Quick access:
Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

The “Bauhaus women”
Female apprentices required – but not too many!

バウハウスの女性たち
バウハウスの女性たち | © Mitteldeutscher Rundfunk

There are many myths on the subject of women in the Bauhaus. Author Theresia Enzensberger points out that where women’s equality is concerned, the school might have been progressive – but the inclusive attitude remained incomplete.

By Theresia Enzensberger

When #MeToo reached the art world, this is how it read: “We are not surprised when curators offer exhibitions or support in exchange for sexual favours. We are not surprised when gallerists romanticise, minimise, and hide sexually abusive behaviour by artists they represent. We are not surprised when a meeting with a collector or a potential patron becomes a sexual proposition. We are not surprised when we are retaliated against for not complying. Abuse of power comes as no surprise.” The open letter, which was published on 30th October 2017 in The Guardian and was signed by thousands of people involved in the art industry, clearly demonstrates how long overdue a discussion about power relations was in this field too. But there are things in the art world that make this reconditioning particularly difficult: the genius myth for instance, the occult social capital, or the fact that the avant garde movement considers itself to be especially progressive and therefore has comparatively big problems when it comes to even entertaining the possibility of power abuse or sexism within its own ranks.

These blind spots are nothing new. Today the Bauhaus is viewed as one of the most important institutions in the modern world, pioneer of social architecture, progressive school and hotbed of talent. None of this is wrong, but it isn’t complete. When Walter Gropius founded the school in 1919 in Weimar, his agenda was as follows: “Any respectable person is accepted as an apprentice regardless of age and gender, whose talent and educational background is considered to be adequate by the Masters’ Council.” The predecessor of the Bauhaus, the Grand Ducal-Saxon Academy of Fine Arts in Weimar, was one of the few art schools at which women were accepted even before the foundation of the Weimar Republic. Gropius’ announcement was well received: in the summer semester of 1919 the proportion of women enrolled at the Bauhaus was just over fifty per cent, with 84 female and 79 male students. The Masters’ Council was overwhelmed by the huge onslaught, Gropius called for a “strict segregation immediately after admission, especially where the over-represented female sex with its excessively high numbers is concerned.” Generally speaking, this segregation manifested itself in terms of restricting women to designated areas and accommodating them in the weaving workshop, which by that time was being referred to as the “women’s class”.

Some women found this working scenario to be a thoroughly positive experience: the other masters usually didn’t interfere in the workshop’s affairs, and there was a sense of self-determination and solidarity. Gunta Stölzl, who was in charge of the “women’s class” briefly in 1920, was well-suited to this textile work because her talent matched the role she occupied. In 1927 she became junior master of weaving at the instigation of the students, and thus its sole head. She remained the only Bauhaus master craftswoman. Anni Albers, who originally wanted to be a painter, also found weaving to be a medium in which she could live out her creative potential. She experimented with abstraction, viewed the rigid grid structure of the loom as an inspiration, and was extremely innovative in her approach to textiles: she completed her Bauhaus diploma in 1930 with a soundproof and light-reflective wall covering made of cotton and cellophane.

But not all women were in the weaving workshop through choice. Gropius’ segregation was showing its effects: in the years after the Bauhaus was founded, the number of women was decreasing constantly. Weaving was considered a handicraft, which meant it had a very low status in the art and design hierarchy. It’s a bitter irony of the story that the weaving workshop was the only one to run at a profit for many years – so that it helped to finance the artistic flights of fancy in the male-dominated areas as well.

Oskar Schlemmer, form master in fresco painting, expressed his appreciation in these words: “Where there’s wool you’ll women find, weaving just to pass the time.” But women were making progress in his workshop too, for example Lou Scheper-Berkenkamp, who despite instructions from the master craftsman that the outside area was only to be used by the men, could often be found on the scaffolding. Marianne Brandt also secured herself a place in the male domain that was the metal workshop, and is responsible for some of probably the most famous Bauhaus designs: the round ashtray with triangular opening, or the MT49 tea infuser are just two examples. Even the architecture course, which was only established in 1926, wasn’t safe from the women. Lotte Stam-Beese was the first women to be accepted onto the course. Admittedly this unusual event was preceded by an affair with Hannes Meyer, the new Bauhaus director – and things didn’t end well for her: when her relationship became public, he asked her to quit her course.

These lone warriors are remarkable, but life was not easy for them. One area in which gender relations were not yet finally established, and which created a certain amount of freedom for women at the Bauhaus, was photography. Women like Gertrud Arndt and Lucia Moholy were able to reinvent themselves within these free spaces.

Closure of the Bauhaus by the Nazis in 1933 was followed by crazy, chaotic and in some cases tragic years for many of those formerly involved with the school. Six female Bauhaus members were murdered in concentration camps, one lost her life during a bomb attack. A succession of women artists were able to flee into exile: Gunta Stölzl founded a hand-weaving business in Switzerland, Anni Albers taught at the Black Mountain College in North Carolina, United States, from 1933 onwards, and Lotte Stam-Beese found a new home in Holland.

So what’s left of the Bauhaus women? A well-known photo by Lux Feininger shows a group of young women on the steps of the Bauhaus building in Dessau. They have short hair, are wearing trousers, and are looking at the camera with wild, uninhibited expressions. Progressive though that may seem, we shouldn’t allow ourselves to be misled and perpetuate the blind spots of the past – instead we should view these women as artists in their own right. Far too often you still hear people saying: “Wasn’t that the wife of Joseph Albers, Mart Stam, László Moholy-Nagy?” The fact that more and more one-off exhibitions are being dedicated to female Bauhaus artists, that they are getting their own Wikipedia entries, that art historians are writing about their lives, allows a glimmer of hope that all this will stop soon.

Top

Schnelleinstieg:
Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

Die „Bauhaus-Frauen“
Weibliche Lehrlinge erwünscht – bloß nicht zu viele!

Bauhaus-Frauen
Ausschnitt aus "Bauhausfrauen", der Dokumentation des Mitteldeutschen Rundfunks | © Mitteldeutscher Rundfunk

Zum Thema Frauen am Bauhaus gibt es viele Mythen. Autorin Theresia Enzensberger zeigt auf: Was Gleichberechtigung von Frauen angeht, war die Schule zwar fortschrittlich, doch der inklusive Gestus blieb unvollständig.
 

Von Theresia Enzensberger

Der Film „Bauhausfrauen“ läuft ab 23.11.2019 im Programm des „Bauhaus 100 Filmfestivals" im Kino Eurospace in Tokyo. Für die Voraufführung am 15.10. im Goethe-Institut verlost das Goethe-Institut Tokyo 30 Karten. Interessenten können sich bis Mo, 7.10., 18 Uhr über die Online-Anmeldung des Goethe-Instituts Tokyo registrieren (max. 2 Karten pro Person). Die Kartengewinner werden am Dienstag, den 8.10., benachrichtigt.
Als #MeToo die Kunstwelt erreichte, las sich das so: „Wir sind nicht überrascht, wenn Kuratoren Ausstellungen oder Unterstützung anbieten und dafür sexuelle Gegenleistungen erwarten. Wir sind nicht überrascht, wenn Galleristen das sexualisierte Fehlverhalten ihrer Künstler romantisieren, minimieren und oder verstecken. Wir sind nicht überrascht, wenn ein Sammler oder potentieller Förderer ein Treffen mit sexuellen Absichten anbietet. Wir sind nicht überrascht, wenn man sich rächt, weil wir uns nicht fügen. Der Machtmissbrauch ist keine Überraschung.“ Der offene Brief, der am 30. Oktober 2017 im The Guardian erschien und von tausenden AkteurInnen des Kunstbetriebs unterzeichnet wurde, zeigt eindrücklich, wie lange überfällig auch hier eine öffentliche Diskussion über Machtverhältnisse war. Aber es gibt Dinge in der Kunstwelt, die diese Aufarbeitung besonders schwierig machen: Der Geniemythos zum Beispiel, das okkulte soziale Kapital, oder die Tatsache, dass die Avantgarde sich für besonders fortschrittlich hält und also vergleichsweise große Probleme hat, die Möglichkeit von Machtmissbrauch oder Sexismus in den eigenen Reihen überhaupt in Betracht zu ziehen.

Diese blinden Flecken sind nicht neu. Das Bauhaus gilt heute als eine der wichtigsten Institutionen der Moderne, Vorreiter des sozialen Bauens, fortschrittliche Schule und Talentschmiede. All das ist nicht falsch, aber unvollständig. Als Walter Gropius die Schule 1919 in Weimar gründete, hieß es in seinem Programm: „Als Lehrling aufgenommen wird jede unbescholtene Person ohne Rücksicht auf Alter und Geschlecht, deren Begabung und Vorbildung vom Meisterrat als ausreichend erachtet wird.“ Der Vorgänger des Bauhauses, die Großherzoglich-Sächsische Kunsthochschule in Weimar, war eine der wenigen Kunstakademien, an denen schon vor der Gründung der Weimarer Republik Frauen aufgenommen wurden. Gropius‘ Ankündigung fand großen Anklang: Im Sommersemester 1919 lag der Frauenanteil am Bauhaus mit 84 weiblichen und 79 männlichen Studierenden knapp über fünfzig Prozent. Der Meisterrat war überfordert von dem großen Ansturm, Gropius verlangte eine „scharfe Aussonderung gleich nach der Aufnahme, vor allem bei dem der Zahl nach zu stark vertretenen weiblichen Geschlecht“. Diese Aussonderung bestand im Allgemeinen darin, Frauen auf ihre Domäne zu verweisen und sie in der Webereiwerkstatt unterzubringen, die zwischenzeitlich auch „Frauenklasse“ genannt wurde.

Manche Frauen empfanden diesen Arbeitszusammenhang als durchaus positiv: Die anderen Meister mischten sich meist nicht in die Angelegenheiten der Werkstatt, es herrschte ein Gefühl der Selbstbestimmung und der Solidarität. Gunta Stölzl, die 1920 kurzzeitig die Leitung der „Frauenklasse“ übernahm, lag die Textilarbeit, bei der ihr Talent und ihre Aufgaben einander entsprachen. 1927 wurde sie, auf Betreiben der Studentinnen, Jungmeisterin und damit allein verantwortliche Leiterin der Weberei. Sie blieb die einzige Meisterin am Bauhaus. Auch Anni Albers, die ursprünglich Malerin werden wollte, fand in der Webkunst ein Medium, in dem sie sich kreativ ausleben konnte. Sie experimentierte mit Abstraktion, begriff das strenge Raster des Webstuhls als inspirierend, und war hochinnovativ in ihrem Umgang mit Textilien: Ihr Bauhausdiplom schloss sie 1930 mit einem schalldämpfenden und lichtreflektierenden Vorhang aus Baumwolle und Zellophan ab.

Aber nicht alle Frauen waren freiwillig in der Weberei. Gropius‘ Aussonderung zeigte Wirkung, in den Jahren nach der Gründung nahm die Anzahl der Frauen am Bauhaus stetig ab. Das Weben galt als Kunsthandwerk und nahm deshalb in der Hierarchie von Kunst und Gestaltung einen der untersten Ränge ein. Es ist eine bittere Ironie der Geschichte, dass die Webwerkstatt lange Jahre die einzige war, die Profite machte – und damit die künstlerischen Höhenflüge der männlich dominierten Bereiche mitfinanzierte.

Oskar Schlemmer, Formmeister der Wandmalerei, drückte seine Wertschätzung so aus: „Wo Wolle ist, ist auch ein Weib, das webt und sei’s zum Zeitvertreib“. Aber auch in seine Werkstatt drangen Frauen vor, wie zum Beispiel Lou Scheper-Berkenkamp, die die Weisung des Werkmeisters, der Außenbereich sei den Männern vorbehalten, oft auf dem Gerüst zu finden war. Auch Marianne Brandt eroberte sich einen Platz in der Männerdomäne der Metallwerkstatt, und ist für einige der wohl berühmtesten Designs des Bauhauses verantwortlich; der runde Aschenbecher mit dem dreieckigen Ausschnitt oder das Tee-Extraktkännchen MT49 sind nur zwei Beispiele. Sogar die Baulehre, die erst 1926 gegründet wurde, war nicht sicher vor den Frauen. 1928 wurde Lotte Stam-Beese als erste Frau dort aufgenommen. Allerdings war diesem ungewöhnlichen Ereignis eine Affäre mit Hannes Meyer, dem neuen Bauhaus-Direktor, vorausgegangen, die nicht gut für sie endete: Als ihr Verhältnis publik wurde, bat er sie, ihre Ausbildung abzubrechen.

Diese Einzelkämpferinnen sind bewundernswert, aber sie hatten es nicht leicht. Ein Bereich, in dem die Geschlechterverhältnisse noch nicht abschließend geklärt waren, und der den Frauen am Bauhaus einige Freiheit verschaffte, war die Fotografie. Frauen wie Gertrud Arndt und Lucia Moholy inszenierten sich in diesen Freiräumen neu.

Auf die Schließung des Bauhauses durch die Nazis 1933 folgten für viele ehemalige Mitglieder der Schule wirre, chaotische, teilweise tragische Jahre. Sechs Bauhäuslerinnen wurden in Konzentrationslagern ermordet, eine kam bei einem Bombenangriff ums Leben. Eine Reihe von Künstlerinnen konnte ins Exil flüchten: Gunta Stölzl gründete eine Handweberei in der Schweiz, Anni Albers unterrichtete ab 1933 am Black Mountain College in North Carolina, Vereinigte Staaten, und Lotte Stam-Beese fand in Holland ein neues Zuhause.

Was bleibt also von den Frauen am Bauhaus? Ein berühmtes Foto von Lux Feininger zeigt eine Gruppe junger Frauen auf der Treppe des Bauhausgebäudes in Dessau. Sie haben kurze Haare, tragen Hosen, sehen wild und unbefangen in die Kamera. So fortschrittlich das aussieht, wir sollten uns nicht dazu verleiten lassen, die blinden Flecken der Vergangenheit fortzuführen, sondern diese Frauen als eigenständige Künstlerinnen betrachten. Viel zu oft hört man noch: „War das nicht die Frau von Joseph Albers, Mart Stam, László Moholy-Nagy?“ Die Tatsache, dass mehr und mehr Bauhauskünstlerinnen Einzelausstellungen gewidmet werden, dass sie eigene Wikipedia-Einträge bekommen, dass Kunsthistorikerinnen und Kunsthistoriker über ihr Leben schreiben, lässt hoffen, dass es damit bald ein Ende hat.

Top