Quick access:

Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

Movements and Moments
The Story of Sangsan

In northern Thailand, the conflict between ethnic minorities and the military has been going on for more than 30 years, leaving many people stateless and undocumented. The law bars them from traveling, working, and owning land. In the village where people live with limited resources, numerous women and girls are bisexual and lesbian. They are discriminated against based on their gender and harassed based on their sexual orientation. They have no mechanisms to protect them there. This is a story about an empowering group that shows how women and girls can be the leaders of their change.

By Wipaphan Wongsawang, Supitcha Senarak and Matcha Phorn-in

 


Artworks by artists

  • Wongsawang, Senarak and Phorn-in © Wongsawang, Senarak and Phorn-in
  • Wongsawang, Senarak and Phorn-in 2 © Wongsawang, Senarak and Phorn-in
Wipaphan Wongsawang © Wipaphan Wongsawang

Wipaphan Wongsawang

is a founder of Thaiconsent.in.th and Consentconnection.org making the concept of gender justice accessible for everyone. A graduate in Visual Communication Design and now pursuing a Social Design master’s degree, she aims to use design methodology to bring awareness and solutions to make the world a better place. 

Supitcha Senarak © Supitcha Senarak

Supitcha Senarak

is an illustrator/graphic novel writer based in Bangkok. She loves using watercolors and crafting with small details. Her comic Dining by Incense Light won the 7 Books Award in the graphic novel genre in 2016. Besides being a comics professional, Supitcha is very aware of gender equality (especially concerning LGBTQ conditions), which is often reflected in her work.

Matcha Phorn-in © Matcha Phorn-in

Matcha Phorn-in

is the Executive Director of Sangsan Anakot Yaowachon, a civil society organization working with young people from marginalized communities, many of whom are indigenous in disaster-prone Thai villages at the border with Myanmar. She is from an ethnic minority and identifies as a lesbian feminist human-rights defender.

Top

Schnelleinstieg:

Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

Movements and Moments
Die Geschichte Von Sangsan

Im Norden Thailands dauert der Konflikt zwischen ethnischen Minderheiten und dem Militär seit mehr als 30 Jahren an, so dass viele Menschen staatenlos und ohne Papiere sind. Das Gesetz verbietet es ihnen, zu reisen, zu arbeiten und Land zu besitzen. In einem Dorf, in dem Menschen mit wenig Ressourcen leben, sind zahlreiche Frauen und Mädchen bisexuell und lesbisch. Sie werden aufgrund ihres Geschlechts diskriminiert und aufgrund ihrer sexuellen Orientierung belästigt. Es gibt dort keine Mechanismen, um sie zu schützen. Dies ist eine Geschichte über eine beeindruckende Gruppe, die zeigt, wie Frauen und Mädchen den Wandel selbst herbeiführen können.

Von Wipaphan Wongsawang, Supitcha Senarak und Matcha Phorn-in

 


Künstlerische Werke

  • Wongsawang, Senarak und Phorn-in © Wongsawang, Senarak und Phorn-in
  • Wongsawang, Senarak und Phorn-in 2 © Wongsawang, Senarak und Phorn-in
Wipaphan Wongsawang © Wipaphan Wongsawang

Wipaphan Wongsawang

ist eine der Gründer*innen von Thaiconsent.in.th und Consentconnection.org, die das Konzept der Geschlechtergerechtig- keit für alle zugänglich machen. Sie hat einen Abschluss in Visuellem Kommunikationsdesign und strebt nun einen Master-Abschluss in Sozialem Design an. Ihr Ziel ist es, mit Hilfe von Designmethoden Bewusstsein und Lösungen zu schaffen, um die Welt zu einem besseren Ort zu machen.

Supitcha Senarak © Supitcha Senarak

Supitcha Senarak

ist eine Illustratorin/Graphic-Novel-Autorin aus Bangkok. Sie liebt es, Aquarelle zu verwenden und mit kleinen Details zu arbeiten. Ihr Comic Dining by Incense Light wurde 2016 mit dem 7 Books Award im Genre Graphic Novel ausgezeichnet. Neben ihrem Beruf als Comic-Autorin ist für Supitcha auch die Gleichberechtigung der Geschlechter (insbesondere in Bezug auf LGBTQ-Personen) ein wichtiges Thema, was sich oft in ihren Werken widerspiegelt.

Matcha Phorn-in © Matcha Phorn-in

Matcha Phorn-in

ist die Verantwortliche Direktorin von Sangsan Anakot Yaowachon, einer zivilgesellschaftlichen Organisation, die mit jungen Menschen aus marginalisierten Gemeinschaften arbeitet, von denen viele in katastrophengefährdeten thailändischen Dörfern an der Grenze zu Myanmar leben. Sie gehört einer ethnischen Minderheit an und identifiziert sich als lesbisch-feministische Menschenrechtsverteidigerin.

Top