Panos Aprahamian
Backstory – The Film Residency

Panos Aprahamian © Panos Aprahamian

Biography:

Panos Aprahamian is a writer and filmmaker based in Beirut. After graduating from the Lebanese Academy of Fine Arts he moved to London to continue his studies at the University of the Arts as a Caspian Arts Scholar specializing in documentary filmmaking. He produced his first film Yabandjo (2016) for Video Works 7 at Ashkal Alwan and is currently developing his second thanks to a grant from the Arab Fund for Arts and Culture (AFAC). His work has been showcased at film festivals and art spaces in Lebanon, Italy, UK, and UAE.

Project info: 

This Haunting Memory (That Is Not My Own) is an epistolary exploration trying to retrace the footsteps of the filmmakers’ ancestors, through their journey in exile across the Eastern Mediterranean and the North Atlantic initiated by the Armenian Genocide, in an attempt to draw parallels between their story and that of the forcefully displaced of our present historical moment.
 

statement jury

The project by Panos Aprahamian follows his previous films, which combine captivating imagery, precise observations and thorough research. On the basis of a reconstruction of the escape route taken by his great-grandfather, he now expands on the documentary analysis by means of his Armenian forebears, and as he does so poses historical but also current questions on displacement, migration and exile. The bursary provides him with the opportunity to drive forward the writing process, and to apply the finishing touches to the project development with the aid of professional advice.

Panos Aprahamian
Backstory – The Film Residency

Panos Aprahamian © Panos Aprahamian

Vita: 

Panos Aprahamian ist ein Schriftsteller und Produzent mit Sitz in Beirut. Nach seinem Abschluss an der libanesischen Akademie der Bildenden Künste zog er nach London, um dort mit einem Caspian Arts Stipendium sein Studium an der Universität der Künste fortzusetzen, und sich auf die Produktion von Dokumentarfilmen zu spezialisieren.Er produzierte seinen ersten Film Yabandjo (2016) für Video Works 7 bei Ashkal Alwan und Dank eines Stipendiums des Arabischen Fonds für Kunst und Kultur (AFAC) arbeitet er derzeit an seinem zweiten Film. Seine Arbeit wurde auf Filmfestivals und Kunstausstellungen im Libanon, in Italien, Großbritannien und den VAE präsentiert.
 

Projektinfo: 

In This Haunting Memory ( That is Not My Own) erforscht der Filmemacher alte Briefwechsel auf der Suche nach den Spuren seiner Vorfahren, und verfolgt ihre vom armenischen Völkermord initiierte Exilreise über das östliche Mittelmeer und den Nordatlantik in einem Versuch, Parallelen zwischen ihrer Geschichte und der der Zwangsvertriebenen der Gegenwart zu ziehen.

stellungnahme der jury

Das Projekt von Panos Aprahamian schließt an seine früheren Filme an, die bestechende Bilder, genaue Beobachtung und gründliche Recherche verbinden. Anhand einer Rekonstruktion der Fluchtwege seines Urgroßvaters vertieft er nun die dokumentarische Auseinandersetzung mit seinen armenischen Vorfahren und stellt dabei sowohl historische als auch aktuelle Fragen zu Vertreibung, Migration und Exil. Das Stipendium bietet ihm die Gelegenheit, den Prozess des Schreibens voran zu treiben und mit Hilfe von professioneller Beratung der Projektentwicklung den letzten Schliff zu geben.