Quick access:

Go directly to content (Alt 1) Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)
Cultural Bridge© Nils Koenning

Forming cultural bridges between the UK and Germany
Cultural Bridge

Cultural Bridge celebrates bilateral partnerships between the UK and Germany through the collaboration of all UK arts councils and leading German cultural institutions. The programme aims to act as a platform of exchange, enabling others to discuss social issues, strengthen the exchange between the UK and Germany, and foster artistic collaboration and cultural democracy.

Together with Fonds Soziokultur, British Council, Arts Council England, Arts Council of Northern Ireland, Arts Council of Wales/Wales Arts International, Creative Scotland  we co-produced the pilot program as an opportunity to advocate bilateral community arts collaborations.

Cultural Bridge announces 20 awarded partnerships for its 2024-2025 programme

Cultural Bridge celebrates bilateral partnerships between the UK and Germany through the collaboration between Arts Council England, the Arts Council of Northern Ireland, British Council, Creative Scotland, Fonds Soziokultur, Goethe-Institut London and Wales Arts International / Arts Council of Wales. 

We’re thrilled to announce the 20 partnerships for the 2024-2025 programme who have been awarded a total of £310,000 in funding to develop artistic practices and projects exploring themes and issues faced by communities across both countries.

The 2024-2025 programme marks the network’s third year of funding artistic exchange between the UK and Germany, bringing the total number of organisations supported by Cultural Bridge since 2021 to 72, through 35 partnerships. Four of the 2023-2024 partnerships have been awarded additional funding to further develop their work and several of the previously funded organisations continue to connect and share practice.

The open call for applicants to the 2024-2025 funding exceeded expectations, with 138 applications from potential partnerships between the UK and Germany, demonstrating the cultural sector’s desire to learn, share and develop work that enables social change through international collaboration.

Applications were assessed and reviewed by an independent jury of professionals across the UK and Germany. The 2024-2025 partnerships will explore a wide range of themes and artforms, from prison theatre, youth led and disability led work, climate change, migrant activism, feminism, rural arts and more.

The 2024-2025 partnerships 

Tier one (new partnerships receiving funding up to £10k):

  • ARCHITEXTS OF CHANGE - Angeprangert! Spoken Word (Weißwasser, Germany) and Young Identity (Manchester)
  • Bridging Rural Communities - People, Process, Places - Dyffryn Dyfodol CIC (Llanrwst, Wales) and Syndikat Gefährliche Liebschaften (Quakenbrück, Germany)
  • Chemnitz & Manchester Residency - Quarantine (Manchester, England) and ASA-FF e.V./ Freundinnen- und Förderkreis Arbeits- und Studienaufenthalte in Afrika, Asien und Lateinamerika (Chemnitz, Germany)
  • Co-creating across borders: A tale of two cities - Brighton People's Theatre CIO (Brighton, England) and English Theatre Leipzig (Leipzig, Germany)
  • Collectively Crossing: Affiliation Bridges - Kunstverein Leipzig (Leipzig, Germany) and Bistro 21 and Bidston Observatory Artistic Research Centre (BOARC) (Prenton, England)
  • Colour Stories. Sharing journeys of a dyer's garden - artpark Hoher Berg UG gemeinnützig (Schermbeck, Germany) and Brink! (Belfast, Northern Ireland)
  • Common Values, Shared Dreams - The Mighty Creatives (Leicester, England) and Werkhaus e.V. (Krefeld, Germany)
  • Empowering mixedabled/inclusive dance across international communities - Anjali Dance Company (Derby, England) and com.dance (Horben, Germany)
  • Feminism and Migrant activism - Stellar Quines Ltd (Fife, Scotland) and MPower (Berlin, Germany)
  • New sustainable models for artist-led spaces - Assembly House CIC (Leeds, England) and E-WERK Luckenwalde (Luckenwalde, Germany)
  • The Invisible City - Tortoise in a Nutshell (Edinburgh, Scotland) and Theater Gruene Sosse (Frankfurt, Germany)
  • Uncomfortable Dialogues - Unveiling Marginalized Black Experiences through Dance, Film, and Storytelling - MINCE e.V. (Berlin, Germany) and Miss Lulu Creates LTD (London, England)
  • Unlocked - Geese Theatre Company (Birmingham, England) and aufBruch (Berlin, Germany)
  • Wetland: sharing practices of care and hospitality to engage communities and redfine former industrial spaces - Cement Fields (Kent, England) and Floating e.V. (Berlin, Germany)


Tier two (existing partnerships receiving funding up to £30k):
  • An Audio Hunt in Easterhouse - Produced Moon (Glasgow, Scotland) and Storydive (Hamburg, Germany)
  • ENTER: Robots exchange - Hijinx Theatre (Cardiff, Wales) and tanzbar-bremen e.V. (Bremen, Germany)
  • Let the Grassroots Grow - SET Centre CIO (London, England) and riesa efau (Dresden, Germany)
  • My Body is my Castle - An intergenerational and performative research - 4.D (Dortmund, Germany) and ACCA (Leeds, England)
  • Rap School of Life - Improving Language and Mental Health - Kanzi GmbH (Berlin, Germany) and Forward Ever Education CIC (Birmingham, England)
  • The Shake - The MAC (Belfast, Northern Ireland) and coculture e.V. (Berlin, Germany)

More about the programme

The Cultural Bridge programme aims to enable social change through the medium of diverse artforms and community arts practices. It promotes cross-border cooperation between the UK nations (Wales, Scotland, Northern Ireland, England) and German cultural institutions in various disciplines and participative methods.
 

“In all of their variety, the chosen projects reflect an outstanding selection of ideas and narratives to enhance the further cultural exchange between the UK and Germany. Focussing on artistic and cultural collaboration across borders, they will not only foster the international foresight of each participant, institution and artist, but also deliver inspiring and impacting footprints to foster and strengthen the bilateral relations of our two European countries.”
Katharina von Ruckteschell-Katte, Director Goethe-Institut London

Awarded projects will work in partnership with at least one participating German organisation and one from the four UK countries – England, Wales, Scotland or Northern Ireland – to implement their socially engaged practice.
 
“Our investment in international cultural collaboration helps promote understanding across borders and inspires artists and communities in England. With the new Cultural Bridge pilot programme, we are excited to be working with colleagues in Germany and across the UK to support creativity to help drive social change in our communities.”
Simon Mellor, Deputy Chief Executive, Arts and Museums, Arts Council England
 
“Through cultivating cross-border collaborations, the Cultural Bridge pilot programme will create valuable opportunities for arts organisations from each of the UK nations and Germany to come together, share expertise and explore new ways of working. The arts have a fundamental role to play in strengthening our communities and driving social progress, and we hope this pilot marks the first step in establishing a new framework for international partnership that will develop and continue long into the future.”
Nick McDowell, Director International, Arts Council England

The successful projects for the pilot-programme year have now been announced. The jury – that consisted of representatives from all participating countries – selected a total of seven projects to be awarded funding of up to 25,000€. The seven partnerships will all kick-off their projects in November 2021 to share learning, exchange expertise and develop new approaches to socially engaged practice.
 
"The Cultural Bridge pilot programme is an important step in strengthening cross-border collaboration between the UK and Germany. With support from the seven lead partner organisations the participating exemplary local cultural institutions have discovered valuable common ground to forge new connections through this pilot. The programme and each of the new partnerships are based on the strong belief that cultural democracy in our societies is needed more than ever. Shared learning and development of new approaches to socially engaged arts practice through the Cultural Bridge is likely to be of benefit to us all."
Mechthild Eickhoff, Managing Director, Fonds Soziokultur
 
Follow the project’s progress and latest updates on Twitter using #CulturalBridge.


PARTNERS

Partner Logos for the Cultural Bridge project© Bilder gehören den einzelnen Firmen
Top

Schnelleinstieg:

Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1) Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)
Cultural Bridge© Nils Koenning

Kulturelle Brücken zwischen dem UK und Deutschland
Cultural Bridge

Cultural Bridge fördert bilaterale Partnerschaften zwischen dem UK und Deutschland durch Kollaborationen aller UK Arts Councils und führenden deutschen Kulturinstitutionen. Das Programm zielt darauf ab eine Plattform für Austausch zu sein, hinterfragt gleichzeitig soziale Missstände und fördert den Dialog zwischen dem UK und Deutschland durch künstlerische Kollaborationen und mehr "Kultur-Demokratie".

Zusammen mit Fonds Soziokultur, dem British Council, dem Arts Council England, dem Arts Council of Northern Ireland, dem Arts Council of Wales / Wales Arts International, und Creative Scotland haben wir das Pilotprogramm initiiert um eine Finanzierungsmöglichkeit für bilaterale, gemeindeorientierte Kunst-Kollaborationen zu schaffen.  

Cultural Bridge gibt 20 ausgezeichnete Partnerschaften für ihr Programm 2024-2025 bekannt

Cultural Bridge feiert bilaterale Partnerschaften zwischen dem Vereinigten Königreich und Deutschland durch die Zusammenarbeit von Arts Council England, dem Arts Council of Northern Ireland, British Council, Creative Scotland, Fonds Soziokultur, Goethe-Institut London und Wales Arts International / Arts Council of Wales.

Wir freuen uns, die 20 Partnerschaften für das Programm 2024-2025 bekannt geben zu können, die insgesamt 310.000 £ an Fördermitteln erhalten haben, um künstlerische Praktiken und Projekte zu entwickeln, die sich mit Themen und Problemen von Gemeinschaften in beiden Ländern auseinandersetzen.

Das Programm 2024-2025 ist das dritte Jahr, in dem das Netzwerk den künstlerischen Austausch zwischen Großbritannien und Deutschland fördert. Damit steigt die Gesamtzahl der Organisationen, die von Cultural Bridge seit 2021 unterstützt wurden auf 72, unterstützt durch 35 Partnerschaften. Vier der Partnerschaften für 2023-2024 haben zusätzliche Mittel erhalten, um ihre Arbeit weiterzuentwickeln, und mehrere der zuvor geförderten Organisationen unterhalten weiterhin Kontakte und tauschen ihre Erfahrungen aus.

Der offene Aufruf zur Einreichung von Bewerbungen für die Finanzierung 2024-2025 übertraf alle Erwartungen. 138 Bewerbungen von potenziellen Partnerschaften zwischen Großbritannien und Deutschland zeigten den die den Anspruch des Kultursektors verdeutlichen, zu lernen, sich auszutauschen und Arbeiten zu entwickeln, die einen sozialen Wandel durch internationale Zusammenarbeit ermöglichen. Die Bewerbungen wurden von einer unabhängigen Jury aus Fachleuten aus dem Vereinigten Königreich und Deutschland bewertet und geprüft.

Die Partnerschaften 2024-2025 werden ein breites Spektrum an Themen und Kunstformen erforschen, vom Gefängnistheater über Jugend- und Behindertenarbeit bis hin zu Klimawandel, Migrantenaktivismus, Feminismus, ländlicher Kunst und mehr.

Die Partnerschaften 2024-2025

Stufe eins (neue Partnerschaften, die mit bis zu 10.000 £ gefördert werden):

  • ARCHITEXTS OF CHANGE - Angeprangert! Spoken Word (Weißwasser, Germany) and Young Identity (Manchester)
  • Bridging Rural Communities - People, Process, Places - Dyffryn Dyfodol CIC (Llanrwst, Wales) and Syndikat Gefährliche Liebschaften (Quakenbrück, Germany)
  • Chemnitz & Manchester Residency - Quarantine (Manchester, England) and ASA-FF e.V./ Freundinnen- und Förderkreis Arbeits- und Studienaufenthalte in Afrika, Asien und Lateinamerika (Chemnitz, Germany)
  • Co-creating across borders: A tale of two cities - Brighton People's Theatre CIO (Brighton, England) and English Theatre Leipzig (Leipzig, Germany)
  • Collectively Crossing: Affiliation Bridges - Kunstverein Leipzig (Leipzig, Germany) and Bistro 21 and Bidston Observatory Artistic Research Centre (BOARC) (Prenton, England)
  • Colour Stories. Sharing journeys of a dyer's garden - artpark Hoher Berg UG gemeinnützig (Schermbeck, Germany) and Brink! (Belfast, Northern Ireland)
  • Common Values, Shared Dreams - The Mighty Creatives (Leicester, England) and Werkhaus e.V. (Krefeld, Germany)
  • Empowering mixedabled/inclusive dance across international communities - Anjali Dance Company (Derby, England) and com.dance (Horben, Germany)
  • Feminism and Migrant activism - Stellar Quines Ltd (Fife, Scotland) and MPower (Berlin, Germany)
  • New sustainable models for artist-led spaces - Assembly House CIC (Leeds, England) and E-WERK Luckenwalde (Luckenwalde, Germany)
  • The Invisible City - Tortoise in a Nutshell (Edinburgh, Scotland) and Theater Gruene Sosse (Frankfurt, Germany)
  • Uncomfortable Dialogues - Unveiling Marginalized Black Experiences through Dance, Film, and Storytelling - MINCE e.V. (Berlin, Germany) and Miss Lulu Creates LTD (London, England)
  • Unlocked - Geese Theatre Company (Birmingham, England) and aufBruch (Berlin, Germany)
  • Wetland: sharing practices of care and hospitality to engage communities and redfine former industrial spaces - Cement Fields (Kent, England) and Floating e.V. (Berlin, Germany)

Stufe zwei (bestehende Partnerschaften, die mit bis zu £30k gefördert werden):
  • An Audio Hunt in Easterhouse - Produced Moon (Glasgow, Scotland) and Storydive (Hamburg, Germany)
  • ENTER: Robots exchange - Hijinx Theatre (Cardiff, Wales) and tanzbar-bremen e.V. (Bremen, Germany)
  • Let the Grassroots Grow - SET Centre CIO (London, England) and riesa efau (Dresden, Germany)
  • My Body is my Castle - An intergenerational and performative research - 4.D (Dortmund, Germany) and ACCA (Leeds, England)
  • Rap School of Life - Improving Language and Mental Health - Kanzi GmbH (Berlin, Germany) and Forward Ever Education CIC (Birmingham, England)
  • The Shake - The MAC (Belfast, Northern Ireland) and coculture e.V. (Berlin, Germany)

Cultural Bridge

Das Cultural Bridge Programm zielt darauf ab soziale Veränderungen durch verschiedene Kunstformen und -praktiken zu ermöglichen. Die Initiative wirbt für grenzübergreifende Kooperationen zwischen den UK-Nationen (Wales, Schottland, Nordirland, England) und deutschen Kulturinstitutionen verschiedener Disziplinen und partizipativer Methoden.


„In all ihrer Vielfalt, reflektieren die ausgewählten Projekte eine herausragende Auswahl an Ideen und Narrativen, welche den kulturellen Austausch zwischen Großbritannien und Deutschland weiterhin verbessern sollen. Mit dem grenzübergreifenden Fokus auf künstlerische und kulturelle Kollaborationen, fördern diese Projekte nicht nur den internationalen Weitblick eines jeden Teilnehmers, jeder Institution und eines jeden Künstlers, sie dienen auch als Inspiration, unsere bilaterale Beziehung zwischen unseren beiden Europäischen Ländern zu fördern und zu verstärken. Katharina von Ruckteschell-Katte, Director Goethe-Institut London

Die ausgewählten Projekte werden in Partnerschaft zwischen mindestens einer deutschen Organisation und mindestens einer der vier UK-Nationen - England, Wales, Schottland oder Nordirland - durchgeführt, um sozial implementierte Kulturpraktiken zwischen den beiden Ländern zu fördern.

„Unsere Investition in internationale kulturelle Kollaborationen helfen das grenzübergreifende kulturelle Verständnis zu fördern und inspiriert Künstler und Gemeinden in England. Mit dem neuen Pilotprojekt Cultural Birdge, freuen wir uns auf die Zusammenarbeit mit den Kollegen in Deutschland und dem Vereinigten Königreich, um Kreativität zu unterstützen, welche helfen soll den gesellschaftlichen Wandel in unseren Gemeinden voranzutreiben.“ Simon Mellor, Deputy Chief Executive, Arts and Museums, Arts Council England
 
"Durch die Kultivierung grenzübergreifender Kollaborationen, wird das Pilotprojekt Cultural Bridge wertvolle Möglichkeiten für Kunstorganisationen, sowohl aus dem Vereinigten Königreich als auch Deutschland, schaffen um zusammenzukommen, Expertise auszutauschen und neue Arbeitsweisen zu erforschen. Kunst spielt eine fundamentale Rolle, wenn es um die Stärkung unserer Gemeinden und den sozialen Fortschritt geht. Wir hoffen, dass dieses Pilotprojekt der entscheidende Schritt für eine neue internationale Partnerschaft darstellt, welche sich entwickelt und bis lange in die Zukunft anhält.“ Nick McDowell, Director International, Arts Council England

Die erfolgreich ausgewählten Projekte für das Pilotprojekt stehen fest. Die Jury aus Vertreter*innen aller teilnehmenden Länder hat sieben Projekte ausgewählt, die mit 25,000€ Projektförderung ausgestattet werden. Die sieben Partnerschaften starten ab November 2021, um gemeinsames Lernen, Austausch, Expertise und Entwicklung von neuen Herangehensweisen im sozial-engagierten Kontext zu realisieren.

„Das Pilotprojekt Cultural Bridge ist ein wichtiger Schritt zur Stärkung der grenzübergreifenden Zusammenarbeit zwischen dem Vereinigten Königreich und Deutschland. Mit Unterstützung der sieben Hauptpartner und der Initiative, haben die teilnehmenden lokalen Kultureinrichtungen eine wertvolle gemeinsame Basis gefunden, neue Verbindung miteinander einzugehen. Das Programm und jede der neuen Kooperationen basieren auf der Überzeugung, dass kulturelle Demokratie in unseren Gesellschaften nötiger ist denn je. Geteiltes Lernen und die Entwicklung von neuen Ansätzen praktizierende Kunst durch Cultural Bridge mit einzubinden wird eine Bereicherung für uns alle sein." Mechthild Eickhoff, Managing Director, Fonds Soziokultur

Folgen Sie dem Projektfortschritt und den neusten Updates auf Twitter über den Hashtag #CulturalBridge.


PARTNERS

Partner Logos for the Cultural Bridge project© Bilder gehören den einzelnen Firmen
Top