Philip Widmann
Backstory – The Film Residency

Philip Widmann © Philip Widmann

biographY:

Philip Widmann (born 1980, West Berlin) graduated in Cultural Anthropology from the University of Hamburg and in Visual Communications from the University of Fine Arts Hamburg. His film and video works have been shown in art spaces and film festivals internationally, among them the Wexner Center for the Arts, WRO Media Art Biennale Wroclaw, Berlin Film Festival, International Film Festival Rotterdam, New York Film Festival, Mostra São Paulo, FID Marseille, CPH:DOX and Visions du Réel.

Project Info:

“Vault A: The Ruins of B.” is a cinematic exploration of the desire for the inaccessible. Point of origin are the Roman ruins of Baalbek, their survey and reconstruction by a German expedition at the beginning of the 20th century, as well as the first Lebanese talkie, produced by a German woman in 1934. The film is said to be lost and the ruins of Baalbek are located in an area for which the German Foreign Ministry sustains an urgent travel warning since years. From this perspective, history appears to be an inaccessible territory marked by losses and interdictions.

 

Statement JURY 

Philip Widman seemed to have the perfect project for a German-Lebanese collaboration. A two months stay in Beirut will provide him with the right tools to research his truly fascinating Lebanese based topic and develop his project to the fullest.

Philip Widmann
Backstory – The Film Residency

Philip Widmann © Philip Widmann

Vita:

Philip Widmann (*1980, Westberlin) studierte Kulturanthropologie an der Universität Hamburg und Visuelle Kommunikation an der Hochschule für Bildende Künste Hamburg. Sein Film- und Videoschaffen wurde auf Kunstevents und Filmfestivals bei internationalen Anlässen gezeigt, darunter das Wexner Center for the Arts, WRO Media Art Biennale Wroclaw, Berlin Film Festival, International Film Festival Rotterdam, New York Film Festival, Mostra São Paulo, FID Marseille, CPH:DOX und Visions du Réel.

Projektinfo:

Vault A: The Ruins of B. ist eine filmische Erforschung des Verlangens nach dem Unerreichbaren. Ausgangspunkt sind die römischen Ruinen von Baalbeck und deren Untersuchung und Rekonstruktion durch eine deutsche Expedition zu Beginn des 20. Jahrhunderts sowie der erste libanesische Tonfilm, der 1934 von einer Deutschen produziert wurde.  Dieser Film soll verloren gegangen sein und die Ruinen von Baalbeck befinden sich in einer Gegend, für die das deutsche Außenministerium seit Jahren eine dringende Reisewarnung verhängt hat. Aus dieser Perspektive erscheint die Geschichte als unzugängliches, von Verlusten und Verboten markiertes Territorium.

 

Stellungnahme der Jury

Philip Widman scheint das perfekte Projekt für eine deutsch-libanesische Zusammenarbeit zu haben. Ein zweimonatiger Aufenthalt in Beirut wird ihm die richtigen Hilfsmittel in die Hand geben, um sein wirklich faszinierendes, libanonbasiertes Thema zu erforschen und sein Projekt bestmöglich auszuarbeiten.