In Conversation with Marius Hulpe Poetry: A Link Between Countries and Cultures

Asean Literary Festival2017
Asean Literary Festival2017 | © Goethe-Institut Indonesien

The ASEAN Literary Festival is an annual cultural event that sees the participation of all ASEAN countries – it features an extensive and diverse programme for everyone who is interested in literature. This year, the festival coincided with the 50th anniversary of ASEAN and took place in the Old Town of Jakarta (Fatahillah Square). Numerous writers from ASEAN countries as well as Europe participated, with poet, prose writer and essayist Marius Hulpe representing Germany.


How did you like the ASEAN Literary Festival in Jakarta? How does it compare to the Makassar International Writers Festival, that you joined in 2016? What kind of differences did you notice?

I think, here in Jakarta everything is a little bit bigger and at the same time, the festival is not as tropical and experimental as the one in Makassar. The setting seems to be more established, and that makes it different. That’s why I am very happy to have been able to experience different forms of festivals within the Indonesian culture. Both festivals seemed very political to me, maybe that is one of the similarities. And of course the sincere togetherness; there is hardly any reservation between the people. This is something we could actually try to implement in German literary and cultural festivals. We live in a culture that is dominanted by distance and representation, people hardly approach one another, unlike here in Indonesia. In that regard, Indonesians are world champions

What does poetry mean to you??

Marius Hulpe Marius Hulpe | © Goethe-Institut Indonesien How much time do you have? A couple of years? If you were to accompany a single author and his works over a years, you would definitely get a lot of different answers to this question. You then need to multiply these answers with the number of all existing poets. For me, poetry is a form of writing in certain moments. Poetry has many advantages. In philosophy, we have speculative realism, that puts a strong focus on the phenomenon of acceleration. Poetry is for example a good antidote to the excessive acceleration of our daily lives. People often complain that they don’t have time to read anymore. In that case, I can only say: read a poem every day, ideally this poem will cover the same ground as ten novels in only ten minutes. You can then spend the rest of the day thinking about what you have just read.

Currently, poetry in Indonesia is highly appreciated, not least because of M. Aan Mansyur. Many young people express themselves in poetry. How would you rate the situation in Germany, especially regarding the youth?

It could be more vivid and nuanced, less assertive and bound to the curriculum as well. Schools especially, in my opinion, miss the target by far. Individual teachers and mediators who are committed to poetry created after 1945 are few and far between. Many are simply not brave enough. Here in Indonesia, there is a tradition of oral poetry, but this has a very positive effect on the broadness of the recipients. What is still lacking is perhaps an accomplished literary criticism, but that would only be the next step anyway. It’s more important to read, read aloud, talk about it and tell stories. How and why did this come into being? Under what conditions? I myself became enthused with poetry this way, by someone who is unfortunately not with us anymore.

These days, poems are spread globally on social media with the hashtag #instapoetry. In addition, “poetry slams” have become more and more popular? What do you think about these phenomena?

I fully support the first one, but when it comes to slams, I don’t have much knowledge. I was often dragged to such poetry slams, but I never liked the atmosphere. That is, of course, subjective, but slams are simply not my style.

You joined the Makassar International Writers Festival 2016 on the island of Sulawesi. What expectations did you have of Jakarta, and were they fulfilled in the end?

Definitely! I had heard before that Jakarta is supposed to be much more exhausting than anything I had seen from Indonesia so far - a true sinkhole. That may be true, but at the same time, you are also rewarded with marvelous impressions. Take the traffic, for example - at first glance, it seems to be pure chaos. But this is a misconception.

How so?

Often, elderly men are standing in the middle of a crossroad - in Germany, they would probably be retirees - and then, hundreds, literally hundreds of motorbikes, buses, taxis and trucks are coming at them at full speed from different directions, without any traffic light. With only a few hand gestures, they are able to direct the traffic and receive a coin through the car window every so often. In Germany, this would be unthinkable. The cars would probably mow them down.

What will you take back to Germany from your time in Indonesia?

Like last time, a lot. The many encounters, of course, and what was really interesting and exhilarating for me is the observation that we are not that far away from each other, that we care about the same topics, and that there is a huge, unexploited potential for intercultural exchange. And what can be more beautiful than the knowledge that there is still much left to do?

  • Asean Literary Festival2017 © Goethe-Institut Indonesien
  • Asean Literary Festival2017 © Goethe-Institut Indonesien
  • Asean Literary Festival2017 © Goethe-Institut Indonesien

Marius Hulpe im Gespräch Lyrik: Ein link zwischen Ländern und Kulturen

Asean Literary Festival2017
Asean Literary Festival2017 | © Goethe-Institut Indonesien

Das ASEAN-Literaturfestival ist ein kulturelles Ereignis, an dem alle nahe gelegenen ASEAN-Länder jährlich teilnehmen können - ein umfangreiches Angebot unterschiedlichster Art für den literarisch Interessierten. In diesem Jahr fand das Festival in Verbindung mit dem 50. Jahrestag des ASEAN-Verbundes in der Altstadt von Jakarta (Fatahillah Square) statt. Zahlreiche Autoren aus den ASEAN-Staaten und Europa nahmen teil. Und der Lyriker, Prosa-Autor und Essayist Marius Hulpe vertrat hierbei Deutschland.


Wie gefiel Ihnen das ASEAN Literary Festival in Jakarta? Welche Unterschiede haben Sie bemerkt im Vergleich zum Makassar International Writers Festival, an dem Sie im Jahr 2016 teilgenommen haben?

Ich denke, hier in Jakarta ist alles etwas größer, auch nicht so tropisch und experimentell wie in Makassar. Das Umfeld scheint mir etablierter, es ist eben nochmal etwas anderes. Darüber bin ich nun auch sehr froh, unterschiedliche  Festivalformen innerhalb einer Kultur kennengelernt zu haben. Beide Festivals schienen mir sehr politisch, das ist vielleicht eine Gemeinsamkeit. Und dann das herzliche Miteinander, es gibt kaum Berührungsängste. Davon könnten wir uns auf deutschen Literatur- und Kunstfestivals nochmal eine Scheibe abschneiden. Wir leben ja in einer Distanz- und Repräsentanzkultur, es wird weniger aufeinander zugegangen als hier. Im aufeinander zugehen sind die Indonesier Weltmeister.

Was bedeutet für Sie selbst Lyrik?

Marius Hulpe Marius Hulpe | © Goethe-Institut Indonesien Haben Sie ein paar Jahre Zeit? Man bekäme, wenn man einen einzelnen Autor über Jahre hinweg in seinem Arbeiten begleitet, sicher schon sehr viele, verschiedene Antworten. Und diese Antworten multiplizieren Sie dann bitte mit allen Lyrikern, die es gibt. Für mich ist es eine Form des Schreibens in ganz bestimmten Momenten. Lyrik hat so viele Vorzüge. In der Philosophie gibt es den Spekulativen Realismus, der sich auch stark mit Phänomenen wie Akzeleration, also Beschleunigung befasst. Lyrik ist zum Beispiel ein gutes Gegengift bei überbordend werdender Beschleunigung in unserem Alltag. Menschen klagen, sie hätten kaum mehr Zeit zum Lesen. Da kann ich nur raten: greifen sie täglich zu einem Gedicht, da bekommen Sie im Idealfall ein paar Romane auf einmal serviert, in zehn Minuten. Den Rest des Tages können Sie dann darüber nachdenken, was Sie eben gelesen haben.

In Indonesien genießt die Lyrik aktuell, nicht zuletzt durch M. Aan Mansyur, einen hohen Stellenwert. Viele Jugendliche drücken sich in Gedichten aus. Wie schätzen Sie die Lage in Deutschland ein, insbesondere in Bezug auf deutsche Jugendliche?

Es könnte lebendiger, differenzierter sein, weniger dogmatisch und lehrplanmäßig auch, vor allem die Schulen verfehlen ihren Auftrag aus meiner Sicht um Längen. Einzelne Lehrer und Vermittler, die sich sehr für Lyrik einsetzen, die nach 1945 entstanden ist, bestätigen eher die Regel. Da fehlt es auch an Mut. Hier in Indonesien ist die Lyrikkultur beispielsweise eine sehr orale, das aber wirkt sich wiederum positiv auf die Breite der Rezeption aus. Es mangelt vielleicht ein wenig an versierter Literaturkritik, aber das wäre für mich ohnehin erst der nächste Schritt. Erstmal lesen, laut lesen, darüber sprechen, Geschichten dazu erzählen. Wie und warum ist das so entstanden? Unter welchen Bedingungen? Auf diese Weise wurde ich für Lyrik begeistert von jemandem, der leider nicht mehr unter uns ist.

Mittlerweile werden oft Gedichte, versehen mit #instapoetry, im Sozialen Netzwerk Instagram gepostet und so global verbreitet. Außerdem sind in den letzten Jahren „Poetry Slams“ immer beliebter geworden. Wie ordnen Sie diese beiden Phänomene ein?

Ersteres kann ich nur gutheißen, von Slams habe ich hingegen wenig Ahnung. Früher wurde ich oft zu welchen mitgeschleppt, mir gefiel die Atmosphäre nicht immer. Aber das ist ganz subjektiv. Meine Form ist der Slam jedenfalls nicht.

Sie waren zu Gast beim Makassar International Writers Festival 2016 auf der indonesischen Insel Sulawesi. Welche Erwartungen hatten Sie an Ihre Zeit in Jakarta? Haben sich diese erfüllt?

Definitiv! Ich habe vorher gehört, dass Jakarta unwahrscheinlich viel anstrengender sein soll als alles, was ich bislang von Indonesien kenne, ein richtiger Moloch. Das mag so sein, aber dafür wird man auch entlohnt mit sagenhaften Eindrücken. Nehmen wir bloß den Verkehr, auf den ersten Blick scheint es ein bloßes Chaos zu sein. Das ist aber eine Fehlannahme.

Inwiefern?

Mitten auf der Kreuzung stehen häufig ältere Herren, in Deutschland wären das vermutlich Rentner, und dann rasen aus allen Richtungen hunderte, wirklich hunderte Mopeds, Busse, Taxis und Lastwagen auf sie zu, alles ohne Ampel. Mit wenigen Handzeichen lenken sie ganz in Zivil den Verkehr und bekommen dafür aus den Fenstern hier und dort eine Münze zugesteckt. In Deutschland undenkbar, man würde sie vermutlich plattrasen.

Was nehmen Sie aus Ihrer Zeit in Indonesien mit nach Deutschland?

Wieder einmal sehr viel. Die Begegnungen natürlich, und besonders interessant und beglückend ist für mich die Feststellung, dass wir nicht weit voneinander entfernt sind, dass wir dieselben Themen haben, dass es ein riesiges, unausgeschöpftes Potential des interkulturellen Austauschs gibt. Was gäbe es Schöneres als die Feststellung, dass noch viel zu tun ist?

  • Asean Literary Festival2017 © Goethe-Institut Indonesien
  • Asean Literary Festival2017 © Goethe-Institut Indonesien
  • Asean Literary Festival2017 © Goethe-Institut Indonesien