Quick access:

Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

Movements and Moments
Morning Fog (El corazón de la neblina)

Doña Herminia Gutiérrez Valencia (1922-2008) was a crucial protagonist in the fight for life and dignity in Milpa Alta, located in the southeastern corner of Mexico City, where people are still resisting dispossession of their Nahua heritage and their lands. In 1980 Doña Herminia was elected as San Lorenzo Tlacoyucan’s representative in order to defend common lands. For more than 25 years, she fought courageously against illegal logging. “El corazón de la neblina” (Morning Fog) is her story.

By Alejandra Retana Betancourt and María José Retana


Artworks by artists

  • Alejandra Retana Betancourt and María José Retana Betancourt © Alejandra Retana Betancourt and María José Retana Betancourt
  • Alejandra Retana Betancourt and María José Retana Betancourt 2 © Alejandra Retana Betancourt and María José Retana Betancourt
Alejandra Retana Betancourt © Alejandra Retana Betancourt

Alejandra Retana Betancourt

is a Mexican writer who lives in Milpa Alta, Mexico City. From 2017 to 2018 she was a grant holder of Fondo Nacional para la Cultura y las Artes (FONCA), financial support given to artists by the Mexican government.

She was part of Fundación Antonio Gala’s artist residency program in Cordoba, Spain from October 2019 to May 2020. She focuses on creating narratives in order to understand how people have resisted recent violence in her country. 

María José Retana Betancourt© María José Retana Betancourt

María José Retana Betancourt (Pepe Retana)

is a Mexican visual artist who has lived in Milpa Alta, Mexico City, since 2016. Her work is focused on illustration and comics. She is a student of Escuela Nacional de Pintura, Escultura y Grabado “La Esmeralda”.

Recently she has been collaborating with Secretaría de Cultura de la Ciudad de México to develop audiovisual content about Milpa Alta’s oral tradition, customs and traditional knowledge.

Top

Schnelleinstieg:

Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

Movements and Moments
Morgennebel (El Corazón De La Neblina)

Doña Herminia Gutiérrez Valencia (1922-2008) war eine wichtige Protagonistin im Kampf um Leben und Würde in Milpa Alta, im südöstlichen Zipfel von Mexiko-Stadt, wo sich die Menschen immer noch gegen die Enteignung ihres Nahua-Erbes und ihres Landes wehren. 1980 wurde Doña Herminia als Vertreterin von San Lorenzo Tlacoyucan gewählt, um gemeinschaftliches Land zu verteidigen. Mehr als 25 Jahre lang kämpfte sie mutig gegen den illegalen Holzschlag. “El corazón de la neblina” (Morgennebel) ist ihre Geschichte.

Von Alejandra Retana Betancourt und María José Retana

 


Künstlerische Werke

  • Alejandra Retana Betancourt und María José Retana Betancourt © Alejandra Retana Betancourt und María José Retana Betancourt
  • Alejandra Retana Betancourt und María José Retana Betancourt 2 © Alejandra Retana Betancourt und María José Retana Betancourt
Alejandra Retana Betancourt © Alejandra Retana Betancourt

Alejandra Retana Betancourt

ist eine mexikanische Schriftstellerin, die in Milpa Alta, Mexiko-Stadt, lebt. Von 2017 bis 2018 war sie Stipendiatin des Fondo Nacional para la Cultura y las Artes (FONCA), einer finanziellen Unterstützung für Künstler*innen durch die mexikanische Regierung.

Von Oktober 2019 bis Mai 2020 war sie im Rahmen des Künstler*innenaufenthalts-programms der Fundación Antonio Gala in Cordoba, Spanien, tätig. Sie konzentriert sich auf das Kreieren von Erzählungen, um zu verstehen, wie sich die Menschen gegen die jüngsten gewalttätigen Auseinandersetzungen in ihrem Land wehren konnten.

María José Retana Betancourt© María José Retana Betancourt

María José Retana Betancourt (Pepe Retana)

ist eine mexikanische bildende Künstlerin, die seit 2016 in Milpa Alta, Mexiko-Stadt, lebt. Ihre Arbeit konzentriert sich auf Illustrationen und Comics. Sie ist Schülerin der Escuela Nacional de Pintura, Escultura y Grabado "La Esmeralda".

Seit kurzem arbeitet sie mit der Secretaría de Cultura de la Ciudad de México zusammen, um audiovisuelle Inhalte über die mündliche Tradition, die Bräuche und das traditionelle Wissen der Milpa Alta zu entwickeln.

Top