Sustainability

People in beekeeping protective clothing stand at a forest clearing with beehives Photo: © Goethe-Institut e. V. Amman/Hussam Da'na

Our actions are based on the principles of sustainability.

Our Approach

The realisation of sustainability requires worldwide societal change. Cultural exchange as well as language and educational programmes can open new perspectives on sustainability while giving impulses for politics, commerce and society.

Our commitment to the topic of sustainability focuses on the United Nations goals for achieving sustainable development. With our work, we make a contribution to a sustainable and comprehensive climate foreign policy.

In our worldwide work, we address diverse issues and solution approaches regarding sustainability and carry these forward. We enable interactions between people from different cultural and societal contexts. These gain special importance in the context of sustainability: We can only learn from another and share knowledge about the promotion of sustainable development in a dialogue with different perspectives.
 

  • Adolescents plant mangrove trees Photo: © Sorapong Sawawiboon

    Participants in youth camps, language courses or PASCH schools are working towards sustainable development – as here in the German camp climate project in Thailand.

  • Model of the new building of the Goethe-Institut in Dakar Foto: © Kéré Architecture

    In Dakar the new Goethe-Institut designed by Francis Kéré is constructed from locally sourced building materials such as clay using traditional and sustainable construction techniques.

  • Woman sits at a machine that shapes plastic into a vase. A man helps her Photo: © Goethe-Institut Thailand

    The Goethe-Institut Thailand has committed to following the “no plastic” principle. If plastic waste cannot be avoided, it is processed into vases or bowls, as you can see here.

  • Woman sings into a microphone Photo: © Goethe-Institut e.v. Kairo/Roger Anis

    Equality and equal treatment of women are fundamental principles of our work. The feminist and queer-positive website “Jeem” spreads knowledge on the topics of sexuality and gender in the Arabic language.

  • Three influencers are recording an Instragram video. Photo: Stephanie Hesse

    Activists from Europe and South America learn about climate protection, develop national campaigns and train their skills at the digital workshop programme “Young Influencers for Ecological Change”.

  • Discussion round in the Goethe Garden São Paulo with numerous guests. Photo: Danila Bustamante

    In the garden of the Goethe-Institut São Paulo, framed by vegetable patches and flowers, workshops or discussion groups take place on topics such as climate change, nutrition or the environment.

Our Spheres of Activity

Programmes for sustainability

We initiative and promote artistic formats and projects that address the issues of ecological, social and economic sustainability, thereby contributing to designing new concepts for sustainable societies. We promote holistic dialogue on the topic of sustainability through innovative programmes. These are aimed at target groups from different generations and societal contexts, and include representatives from different professions and academic disciplines. We work with partner organisations and cultural scenes on site and support the mutual teaching and further development of local and global solution approaches.

Become aware

Together with our partners, we develop impact-focused programmes in international culture and educational exchange that explore the ecological, social and economic challenges in an effective way. The effectiveness of our projects is also evaluated according to criteria for sustainability.

Sustainable as an organisation

In our work, we focus on the ecological, social and economic sustainability goals (SDGs) of the United Nations. We significantly contribute to the implementation of these goals in the following sectors: education, climate and environment, equal opportunities and justice.
 

Examples of our Work




Further Goals






Top

Nachhaltigkeit

Menschen in Bienenschutzkleidung stehen mit Bienenkästen auf einer Waldlichtung Foto: © Goethe-Institut e. V. Amman/Hussam Da'na

Unser Handeln orientiert sich an den Prinzipien der Nachhaltigkeit

Unser Ansatz

Die Verwirklichung von Nachhaltigkeit braucht einen weltweiten gesellschaftlichen Wandel. Kultureller Austausch sowie Sprach- und Bildungsprogramme können neue Sichtweisen auf Nachhaltigkeit eröffnen und Impulse in Richtung Politik, Wirtschaft und Gesellschaft geben.

Unser Engagement in Sachen Nachhaltigkeit orientiert sich an den Zielen für eine nachhaltige Entwicklung der Vereinten Nationen. Wir leisten mit unserer Arbeit einen Beitrag zu einer nachhaltigen und umfassenden Klimaaußenpolitik. 
 
In unserer weltweiten Arbeit greifen wir vielfältige Fragestellungen und Lösungsansätze zur Nachhaltigkeit auf und tragen diese weiter. Wir ermöglichen Begegnungen zwischen Menschen aus unterschiedlichen kulturellen und gesellschaftlichen Zusammenhängen. Diese gewinnen im Kontext der Nachhaltigkeit einen besonderen Stellenwert: Nur im Austausch unterschiedlicher Sichtweisen können wir voneinander lernen und Wissen zur Förderung von Nachhaltigkeit teilen.

  • Jugendliche pflanzen Mangrovenbäume Foto: © Sorapong Sawawiboon

    Teilnehmer*innen von Jugendcamps, Sprachkursen oder PASCH-Schulen engagieren sich für eine nachhaltige Entwicklung – wie hier beim Deutschcamp Klimaprojekt in Thailand.

  • Simulation des neuen Gebäudes des Goethe-Instituts in Dakar Foto: © Kéré Architecture

    In Dakar wird das neue Goethe-Institut, entworfen von Francis Kéré, aus lokalen Baustoffen wie Lehm mit traditionellen und nachhaltigen Baumethoden gebaut.

  • Frau sitzt an Maschine, die Plastik zu einer Vase formt. Ein Mann hilft ihr Foto: © Goethe-Institut Thailand

    Das Goethe-Institut Thailand hat sich der „Kein-Plastik-Maxime“ verschrieben. Wenn Plastikmüll nicht eingespart werden kann, wird er – wie hier zu sehen – zu Vasen oder Schalen verarbeitet.

  • Frau singt in Mikrofon Foto: © Goethe-Institut e.v. Kairo/Roger Anis

    Gleichberechtigung und die Gleichbehandlung von Frauen bilden Grundlagen unserer Arbeit. Die feministische und queer-positive Webseite „Jeem“ verbreitet Wissen zu den Themen Sexualität und Gender in arabischer Sprache.

  • Drei Influencer*innen beim Aufnehmen eines Instragram-Videos. Foto: Stephanie Hesse

    Aktivist*innen aus Europa und Südamerika informieren sich beim digitalen Workshop-Programm „Young Influencers for Ecological Change“ über Klimaschutz, entwickeln landesweite Kampagnen und trainieren ihre Skills.

  • Diskussionsrunde im Goethe-Garten São Paulo mit zahlreichen Gästen. Foto: Danila Bustamante

    Im Garten des Goethe-Instituts São Paulo finden, umrahmt von Gemüsebeeten und Blumen, Workshops oder Gesprächsrunden zu Themen wie Klimawandel, Ernährung oder Umwelt statt.

Unsere Handlungsfelder

Programme zur Nachhaltigkeit

Wir initiieren und fördern künstlerische Formate und Projekte, die ökologische, soziale und ökonomische Nachhaltigkeit thematisieren und dazu beitragen, neue Konzepte für nachhaltige Gesellschaften zu entwerfen. Mit innovativen Programmen fördern wir einen ganzheitlichen Austausch zum Thema Nachhaltigkeit. Sie richten sich an Zielgruppen aus unterschiedlichen Generationen und gesellschaftlichen Kontexten und beziehen Vertreter*innen aus verschiedenen Berufen und wissenschaftlichen Disziplinen ein. Wir arbeiten mit Partnerorganisationen und kulturellen Szenen vor Ort zusammen und unterstützen die wechselseitige Vermittlung und Weiterentwicklung lokaler und globaler Lösungsansätze.

Bewusst machen 
 
Gemeinsam mit unseren Partnern entwickeln wir wirkungsorientierte Programme im internationalen Kultur- und Bildungsaustausch, die den ökologischen, sozialen und ökonomischen Herausforderungen angemessen begegnen. Die Wirksamkeit unserer Projekte wird auch nach Kriterien für Nachhaltigkeit beurteilt.

Als Organisation nachhaltig 

Wir orientieren uns in unserer Arbeit an den ökologischen, sozialen und ökonomischen Nachhaltigkeitszielen (SDGs) der Vereinten Nationen. In besonderem Maße tragen wir zur Umsetzung der Ziele in den Bereichen Bildung, Klima und Umwelt, Chancengleichheit und Gerechtigkeit bei. 

Beispiele aus unserer Arbeit




Weitere Ziele






Top