from Malakta's communityl. Visits to other artists and organisations, partaking in other arts and culture events. 
The National Fine Arts Museum of the Republic of Sakha (Yakutia) – is a key center for art and culture in the world’s coldest inhabited city, Yakutsk. Founded in 1928, the museum crystallizes experience of many generations of artists who cultivated the image of the Northern region in the difficult historical conditions. The National Fine Arts Museum of the Republic of Sakha (Yakutia) is represented in eight platforms across the republic and in 2019 expanded with the House of Artists – one of the most significant places for the art scene from the 1960’s. 
  
We invite artists from multiple disciplines, whose practices are focused on themes raised by “The Right To Be Cold” project and address the local context. A dialogue with local residents is essential: artist-talks, artist-led workshops, and a public presentation of final work will be supported by the museum staff. 
  
We provide studio space in the House of Artists, a coordinator from the staff of the National Fine Arts Museum of the RS (Y), support in communication with local institutions and the art scene.
Røst AiR is a non-profit, multi- disciplinary, artist-in-residence and artist-run association. We are based on Røst and during the summer season we also move out to Skomvær Lighthouse on Skomvær island in the Røst archipelago, Northern Norway/Sápmi, (67°North), a stones throw from Nykan nature reserve, home to one of Northern Europe's largest pelagic seabird colonies.  
 
Our focus and interests include but are not limited to: The ecological transition, geo-politics, diversity, self-sufficiency, race, gender and intersections between ecology, de-colonial thought and action, post-colonial feminism and queer theory. Site-specific projects, process- work and interdisciplinary meetings are encouraged. Having said this we would like to underline that we are open to an infinite number of singular or communal expressions of artistic practices. 
 
Røst AiR is working on alternative ways of navigating, creating and being in this world, exploring for instance the post- fossil fuel potential. We are inspired by the coastal Sámi and Northern Norwegian fisherman- farmer tradition and are slowly restoring the old lighthouse vegetable and herb gardens.  
 
Residency: 
 
We host a varied number of artist in residencies during a year. We also organise and host workshops, seminars and happenings. Røst AiR works by invitation, but there will be a few spots available for open call and some for guest artists. All artistic and theoretical practices are welcome.  
 
The residency includes a combined living and working space, as well as support towards "green" travel expenses. The food is mainly organic and/or local, and is included in the stay, with one to two communal meals a day. A grant for green travel and stay is given to each artist. Sometimes we also offer material stipends.  
 
We have a eco-friendly profile and ask people to travel "green" and stay as long as they can. Artists in residency (and people travelling from abroad) should stay a minimum of one month(including the green journey). 

Address: Karasjok/Kárásjokha (Suomageaidnu 14, 9730 Karasjok) with trips to Kautokeino/Guovdageaidnu and Inari/Ánaar 
  
Contact info: kristoffer@samidaiddaguovddas.no 
  
This residency will be co-hosted by: 
  • The Sami Center for Contemporary Art/Sami Daiddaguovddas (Karasjok/Kárásjokha) 
  • Dáiddadállu – Artists Collective (Kautokeino/Guovdageaidnu) 
  • Sunna Nousuniemi (Inari/Ánaar)    
Life and work place is a 3-room (living, studying, working) space with access to a fully equipped kitchen at The Sami Center for Contemporary Art in (Karasjok/Kárásjokha). Trips to Kautokeino/Guovdageaidnu and Inari/Ánaar will be organised, with possibilities for a shorter stay on these locations.  
 
INFO: 

Dáiddadállu 

Dáiddadállu is a unique Sami artist collective founded in Guovdageaidnu/ Kautokeino, Sápmi in 2014.  
  
Today: The artists on Dáiddadállu possessing expertise in their respective fields and together we represent subjects like visual contemporary art, photography, film, television production, graphic design, writing, music, choreography, interior design, acting, yoik and music. All Dáiddadállu members have connections to Guovdageaidnu/Kautokeino, but traveling and working on projects around the world. Dáiddadállus overall objective is to create a strong and enabling environment for Sami artists. Our goal is professionalization of disciplines and profitability in the artists' businesses. 

Sámi Dáiddaguovddáš/ the Sami Centre for Contemporary Art (SDG)  

SDG was founded in 1986 by the Sami Artists’ Union, which along with the Sami Parliament of Norway created the Sámi Dáiddaguovddás foundation in 2013. The foundation continues the work started in 1986 in its new premises in Karasjok, which opened to the public in 2014.  
 
At the new centre, SDG carries out an extensive programme of exhibitions and events with a primary focus on Sami contemporary art, featuring artists from Norway, Sweden, and Finland but also other international artists. SDG aims to be a resource centre for Sami art and culture and also engages in external activities both nationally and internationally. SDG’s mission is to promote and present Sami visual art and similar endeavours, act as the leading resource centre for Sami contemporary art, and serve as a forceful, recognized, respected, and broadly visible actor on the contemporary art scene. SDG works on developing and expanding the encounters between Sami contemporary art and the general public. SDG also aims to present, arouse interest in, and help viewers appreciate contemporary art, provide a venue for new, experimental artistic practices, and work to ensure artistic freedom. 

Residents

          
Marie-Andreé Gill

​Marie-Andrée Gill

Marie-Andrée Gill is Pekuakamishkueu and identifies primarily as a poet. Mother, friend, lover, student, her research and creative work concern transpersonal and decolonial love. Bridging kitsch and existentialism, her writing is rooted in territory and interiority, combining her Quebec and Ilnu identities. She is the author of three books: BéanteFrayer, and Chauffer le dehors. In 2018 she was the winner of the Indigenous Voices Award. She lives in L’Anse-Saint-Jean, Quebec. Marie-Andreé Gill will be a resident in Sápmi and in Røst.
Marije Jenssen

​Marije Jenssen

Marije Jenssen is a Norwegian-Sámi painter and installation artist from Balsfjord, Norway. Her work is inspired by Northern Norwegian landscape, lifestyles and traditional materials and techniques within weaving. Her focus lies on highlighting the processes of cultivating traditional resources in a sustainable contemporary context. Marije graduated from UWC Adriatic (2014) and Kunstskolen i Bergen (2018). She spent the first two years of her Visual Art Bachelor at KMD in Bergen (2018-'20), and completed her degree at Tromsø Art Academy in May 2021. Marije Jenssen will be a resident in Nunavik.
Tanja Koistinen

Tanja Maria Koistinen

Tanja studies diverse identities in the North. Using multi-disciplinary working methods, such as artist-led community art workshops, environmental art and art & science collaboration, Tanja builds her art in the forms of visual arts, installation, documentation photography and storytelling through self-reflection, simplifying, portraying and color. Tanja Koistinen is a lappish person, who is connected to Inari Sámi culture through her ancestry, family homeland (Njellim, Sapmi) and livelihood. Currently she works and lives in Äkäslompolo, North-West Lapland, Finland.Tanja Koistinen will be a resident in Sakha.
Tatiana Philippova

Tatiana Philippova

Tatiana Philippova is a writer, focused on fragmentary prose. That’s how she as a queer person, a lesbian and a Sakha woman recollects her «self» by decolonizing her experience.  Her grandparents were forced to leave their land during the WW II, now global climate change gradually transforms their former home into some other place. Can modern Indigenous people of Yakutia find new homeland elsewhere or should they continue to live on their ancestors land – this is the question she tries to answer in her expression. Tatiana is a winner of Znamya literature magazine award 2020. She lives in Yakutsk.Tatiana Filippova will be a resident at Malakta and in Røst.
Svetlana Romanova

​Svetlana Romanova

Svetlana Romanova was born in Yakutsk, Russia and studied visual arts in Los Angeles. She has received her BFA at Otis College of Art and Design, and MFA at California Institute of the Arts. From 2009 to 2014, she lived and worked in arts education in California. After returning to Siberia in 2015, she started working on several film projects about her hometown and regions around it. Her video project is an investigation of two local Indigenous groups that she belongs to (Evenk and Sakha). Her work has been screened and shown in various art venues in California and Russia. Svetlana Romanova will be a resident in Nunavik and in Sápmi.
Niap (Nancy Sanders)

Nancy (Niap) Saunders

Based in Montreal, QC, Niap (Nancy Saunders) is an award-winning multidisciplinary artist who divides her time between the city and her home community of Kuujjuaq, Nunavik – a place that continues to deeply influence her work. Working across media, Niap thoughtfully investigates her cultural heritage and identity as an Inuk woman through her practice. Working across painting, performance, sculpture and photography, Niap has produced a wide ranging body of work from murals to immersive installations to portraiture. Niap will be a resident in Sakha and at Malakta. 
Maggie Narpatuk

Maggie Napartuk

Maggie Napartuk is a multidisciplinary artist from Nunavik. Ever since daycare as a child she loved making all kind of arts, mostly painting, jewelry making and printmaking. Her drawings are usually about Inuit culture and tradition. Her goal as an artist is to have her very own studio and she also wants to learn how to make soapstone printmaking like Inuit were accustomed to when they first started printmaking in the past. Today, she sells her art in Canada, the US and also France.

Residenzkette

Schwarzweißbild einer Frau und Tiere im Schnee Foto (Detail): © Susanne Hætta/BONO 2020 Der Fokus des grenzüberschreitenden interdisziplinären Projekts „The Right to Be Cold“ liegt auf der sogenannten arktischen und borealen Region. Das Einbeziehen von Fragen zu Indigenem Wissen, Ökologie, Klimagerechtigkeit und Kultur ist dabei von zentraler Bedeutung für die Initiative. Ihr Hauptformat ist eine zirkumpolare Residenzkette sowie ein digitaler Austausch im Jahr 2021. Übergeordnetes Thema ist der Klimawandel, der die nördlichen Lebensbedingungen grundlegend herausfordert und verändert.   

The Right To Be Cold* – Zirkumpolare Perspektiven 

Gletscher schmelzen, „ewiges“ Eis verschwindet – im eigentlich kalten Norden wird es immer wärmer. Der Klimawandel erschwert die nördlichen Lebensbedingungen drastisch. Das internationale und interdisziplinäre Projekt „The Right to Be Cold“ fokussiert sich auf die sogenannte arktische und boreale Region. Insbesondere wird sich dabei Fragen zu Indigenem Wissen, Ökologie, Klimagerechtigkeit und Kultur angenähert und den Herausforderungen, vor denen die Menschen in den vom Klimawandel betroffenen Regionen stehen.  

Das Hauptformat ist eine zirkumpolare Residenzkette sowie ein digitaler Austausch. Bestehende und neue Residenzprogramme in Nunavik, Finnland, Yakutien, Norwegen und Sápmi bilden ein Netzwerk für Künstler*innen und Forscher*innen im Rahmen dieses Projekts.  

Das Programm „The Right to Be Cold” wurde unter Beratung von Tero Mustonen (Snowchange) und Elin Már Øyen Vister (Røst AiR) entwickelt. Das Goethe-Institut möchte auch allen derzeit am Projekt Beteiligten seine Anerkennung aussprechen: Aka Niviâna, Assinajaq, Avataq Cultural Institute, Dáiddadállu, Giovanna Esposito Yussif, Malakta, Patricia Rodas, Sámi Dáiddaguovddáš, Stina Aikio, Sunna Nousuniemi, Nationales Kunstmuseum der Republik Sakha.  

Das Avataq Kulturinstitut bietet eine stabile Grundlage für die lebendige Kultur der heutigen Inuit. Seit seinen Anfängen in den 1980er-Jahren, hat sich Avataq eine solide Reputation als kultureller Repräsentant für Nunavik-Inuit erarbeitet und eine wichtige Ressource für die Kultur der Inuit in Kanada und darüber hinaus aufgebaut.  

Unser Ziel ist es, sicherzustellen, dass Kultur und Sprache der Inuit auch in Zukunft weiterleben, sodass unsere Nachkommen von dem reichen Erbe profitieren, das uns durch die Weisheit unserer Vorfahren überliefert wurde. 

Im Frühling 2009 richtete das Avataq Kulturinstitut eine neue Abteilung als Nunavik Kunstsekretariat unter dem Namen Aumaaggiivik ein. Ihr Ziel ist es, die Entwicklung der Künste in Nunavik zu fördern sowie die  wirtschaftliche Entwicklung anzuregen und langfristige Beschäftigungsmöglichkeiten im Kunst- und Kultursektor der Region zu schaffen. 

Aumaaggiivik – der Name stammt von einem Inuit-Wort und bedeutet „der Ort, an dem Funken gewonnen werden“ – bietet Künstler*innen aus allen künstlerischen Disziplinen (bildende Künste, Musik, Medien-Künste, Literatur, Erzählen, etc.) Unterstützung, indem man hier ihre Karriere durch ein Programm von Kunststipendien und spezielle Kurse fördert. 

Aumaaggiivik bietet außerdem „Artist-in Residence“-Aufenthalte und unterstützt die Errichtung von lokaler Infrastruktur, um den Künstler*innen Arbeitsstätten zu bieten und die Kunst sowohl in der Region als auch auswärts zu promoten. 
Malakta kann als ein Ökosystem angesehen werden, das für und mit Blick auf Künstler*innen gebaut wurde.  

In den vergangenen 13 Jahren hat Malakta die Infrastruktur immer weiter ausgebaut, um verschiedenste Veranstaltungen im künstlerischen Bereich zu ermöglichen. Dazu gehören Residenz-Programme, Workshops, Laboratorien, etc. zum kulturellen Austausch zwischen den Gastkünstler*innen und der Region. 

Da Malakta geografisch innerhalb der Bevölkerungsminderheit der Finnlandschwed*innen und zudem an der Peripherie der ‚zentralisierten Kunstwelt‘ liegt, richtet sich unser Fokus darauf, mehr Künstler*innen mit einem besonderen Interesse an Natur und Umwelt zu gewinnen. 

Zieht man eine Parallele zu den Indigenen Gemeinschaften, kann ein gegenseitiges Interesse erreicht werden, indem der menschliche Zustand durch die geopolitischen Umstände, die Geschichte, die Kultur geteilt, untersucht und verstanden wird und auch unser tägliches Leben in Symbiose mit der Umwelt verbessert wird. 

Malakta AiR konzentriert sich darauf, Künstler*innen für die Malakta-Kunstgemeinschaft zu gewinnen, die sich in ihrer Kunstpraxis von der Natur inspirieren lassen. Natur als Thema, aber auch Natur als Rohmaterial. Natur als per Definition etwas, das menschlichen Schöpfungen gegensätzlich ist, und Kunst als physischer Prozess menschlicher Schöpfung. Mit den Ergebnissen der Residenz ist Erfahrung und wachsendes Bewusstsein zwischen natürlichen und vorgefertigten Lebensräumen verbunden, in die sich die heutige Gesellschaft bewegt. 

Das Ziel der Malakta-AiR-Programme ist es, Begegnungen zwischen Kunst und Natur zu schaffen, das Bewusstsein für Natur und Kunst zu stärken und es Gastkünstler*innen zu ermöglichen, ihre Arbeiten in einer unterstützenden und kreativen Umgebung, zu entwickeln, zu schaffen und zu teilen. Dies umfasst auch eine blühende Kunstgemeinschaft und speziell gebaute Arbeitsräume mit der Natur vor der Haustür. Malakta-AiR baut seine Multi-Art-Residenz-Programme weiter aus, die eine klare und direkte Wirkung auf lokale und regionale Gemeinschaften haben. Das trägt zu einer vielseitigeren und virilen Kunstszene bei und schafft neue Formen partizipativer und gemeinschaftlicher Kunst in der Region. 
Das Nationale Kunstmuseum der Republik Sacha (Jakutien) ist ein wichtiges Zentrum für Kunst und Kultur der kältesten bewohnten Stadt der Welt: Jakutsk. 1928 gegründet, kristallisiert das Museum die Erfahrung vieler Generationen von Künstler*innen, die das Bild der nördlichen Region unter den schwierigen historischen Bedingungen kultivierten. Das Nationale Kunstmuseum der Republik Sacha ist mit acht Niederlassungen über die Republik verteilt vertreten und wurde 2019 mit dem „Haus der Künstler“ erweitert – einem der bedeutendsten Orte für die Kunstszene aus den 1960er-Jahren. 

Wir laden Künstler*innen aus verschiedensten Disziplinen ein, deren Arbeiten auf die Themen des Projekts von „The Right To Be Cold” abzielen und die an den lokalen Kontext gerichtet sind. Unerlässlich sind ein Dialog mit lokalen Resident*innen, Künstler*innengespräche, von den Künstler*innen geleitete Workshops. Eine öffentliche Präsentation der Abschlussarbeiten wird von den Museumsmitarbeiter*innen unterstützt. 

Ein Atelier im Künstler*innenhaus wird gestellt, ein* Koordinator*in aus den Mitarbeiter*innen des Nationalen Kunstmuseums der RS (J), unterstützt die Kommunikation mit lokalen Institutionen und der Kunstszene. 
Røst AiR ist eine multidisziplinäre Non-Profit-Vereinigung mit Artist-in-Residence- und Artist-run-Programmen. Sie hat ihren Sitz auf Røst und zusätzlich während der Sommermonate einen Standort im Leuchtturm auf Skomvær, einer Insel im Schärengürtel vor Røst (Nordnorwegen/Sápmi, 67. Breitengrad). Nur einen Steinwurf entfernt liegt das Naturreservat Nykan, auf dem sich die größte nordeuropäische Kolonie von Seevögeln befindet. 

Unsere Schwerpunkte und Interessen beinhalten folgende Bereiche, sind aber nicht auf sie beschränkt: ökologische Umstellung, Geopolitik, Diversität, Selbstversorgung, Rassen- und Gendertheorie und die Schnittstellen zwischen Ökologie, dekolonialem Denken und Handeln sowie postkolonialer Feminismus und Queer-Theorie. Standortspezifische Projekte, Prozessarbeit und interdisziplinäre Treffen werden gefördert. Trotzdem möchten wir unterstreichen, dass wir für jegliche Art von singulären oder gemeinschaftlichen Ausdrucksformen künstlerischer Praktiken offen sind. 

Røst AiR arbeitet an alternativen Wegen, um in dieser Welt zu navigieren, sie zu erschaffen und in ihr zu sein, und erforscht beispielsweise das Potenzial postfossiler Brennstoffe. Wir lassen uns inspirieren von der Tradition der Küsten-Sámi sowie der nordnorwegischen Fischerei und Landwirtschaft und legen allmählich die alten Gemüse- und Kräutergärten am Leuchtturm wieder an. 
 

Dáiddadállu 

Dáiddadállu ist ein einzigartiges Sámi-Kunstkollektiv in Guovdageaidnu/Kautokeino, Sápmi, das 2014 gegründet wurde.  

Die Künstler*innen auf Dáiddadállu verfügen über Fachkenntnisse in ihren jeweiligen Bereichen und zusammen vertreten wir Themen wie visuelle zeitgenössische Kunst, Fotografie, Film, Fernsehproduktion, Grafikdesign, Schreiben, Musik, Choreografie, Innenarchitektur, Schauspiel, Joik und Musik. Alle Dáiddadállu-Mitglieder halten Verbindung zu Guovdageaidnu/Kautokeino, reisen aber und arbeiten an Projekten auf der ganzen Welt. Das übergeordnete Ziel von Dáiddadállus ist es, ein starkes, aktives Umfeld für sámische Künstler*innen zu schaffen. Unser Ziel ist die Professionalisierung der Disziplinen sowie die Rentabilität der Geschäftstätigkeiten der Künstler/innen. 

Sámi Dáiddaguovddáš/Sámi-Center für Zeitgenössische Kunst (SDG)  

SDG wurde 1986 vom Sámi-Kunstverband gegründet, der 2013 zusammen mit dem Sámi-Parlament von Norwegen die Stiftung Sámi Dáiddaguovddás initiierte. Die Stiftung setzt die 1986 begonnenen Arbeiten in ihren neuen Räumlichkeiten in Karasjok fort, die 2014 der Öffentlichkeit zugänglich gemacht wurden. 

Im neuen Zentrum bietet SDG ein umfangreiches Programm von Ausstellungen und Events in erster Linie zu zeitgenössischer Kunst der Sámi von Künstler*innen aus Norwegen, Schweden und Finnland, aber auch von internationalen Künstler*innen. SDG soll ein „Ressourcenzentrum“ für zeitgenössischen Sámi-Kunst sein, es engagiert sich aber auch außerhalb bei nationalen und internationalen Aktivitäten. 

Es ist der Auftrag von SDG, die visuelle Kunst der Sámi und ähnliche Bestrebungen zu fördern und zu präsentieren, als führendes Ressourcenzentrum für die zeitgenössische Kunst der Sámi zu fungieren und als kraftvoller, anerkannter, respektierter und allgemein sichtbarer Akteur in der zeitgenössischen Kunstszene zu dienen. SDG arbeitet an der Entwicklung und Ausweitung der Begegnungen zwischen zeitgenössischer Sámi-Kunst und der Öffentlichkeit. Zu den SDG-Zielsetzungen zählt auch, zeitgenössische Kunst zu präsentieren, Interesse dafür zu wecken und Betrachter*innen zu helfen, zeitgenössische Kunst zu schätzen, einen Ort für neue experimentelle künstlerische Praktiken zu schaffen und künstlerische Freiheit zu gewährleisten. 

Resident*innen

         
Marie-Andreé Gill

​Marie-Andrée Gill

Marie-Andrée Gill ist Pekuakamishkueu und sieht sich in erster Linie als Dichterin. Als Mutter, Freundin, Geliebte und Studentin beschäftigt sich ihre Forschung und kreative Arbeit mit transpersonaler und dekolonialer Liebe. Zwischen Kitsch und Existenzialismus handelt ihr Schreiben von Territorien und Innenleben und verbindet ihre Quebecer und Ilnu-Identitäten. Sie ist die Autorin von drei Büchern: Béante, Frayer und Chauffer le dehors. 2018 wurde sie mit dem Indigenous Voices Award ausgezeichnet. Sie lebt in L'Anse-Saint-Jean, Quebec. Marie-Andreé Gill wird Residentin in Sápmi und in Røst sein.
 
Marije Jenssen

​Marije Jenssen

Marije Jenssen ist eine norwegisch-samische Malerin und Installationskünstlerin aus Balsfjord, Norwegen. Ihre Arbeit ist inspiriert von der nordnorwegischen Landschaft, der Lebensweise und den traditionellen Materialien und Techniken der Weberei. Ihr Fokus liegt auf den Prozessen der Kultivierung traditioneller Ressourcen in einem nachhaltigen zeitgenössischen Kontext. Marije machte ihren Abschluss an der UWC Adriatic (2014) und der Kunstskolen i Bergen (2018). Sie verbrachte die ersten zwei Jahre ihres Visual Art Bachelor an der KMD in Bergen (2018-'20) und schloss ihr Studium an der Kunstakademie Tromsø im Mai 2021 ab. Marie Jenssen wird Residentin in Nunavik sein.
Tanja Koistinen

Tanja Maria Koistinen

Tanja untersucht in ihrer Arbeit verschiedene Identitäten im Norden. Mit multidisziplinären Arbeitsmethoden, wie von Künstler*innen geleiteten Workshops, Umweltkunst und dem Zusammenschluss von Kunst und Wissenschaft, drückt Tanja sich in den Formen der bildenden Kunst, Installation, Dokumentationsfotografie und des Geschichtenerzählens durch Selbstreflexion, Vereinfachen, Darstellen und Farbe aus. Tanja Koistinen ist durch ihre Abstammung, die Heimat ihrer Familie (Njellim, Sapmi) und ihren Lebensgrundlage mit der Inari-Sámi Kultur verbunden ist. Derzeit arbeitet und lebt sie in Äkäslompolo, Nordwest-Lappland, Finnland. Tanja Koistinen wird Residentin in Sakha sein.
Tatiana Philippova

Tatiana Filippova

Tatiana Filippova ist eine Schriftstellerin, insbesondere von fragmentarischer Prosa. So besinnt sie sich als queere Person, als Lesbe und als Sacha-Frau auf ihr "Selbst", indem sie ihre Erfahrungen dekolonisiert. Ihre Großeltern wurden während des Zweiten Weltkriegs gezwungen, ihr Land zu verlassen, nun verwandelt der globale Klimawandel ihre ehemalige Heimat allmählich in einen anderen Ort. Können die modernen Indigenen Jakutiens anderswo eine neue Heimat finden oder sollten sie weiterhin auf dem Land ihrer Vorfahren leben – das ist die Frage, die sie in ihrem Ausdruck zu beantworten versucht. Tatiana ist Gewinnerin des Preises der Literaturzeitschrift Znamya 2020. Sie lebt in Jakutsk.Tatiana Filippova wird Residentin in Malakta und in Røst sein.
Svetlana Romanova

​Svetlana Romanova

Svetlana Romanova wurde in Jakutsk, Russland, geboren und studierte bildende Kunst in Los Angeles. Sie hat ihren BFA am Otis College of Art and Design und ihren MFA am California Institute of the Arts erhalten. Von 2009 bis 2014 lebte und arbeitete sie in der Kunsterziehung in Kalifornien. Nach ihrer Rückkehr nach Sibirien im Jahr 2015 begann sie mit der Arbeit an mehreren Filmprojekten über ihre Heimatstadt und ihre Umgebung. Ihr Videoprojekt ist eine Untersuchung von zwei lokalen Indigenen Gruppen, denen sie angehört (Evenk und Sakha).  Ihre Arbeit wurde in verschiedenen Ausstellungen in Kalifornien und Russland gezeigt. Svetlana Romanova wird Residentin in Nunavik und in Sápmi sein.
Niap (Nancy Sanders)

Nancy (Niap) Saunders

Niap (Nancy Saunders) ist eine preisgekrönte, multidisziplinäre Künstlerin mit Sitz in Montreal, QC, die ihre Zeit zwischen der Stadt und ihrer Heimatgemeinde Kuujjuaq, Nunavik, aufteilt – einem Ort, der ihre Arbeit weiterhin stark beeinflusst. Niap arbeitet medienübergreifend und setzt sich in ihrer Praxis mit ihrem kulturellen Erbe und ihrer Identität als Inuk-Frau auseinander. Niap arbeitet in den Bereichen Malerei, Performance, Skulptur und Fotografie und hat ein breit gefächertes Werk geschaffen, das von Wandmalereien über immersive Installationen bis hin zu Porträts reicht. Niap wird in Sakha und in Malakta leben.  
Maggie Narpatuk

Maggie Napartuk

Maggie Napartuk ist eine multidisziplinäre Künstlerin aus Nunavik. Seit ihrer Kindheit liebt sie alle Arten von Kunst, vor allem Malerei, die Herstellung von Schmuck und Drucktechniken. In ihren Zeichnungen geht es meist um die Kultur und Tradition der Inuit. Ihr Ziel als Künstlerin ist es, ein eigenes Atelier zu haben, und sie möchte auch lernen, wie man Specksteindrucke fertigt, wie es die Inuit früher gewohnt waren, als sie mit den Drucktechniken begannen. Heute verkauft sie ihre Kunst in Kanada, den USA und auch in Frankreich.