Lecture and Discussion Exhibition-Making and Education – Stories from New Delhi and Berlin

Exhibition-Making and Education – Stories from New Delhi and Berlin Tina Lehnhardt/Goethe-Institut Indonesien

12.12.2019
4.30 PM

Museum MACAN
Level M

APIK Public Session with / Radha Mahendru and Kamila Metwaly discuss how different notions, aspects and practices of learning inform their work as exhibition makers in New Delhi and Berlin

Organizing an exhibition is a two-way project that requires a response or appreciation from the audience. Today it is common for visitors to attend fringe events such as artist talk, a workshop, or a guided tour with the curator to facilitate engaging with contemporary arts exhibitions. When creating a big exhibition such as a biennale, organizers usually appoint a dedicated team to handle the educational and public programs.
 
But educational programs can also reach beyond simply inviting the visitor to engage in the final exhibition and become part of the process of exhibition making. Considering mutual learning as an aspect in the practice of staging an exhibition can create a distinctive feature of the exhibition itself. How to engage (with) the public as active contributors or co-creators rather than silent listeners/viewers is a key issue in contemporary exhibition making. 
 
Radha Mahendru (KHOJ International Artists’ Association, New Delhi) and Kamila Metwaly (SAVVY Contemporary, Berlin) will discuss aspects of learning in the process of organizing exhibitions and programs in their respective areas of practice and context in New Delhi and Berlin. The lecture will be followed by a discussion and Q&A session moderated by Asep Topan (Museum MACAN, Jakarta).
 
The public session series is a continuation of APIK, a training program for exhibition makers focusing on managerial skills. The public sessions highlight alternative approaches to exhibition making as well as knowledge of production and dissemination in contemporary visual arts.

APIK, a training program for exhibition makers, introduces a 101 of exhibition making in the framework of Indonesian contemporary visual arts. With DIY culture at heart, APIK features different practical video modules covering management, production and communication.
 

To events:

APIK - Workshop | 09. - 14.12.
APIK Public Session | 11.12. : Beyond the White Cube—Reimagining Exhibitions
 

Back

Vorträge und Diskussion Ausstellungen, Bildung, Vermittlung – Ansätze aus New Delhi und Berlin

Exhibition-Making and Education – Stories from New Delhi and Berlin Tina Lehnhardt/Goethe-Institut Indonesien

12.12.2019
16:30 Uhr

Museum MACAN
Level M

APIK Public Session mit Radha Mahendru (KHOJ International Artists’ Association, New Delhi) und Kamila Metwaly (S A V V Y Contemporary, Berlin). Diskussion moderiert von Asep Topan (Museum MACAN, Jakarta)

Eine Ausstellung funktioniert nur in wechselseitiger Beziehung zu einem Publikum, das reagiert. Für Besucher*innen ist es heutzutage normal an Rahmenveranstaltungen teilzunehmen, etwa Künstler*innengesprächen, Workshops oder einer Führung mit der Kurator*in, um sich mit Ausstellungen zeitgenössischer Kunst tiefergehend auseinanderzusetzen. Bei der Gestaltungen großer Ausstellungen wie einer Biennale stellen die Organisator*innen in der Regel ein eigenes Team zusammen, das sich um die Bildungs-/Vermittlungsarbeit und die öffentlichen Programme kümmert.

Aber Vermittlungsprogramme können durchaus über die bloße Einladung an die Besucher*innen, sich die Ausstellung als finales Produkt eines Prozesses anzusehen, hinausgehen und selbst Teil des Ausstellungsprozesses sein. Wechselseitiges Lernen als wichtigen Aspekt zu betrachten und in den Prozess einzubeziehen kann dabei zum besonderen Merkmal für die Ausstellung selbst werden.
Wie man die Öffentlichkeit als aktive Mitwirkende und Mitgestalter*innen statt als stille Zuhörer*innen/ Zuschauer*innen einbezieht und gemeinsam Teilhabe gestaltet, ist eine Kernfrage zeitgenössischer Ausstellungspraxis.

In den Lectures erörtern Radha Mahendru (KHOJ International Artists’ Association, New Delhi) und Kamila Metwaly (SAVVY Contemporary, Berlin), wie verschiedene Begriffe, Aspekte und Praktiken des Lernens ihre Arbeit als Ausstellungsmacher*innen in New Delhi und Berlin prägen. Im Anschluss folgt eine Diskussion moderiert von Asep Topan (Museum MACAN, Jakarta).
 
Die PUBLIC SESSION-Serie ist eine Fortsetzung von APIK, einem Qualifizierungsprogramm für Ausstellungsmacher*innen mit Management-Schwerpunkt. Die öffentlichen Veranstaltungen rücken alternative Ansätze des Ausstellungsmachens in den Fokus sowie Fragen der Wissensproduktion und –Verbreitung in Bereich zeitgenössischer Kunst.
 
Das Qualifizierungsprogramm für Ausstellungsmacher*innen APIK entwirft ein 1x1 des Ausstellungmachens im Kontext der zeitgenössischen Kunstszene in Indonesien.  Ausgehend von DIY-Praxis bietet APIK praxis-orientierte Videomodule zu verschiedenen Themen – von Management, über Produktion bis Kommunikation.
 

Zu Veranstaltungen:

APIK - Workshop | 09. - 14.12.
APIK Public Session | 11.12. : Jenseits des White Cube – alternative Ausstellungkonzepte
 

Zurück