Media Incubator: about the project

Visual 2300x1000 MI Billy Mateeva


​Minorities are either poorly reported in the media or not all. Whereas Western Europe is becoming increasingly diverse and more and more people with an immigration background are establishing themselves in journalism, disadvantaged minorities and their viewpoints in the Balkan countries are hardly visible. 

This applies to the most significant ethnic minority, the Roma, and women from underprivileged social classes. They have no voice and are marginalised and discriminated against. The majority forms its opinions based on its own reporting. Those who are reported on usually do not have their say in the matter. The results are racism and a public attitude marked by hate and contempt for others, under which not only the directly affected suffer but also society in general.

In Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, North Macedonia and Rumania, the Goethe Institute, in collaboration with its local partners, wants to support socially conscious, responsible journalism with the project Media Incubator. The Media Incubator project is a multi-year training programme that supports students and aspiring journalists who wish to focus on the genres of social reporting and the topics of fighting poverty, equal opportunities and minorities.

In Sarajevo, the Goethe Institute, together with the university's journalism faculty, is developing a certified course intended to sensitise students to social themes. In Skopje, the Goethe Institute is working with the Balkan Institute for regional Cooperation to establish a training programme for students from different ethnic groups.

The Goethe Institute Croatia is creating an independent 'Redakcija', a newsroom focused on poverty under the leadership of experienced journalist Barbara Matejčić. Media Incubator Rumania will concentrate on giving a platform to women from disadvantaged social classes where they can freely express their opinions and make their first journalistic experiences.

And in Bulgaria, the Goethe Institute is dealing with 'gipsy' figures and motifs that have shaped images and patterns of thought since the rise of audio-visual media.

Stories will emerge that do not condemn but report without prejudice about the strangers in one's own and neighbouring countries. The stories you will read and see here on this website aim to arouse curiosity and change minds.

 
Top

Media Incubator: über das Projekt

Visual 2300x1000 MI Billy Mateeva


​Über Minderheiten wird in den Medien schlecht oder gar nicht berichtet. Während das Bild in Westeuropa allmählich diverser wird und sich mehr und mehr Menschen mit Migrationshintergrund im Journalismus etablieren, kommen benachteiligte Minderheiten und deren Sichtweisen in den offiziellen Medien der Balkanländer kaum vor. 

Das gilt für die größte ethnische Minderheit der Roma wie auch für Frauen aus unterprivilegierten sozialen Schichten. Sie haben keine Stimme und werden marginalisiert und diskriminiert. Die Mehrheitsgesellschaft bildet sich eine Meinung auf der Basis ihrer eigenen Berichterstattung. Die, über die berichtet wird, kommen in der Regel nicht zu Wort. Die Folge sind Rassismus und eine von Hass und Menschenverachtung geprägte öffentliche Meinung, unter der nicht nur die direkt Betroffenen leiden, sondern die gesamte Gesellschaft.

Die Goethe-Institute in Bosnien und Herzogewina, Bulgarien, Kroatien, Nordmazedonien und Rumänien wollen mit dem Projekt Media Incubator gemeinsam mit ihren lokalen Partnern sozial verantwortungsbewussten Journalismus fördern. Der Media Incubator ist ein mehrjähriges Fortbildungsprogramm, das Studierende und angehende Journalist*innen unterstützt, die sich für das Genre Sozialreportage und Themen wie Armutsbekämpfung, Chancengleichheit und Minderheiten interessieren.

In Sarajevo entwickelt das Goethe-Institut gemeinsam mit der Journalismusfakultät der Universität einen zertifizierten Kurs, der Studierende für soziale Themen sensibilisiert.

In Skopje erarbeitet das Goethe-Institut in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Balkan Institut für regionale Kooperation ein Fortbildungsprogramm für junge Journalist*innen aus verschiedenen ethnischen Gruppierungen.

Das Goethe-Institut Kroatien bildet unter der Leitung der erfahrenen Journalistin Barbara Matejčić eine unabhängige „Redakcija“, einen „Newsroom“ mit dem thematischen Fokus „Armut“.

Der Media Incubator Rumänien wird sich darauf konzentrieren, Frauen aus benachteiligten sozialen Schichten und Minderheiten eine Plattform zu geben, wo sie ihre Meinungen frei äußern können und erste journalistische Erfahrungen machen können. Und in Bulgarien beschäftigt sich das Goethe-Institut mit „Zigeuner“-Figuren und –Motiven, die Bilder und Denkmuster prägen, seitdem es audiovisuelle Medien gibt.

Es werden Geschichten entstehen, die nicht verurteilen, sondern vorurteilsfrei über die Unbekannten im eigenen Land und in den Nachbarländern berichten. Die Geschichten, die Sie hier auf dieser Webseite lesen und sehen werden, wollen neugierig machen und den Blick verändern.




 
Top