Quick access:

Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

Cultural Production Fund
Theatre, Dance &
Performance Art

In the productions, actors and directors often touch on the idea of borders, creating physical walls and tackling the power of imagined frontiers. Actors are often seen wandering restlessly, always in search of something elusive...

Mayar Alexan | Ticket to Atlantis© Goethe-Institut Libanon/ Alia Haju
LOA Theatre & Performance© Goethe-Institut Libanon / Alia Haju
Wael Ali & Crystèle Khodr | Temporary Stay© Ettijahat Independent Culture

LOA Theater © Ettijahat Independent Culture

Mraya Theatre Project | Crossing

Mraya Theater Project © Ettijahat Independent Culture  A collective theatrical production experiment between Syrian, Bulgarian and Iraqi writers to produce a theatrical script and readings that address subjects of “state, patriotism, nationality, identity and borders.” The work deals with the question of identity and the internal struggle experienced by every migrant between their motherland and their country of refuge, in addition to the struggles of identity and belonging, the difficulties of achieving integration, and the concept of home and how it changes with every individual’s choice to let go of the past and start over.

Rafat Zahr Eddin | The Wall

Rafat Zahr Eddin © Ettijahat Independent Culture  A dance performance loosely adapted from the story of The Wall by Jean-Paul Sartre which discusses the impact of psychological and physical violence on people who are deprived of their freedom as the shadows of war and power struggles loom over them. The performance tells the story of Ibbieta, who is sentenced to death and asked to inform on his friend to save himself. It relies on physical performance as a means of expression and includes choreography workshops in which a number of dancers will try to create ‘new’ patterns of movement.

Hassan Akoul | Umm El Ghaith, Help Us

Hassan Akoul © Ettijahat Independent Culture  A theatrical script and readings that address the subject of violence against women within society and the many different ways in which women are deprived of freedom. The story is inspired by true events which took place in the region of Houla, Syria in 2005, in which a girl was imprisoned in a crypt because of her love for dancing. In the crypt, she made a friend, a wise doll called ‘Umm El Ghaith'. This friendship led to the girl being stigmatised as insane.

Nader Abd Alhay | Death is an Easy Act

Nader Abd Alhay © Ettijahat Independent Culture  A theatrical performance inspired by Intruder by Maurice Maeterlinck. The story is about the difficulties of introducing death into the life of a family which has unknowingly lost one of its girls in the river outside while the surviving members live a stable and blissful life inside. The project addresses the concepts of death and safety and their presence in modern life through theatrical performance and other artistic means, such as puppets.


Edition 2019

Alaa Addin Alem | Sinking

A theatrical performance based on the story of a Syrian father and son who end up in contrasting positions as a result of the Syrian situation, which increases the radical contradictions between the two characters. Pushed by the pressure of the situation in Syria and the successive defeat, the father wanders through Europe, where he finds his stability and last resort. The son is searching for a paradise that is missing among the wreckage of his hopes for change and freedom. He seeks to uncover the meaning of his life, which is full of futility. The two, the son and the father, rotate in an inescapable orbit.
 

Fares Alzahaby | Rebellious Plays

A project that seeks to publish a book which includes a translation of four theatrical texts from Arabic to French, making them available for performance in French theaters. The project aims to promote artistic and cultural integration between the Syrian artists and the French society that is interested in learning about Arab and Syrian culture through the power of soft culture, which has become an essential bridge for communication between peoples.  The project is a step to introduce French readers and viewers to the Syrian reality and modern theatrical experiences post-2011 and the asylum seeker crisis. It is also an important step in presenting Syrian theater written in its original language to the European public.
 

Hoor Malas | Resonator

A kinetic performance that features the choreographer Hoor Malas and director Mayar Alexani. The performance looks into the topography of the area responsible for memory function in the human brain and the damage it suffers as a result of Alzheimer’s. The work investigates the knowledge system that allows the humans to identify their own selves, the people around them and the roles they play, and exposes how this system could collapse.
 

Sara Eltaweel | Nowhere

A theatrical performance based on improvisation as actors tell their own stories. The idea emerged during a free improvisation workshop with 17 actors supervised by director Jamal Choucair. The workshop resulted in a main idea that focused on migration as a general concept that brought together various topics that are intertwined with each other and are related to the impact of what has happened in Syria at all levels, including love, loss, despair, and futility.
 


Edition 2018

Koon Theater |
The Other Side of the Garden

Koon © Ettijahat Independent Culture Based on the novel The Story of a Mother by Hans Christian Andersen, the play tells the story of a mother who goes on a search for the king of death to retrieve her son. In the process, she loses her voice, hair, and eyes. Her sacrifices are futile, and she fails to save her son. We see the radical transformation of the mother on her journey, which is similar to the transformation of an individual living through war. The play focuses on the concepts of loss and sacrifice, as well as the story of death, or, the story of man as a creature who is inevitably destined to perish.

Omar Bakbook | Kordelo Shadow

Omar Bakbook © Ettijahat Independent Culture "Kordelo Shadow" is a multimedia play that seeks to transcend the geographical boundaries of theater by combining two artistic forms: shadow theater and the selfie video. The show simulates the isolation felt by Syrians regardless of where they are, whether in prisons, or in besieged areas inside Syria, or even in the isolation of exile imposed by borders.


 

Rama Haydar | People of Love

Rama Haydar © Ettijahat Independent Culture "People of Love" is a play that examines the issues of identity crisis and alienation through the life story of Dr. Nabil and his wife, Nada. Uninterrupted by any significant events, the couple remain secluded in their new sanctuary after being displaced from their city of Damascus during the war. The project aims to shed light on the current social reality of living in countries of asylum and to portray the state of misery and intellectual idleness that has affected us all. The play also seeks to address social issues, including the unconscious conflicts between social classes through the polarizations we observe among the characters in the play.

School of Dramatic Arts | Harsh Lesson

School of Dramatic Arts © Ettijahat Independent Culture "Harsh Lesson" is a play which aims to transform the stage into a psychological laboratory, in which viewers face a vivid experience to detect the source and causes of violence and cruelty. Four characters from the Faculty of Psychology (a professor, an assistant, and two students) subject themselves with nerves of steel to an intense experience that examines the relationship between loyalty and obedience to justify carrying out inhumane acts against others. The play put to the test new/old questions, such as: Can obedience that causes pain to others be justified? Can crimes committed in the name of values, religion, or humanity be justified?! These questions and many others are raised during the play against the backdrop of a love maze that binds the characters.


Edition 2017

Aram Wahhoud | Fat Haki/Gibberish

Aram Wahhoud © Ettijahat Independent Culture Gibberish is made up of three interactive puppet shows: "Zakaria al-Mkarkak/ Zakaria the Messy" is a character whose roots extend to the so-called Arab Renaissance. All he does is talk about the glory of Arab literature and how it reached its peak.
Then, it is time to talk about physical prowess. Zakaria is a writer and poet who has a youthful spirit but who suffers from an eternal cough. The character of Zakaria is an interactive puppet made of newspapers and is animated by a person. The animator and the puppet share the same feet, but have a separate upper body. The dichotomy is caused by the intellectual-physical separation. Zakaria always appears in the least expected places to recite poems from his collection “Fatt Haki/Gibberish.”

Lojain Alaranji | Solitude

Lojain Alaranji © Ettijahat Independent Culture A monodrama theater script about a 50-year-old Syrian woman (female / worker / politician). She is single, (a spinster according to society) who has chosen to engage in ideological work in her youth, believing this is the way to save herself from the mediocrity of traditional female roles. The script draws on women experiences in politics and reveals the shortcomings of organized political party work as well as the nature of its members. The script introduces the world of women and their suffering.


 

Sari Almustafa | Injection/The Game

Sari Almustafa © Ettijahat Independent Culture A theater project that simulates a social and human reality. It poses questions and themes that draw on our relationships and their implications by highlighting the influence of power on the one hand, and love (and its concepts, such as giving, sacrifice and loss) on the other.
After becoming deformed and sexually impotent due to injury caused by a mortar shell that killed his son, the husband (Karam) invents a game, where he puts his wife (Abeer, a doctor) and her lover (Bahaa, a young actor) under investigation and through punishment. A subsequent state of disclosure and clarity is revealed announcing the conspiracy of the wife and her lover against the exhausted husband who is a victim of successive losses.

Suzan Ali | Arabic Eyeliner

Suzan Ali © Ettijahat Independent Culture A monologue that depicts intense sensory moments lived by a girl after she experiences the death of her entire family in an explosion. The girl lives alone and soon begins talking to the objects and furniture around her. She has a sensory emotional memory, and as she fears the present and longs for the past, she humanizes the inanimate objects to the extent of considering them flesh and blood. The script clarifies a state of humanizing objects and transforming them into real, speaking persons that share one’s isolation and decisions.

 


Edition 2016

Lama Khalil | Insomnia

Lama Khalil © Ettijahat Independent Culture A play showing excerpts of a Syrian man in his thirties trying to rediscover his new life, after being constantly on move from Syria to Lebanon and Turkey, ending up in Germany. In one fleeting moment, he loses sight of all his principles, goals, and dreams. The play explores how revolution, war, immigration, displacement, and loneliness took their toll on his life. The young man starts having sleeping disorders, and eventually severe insomnia. He tries to recall images, places, and people from his past life to help him reconnect to reality. All this happens without any links to his current reality—a mixture of daydreams, harsh reality, and illusions brought by his insomnia. He tries to contextualise his new life with images from the past, in order to know whether he is awake or dreaming. Does he really exist, or is all this just an illusion? Who was he and who is he now? What is the answer?

Wael Ali | Temporary Stay

Wael Ali © Ettijahat Independent Culture An old audio cassette is found among the abandoned belongings in a family home in Beirut. The cassette was recorded in Uppsala in Sweden in 1976 during the Lebanese civil war. The recording holds the voices of people in exile who have just arrived to Europe and who are telling other family members – hopefully, the future emigrants - about their new life, including details about administrative procedures they have to carry out, their discovery of a new culture, and their nostalgia for the country they had left behind.
Chrystèle Khodr and Waël Ali used the cassette as the starting point to question the history of immigrations and immigrants from the Ottoman Empire of the early 20th century until the years 2000 in Europe. Temporary Stay creates a space of crossed views that allows us to deal with the question of migration as a common history. “The story of people who see their birthplace slowly fading and then quietly disappearing."


Edition 2015

Mayar Alexan | Ticket to Atlantis

Mayar Alexan © Ettijahat Independent Culture Ticket to Atlantis is a performance and audio-visual project on the relationship between the human body and the sea as presented within a sensory, historical context. Performers will share with the audience a journey in search of lightness. The performance takes the experiences of migrants at sea as a lived reality as a starting point and asks: what happens when we connect the obsession to find a safe place to live with the legend of Atlantis?


 

Yasser Abu Shaqra | The Last Month of the Fifth Year

Yasser Abu Shaqra © Ettijahat Independent Culture The Last Month of the Fifth Year is a play about a Syrian-Palestinian playwright who is living in Turkey and in search for the topic of his next play. At his workplace, he meets a Syrian gay man who is ten years younger. The playwright decides to write his next play about the young man, documenting his life through regular meetings while getting involved in all its facets. Meanwhile the writer’s relationship with his girlfriend is changing as she keeps moving from one place to another. Turkish and Syrian characters enter a web of relationships and the heart of the play becomes about the search for the meaning of love, war, and identity.
 


Edition 2014

Omar Al Jbaai | The Window

The Window is a theatrical performance of the script titled “Okno” written by Polish author Ireneusz Iredynsk in 1968. Iredynsk skilfully merges the realistic and mundane with the surreal to reveal the “calcification” of the relationship between spouses: “her” and “him.” The reason of this calcification is the transformation of what is human into machine, leading one to cocoon on oneself and take refuge in their routine, turning emotions and feelings into mere things.

The project poses artistic challenges in terms of its content and form; the text was written primarily for radio rather than the theatre. It is also a deceptive text: it raises the idea of ​​hope (the torch) as a potential turning point in the couple's relationship, leading to a more mutually understanding relationship. Yet any hope or transformation they realise comes from their neighbours’ window, indeed, and any misery is brought about by two people, sitting, waiting for a match that may or may not be stricken.

The show consists of a variety of overlapping media within the performing arts (dance, mime, puppets, and realist/psychological performance). As the structure of the existing text is based on an overlap between the mundane and the surreal, it requires a theatrical structure that is able to express both.

Randa Maddah | A Project of Separation

The idea behind A Project of Separation reflects its origins: borders imposed by wars, stretching into the horizon. Randa Maddah, the project manager, says: "It is imperative that we find an image within these borders other than that of a still life with a fence that does not mean a lot to my generation. We, who have been born during the time of the occupation, lack the awareness and understanding of what a border means symbolically: barriers and forced separation.”

In the work that has yet to be completed, a wall made of different materials will be built; it is made out of the same materials used in the construction of barriers, walls, and checkpoints in unstable, war-torn countries. A construction worker will build the wall professionally, with detailed faces sculpted onto the surface, extending to close off the horizon in the scene. In the end, he will paint the wall making the scenery monotonyus, and perhaps, the story will be lost.

The work will also contain voice recordings – excerpts from the life stories of some of the region's residents who were born before the occupation and who lived there through the tumultuous times, including the decision to annex the Golan Heights, and up until today. The stories will not be heard directly from the wall, but from behind it, to emphasise the idea of segregation and separation.


In cooperation with:

Disclaimer

The project descriptions were written by the artists themselves. The content does not necessarily reflect the opinion of the Goethe-Institut.

 

Top

Schnelleinstieg:
Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

KULTURPRODUKTIONSFOND
Theater, Tanz &
Performance

Die Schauspieler und Regisseure spielen in ihren Aufführungen mit Grenzen und Mauern – von materiellen Grenzen zu nicht minder mächtigen imaginären Grenzen. Häufig ziehen die  Akteure rastlos umher – immer auf der Suche nach …

Mayar Alexan | Ticket to Atlantis© Goethe-Institut Libanon/ Alia Haju
LOA Theatre & Performance© Goethe-Institut Libanon / Alia Haju
Wael Ali & Crystèle Khodr | Temporary Stay© Ettijahat Independent Culture

Edition 2018

Koon Theater |
The Other Side of the Garden

Koon © Ettijahat Independent Culture „The Other Side of the Garden“ ist ein Stück, das auf dem Roman „The Story of a Mother“ des Schriftstellers Hans Christian Andersen basiert. Der Roman erzählt die Geschichte einer Mutter, die sich zum König des Todes begibt um ihren Sohn wieder zu bekommen. Währenddessen verliert sie ihre Stimme, ihre Haare und ihre Augen. Trotz all dieser Opfer kann sie ihren Sohn nicht retten. Wir beobachten die radikale Transformation der Mutter auf ihrer Reise, die der Transformation von Individuen im Krieg gleicht. Das Stück erforscht die Themen Verlust und Opfer ebenso wie die Geschichte des Todes oder die Geschichte des Menschen als einer Kreatur, deren Schicksal es ist zu sterben.

Omar Bakbook | Kordelo Shadow

Omar Bakbook © Ettijahat Independent Culture „Kordelo Shadow“ ist ein multimediales Stück, das versucht, die geographischen Grenzen des Theaters zu überwinden, indem zwei künstlerische Formen kombiniert werden: Das Schattentheater und das Selfie-Video. Das Stück simuliert die Isolation, in der Syrer heute überall leben, egal ob in Gefängnissen, in besetzten Gebieten innerhalb Syriens oder in einem durch Grenzen erzwungenem Exil.
 

Rama Haydar | People of Love

Rama Haydar © Ettijahat Independent Culture „People of Love“ ist ein Stück, das Identitätskrisen und Entfremdung untersucht, indem es die Lebensgeschichte des Dr. Nabil und seiner Frau Nada erzählt. Ohne von bedeutenden Ereignissen betroffen zu sein, zieht sich das Paar in seine neue Zuflucht zurück nachdem sie während des Krieges aus Damaskus  fliehen mussten. Das Projekt erkundet die soziale Realität in den Aufnahmeländern und porträtiert den elenden Zustand und den intellektuellen Stillstand, der uns alle betrifft. Das  Stück versucht gesellschaftliche Fragen aufzugreifen, u.a. den unbewussten Konflikt zwischen sozialen Klassen durch die Polarisierungen, die zwischen den Charakteren beobachtet werden können.

School of Dramatic Arts | Harsh Lesson

School of Dramatic Arts © Ettijahat Independent Culture „Harsh Lesson“ ist ein Stück, das versucht, die Bühne in ein psychologisches Labor zu verwandeln. In diesem Labor machen die Zuschauer eine lebendige Erfahrung und entdecken die Quellen und Ursachen von Gewalt und Brutalität. Vier Charaktere der psychologischen Fakultät (ein Professor, ein Assistent und zwei Studenten) unterwerfen sich selbst mit Nerven aus Stahl diesem intensiven Experiment, das die Beziehung zwischen Loyalität und Gehorsam sowie der Rechtfertigung unmenschlicher Taten untersucht. Das Stück hinterfragt neue/alte Fragen: Ist Gehorsam gerechtfertigt, wenn es anderen Schmerzen zufügt? Können Verbrechen, die im Namen von Werten, Religion oder Menschlichkeit begangen werden, gerechtfertigt werden?! All diese und andere Fragen werden in dem Stück aufgeworfen. Die Charaktere stehen zudem durch ein Wirrwarr an Liebesbeziehungen miteinander in Verbindung.


Edition 2017

Aram Wahhoud | Fat Haki/Gibberish

Aram Wahhoud © Ettijahat Independent Culture Das Projekt „Gibberish“ umfasst drei interaktive Puppentheater: "Zakaria al-Mkarkak/ Zakaria, der Unordentliche" ist eine Figur, deren Ursprünge bis in die sogenannte arabische Renaissance reichen. Er tut nichts anderes als über den Ruhm der arabischen Literatur zu sprechen und wie sie ihren Höhepunkt erreichte.
Jetzt ist die Zeit über körperliche Fähigkeiten zu sprechen. Zakaria ist ein Schriftsteller und Dichter, der voller jugendlichem Tatendrang steckt und an einem langwierigen Husten leidet. Die Figur des Zakaria ist eine interaktive Puppe, die aus Zeitungen hergestellt und von einer Person animiert wird. Der Puppenspieler und die Puppe teilen sich die gleichen Füße, aber haben getrennte Oberkörper. Diese Trennung wird durch die intellektuell-physische Trennung verursacht. Zakaria erscheint immer an unerwarteten Orten und rezitiert Gedichte aus seiner Gedichtsammlung „Fatt Haki/Gibberish“.

Lojain Alaranji | Solitude

Lojain Alaranji © Ettijahat Independent Culture „Solitude“ (Einsamkeit) ist das Manuskript eines Monodramas über eine 50-jährige syrische Frau (weiblich/Arbeiterin/Politikerin). Sie ist alleinstehend (in den Augen der Gesellschaft eine alte Jungfer) und entschied sich in ihrer Jugend, ideologisch tätig zu werden, weil sie glaubte dadurch der Mittelmäßigkeit traditioneller weiblicher Rollenbilder entkommen zu können. Das Manuskript zeichnet ein Bild der Erfahrungen von Frauen in der Politik und enthüllt die Mängel der politischen Parteiarbeit ebenso wie die Charakteristika ihrer Mitglieder. Das Manuskript führt in die Welt der Frauen und ihr Leiden ein.
 

Sari Almustafa | Injection/The Game

Sari Almustafa © Ettijahat Independent Culture „Injection/The Game“ (Injektion/ Das Spiel) ist ein Theaterprojekt, das eine soziale und menschliche Realität simuliert. Es stellt Fragen und analysiert Themen, die sich mit Beziehungen und ihren Folgen auseinandersetzen. Dabei wird auf der einen Seite der Einfluss von Macht und auf der anderen Seite der Einfluss von Liebe (und ihre Konzepte Geben, Opfern und Verlust) hervorgehoben.
Der Ehemann Karam) wird durch eine Granate, die seinen Sohn tötet, entstellt und in Folge der Verletzungen impotent. Er erfindet ein Spiel, in dem er seine Ehefrau (Abeer, eine Ärztin) und ihren Liebhaber (Bahaa, einen jungen Schauspieler) befragt und bestraft. Eine anschließende Szene der Enthüllung und Klarheit deckt auf, dass die Frau und der Liebhaber gegen den erschöpften Ehemann integrierten, der das Opfer aufeinanderfolgender Verluste ist. 

Suzan Ali | Arabic Eyeliner

Suzan Ali © Ettijahat Independent Culture „Arabic Eyeliner“ (Arabischer Eyeliner) ist ein Monodrama das den intensiven Sinneswahrnehmungen eines Mädchens nachspürt, die ihrer ganzen Familie bei einer Explosion verlor. Das Mädchen lebt alleine und beginnt bald mit den Objekten und Möbeln in ihrer Umgebung zu sprechen. Ihre emotionale Erinnerung ist geprägt von der Angst vor der Gegenwart und einem Verlangen nach der Vergangenheit. Das Mädchen vermenschlicht diese stillen Objekte bis zu dem Punkt, an dem sie beginnt zu glauben, dass es sich um Menschen aus Fleisch und Blut handelt. Das Manuskript ergründet, wie weit es möglich ist, sich mit vermenschlichten Objekten zu identifizieren und sie in verständnisvolle, sprechende Lebewesen zu verwandeln, welche die Einsamkeit der Person und ihre Entscheidungen teilen.


Edition 2016

Lama Khalil | Insomnia

Lama Khalil © Ettijahat Independent Culture „Insomnia“ (Schlaflosigkeit) basiert auf Exzerpten und erzählt die Geschichte eines 30-jährigen Syrers, der versucht sein neues Leben zu finden, nachdem er beständig von Syrien über den Libanon und die Türkei und letztendlich nach Deutschland zog. Auf dem Weg verlor er alle seine Prinzipien, Ziele und Träume in einem flüchtigen Moment. Das Stück untersucht, wie Revolution, Krieg, Immigration, Flucht und Einsamkeit sein Leben belasteten. Der junge Mann beginnt, Schlafstörungen zu haben. Er versucht sich an Bilder, Plätze und Menschen aus seiner Vergangenheit zu erinnern, damit sie ihm helfen, sich wieder mit der Realität zu verbinden. All dies passiert ohne eine Verbindung zu seiner aktuellen Realität – eine Mischung aus Tagträumen, harter Realität und Illusionen, die durch seine Schlaflosigkeit ausgelöst wurden. Er versucht sein neues Leben mit den Bildern aus der Vergangenheit zu verbinden, um zu erkennen, ob er wach ist oder träumt. Existiert er wirklich oder ist es nur eine Illusion? Wer war er und wer ist er jetzt? Was ist die Antwort?

Wael Ali | Temporary Stay

Wael Ali © Ettijahat Independent Culture Eine alte Hörspielkassette wurde neben anderen zurückgelassenen Gegenständen in einem Familienhaus in Beirut gefunden. Die Kassette wurde 1976 während des libanesischen Bürgerkrieges in Uppsala in Schweden aufgenommen. Aufgenommen sind die Stimmen von Menschen im Exil, die gerade erst in Europa angekommen sind und ihren anderen Familienmitgliedern - den zukünftigen Migranten, über das neue Leben berichten, auch über Details der administrativen Vorgänge, die sie durchlaufen müssen, das Entdecken einer neuen Kultur und ihre Nostalgie für das Land, das sie zurücklassen mussten.
Chrystèle Khodr und Waël Ali haben diese Kassette als einen Ausgangspunkt genutzt, um die Geschichte der Migration und der Migranten seit dem Beginn des 20. Jahrhundert unter der Vorherrschaft des osmanischen Reiches bis in die 2000er Jahre nach Europa zu erfragen. Temporary Stay (temporärer Aufenthalt) erschafft einen Raum sich kreuzender Sichtweisen, der es erlaubt, die Frage der Migration als allgemeine Geschichte zu behandeln. "Die Geschichte der Kinder, die ihre Geburtsorte langsam aus ihrem Blickfeld gleiten und verschwinden sehen."


Edition 2015

Mayar Alexan | Ticket to Atlantis

Mayar Alexan © Ettijahat Independent Culture „Ticket to Atlantis“ (Ticket nach Atlantis) ist eine audio-visuelle Performance über die Beziehung zwischen dem menschlichen Körper und dem Meer in einem historischen Sinneskontext. Die Künstler und das Publikum werden eine Reise auf der Suche nach Helligkeit beginnen. Der Startpunkt der Performance sind die gelebten Erfahrungen der Migranten auf dem Meer und die Performance fragt: Was passiert wenn wir die obsessive Suche nach einem sicheren Ort zum Leben mit der Legende von Atlantis verbinden?

 

Yasser Abu Shaqra | The Last Month of the Fifth Year

Yasser Abu Shaqra © Ettijahat Independent Culture „The Last Month of the Fifth Year“ (Der letzte Monat des fünften Jahres) ist ein Theaterprojekt über einen syrisch-palästinensischen Dramatiker, der in der Türkei lebt und nach dem Thema seines neuen Stücks sucht. An seinem Arbeitsplatz trifft er einen homosexuellen syrischen Mann, der zehn Jahre jünger ist. Der Dramatiker entscheidet, sein nächstes Stück über diesen Mann zu schreiben und er dokumentiert dessen Leben bei regelmäßigen Treffen, während er in die Details involviert wird. Währenddessen ändert sich das Verhältnis des Dramatikers zu seiner Freundin als sie von einem Ort zu einem anderen zieht. Türkische und syrische Charaktere gehen ein Geflecht von Beziehungen ein und die Suche nach einem neuen Stück wird zu einer Suche nach der Bedeutung von Liebe, Krieg und Identitäten in allen ihren Dimensionen.


Edition 2014

Omar Al Jbaai | The Window

„The Window“ / „Okno“ (Das Fenster / Okno) ist eine Theaterperformance des Stückes „Okno“, geschrieben 1968 von dem polnischen Autor Ireneusz Iredynsk. Iredynsk vermischt gekonnt das Realistische und das Gewöhnliche mit dem Surrealen, um die "Verkalkung" der Beziehungen zwischen Eheleuten  - „ihr“ und „ihm“ aufzudecken. Der Grund dieser Verkalkung ist die Verwandlung des Menschlichen in etwas Maschinelles. Dies führt dazu, dass sich die Akteure verschließen, sich in ihre Routine flüchten und Emotionen und Gefühle in reine Dinge umwandeln.

Das Projekt fordert durch seinen Inhalt und seine Form heraus. Der Text wurde in erster Linie für das Radio und nicht für das Theater geschrieben. Es ist auch ein trügerischer Text: Er erweckt die Hoffnung (die Taschenlampe) als einen möglichen Wendepunkt in der Beziehung des Paares, der zu einem tieferen beiderseitigen Verständnis der Beziehung führt. Jedoch geht jede Hoffnung und jede Veränderung, die sie erkennen, von dem Fenster der Nachbarn aus. Und jegliches Elend stammt von dem Paar selbst, die sitzend auf eine Partie warten, die vielleicht kein Feuer gefangen hat und es auch niemals tun wird.

Die Show besteht aus einer Vielzahl an sich gegenseitig überlappenden Medien in den Performance Arts (Tanz, Mimik, Puppen und realistische/psychologische Performance). Weil die Struktur des bestehenden Textes auf einer Überlappung des Alltäglichen und des Surrealen basiert, erfordert er eine theatralische Struktur, die in der Lage ist beides auszudrücken.

Randa Maddah | A Project of Separation

Die Idee dieser Arbeit reflektiert ihre Ursprünge: Grenzen, die durch Kriege errichtet werden und bis an den Horizont reichen. Randa Maddah, die Projekt-Managerin, sagt: „Es ist zwingend erforderlich, dass wir ein anderes Bild in diesen Grenzen finden als das eines unbewegtes Lebens umzäunt von Machendraht, das meiner Generation nicht viel bedeutet. Uns, die wir in der Zeit der Besatzung geboren wurden, fehlt die Aufmerksamkeit und das Verständnis dessen, was eine Grenze symbolisch bedeutet: eine Absperrung und eine erzwungene Trennung.“

In der noch fertigzustellenden Arbeit wird eine Mauer errichtet werden, die aus verschiedenen Materialien besteht. Es werden die gleichen Materialien sein, aus denen die Absperrungen, Mauern und Checkpoints in instabilen, vom Krieg zerrütteten Ländern bestehen. Ein Arbeiter wird die Mauer in professionell  errichten und detaillierte Gesichter auf der Oberfläche formen, die bis zum Horizont reichen wird. Am Ende wird er die Mauer bemalen, wodurch die Szene monoton wird und die Geschichte vielleicht verloren geht.

Die Arbeit wird  auch Stimmenaufzeichnungen nutzen – Ausschnitte aus den Lebensgeschichten einiger Bewohner der Region, die vor der Besatzung geboren wurden und die dort während jeder Episode der Geschichte lebten, auch mit der Entscheidung die Golan-Höhen zu annektieren. Die Geschichten werden nicht direkt vor der Mauer, sondern von einem Ort hinter der Mauer ertönen, um die Idee von Abgrenzung und Trennung hervorzuheben.


In Kooperation mit:

Impressum

Die Projektbeschreibungen wurden von den Künstlern verfasst. Die Inhalte spiegeln nicht notwendigerweise die Position des Goethe-Instituts wider.
 

Top