Traces of Germany in Lebanon
Stranded in the Hamra District: RAF Terrorists at the ‘Strand’ Hotel in Beirut

„The Strand“ in al-Hamra
© Goethe-Institut Libanon

“My name is Mahler. As a lawyer, it is my legal opinion that West Berlin isn’t part of the Federal Republic, an independent political unit, and therefore, a simple West Berlin ID card is valid.”

What do these bizarre remarks by former RAF terrorist Horst Mahler have to do with a dark, run-down seven-storey building in the Hamra district with the word ‘Strand’ written on its facade in Latin and Arabic script?

There is nothing left to suggest that this building once contained a simple apartment hotel. And there’s even less to suggest the farcical events that transpired here and elsewhere on the night of 8 June 1970.

There are at least three different versions of these events, two of which only differ from each other in nuances. The two better-known versions are recounted here:

Looking back, former RAF sympathiser Peter Homann and, later on, journalist Stefan Aust gave an account of that day on which a group of French and German passengers arriving from East Berlin’s Schönefeld airport were literally ‘stranded’ against their will in Beirut and at the former Strand hotel in the Hamra district.

The predominantly German group consisting of Hans-Jürgen Bäcker, Manfred Grashof, Horst Mahler, Petra Schelm, French journalist Michèle Ray and the Fatah go-between Said Dudin had never planned to leave the transit area of Beirut Airport. After all, the group hadn’t travelled to the Middle East to experience Lebanon’s thousands of years of history. Their actual destination was a training camp operated by the Palestinians in Jordan, where they were to receive two months of basic military training.

But the connecting flight to Amman was cancelled because of fighting in the Jordanian capital, so the group led by Horst Mahler had to leave the transit area and pass through passport control. This set the scene for the cat-and-mouse game that ensued.

The problem was that three of the travellers had, with a certain lack of professionalism, failed to bring their passports. Since the officer at the immigration desk was unable to stamp a visa into their ID cards which they presented in lieu of passports, he called his supervisor, who promptly confiscated the passports and ID cards, locked them in a desk and confined the group to a separate room. After that, he finished work and headed home.

Taken by surprise by this development, Horst Mahler then came up with the bold idea of phoning the French embassy. Apparently he thought that the French also represented the interests of the German Democratic Republic in Lebanon. However, this was not the case. On the contrary, in 1965 the Federal Republic had broken off diplomatic relations with Beirut, but had posted liaison officers in the French embassy.  

Peter Homann later reported in the political weekly Der SPIEGEL that Mahler had spoken the above words over the telephone. As soon as he heard the name Horst Mahler, the duty officer immediately informed his colleagues, who had the passenger list checked to confirm exactly who it was who had entered the country. They immediately asked the Lebanese security forces to arrest the group.

However, this proved impossible because a unit of Palestinians freed the group and accommodated them for the night at the Strand hotel. The Palestinians also attempted to get hold of the passports. They went to the home of the person they assumed to be responsible for their confiscation, beat him up and demanded that he hand out the key to the desk. However, they had picked out the wrong man – he was only the duty officer’s deputy. So then they carried the desk out of the airport building and loaded it onto a truck.

The travel group didn’t get a good night’s sleep at the Strand hotel because a Lebanese militia group turned up in the middle of the night, took them back into custody and returned them from the Hamra district back to the airport. 

After that, the group were once again freed by the Palestinians, but this time they were immediately taken by car over a mountain pass to the Beqaa Valley and from there on to Damascus.

Some time later, they travelled on to the training camp in Jordan, where they were soon joined by another group led by Andreas Baader, Gudrun Ensslin and Ulrike Meinhof. Their journey had not been without its complications either. 

The brouhaha at Beirut Airport, which was also widely reported in the West German press, had unfortunate consequences for Horst Mahler: shortly after they were reunited, Andreas Baader severely berated him in front of the entire group. This was a significant blow to Mahler’s authority.

 

References:

  • Aust, Stefan: Der Baader Meinhof Komplex, Hamburg 1985; referenced here: pp. 103-106
  • Homann, Peter: Little Berija – so nannten wir Horst Mahler (We Called Horst Mahler ‘Little Beria’). Former sympathiser Peter Homann reports on the training of members of the Baader-Meinhof gang at an Arab guerrilla camp, in: Der SPIEGEL, No. 44/1972, 23/10/1972, pp. 93-96
  • Only one week after these events transpired, Der SPIEGEL printed an account, which differed significantly with regard to the details and background, entitled: Affären. Baader / Meinhof. Bis irgendwohin (Affairs. Baader / Meinhof. Heading Somewhere or Other), in: Der SPIEGEL, No. 25/1970, 15/06/1970, pp. 71-75

Deutsche Spuren im Libanon Gestrandet in der Hamra: RAF-Terroristen im Hotel „Strand“

Das Hotel „The Strand“ im Stadtteil Hamra
© Goethe-Institut Libanon

„Hier Rechtsanwalt Mahler. Ich stehe auf dem Rechtsstandpunkt, daß West-Berlin nicht zur Bundesrepublik gehört, eine selbständige politische Einheit, der einfache West-Berliner Ausweis also gültig ist.“

Was haben diese bizarren Äußerungen des ehemaligen RAF-Terroristen Horst Mahler mit einem dunklen, in die Jahre gekommenen siebengeschossigen Bau in der Hamra zu tun, an dessen Fassade in arabischer wie lateinischer Schrift der Name „Strand“ zu lesen ist?

Nichts deutet mehr darauf hin, dass sich in diesem Gebäude einst ein einfaches Apartment-Hotel befand. Und noch weniger deutet darauf hin, welche komödienhaften Ereignisse sich in der Nacht des 8. Juni 1970 unter anderem an diesem Ort abgespielt haben sollen.

Von den Geschehnissen existieren mindestens drei Versionen, von denen zwei nur in Nuancen voneinander abweichen. Die beiden prominenteren Schilderungen sollen hier wiedergegeben werden:

In der Rückschau berichteten der damalige RAF-Sympathisant Peter Homann sowie später der Journalist Stefan Aust von jenem Tag, als eine vom Ost-Berliner Flughafen Schönefeld kommende deutsch-französische Reisegruppe unfreiwillig in Beirut und im damaligen Strand-Hotel an der Hamra im wahrsten Sinne des Wortes „strandete“.

Eigentlich hätte die mehrheitlich deutsche Gruppe, die aus Hans-Jürgen Bäcker, Manfred Grashof, Horst Mahler, Petra Schelm, der französischen Journalistin Michèle Ray und dem Fatah-Verbindungsmann Said Dudin bestand, den Transitbereich des Beiruter Flughafens gar nicht verlassen. Denn die Gruppe war nicht der jahrtausendealten Geschichte des Libanon wegen in die Levante gereist. Ihr Ziel war vielmehr ein von Palästinensern betriebenes Ausbildungslager in Jordanien, wo sie eine etwa zweimonatige militärische Grundausbildung erhalten sollten.

Doch weil der Anschlussflug nach Amman wegen Gefechten in der jordanischen Hauptstadt ausfiel, musste die von Horst Mahler angeführte Kohorte aus dem Transitbereich heraustreten und eine Grenzkontrolle passieren. Damit war dem sich nun anschließenden Katz- und Maus-Spiel der Boden bereitet.

Wenig professionell, hatten nämlich drei der Reisenden ihre Reisepässe nicht mitgenommen. Weil der zuständige Beamte an der Passkontrolle nun kein Visum in die stattdessen vorgezeigten Personalausweise stempeln konnte, holte er seinen Vorgesetzten, der die Pässe und Personalausweise konfiszierte, diese in einen Schreibtisch einschloss und die Gruppe in einem separaten Raum festsetzte. Danach verabschiedete er sich in den Feierabend.

Von der Entwicklung überrascht, kam Horst Mahler nun auf die verwegene Idee, die französische Botschaft anzutelefonieren. Offenbar dachte er, die Franzosen verträten auch die Interessen der Deutschen Demokratischen Republik in Libanon. Dem war aber nicht so. Vielmehr hatte die Bundesrepublik im Jahre 1965 die Beziehungen zu Beirut abgebrochen, jedoch Verbindungsbeamte in der französischen Botschaft postiert.  

Peter Homann schilderte später gegenüber dem SPIEGEL, Mahler habe die eingangs genannten Worte am Telefon geäußert. Der diensthabende Beamte informierte, sobald er den Namen Horst Mahler gehört hatte, sofort seine Kollegen, welche die Flugliste überprüfen ließen und so Gewissheit bekamen, wer da eingereist war. Sofort baten sie die libanesischen Sicherheitskräfte um Festnahme der Reisegruppe.

Dies ließ sich jedoch nicht bewerkstelligen, weil ein Trupp von Palästinensern die Reisegruppe befreite und für die Nacht im Hotel Strand einquartierte. Gleichzeitig versuchten die Palästinenser, an die Pässe heranzukommen, suchten den vermeintlichen Verantwortlichen zu Hause auf, verprügelten ihn und verlangten die Herausgabe des Schlüssels. Doch sie hatten den Falschen aufgesucht – der Mann war nur der Stellvertreter des Diensthabenden. Nun wurde der Schreibtisch aus dem Flughafengebäude getragen und auf einen Lastwagen verladen.

Erholen konnte sich die Reisegruppe im Hotel Strand nicht, denn mitten in der Nacht erschien eine libanesische Miliz, welche die Reisenden wieder in Gewahrsam nahm und von der Hamra zum Flughafen zurückbrachte. 

Erneut wurde die Gruppe von der palästinensischen Seite befreit, diesmal aber sofort mit dem Auto über den Gebirgspass in die Beqaa-Ebene und weiter nach Damaskus gefahren.

Von dort ging es dann einige Zeit später ins Ausbildungslager nach Jordanien, wo die Reisegruppe bald Zuwachs von einer weiteren Gruppe um Andreas Baader, Gudrun Ensslin und Ulrike Meinhof erhielt. Auch deren Reise war nicht ohne Komplikationen verlaufen. 

Für Horst Mahler hatte der Fauxpas vom Beiruter Flughafen, der auch in der bundesdeutschen Presse Niederschlag fand, unangenehme Folgen: Andreas Baader griff ihn bald nach dem Wiedersehen vor versammelter Gruppe scharf an. Mahlers Autorität litt darunter erheblich. 

 

Literatur:

  • Aust, Stefan: Der Baader Meinhof Komplex, Hamburg 1985; hier: S. 103-106
  • Homann, Peter: Little Berija – so nannten wir Horst Mahler. Ex-Genosse Peter Homann über das Training von BM-Mitgliedern in einem arabischen Guerilla-Camp, in: Der SPIEGEL, Nr. 44/1972, 23.10.1972, S. 93-96
  • Eine bezüglich der Details und Hintergründe erheblich abweichende Darstellung fand sich bereits eine Woche nach den Ereignissen ebenfalls in einer Ausgabe des SPIEGEL: Affären. Baader / Meinhof. Bis irgendwohin, in: Der SPIEGEL, Nr. 25/1970, 15.06.1970, S. 71-75