Traces of Germany in Lebanon Rayak Air Base – It Began With a Sand Runway

German barracks on the Rayak airfield
© Goethe-Institut Libanon/Christian Kirchen

The Lebanese Air Force proudly presents Rayak Air Base in the Beqaa Valley as the birthplace of the Lebanese Air Force in 1949. It is widely known that the air base was under French control during the French Mandate between 1920 and 1943.

What is less known, however, is that the first establishment of a runway – a simple track of sand – can be traced back to a Bavarian air regiment that was stationed for about a year in the strategically well-positioned town of Rayak for Operation ‘Pascha II’ during World War I.

The regiment was founded in 1912 in Oberschleißheim by Munich and was quickly expanded. It soon had several branch institutions in Bavaria and Rhenish Palatinate, which was under Bavarian rule at the time. When World War I erupted two years later, the Bavarian pilots were first sent on reconnaissance missions in Tyrol, then soon after in France, Ukraine, and the Baltic Rim. In the course of the fall of Baghdad in 1917, the Bavarians were also deployed in Palestine, where they were first flew missions in Beersheba or near Gaza, then later in the area surrounding Nazareth, and finally in Aleppo and Rayak during the German retreat. Historical footage of a destroyed two-seater from October 1918 can be seen on the homepage of the Australian War Memorial. 

Are there still any remaining traces of the German presence in Rayak? There seems to be no written record regarding this question. So some assumptions will have to be made based on visual evidence. According to the Lebanese Air Force, two of the buildings panelled with corrugated steel, which were probably once used as hangars, were built during World War I. A comparison with historical footage backs up this assumption. 

Another one-storey building located near the runway with a kind of timber framework construction also apparently dates back to the time when the Germans were stationed in Rayak. Along with a number of buildings in a similar style that are no longer standing, it served as a weatherproof replacement for the tents that were initially used. This style of building bears similarities to residential and office buildings in German colonies, e.g. in East Africa. 

In World War II, German aeroplanes once again landed on Rayak’s runway. As the air base was under the control of the Vichy regime, which was on friendly terms with the Nazis, German pilots on their way to Baghdad were given permission to land in the Beqaa Valley.

Even today, a lot of the technical equipment at the air base that is or was used for repairing aeroplane parts or reproducing photos and film was made in Germany. 
 

References:

Potempa, Harald: Die Königlich-Bayerische Fliegertruppe 1914–1918, Frankfurt am Main 1997

Deutsche Spuren im Libanon Flughafen Rayak – Es begann mit einer Sandpiste

Deutsche Baracke auf dem Flughafen Rayak
© Goethe-Institut Libanon/Christian Kirchen

Stolz präsentiert die libanesische Luftwaffe den Flughafen Rayak in der Beqaa-Ebene als Geburtsort der libanesischen Luftwaffe im Jahre 1949. Allseits bekannt ist, dass der Flughafen während der Mandatszeit zwischen 1920 und 1943 unter französischer Kontrolle stand.

Weniger bekannt ist hingegen, dass die erste Anlage einer Startbahn – eine simple Sandpiste – auf ein bayerisches Fliegerbataillon zurückgeht, das im Zuge der Operation „Pascha II“ im I. Weltkrieg für etwa ein Jahr im strategisch günstig gelegenen Rayak stationiert war.

1912 war die Fliegertruppe in Oberschleißheim bei München gegründet und rasch erweitert worden. Bald besaß es mehrere Zweigeinrichtungen in Bayern und der damals zu Bayern gehörigen Rheinpfalz. Als zwei Jahre später der I. Weltkrieg ausbrach, wurden die bayerischen Flieger zunächst zu Aufklärungsflügen in Tirol, bald auch in Frankreich, der Ukraine und im Baltikum eingesetzt. Im Zuge des Falls von Bagdad im Jahr 1917 wurden die Bayern auch nach Palästina verlegt, wo sie zunächst in Be’ersheba bzw. bei Gaza, später in der Gegend von Nazareth, und auf dem Rückzug schließlich u.a. in Aleppo und Rayak zum Einsatz kamen. Historische Aufnahmen zerstörter Doppelsitzer vom Oktober 1918 finden sich auf der Homepage des Australian War Memorial.

Gibt es in Rayak noch Spuren, die an die deutsche Zeit erinnern? Schriftliches Material ist – soweit bekannt – zu dieser Frage nicht vorhanden. Also müssen nach Augenschein Vermutungen angestellt werden. Nach Auskunft der libanesischen Airforce stammen zwei der vermutlich früher als Hangars genutzten, mit Wellblech verkleideten Hallen noch aus der Zeit des I. Weltkriegs. Der Vergleich mit historischen Aufnahmen stützt diese Vermutung.

Auch ein in der Nähe des Rollfelds stehendes einstöckiges Gebäude mit einer Art Fachwerkkonstruktion geht offenbar noch auf jene Zeit zurück, als die Deutschen in Rayak stationiert waren. Es war, zusammen mit heute nicht mehr existierenden weiteren Gebäuden gleichen Stils, als wetterfester Ersatz für die in der Anfangsphase verwendeten Zelte gebaut worden. Ähnlichkeiten mit Wohn- und Amtsgebäuden in deutschen Kolonien z.B. in Ostafrika sind bei diesem Bautypus erkennbar.

Auch im II. Weltkrieg landeten deutsche Maschinen auf der Start- und Landbahn von Rayak. Weil die Airbase unter der Kontrolle des dem NS-Staat freundlich gesinnten Vichy-Regimes stand, erhielten deutsche Flieger auf dem Weg nach Bagdad in der Beqaa Landeerlaubnis.

Heute noch stammen viele technische Gerätschaften auf der Airbase, die entweder zum Ausbessern von Flugzeugteilen oder der Reproduktion von Fotografien und Filmen dien(t)en, aus deutscher Herstellung.
 

Literatur:

Potempa, Harald: Die Königlich-Bayerische Fliegertruppe 1914–1918, Frankfurt am Main 1997